Customer Reviews for

An Elephant in the Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

An Inspiring Read

This book shows readers a different point of view. After I read the book, I became a better person. Now I am not hung up with the idea of revenge, and I understand how the Germans felt when the US bombed them. This is truly a book that I will read over and over again.

posted by 5621290 on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Why??

why does the nook edition of this book cost more than a hardcover copy? this does not make any sense...

posted by mikehampen on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    An Inspiring Read

    This book shows readers a different point of view. After I read the book, I became a better person. Now I am not hung up with the idea of revenge, and I understand how the Germans felt when the US bombed them. This is truly a book that I will read over and over again.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great historical novel -- a must family read!

    I loved this book. So much history packed into a fascinating and interesting telling of the war in Dresden and the impact on the circus animals during that time period. The family stories are woven into the facts of the time and you really get to know all of the characters and you root for the star elephant, Marlene. Would make a great book to read if you like sharing books with your family by reading to them each evening before bedtime. This author, Michael Morpurgo, has written over 100 novels including "WAR HORSE."

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Why??

    why does the nook edition of this book cost more than a hardcover copy? this does not make any sense...

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this book to death and it is my favorite book in the hole entire world. But in the end it is kind of rushed and i did not like that

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Great book

    I couldnt put down the book! AWESOME!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    realy good book

    easy to read, good story, I think young adults would like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Awesome book

    I read this book and it is full of facts but still very fun to read! And the facts are facts that tell u the history of the war and i luv it! Its certainly in my top 5!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great Read

    Wonderful book for all ages. If you loved War Horse you will love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    How

    How does he do it is amazing

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Cool book

    I like this book a lot great author!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great book

    If you have read Water for Elephants and liked it this book is alot like it •

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Read!

    This is a wonderful book read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    ?....... ??????????????

    ??????????????

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Jump

    Hump

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2