Customer Reviews for

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart (Love by Numbers Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Should we risk everything for the sake of love?

Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only...
Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only obstacle she can't seem to work around being English Society. Juliana tries to fit in but knows that she is never going to be one of them and the standard bearer of all things proper, Simon Pearson, eleventh Duke of Leighton keeps reminding her of this fact. He is scandal free and intends to make a perfect marital match with a quiet, demure woman who is biddable and with no reputation whatsoever, which is the complete opposite of all things Juliana. If there is a lake to fall into or a horse to ride however she chooses the fiery female inside Juliana is up for the challenge.

Leighton is trying desperately to keep a mortifying secret from everyone that will bring his family shame and will forever destroy their reputation, so Juliana is a risk he can't take. Leighton is also aware that Juliana's mother has been scandalizing several continents with her behavior and the fear that her daughter will become her scares everyone especially Juliana. But even knowing that Juliana cannot be his choice for a wife the need for her makes the wanting of her more than he can bear and even though he knows better he cannot stay away from her. The problem for both Leighton and Juliana is that all the reasoning in the world and knowing they are the worst combination to attempt a relationship without a scandal for reasons unexplainable to everyone but their hearts they can't stay out of each other warm embrace. Juliana believes she is the woman to bring Leighton to the fun side of life and when the challenge is extended he accepts but with the knowledge nothing will keep him from marrying anyone but her or so he keeps repeating to himself every chance he gets but only after just one more kiss, a soft caress or perhaps a gentle whisper of affection.

Love is tender and warm and should never be trouble in 16 layers of clothing but Juliana is and regardless the reader will love her. Potential husbands should be warm, loving and attentive to their future bride not worried about what people think, yet Leighton on all that and still you know he is more. Sarah MacLean 3rd book in this series is spectacular and trying to top the first two had to be a challenge but Juliana is wonderful and Leighton a surprise on all levels. Fabulous!

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I bought this book because by reading the sample it was off to a great start.... However, as one continues reading and becoming more engrossed I noticed that most of the book had been spent in the Duke bring an a** and Julianna being pathetic by trying to gain his appro...
I bought this book because by reading the sample it was off to a great start.... However, as one continues reading and becoming more engrossed I noticed that most of the book had been spent in the Duke bring an a** and Julianna being pathetic by trying to gain his approval. All it's my personal opinion.

posted by IEML1220 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book I've read in a long time!!!

    The only reason that I bought this book to read at first, was bc Eloisa James said that it was a great book in one of her blogs!! I must say that I couldn't put this book down! I have 2 young children and my youngest he's only 9 months.. Every chance that I got I was reading this book! I love the new fresh beat on it.. The characters are wonderful. From the beginning I could tell that Juliana and Simon were going to have a heart warming story.. And I wasn't disappointed at all! I haven't read anything that could be close to this one.. of course almost all historicals have a scandal of some sort! But this book was completely a book unto its own. If you love to read any books by Elizabeth Boyle, Eloisa James, or even Lisa Kleypas you have got to read this book. You will not be disappointed! I am looking forward to reading the other 2 that went w/ this one. and also the series that she is coming out w/ in the winter!.. it starts w/ A Rougue By Any Other Name. Cant wait!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    RATING:4.5)A MUST READ HISTORICAL ROMANCE! ELEVEN SCANDALS TO START TO WIN A DUKE'S HEART BY SARAH MACLEAN...

    ELEVEN SCANDALS TO START TO WIN A DUKE'S HEART by Sarah Maclean is an exciting historical romance set in Regency England. It is the third in the "Love By Numbers" series,but can be read as a stand alone. #1 "Nine Rules To Break When Romancing a Rake", #2 "Ten Ways To Be Adored When Landing A Lord".What a delightful story of love,romance,sensuality,scandal and finding happiness.
    Julianna,an impulsive,bold,sexy,passionate,trouble maker,who refuses to play by society rules,but is wrapped with scandal from her mother. Simon,the Duke of Leghton,who wants no scandal,keeps his family's secrets,is named the Duke of Disdain,must marry before his sister's scandal is found out,and is fully attracted to Julianna.When Julianna meets Simon a deal he never believes he could be so passionate.While Julianna is a talking scandal and can find trouble anywhere,Simon is trying to stay away from any and all scandal.But Simon can not deny his attraction to Julianna.Their attraction grows and ignites Simon's passion and scandal awaits them.This is a fast paced story of love,romance,passion,finding happiness and taking it while you can regardless of scandal.
    True happiness is only a scandal away.This is a must read with engaging characters who will capture your heart exspecailly the lovely Julianna who is also half French and half English.This truly makes for an exciting story where eleven scandals will win a Duke's heart.This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and the publisher.Details can be found at Avon,an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Entertaining reading

    Not quite as enthralling as the first two novels where the heroine was always getting into amusing situations. The romance was not as evident in this novel on the level as the first two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Eleven Scandals

    I think that was my favorite of the series. It's really hard to tell when the characters are so different. I think it's because I enjoyed Juliana's character the most out of all the female leads.

    I really admire Juliana's character the entire story. She's fiery and cares nothing about other's approval. Her passion is what drives her character. She knows what she wants and will stop at nothing to get it. While her outer face challenges anyone who disapproves of her actions, I think she really longs for acceptance. I think she's feels she's constantly trying to live down her mother's actions and her own upbringing. She longs for acceptance but not at the sake of losing who she is.

    I enjoyed Simon's character as well. Typical for a male, I wanted to slap him a couple times when he didn't realize how hurtful some of the things he said were. I loved watching his carefully built reputation come crashing down around him. He worked so hard to be everything he was suppose to be that he forgot to live for himself. I really enjoyed watching him fight against what he truly wanted all to save his reputation.

    I loved how their romance functioned. Juliana truly brought out the best in Simon. She made him question who he was and what really mattered. I was happy to see that Juliana got what she deserved as well. She stopped worrying about being a scandal and settled for the importance of family.

    I'm sad to think this series is over. I've really enjoyed it as it's opened my eyes to the historical romance genre. Hopefully I can find something as fun and this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book, but i read about a fourth and realized i was reading the end of a series. I would not recommend reading without reading the others first. But it was still really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As awesome as pie straight from the oven, but twice as hot!

    Let it be known that Sarah MacLean is Queen of Romance! Nine Rules was an infatuation and Ten Ways really swept me away, but Eleven Scandals is in a whole other level of LOVE that I'm pretty sure that I'm still floating on Cloud 9 after weeks upon finishing it. I didn't think it was possible for Ms. MacLean's romances to burn any hotter, but holy fried-Twinkie-on-a-stick, the temperature of Eleven Scandals most likely rivaled the Sun's!

    I was surprised to see how hard I fell for this new couple since the Duke of Leighton proved himself to be a right bastard by the end of Book 2 and Juliana didn't really have much pagetime in the first 2 books! Simon still was a bit of a pompous jerk at first, but once the spotlight shone on his inner conflict between his upbringing and his desires, he has to be one of my absolute favorite male characters! Watching the Duke carry the weight of reputation and family scandal was fascinating - and he definitely redeems himself after giving us a poor impression in Nine Rules and Ten Ways.

    Juliana definitely sparkled in Eleven Scandals - and I have to commend Ms. MacLean for creating a character with such an adorable quirk of not quite mastering English idioms. My favorites include: "He called me a pie!" and "I would like to clean the air." Oy, it was just too cute for words! Juliana has a lot of heart, and I could not help but admire her strength and determination to teach Simon a lesson on passion and what "family" truly means.

    The most remarkable thing about Eleven Scandals is how it brought back beloved characters of the previous installments - Callie and Gabriel, Nick and Isabel, Leighton's sister Georgiana. I've read other romance series where prior characters make brief reappearances in the next book, but nothing of much substance. More like "hey, we're still here and together, but we've moved on and so should you." Not so with Eleven Scandals! Sarah MacLean gave her past characters an encore performance to further cement them into our hearts, which definitely makes me want to re-read the whole series again from start to finish.

    I definitely recommend that you don't start the series with Eleven Scandals - if anything, at least read Ten Ways first, but I strongly suggest that you read Love By Numbers in numerical order. I guarantee that you'll fall in love with each successive book! Sarah MacLean has written such an amazing series that will keep your heart nice and toasty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Desperate, hot, must-have passion!

    In a world where women are raised like cattle-or in Juliana's eyes grapes-and reputations are everything, the scene is set for tension and conflict. It's what I love most about historical romances. Simon is in between a rock and hard place, but wills himself to believe he is right where he needs and wants to be. With secrets to hide and reputation to protect, he has no need for emotion. After all he is a Duke. Emotion is beneath him. Italian born Juliana would love nothing more than to rip him out of the hard place he has set himself in, and break him. And break him hard she does, only she wasn't counting on herself being broken in the process. Juliana is endearing when she mixes up English phrases, hilarious when she accidentally switches from English to Italian, inspiring when experiencing life the way it should, and tear jerking when you see the unfairness of having a walking scandal for a mother. There are many gut wrenching moments with this character, and yet she keeps going. She keeps moving. It's her only way to survive the scrutiny of the ton. This is an all-star character! Simon is such a jerk in a large portion of this book. However, the author really puts you inside his head. You see the world as he sees it. You understand him, and therefore you love him. This played a big part in my rooting for them as a couple, because you see him as she sees him, why she falls for him. Although, I won't deny that there were times I imagined hanging him upside down and beating him like a piñata. My favorite thing about this book was Juliana. A strong willed, emotionally charged, Italian woman in the ton. That is reason enough to buy this book! We all need passion, and this book is stock full of it. Desperate, hot, must-have passion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Great book

    This is a great series. Its fun and keeped me into it the whole time. Didn't want to put the book down. I would definantly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an amusing gender war between obstinate opposites

    In 1823, although she has just arrived in England, the half-sister of the Marquess of Ralston, Juliana Fiori believes she understands the key traits of the aristocracy are public prim and proper in order to avoid mention in the infamous Scandal Sheet. She also knows Polite Society will not accept her passionate Italian nature so being a headliner is fine in her mind.

    When she meets the paragon of English society Duke Simon Pearson, Juliana decides to teach the prude a lesson of the heart. He is attracted to her even before she chose to break him, but he has bigger problems protecting his family from a scandal though he considers teaching the wildcat a lesson in behavior. However Simon needs a wife; but though he desires Juliana, he knows the Ton will never accept her..

    The third Love by Numbers Regency (see Nine Rules To Break When Romancing a Rake and Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord) is an amusing gender war between obstinate opposites. As sub-genre fans expect Michael Buffer to announce "Let's get ready to rumble!" the lead antagonists fuss and fight while falling in unwanted love. Although the respective causes for their contrary stick in the Thames mud behavior comes a bit late in the humorous plot, readers will enjoy the eleven, make that twelve, scandals to win her duke's heart.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    A good read

    Half Italian Juliana Fiori knows she will never be accepted by Society so she decides to flaunt convention. Doing so leads her to hiding in the coach of Simon Pearson. Known as the Duke of Disdain he clings to propriety with a superior arrogance bred into him as one of superior birth. Simon, however, is guarding a secret scandal that will make his family social pariahs when it breaks. Before that happens Simon tries to negotiate a desirable marriage and the last thing he needs is unpredictable, unsuitable Juliana distracting him. Of course opposites end up attracting. At first it is hard to sympathize with two characters who seem to be blindly stuck in their ways. The author does reveal the reasons for her characters' flaws but the reader has to be willing to stick with the story until then before they realize that they do care about the characters. In the end a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12