Customer Reviews for

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart (Love by Numbers Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Should we risk everything for the sake of love?

Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only...
Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only obstacle she can't seem to work around being English Society. Juliana tries to fit in but knows that she is never going to be one of them and the standard bearer of all things proper, Simon Pearson, eleventh Duke of Leighton keeps reminding her of this fact. He is scandal free and intends to make a perfect marital match with a quiet, demure woman who is biddable and with no reputation whatsoever, which is the complete opposite of all things Juliana. If there is a lake to fall into or a horse to ride however she chooses the fiery female inside Juliana is up for the challenge.

Leighton is trying desperately to keep a mortifying secret from everyone that will bring his family shame and will forever destroy their reputation, so Juliana is a risk he can't take. Leighton is also aware that Juliana's mother has been scandalizing several continents with her behavior and the fear that her daughter will become her scares everyone especially Juliana. But even knowing that Juliana cannot be his choice for a wife the need for her makes the wanting of her more than he can bear and even though he knows better he cannot stay away from her. The problem for both Leighton and Juliana is that all the reasoning in the world and knowing they are the worst combination to attempt a relationship without a scandal for reasons unexplainable to everyone but their hearts they can't stay out of each other warm embrace. Juliana believes she is the woman to bring Leighton to the fun side of life and when the challenge is extended he accepts but with the knowledge nothing will keep him from marrying anyone but her or so he keeps repeating to himself every chance he gets but only after just one more kiss, a soft caress or perhaps a gentle whisper of affection.

Love is tender and warm and should never be trouble in 16 layers of clothing but Juliana is and regardless the reader will love her. Potential husbands should be warm, loving and attentive to their future bride not worried about what people think, yet Leighton on all that and still you know he is more. Sarah MacLean 3rd book in this series is spectacular and trying to top the first two had to be a challenge but Juliana is wonderful and Leighton a surprise on all levels. Fabulous!

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I bought this book because by reading the sample it was off to a great start.... However, as one continues reading and becoming more engrossed I noticed that most of the book had been spent in the Duke bring an a** and Julianna being pathetic by trying to gain his appro...
I bought this book because by reading the sample it was off to a great start.... However, as one continues reading and becoming more engrossed I noticed that most of the book had been spent in the Duke bring an a** and Julianna being pathetic by trying to gain his approval. All it's my personal opinion.

posted by IEML1220 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Should we risk everything for the sake of love?

    Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only obstacle she can't seem to work around being English Society. Juliana tries to fit in but knows that she is never going to be one of them and the standard bearer of all things proper, Simon Pearson, eleventh Duke of Leighton keeps reminding her of this fact. He is scandal free and intends to make a perfect marital match with a quiet, demure woman who is biddable and with no reputation whatsoever, which is the complete opposite of all things Juliana. If there is a lake to fall into or a horse to ride however she chooses the fiery female inside Juliana is up for the challenge.

    Leighton is trying desperately to keep a mortifying secret from everyone that will bring his family shame and will forever destroy their reputation, so Juliana is a risk he can't take. Leighton is also aware that Juliana's mother has been scandalizing several continents with her behavior and the fear that her daughter will become her scares everyone especially Juliana. But even knowing that Juliana cannot be his choice for a wife the need for her makes the wanting of her more than he can bear and even though he knows better he cannot stay away from her. The problem for both Leighton and Juliana is that all the reasoning in the world and knowing they are the worst combination to attempt a relationship without a scandal for reasons unexplainable to everyone but their hearts they can't stay out of each other warm embrace. Juliana believes she is the woman to bring Leighton to the fun side of life and when the challenge is extended he accepts but with the knowledge nothing will keep him from marrying anyone but her or so he keeps repeating to himself every chance he gets but only after just one more kiss, a soft caress or perhaps a gentle whisper of affection.

    Love is tender and warm and should never be trouble in 16 layers of clothing but Juliana is and regardless the reader will love her. Potential husbands should be warm, loving and attentive to their future bride not worried about what people think, yet Leighton on all that and still you know he is more. Sarah MacLean 3rd book in this series is spectacular and trying to top the first two had to be a challenge but Juliana is wonderful and Leighton a surprise on all levels. Fabulous!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As awesome as pie straight out of the oven, but twice as HOT!

    Let it be known that Sarah MacLean is Queen of Romance! Nine Rules was an infatuation and Ten Ways really swept me away, but Eleven Scandals is in a whole another level of LOVE that I'm pretty sure that I'm still floating on Cloud 9 after weeks upon finishing it. I didn't think it was possible for Ms. MacLean's romances to burn any hotter, but holy fried-Twinkie-on-a-stick, the temperature of Eleven Scandals most likely rivaled the Sun's!


    I was surprised to see how hard I fell for this new couple since the Duke of Leighton proved himself to be a right bastard by the end of Book 2 and Juliana didn't really have much pagetime in the first 2 books! Simon still was a bit of a pompous jerk at first, but once the spotlight shone on his inner conflict between his upbringing and his desires, he has to be one of my absolute favorite male characters! Watching the Duke carry the weight of reputation and family scandal was fascinating - and he definitely redeems himself after giving us a poor impression in Nine Rules and Ten Ways.


    Juliana definitely sparkled in Eleven Scandals - and I have to commend Ms. MacLean for creating a character with such an adorable quirk of not quite mastering English idioms. My favorites include: "He called me a pie!" and "I would like to clean the air." Oy, it was just too cute for words! Juliana has a lot of heart, and I could not help but admire her strength and determination to teach Simon a lesson on passion and what "family" truly means.


    The most remarkable thing about Eleven Scandals is how it brought back beloved characters of the previous installments - Callie and Gabriel, Nick and Isabel, Leighton's sister Georgiana. I've read other romance series where prior characters make brief reappearances in the next book, but nothing of much substance. More like "hey, we're still here and together, but we've moved on and so should you." Not so with Eleven Scandals! Sarah MacLean gave her past characters an encore performance to further cement them into our hearts, which definitely makes me want to re-read the whole series again from start to finish.


    I definitely recommend that you don't start the series with Eleven Scandals - if anything, at least read Ten Ways first, but I strongly suggest that you read Love By Numbers in numerical order. I guarantee that you'll fall in love with each successive book! Sarah MacLean has written such an amazing series that will keep your heart nice and toasty!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    love this series!

    Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart is the final book in the Love by Numbers trilogy by author Sarah MacLean. After devouring the first two books I was excited to begin this one. McLean didn’t disappoint me, as she delivered another humorous romance with a headstrong heroine. I quickly consumed this while on vacation and found it to be delightful. Juliana Fiori is the Italian half-sister of Gabriel St. John, the Marques of Ralston whom we met in Nine Rules to Break When Romancing A Rake. She has been introduced to London society but they whisper about her. She feels like a fish out of water trying to live by the tons rules. When she is accosted, she hits the man and narrowly escapes by hiding in a carriage. This particular carriage turns out to belong to Simon Pearson, the Duke of Leighton. (otherwise known as the Duke of Disdain.) The tango, these two dance, is delicious and the tale kept me completely immersed. I laughed, cried and cheered these misfits on. Juliana and Simon could not be more different. He is all prim and proper; strictly adhering to all the rules of society. She can be bold and outspoken. The two have previously met and were immediately attracted to each other. When Simon discovered her identity, he was outraged. (for not disclosing this information immediately) Simon needs a prim and proper wife and discovers he must do something immediately to protect his reputation before a scandalous secret is discovered. He sets his eyes on the tons darling; Lady Penelope Marbury. Juliana has other plans and I truly adored her. She is refreshing and I loved how she could turn Simon upside down and inside out. She is exactly what this stiff, controlled, smexy Duke needs. I loved Simon, despite the fact that several times I wanted to slap him across the face and shout, “What are you doing? You blundering idiot! “ What a thrill watching Juliana peel back Simon’s layers to reveal the steamy, passionate man within. MacLean’s tales are captivating. I became invested in the characters throughout the series. Reading this novel has been both exciting and depressing. I truly did not want this series to end. While this is a historical fiction and the characters are trapped within the structures of the period; the author breathes such life into them that they became real. I love when an author makes this happen. MacLean weaves drama, suspense and humor into the tale making it a real page turner. I read this in a single day, and I am sure my family was very aware I was spellbound. The romance was wonderful and dripping with sexual tension. The interactions between Juliana and Simon sent my emotions on a rollercoaster ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Loved it!

    Not your typical "Duke" story. I laughed out loud at times and cried at other times. My kind of story. I loved the way all the characters interacted and melded into an enjoyable story. I wish I had read the other two books in this series first, but it was still a very enjoyable story. Loved Juliana and her "un Duchess-like" ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Disappointed

    I bought this book because by reading the sample it was off to a great start.... However, as one continues reading and becoming more engrossed I noticed that most of the book had been spent in the Duke bring an a** and Julianna being pathetic by trying to gain his approval. All it's my personal opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    The rating is for the Series

    I was not a historical romance fan - until this author. I LOVE HER BOOKS. I love the characters the wit, the drama, the heat- all of it. I am never sure what to look for in reviews, so I am not sure what to put. To each their own - but I really enjoyed all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2014

    Eleven ways to ¿tell¿ versus ¿show¿ a Duke Eleven scandals taug

    Eleven ways to ‘tell’ versus ‘show’ a Duke

    Eleven scandals taught me how important well-rounded characters are towards a romance, particularly if one (or more) of your characters is not likable from the start. 

    Juliana is a wonderful heroine! She is trapped by English society’s rules and traditions and readers sympathize with her right from the beginning. Some readers thought she was too immature and her ‘scandals’ too unrealistic, but let’s not forget she was 20 years old and from Italy. With the critical eye of every member of the ton on you, she’d either have to revolt or cave under the tremendous pressure. I admired Juliana’s adventurous spirit and bravery towards the tonnish vice-like grip, but her anxiety about being like her mother grew boring and her refusal to marry Simon because she wasn’t good enough? Pul-leeze  

    But Simon? A number of reviewers have exclaimed that Simon is one of the worst heroes they’ve ever read. He insults Juliana, does not treat her as his equal, and gets engaged to another woman. Readers are introduced to a cold, passionless man determined to enter into a cold, passionless marriage and he does not thaw until the ending. We are offered very few reasons for WHY Simon is this way, but we’re sure his mother (and maybe his father who no one talks about) has something to do with it. I wasn’t sure whether Maclean had not thought about Simon’s motivation or personality or whether she decided not to include it in her story? I thought some familiar justification of his character would have provided some additional sympathy from readers, but it never materialized. Simon’s mother is in several scenes, but only to increase conflict between Juliana and Simon. I felt Maclean was ‘telling’ me how bad Simon was without ‘showing’ me with his past and experiences. I wanted some stories from his past woven in to make me like him, but they never materialized. One author who does this very well is Lisa Kleypas in “It Happened One Autumn” – Lord Marcus Westcliff is snobby and arrogant, but the pieces of his past woven into the story make us sympathize and cheer the romance between him and Lilian. Readers are ‘shown’ evidence to why Lord Marcus is the way he is – he becomes three-dimensional character while Simon still felt two-dimensional. 

    Another strike against Simon was that his sister, Georgiana, was truly the hero in the book. She sacrifices her reputation (and shockingly enough, her DAUGHTER’S reputation!) to give her brother a happy ending. “Thank you, mom for telling English society that I’m a bastard, so Uncle Simon can get his girl. What?!” – any critique partner worth her salt would have called for a plot time-out to discuss that maneuver. 

    Pacing was slow in the beginning and middle and I felt there was some repetition about her scandalous nature, being like her mother, her thinking that she wasn’t good enough for Simon, and his aversion to scandal. It became a broken record. The writing is excellent and I admire Maclean’s versatility with words. I also thought the sexual tension between Simon and Juliana was paced more appropriately than “9 Rules” and each love scene was necessary towards the plot. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Boring

    Sorry, this book was quite boring. It took me several weeks to finish when I usually devour a book in a day or two. I just didn't get the chemistry with these characters. I like a book with a bit more witty banter. It's an ok read if you are really desperate for a regency novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Very good romance

    Interesting read for anyone who likes a good romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    This was a great end to a wonderful trilogy! Out of the three st

    This was a great end to a wonderful trilogy! Out of the three stories, Simon and Juliana's story was by far the best. 
    It had humor, sensuality, and love. I enjoy the fact that Gabriel and Nick was also apart of Juliana's story. I was so wrapped
    In her turmoil that I was sobbing....loudly. I was totally lost in this book. Ms. macLean has become one of my favorite authors.
    Can't wait to read her next book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Really enjoy this author

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Very well written historical romance.

    I actually got a little teary eyed as heroine's heart was breaking before the Duke came to his senses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    A must, great book

    Great book,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great finale

    After reading the first book in the series I could only hope that Juliana would have her own story. I was not disappointed.

    A great finale to the series. Loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Leaves the reader wanting more if her books to read.

    Loved it,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    A Fabulous Ending to a Great Series!

    This book was amazing. I literally could not put it down. Leighton is what you think a duke should be and Juliana is a one of a kind character that you can empathize with. I cant wait for Penelope Marbury's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    A Wonderful New Author for the Historical Romance Genre!!

    I've probably read a thousand (I don't exaggerate) historical romance novels. I'm truly an addict!! I have my favorite authors and devour their new releases as soon as they hit the shelves. So I am always searching for a new favorite author - I've found her in Sarah MacLean. I really enjoyed this series - the main characters are funny, spirited and defy conventional ton behavior. All three books in this series are great reads - I look forward to her next work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great end to a series...

    Once again, Ms. MacLean has given us a wonderful, witty and hotter than hot story with a feisty heroine and a tortured, flip-flopping hero. Simon finally has a woman who will show him that avoiding scandal at all costs is not worth losing those near and dear to you. Juliana meets Simon thrust for thrust (um, take this for what you will) and holds her own not only with him, but with the stuck up, "I'm better than you", whisper-whisper behind my fan, women of the ton. The St. John and Fiori siblings all get their Happily Ever Afters. What a great book to end the "Love by Numbers" series. I can't wait to see what Ms. MacLean has next in store for us readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book I've read in a long time!!!

    The only reason that I bought this book to read at first, was bc Eloisa James said that it was a great book in one of her blogs!! I must say that I couldn't put this book down! I have 2 young children and my youngest he's only 9 months.. Every chance that I got I was reading this book! I love the new fresh beat on it.. The characters are wonderful. From the beginning I could tell that Juliana and Simon were going to have a heart warming story.. And I wasn't disappointed at all! I haven't read anything that could be close to this one.. of course almost all historicals have a scandal of some sort! But this book was completely a book unto its own. If you love to read any books by Elizabeth Boyle, Eloisa James, or even Lisa Kleypas you have got to read this book. You will not be disappointed! I am looking forward to reading the other 2 that went w/ this one. and also the series that she is coming out w/ in the winter!.. it starts w/ A Rougue By Any Other Name. Cant wait!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12