Customer Reviews for

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart (Love by Numbers Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Should we risk everything for the sake of love?

Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only...
Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only obstacle she can't seem to work around being English Society. Juliana tries to fit in but knows that she is never going to be one of them and the standard bearer of all things proper, Simon Pearson, eleventh Duke of Leighton keeps reminding her of this fact. He is scandal free and intends to make a perfect marital match with a quiet, demure woman who is biddable and with no reputation whatsoever, which is the complete opposite of all things Juliana. If there is a lake to fall into or a horse to ride however she chooses the fiery female inside Juliana is up for the challenge.

Leighton is trying desperately to keep a mortifying secret from everyone that will bring his family shame and will forever destroy their reputation, so Juliana is a risk he can't take. Leighton is also aware that Juliana's mother has been scandalizing several continents with her behavior and the fear that her daughter will become her scares everyone especially Juliana. But even knowing that Juliana cannot be his choice for a wife the need for her makes the wanting of her more than he can bear and even though he knows better he cannot stay away from her. The problem for both Leighton and Juliana is that all the reasoning in the world and knowing they are the worst combination to attempt a relationship without a scandal for reasons unexplainable to everyone but their hearts they can't stay out of each other warm embrace. Juliana believes she is the woman to bring Leighton to the fun side of life and when the challenge is extended he accepts but with the knowledge nothing will keep him from marrying anyone but her or so he keeps repeating to himself every chance he gets but only after just one more kiss, a soft caress or perhaps a gentle whisper of affection.

Love is tender and warm and should never be trouble in 16 layers of clothing but Juliana is and regardless the reader will love her. Potential husbands should be warm, loving and attentive to their future bride not worried about what people think, yet Leighton on all that and still you know he is more. Sarah MacLean 3rd book in this series is spectacular and trying to top the first two had to be a challenge but Juliana is wonderful and Leighton a surprise on all levels. Fabulous!

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I bought this book because by reading the sample it was off to a great start.... However, as one continues reading and becoming more engrossed I noticed that most of the book had been spent in the Duke bring an a** and Julianna being pathetic by trying to gain his appro...
I bought this book because by reading the sample it was off to a great start.... However, as one continues reading and becoming more engrossed I noticed that most of the book had been spent in the Duke bring an a** and Julianna being pathetic by trying to gain his approval. All it's my personal opinion.

posted by IEML1220 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Should we risk everything for the sake of love?

    Miss Juliana Fiori has shown she can handle herself under any circumstances. She was raised to be independent by her Italian father after her scandalous English mother deserted them. She now lives with her brother in England after the death of her father with the only obstacle she can't seem to work around being English Society. Juliana tries to fit in but knows that she is never going to be one of them and the standard bearer of all things proper, Simon Pearson, eleventh Duke of Leighton keeps reminding her of this fact. He is scandal free and intends to make a perfect marital match with a quiet, demure woman who is biddable and with no reputation whatsoever, which is the complete opposite of all things Juliana. If there is a lake to fall into or a horse to ride however she chooses the fiery female inside Juliana is up for the challenge.

    Leighton is trying desperately to keep a mortifying secret from everyone that will bring his family shame and will forever destroy their reputation, so Juliana is a risk he can't take. Leighton is also aware that Juliana's mother has been scandalizing several continents with her behavior and the fear that her daughter will become her scares everyone especially Juliana. But even knowing that Juliana cannot be his choice for a wife the need for her makes the wanting of her more than he can bear and even though he knows better he cannot stay away from her. The problem for both Leighton and Juliana is that all the reasoning in the world and knowing they are the worst combination to attempt a relationship without a scandal for reasons unexplainable to everyone but their hearts they can't stay out of each other warm embrace. Juliana believes she is the woman to bring Leighton to the fun side of life and when the challenge is extended he accepts but with the knowledge nothing will keep him from marrying anyone but her or so he keeps repeating to himself every chance he gets but only after just one more kiss, a soft caress or perhaps a gentle whisper of affection.

    Love is tender and warm and should never be trouble in 16 layers of clothing but Juliana is and regardless the reader will love her. Potential husbands should be warm, loving and attentive to their future bride not worried about what people think, yet Leighton on all that and still you know he is more. Sarah MacLean 3rd book in this series is spectacular and trying to top the first two had to be a challenge but Juliana is wonderful and Leighton a surprise on all levels. Fabulous!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As awesome as pie straight out of the oven, but twice as HOT!

    Let it be known that Sarah MacLean is Queen of Romance! Nine Rules was an infatuation and Ten Ways really swept me away, but Eleven Scandals is in a whole another level of LOVE that I'm pretty sure that I'm still floating on Cloud 9 after weeks upon finishing it. I didn't think it was possible for Ms. MacLean's romances to burn any hotter, but holy fried-Twinkie-on-a-stick, the temperature of Eleven Scandals most likely rivaled the Sun's!


    I was surprised to see how hard I fell for this new couple since the Duke of Leighton proved himself to be a right bastard by the end of Book 2 and Juliana didn't really have much pagetime in the first 2 books! Simon still was a bit of a pompous jerk at first, but once the spotlight shone on his inner conflict between his upbringing and his desires, he has to be one of my absolute favorite male characters! Watching the Duke carry the weight of reputation and family scandal was fascinating - and he definitely redeems himself after giving us a poor impression in Nine Rules and Ten Ways.


    Juliana definitely sparkled in Eleven Scandals - and I have to commend Ms. MacLean for creating a character with such an adorable quirk of not quite mastering English idioms. My favorites include: "He called me a pie!" and "I would like to clean the air." Oy, it was just too cute for words! Juliana has a lot of heart, and I could not help but admire her strength and determination to teach Simon a lesson on passion and what "family" truly means.


    The most remarkable thing about Eleven Scandals is how it brought back beloved characters of the previous installments - Callie and Gabriel, Nick and Isabel, Leighton's sister Georgiana. I've read other romance series where prior characters make brief reappearances in the next book, but nothing of much substance. More like "hey, we're still here and together, but we've moved on and so should you." Not so with Eleven Scandals! Sarah MacLean gave her past characters an encore performance to further cement them into our hearts, which definitely makes me want to re-read the whole series again from start to finish.


    I definitely recommend that you don't start the series with Eleven Scandals - if anything, at least read Ten Ways first, but I strongly suggest that you read Love By Numbers in numerical order. I guarantee that you'll fall in love with each successive book! Sarah MacLean has written such an amazing series that will keep your heart nice and toasty!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Loved it!

    Not your typical "Duke" story. I laughed out loud at times and cried at other times. My kind of story. I loved the way all the characters interacted and melded into an enjoyable story. I wish I had read the other two books in this series first, but it was still a very enjoyable story. Loved Juliana and her "un Duchess-like" ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    This was a great end to a wonderful trilogy! Out of the three st

    This was a great end to a wonderful trilogy! Out of the three stories, Simon and Juliana's story was by far the best. 
    It had humor, sensuality, and love. I enjoy the fact that Gabriel and Nick was also apart of Juliana's story. I was so wrapped
    In her turmoil that I was sobbing....loudly. I was totally lost in this book. Ms. macLean has become one of my favorite authors.
    Can't wait to read her next book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Very well written historical romance.

    I actually got a little teary eyed as heroine's heart was breaking before the Duke came to his senses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    A must, great book

    Great book,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great finale

    After reading the first book in the series I could only hope that Juliana would have her own story. I was not disappointed.

    A great finale to the series. Loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Leaves the reader wanting more if her books to read.

    Loved it,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    A Fabulous Ending to a Great Series!

    This book was amazing. I literally could not put it down. Leighton is what you think a duke should be and Juliana is a one of a kind character that you can empathize with. I cant wait for Penelope Marbury's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    A Wonderful New Author for the Historical Romance Genre!!

    I've probably read a thousand (I don't exaggerate) historical romance novels. I'm truly an addict!! I have my favorite authors and devour their new releases as soon as they hit the shelves. So I am always searching for a new favorite author - I've found her in Sarah MacLean. I really enjoyed this series - the main characters are funny, spirited and defy conventional ton behavior. All three books in this series are great reads - I look forward to her next work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great end to a series...

    Once again, Ms. MacLean has given us a wonderful, witty and hotter than hot story with a feisty heroine and a tortured, flip-flopping hero. Simon finally has a woman who will show him that avoiding scandal at all costs is not worth losing those near and dear to you. Juliana meets Simon thrust for thrust (um, take this for what you will) and holds her own not only with him, but with the stuck up, "I'm better than you", whisper-whisper behind my fan, women of the ton. The St. John and Fiori siblings all get their Happily Ever Afters. What a great book to end the "Love by Numbers" series. I can't wait to see what Ms. MacLean has next in store for us readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book I've read in a long time!!!

    The only reason that I bought this book to read at first, was bc Eloisa James said that it was a great book in one of her blogs!! I must say that I couldn't put this book down! I have 2 young children and my youngest he's only 9 months.. Every chance that I got I was reading this book! I love the new fresh beat on it.. The characters are wonderful. From the beginning I could tell that Juliana and Simon were going to have a heart warming story.. And I wasn't disappointed at all! I haven't read anything that could be close to this one.. of course almost all historicals have a scandal of some sort! But this book was completely a book unto its own. If you love to read any books by Elizabeth Boyle, Eloisa James, or even Lisa Kleypas you have got to read this book. You will not be disappointed! I am looking forward to reading the other 2 that went w/ this one. and also the series that she is coming out w/ in the winter!.. it starts w/ A Rougue By Any Other Name. Cant wait!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As awesome as pie straight from the oven, but twice as hot!

    Let it be known that Sarah MacLean is Queen of Romance! Nine Rules was an infatuation and Ten Ways really swept me away, but Eleven Scandals is in a whole other level of LOVE that I'm pretty sure that I'm still floating on Cloud 9 after weeks upon finishing it. I didn't think it was possible for Ms. MacLean's romances to burn any hotter, but holy fried-Twinkie-on-a-stick, the temperature of Eleven Scandals most likely rivaled the Sun's!

    I was surprised to see how hard I fell for this new couple since the Duke of Leighton proved himself to be a right bastard by the end of Book 2 and Juliana didn't really have much pagetime in the first 2 books! Simon still was a bit of a pompous jerk at first, but once the spotlight shone on his inner conflict between his upbringing and his desires, he has to be one of my absolute favorite male characters! Watching the Duke carry the weight of reputation and family scandal was fascinating - and he definitely redeems himself after giving us a poor impression in Nine Rules and Ten Ways.

    Juliana definitely sparkled in Eleven Scandals - and I have to commend Ms. MacLean for creating a character with such an adorable quirk of not quite mastering English idioms. My favorites include: "He called me a pie!" and "I would like to clean the air." Oy, it was just too cute for words! Juliana has a lot of heart, and I could not help but admire her strength and determination to teach Simon a lesson on passion and what "family" truly means.

    The most remarkable thing about Eleven Scandals is how it brought back beloved characters of the previous installments - Callie and Gabriel, Nick and Isabel, Leighton's sister Georgiana. I've read other romance series where prior characters make brief reappearances in the next book, but nothing of much substance. More like "hey, we're still here and together, but we've moved on and so should you." Not so with Eleven Scandals! Sarah MacLean gave her past characters an encore performance to further cement them into our hearts, which definitely makes me want to re-read the whole series again from start to finish.

    I definitely recommend that you don't start the series with Eleven Scandals - if anything, at least read Ten Ways first, but I strongly suggest that you read Love By Numbers in numerical order. I guarantee that you'll fall in love with each successive book! Sarah MacLean has written such an amazing series that will keep your heart nice and toasty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Great book

    This is a great series. Its fun and keeped me into it the whole time. Didn't want to put the book down. I would definantly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an amusing gender war between obstinate opposites

    In 1823, although she has just arrived in England, the half-sister of the Marquess of Ralston, Juliana Fiori believes she understands the key traits of the aristocracy are public prim and proper in order to avoid mention in the infamous Scandal Sheet. She also knows Polite Society will not accept her passionate Italian nature so being a headliner is fine in her mind.

    When she meets the paragon of English society Duke Simon Pearson, Juliana decides to teach the prude a lesson of the heart. He is attracted to her even before she chose to break him, but he has bigger problems protecting his family from a scandal though he considers teaching the wildcat a lesson in behavior. However Simon needs a wife; but though he desires Juliana, he knows the Ton will never accept her..

    The third Love by Numbers Regency (see Nine Rules To Break When Romancing a Rake and Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord) is an amusing gender war between obstinate opposites. As sub-genre fans expect Michael Buffer to announce "Let's get ready to rumble!" the lead antagonists fuss and fight while falling in unwanted love. Although the respective causes for their contrary stick in the Thames mud behavior comes a bit late in the humorous plot, readers will enjoy the eleven, make that twelve, scandals to win her duke's heart.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6