Customer Reviews for

Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 534 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(335)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading....
I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It's more a romance than a mystery series

The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of...
The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of a romantic comedy than a mystery series. The author will keep rolling out these books and her fans will keep eating them up. Why mess with a winning formula? I used to wish that the author would take this series further, stretch her creativity and talent and bring back some of the freshness that made the Stephanie Plum novels and characters so original. But I haven't seen anything new for at least half the series and now don't expect anything but more of the same each time I read. They're still entertaining but no longer exciting. Too bad. It used to be such a sassy series. Now it seems more lazy then anything else.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    It's more a romance than a mystery series

    The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of a romantic comedy than a mystery series. The author will keep rolling out these books and her fans will keep eating them up. Why mess with a winning formula? I used to wish that the author would take this series further, stretch her creativity and talent and bring back some of the freshness that made the Stephanie Plum novels and characters so original. But I haven't seen anything new for at least half the series and now don't expect anything but more of the same each time I read. They're still entertaining but no longer exciting. Too bad. It used to be such a sassy series. Now it seems more lazy then anything else.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    not a good one

    This one was pretty bad. She dumbed Ranger down , having him use the word "babe" excessively ; totally stereotyping him. Stephanie - it was charming how she used to get her cars blown up, and have all these crazies stalk her in the first few books, but now it seems like the author is making her into one of "those" characters; practically a Mary Sue - She has every guy in RangeMan fawn over her because she's just so gorgeous. yeah, right, with all that crap she eats. That whole jelly doughnut business, felt like somebody, the author was trying to make her sound even more interesting then she really is, which was really obvious. And the banter between her and Ranger, I imagined him to be smarter then play a long with her games. And she babied morelli a lot, acted a total wife in a lot of the scenes. I couldn't believe she got credited for solving the crime, she did absolutely nothing. I like my characters to be smart enough to figure it out before the guy tells them about it himself. The author made Stephanie be like the perfect girl, she makes horrible mistakes, but they always, and I mean always lead to good things. She eats crap but can lose weight in a day. in reality, no matter what metabolism you've got, if you're over thirty and eat like she does you do not look good - if you're not fat, you at least get that unhealthy junk food glow - and yet she's perfection and everyone loves her. She's the one who always gets her man, no one has outshines her yet. And that's not realistic, even if the books are all about her, she needs to lose from time to time.
    Another thing about Stephanie, which is more to each their own then a character flow is her relationship with the two men in her life. I liked it in the beginning because the attraction with Ranger was sparse , she had strong enough morals to be faithful. Now, the groping and flirting, the kissing. She's become a real slut (using her own word). Morellie, and Ranger can do much better. Wish one of them was smart enough to leave her and her stupid games.

    By now I was expecting her parents, at least her mom to evolve a little bit more like a separate individual but still her only purpose in the books seems to be to say "oh you're going to be the death of me". After eleven books it's not enough for me anymore. It just serves to emphasis Stephanie's Mary sueness.

    lots more to say, but I'll leave it at that. Gonna take a long break from reading these books, but will probably return to them in the future.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Tiresome

    The first book in this series was funny and entertaining. Now it is obvious that the author has run out of steam. All the characters sound the same. Glad I got this from the library.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Very Enjoyable

    I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Fun read...

    Plum's still going strong. I sandwitch Stephanie's books between dark and dangerous reads and completely enjoy the difference!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Its the best

    I can never get enough of theses books. I want more and more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    This seems clearance sale by number so stock up

    Where else will you read about New Jersey? A good laugh per book is worth it. Whose idea to put them all up there this month? Never caught on they were numbered as had only borrowed from library out of order. However they are best enjoyed one at a time and far apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended !!!

    I love Stephanie Plum and this one is wonderful. I especially love Grandma and Mom....these ladies rock!!! Janet has a good thing going with this series. I have read and re-read all 18 of them. Top notch stuff and funny too. I find myself laughing out loud. Start with One and work your way up.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Stephanie

    Sooo funny and clever. Always a pleasure to read about the "walking disaster" that is Stephanie Plum. I took a break @#10 and now i cannot wait to read #12.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have read the entire series. Wish there was more books on this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Not that very good book number eleven

    It was not good

    Twelve was a much better book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining and funny !

    I am so hooked on Stephanie Plum and thank goodness Janet Evanovich keeps the story like entertaining. The love / lust triangle between Stephanie, Joe Morelli, and Ranger is throbbing and funny and filled with tension. This is particularly interesting since Stephanie ends up working for Ranger at Ranger-man Security. Which good looking hunk will claim Stephanie this time. By the way Grandma Mazer, wow if I had a grandma like that Sunday dinners would happen 2 - 3 times a week - everyone needs to laugh more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Evanovich is on top!

    At first, I wasn't so sure I liked the idea of Steph quitting her job as a bounty hunter, but it turned out okay since Steph was sure to keep things interesting! She was continually fired one way or another and soon began working for Ranger, which was another cool idea of Evanovich and kept things fresh in the series. Although I couldn't help think Steph was pushing the boundaries with Ranger (as she was technically Morelli's girl), it showed the reader (and Steph) what a romantic relationship with Ranger might be like. The actual plot, being a character of the past returning to kill Steph, was interesting as well. Although Steph thought she knew who the killer was (and the reader too), it turned out to be someone else entirely! This made the ending all the more exciting! Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner

    Janet Evanovich has scored again with a winner. I absolutely loved this book. The sexual tension between Stephanie, Morelli and Ranger keeps you wanting more and more. Of course there is always the side splitting humor with Lula, Grandma Mazur and Mr. & Mrs. Plum as well. The only bad thing with this book is having to wait for the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Never let down by JE. Love her sense of humour

    Never let down by JE. Love her sense of humour

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Announcement place

    Brchclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Best book ever

    I only have a sample but i was having a laughing attak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Another great book

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This book was funny and entertaining. It provided a nice diversion to life's daily stresses. There are parts in this book that just about every female can identify with; I know I did! A good, fast easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    Another great book in this series.

    Another great book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28