Customer Reviews for

Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 534 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(335)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading....
I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It's more a romance than a mystery series

The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of...
The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of a romantic comedy than a mystery series. The author will keep rolling out these books and her fans will keep eating them up. Why mess with a winning formula? I used to wish that the author would take this series further, stretch her creativity and talent and bring back some of the freshness that made the Stephanie Plum novels and characters so original. But I haven't seen anything new for at least half the series and now don't expect anything but more of the same each time I read. They're still entertaining but no longer exciting. Too bad. It used to be such a sassy series. Now it seems more lazy then anything else.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    It's more a romance than a mystery series

    The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of a romantic comedy than a mystery series. The author will keep rolling out these books and her fans will keep eating them up. Why mess with a winning formula? I used to wish that the author would take this series further, stretch her creativity and talent and bring back some of the freshness that made the Stephanie Plum novels and characters so original. But I haven't seen anything new for at least half the series and now don't expect anything but more of the same each time I read. They're still entertaining but no longer exciting. Too bad. It used to be such a sassy series. Now it seems more lazy then anything else.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    not a good one

    This one was pretty bad. She dumbed Ranger down , having him use the word "babe" excessively ; totally stereotyping him. Stephanie - it was charming how she used to get her cars blown up, and have all these crazies stalk her in the first few books, but now it seems like the author is making her into one of "those" characters; practically a Mary Sue - She has every guy in RangeMan fawn over her because she's just so gorgeous. yeah, right, with all that crap she eats. That whole jelly doughnut business, felt like somebody, the author was trying to make her sound even more interesting then she really is, which was really obvious. And the banter between her and Ranger, I imagined him to be smarter then play a long with her games. And she babied morelli a lot, acted a total wife in a lot of the scenes. I couldn't believe she got credited for solving the crime, she did absolutely nothing. I like my characters to be smart enough to figure it out before the guy tells them about it himself. The author made Stephanie be like the perfect girl, she makes horrible mistakes, but they always, and I mean always lead to good things. She eats crap but can lose weight in a day. in reality, no matter what metabolism you've got, if you're over thirty and eat like she does you do not look good - if you're not fat, you at least get that unhealthy junk food glow - and yet she's perfection and everyone loves her. She's the one who always gets her man, no one has outshines her yet. And that's not realistic, even if the books are all about her, she needs to lose from time to time.
    Another thing about Stephanie, which is more to each their own then a character flow is her relationship with the two men in her life. I liked it in the beginning because the attraction with Ranger was sparse , she had strong enough morals to be faithful. Now, the groping and flirting, the kissing. She's become a real slut (using her own word). Morellie, and Ranger can do much better. Wish one of them was smart enough to leave her and her stupid games.

    By now I was expecting her parents, at least her mom to evolve a little bit more like a separate individual but still her only purpose in the books seems to be to say "oh you're going to be the death of me". After eleven books it's not enough for me anymore. It just serves to emphasis Stephanie's Mary sueness.

    lots more to say, but I'll leave it at that. Gonna take a long break from reading these books, but will probably return to them in the future.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Oh heaven, number eleven

    Starting with the first Stephanie Plum book, I have read every one except #10 of which my aunt told me not to bother but just had to try #11 which I wish I had not bothered either. So boring and predictable, very disappointed. Hope twelve will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Boring

    I am a little tired of the same old, same old with Stephanie. It would be nice to see a LITTLE character development, but it feels as if the authour is milking us for our book money. There were a few chuckles, but I am really wishing Stephanie would grow up a little. The Joe/Ranger thing is VERY old. And VERY hard to believe. I doubt I'll be reading number 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    A Big Time Reader of books.

    Come on Janet what happened it's still Joe and Stephanie jumping in the hay why not just have them get married already. I wanted to see Stephanie be more a part of Rangers life both working and loving. I can't believe you keep the same old same old. I won't be buying your next book Iam sick of reading about the same old stuff. This book seemed to be a much shorter read. I was totally DISAPPOINTED. I can't give the story away because others haven't read it yet but I hope there are others out there who agree and are not afraid to say this not one of the best. The only thing good about this book is the person who does the reading for the CD's and Tapes as she really does a great job with all the different voices. Lorelei King is the best when it comes to the books on Cd or tapes. The other ladies don't even rate. I would say goodbye to Joe and run right into Rangers arms. If you have never brought the Plum books on CD or Tapes Your really missing out on a good thing but make sure it's the ones read by Lorelei King she does a Fabulous job. the others forget about it!!! PS I read lots of books they are like candy to me. I could read a book a day if I could afford to buy that many. I don't just read fiction I read many non fiction books as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    A lot to be desired ....

    As an avid Stephanie Plum fan, I couldn't wait for # 11 to hit the bookstore !!! But, the book was a total disappointment. The usual side splitting, 'wet my pants' laughs were not there. The mystery plot - a decades old robbery - was weak and underdeveloped. Even the romantic triangle between Stephanie/Morelli/Ranger seemed tedious and predictable. The handling of Valerie and Albert Kloughn's wedding -or non wedding- seemed like an after thought. And poor Rex was mentioned so little that I worried about his going hungry !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Stephanie is getting boring

    What happened!! I waited so long for this book and it was a real disappointment!!. The plot was boring and it was a complete rehash of old stuff. Usually Janet is right on, but this one was not at all what we expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Definitely not her best

    I was disappointed in this one. Not enough laughs. I agree with another review that maybe Stephanie needs some female competition to help her commit or leave Joe, no self respecting man would put up with 'l-l-l-like' this long after he says he loves her. The ending was way too rushed and unsatisfying. Hope 12 is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    :(

    I've read all the Plum books, Ten Big Ones was my favorite. This book left me a little disappointed. I liked how Janet brought Stephanie's sister and Albert Kloughn into the series a few books back. I think we need some more new characters to enter the series and maybe Stephanie to just meet a new man altogether ! The confessions of the bad guys at the end are getting a little stale, maybe Stephanie can figure out the mystery for once instead of the bad guys telling her everything right before they want to kill her. Need some new endings. I'm still looking forward to number 12 though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1