Customer Reviews for

Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 532 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(335)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading....
I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It's more a romance than a mystery series

The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of...
The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of a romantic comedy than a mystery series. The author will keep rolling out these books and her fans will keep eating them up. Why mess with a winning formula? I used to wish that the author would take this series further, stretch her creativity and talent and bring back some of the freshness that made the Stephanie Plum novels and characters so original. But I haven't seen anything new for at least half the series and now don't expect anything but more of the same each time I read. They're still entertaining but no longer exciting. Too bad. It used to be such a sassy series. Now it seems more lazy then anything else.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Fun read...

    Plum's still going strong. I sandwitch Stephanie's books between dark and dangerous reads and completely enjoy the difference!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    This seems clearance sale by number so stock up

    Where else will you read about New Jersey? A good laugh per book is worth it. Whose idea to put them all up there this month? Never caught on they were numbered as had only borrowed from library out of order. However they are best enjoyed one at a time and far apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I LOVE listening to CJ Critt do the narratives for the Plum series. Her Grandma Mazur and Lula's voices are phenomenal. No offense, Ms King, but grandma's high squeaky voice and Lula's weird voice just don't cut it for me. As usual, the story was fun, but the voice protrayals nagged my nerves. What with Ranger talking with a cuban accent? J's instead of Y's?? :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    Woman In Jeopardy Again

    My husband asked where Evanovich gets her material. Jokingly, I replied that she has following me around. He said, 'You're right on target. That's a good answer because Stephanie's life sounds just like yours.' I wondered why Stephanie did not go to a library to do her search for old stories about crimes that occurred at Fort Dix. Every army base published its own newspaper. These newspapers are not online, but they are filed in local libraries. Most of them have yellowed, dry brittle pages and need to be handled very carefully. Had Stephanie gone to the library, she might have located the robbery story and obtained more details about what happened and or how the army handled the case. Also, every army base has a historian who could have given her all of the answers. Evanovich's woman in jeopardy/damsel in distress, where Morelli and Ranger have to rescue her on every case, makes it very difficult to believe that anyone would hire Stephanie Plum as a bounty hunter. This sounds more like a romance novel where the hero has to come riding his white horse to rescue the poor little damsel in distress than a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    A reviewer

    I have either listened or read the whole series and was looking forward to #11. I got 5 minutes into and had to turn it off. What a disappointment with the reader. Now I will have to get the book and read it. The audio books make the series. Bring back CJ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Okay... but not great

    This wasn't a bad read... and I am looking forward to twelve... HOWEVER... I think that, with Thirteen (given what i've already read of twelve), it's long time and past to start bringing the Stephanie-Morelli-Ranger love triangle to a close. I think it was in eleven that Ranger started to get my respect back (because, for him, I have none and am quickly LOSING respect for Stephanie) when he told her to repair what she had with Morelli... then shot himself in the foot by adding a warning to not take too long. I think Morelli would be the better match and that Ranger, with his calloused, cavalier attitude should take a hike... PERMANENTLY to the landfill. But that's just my opinion. If Ranger wins out, when he tosses her aside, I don't want to see Stephanie crying over losing Joe because she won't be worth having. She should have realised it in the first place and ditched the player for the real thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Where in the world is C.J.Critt?

    I've been a devote fan of Stephanie Plum since the beggining. I've listened to every one and the characters have become real to me through the brilliant narration of C.J. Critt. King does an OK job but its only amusing instead of downright hysterical. What a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Same old, same old

    Amusing but repetitive outing with Stephanie. I find that the longer this series goes on, the less I like the heroine. Sorry to say, but she has become tedious and annoying now. Morelli definitely deserves better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Not up to Plum!

    I like Stephanie. A lot. But this book is different, and not in a good way. Darker, and thin on both wit and humor, Evanovich has Stephanie doing things out of character. And getting through the background stuff, all stuffed into the first chapters, was a real chore. Maybe we don't need background stuff anymore, by book 11 in a series? With the reruns on background for everyone in the book, plus the BERG info, added to the fact that the margins on the pages are huge, the story comes in at the length of a wordy novella, instead of a full book. Oh - and the 'BABE' thing Range says was fun for the first few books, but is old now. In this book, he uses it in place of any conversation whatsoever. Dullsville! Didn't cut it on this one, Janet. So sorry to say this, but it's true. This from a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    ok...

    I will always be a devoted fan of Evanovich...but I didn't find this book as funny or entertaining as her other ones. But it still was a good fast read. Can't wait for Twelve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    wonderous read

    this book exemplifies imagination and excellent writing skills. it was a fantastic summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Still Hanging

    I'd rate 11 better than 10 but we need more action between Ranger and Stephanie. Also, Ranger needs more dialog other than 'Babe'. He's an intelligent guy so let's get more into his life. Plus the guy must be a saint - look how long he's been protecting Stephanie and has had only one sexual encounter with her??? Let's get real. I do love the characters and Stephanie feels like my best friend but let's get more details and a better plot for number 12!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    the series is starting to slip.....

    I just saw a TV interview with Janet Evanovich in which she said that taking some time to start her new Metro Girl series gave her a fresh perspective on Stephanie Plum. How I wish that were true. While 'Eleven' provided me with some wonderfully hilarious images and lots of laughs, just like the rest of the series, the whole story seemed forced, as though Ms. Evanovich has run out of new ideas and just plays the same thing over and over - sexual tension between Stephanie and Ranger, Stephanie and Joe, Lula and whomever, cars getting blown up, slapstick, slapstick, slapstick on every page. Yes, Stephanie has quit working for Vinnie, but she just moved on to Ranger's operations. 'Eleven' feels like a short story (yet it's an oversized hardback, albeit with 'large' print, much like the Christmas Stephanie Plum book). It feels rushed and the same ol' same ol', like Ms. Evanovich wasn't really thinking much about what she was writing. Again, Ms. Evanovich is still rip-roaring funny, but I wish the series would start to get a bit more 'filled out.' I will absolutely get book 12 and look forward to it. I'm just hoping for something more a little more substantial among the hilarity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Good but not the best.

    I love the Stephanie Plum series and can't wait till the next book comes out but I was a little disappointed in this ending. Janet is a great author who keeps you engrossed page after page. PLEASE hurry and do # 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Pretty Good......but the same kind of ending

    I love the series and couldn't wait for this book to come out, but I have to say the ending was a let down. I wish there would be some kind of decision between the men. Maybe it's time to throw some competion in the mix...then she would have to make a decision. This book provided some good laughs, but it was slow moving. Definetly not the best in the series. However, I love Janet's work and will continue to read her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Not her Best

    I have loved the entire series from the beginning, but this one was a bit of a letdown. For the first time I auctually put it down becuase it was slow going. Normally I laugh from cover to cover. I still recommend the entire series to anyone, and will continue to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    Not up to par

    It was okay, somewhat enjoyable, but lacked the pace, interest and tempo of the recent previous Stephanie Plum books. The consumption of tastycakes and donuts made me want to throw up. Steph appears immature and ditsy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3