Customer Reviews for

Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 533 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(335)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading....
I have read all 11 in the Stephanie Plum series, and Janet keeps finding new things for Stephanie to do. This novel was just as good as all of the others in the series. The great sense of detail and the wonderful humor make this book one to spend time reading.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It's more a romance than a mystery series

The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of...
The Stephanie Plum series is all about the romance. The relationship aspects of the series are the parts that the author plans out two to three books ahead of time. The rest of the story follows where she wants to take the relationships book to book. Sounds like more of a romantic comedy than a mystery series. The author will keep rolling out these books and her fans will keep eating them up. Why mess with a winning formula? I used to wish that the author would take this series further, stretch her creativity and talent and bring back some of the freshness that made the Stephanie Plum novels and characters so original. But I haven't seen anything new for at least half the series and now don't expect anything but more of the same each time I read. They're still entertaining but no longer exciting. Too bad. It used to be such a sassy series. Now it seems more lazy then anything else.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Stephanie

    Sooo funny and clever. Always a pleasure to read about the "walking disaster" that is Stephanie Plum. I took a break @#10 and now i cannot wait to read #12.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining and funny !

    I am so hooked on Stephanie Plum and thank goodness Janet Evanovich keeps the story like entertaining. The love / lust triangle between Stephanie, Joe Morelli, and Ranger is throbbing and funny and filled with tension. This is particularly interesting since Stephanie ends up working for Ranger at Ranger-man Security. Which good looking hunk will claim Stephanie this time. By the way Grandma Mazer, wow if I had a grandma like that Sunday dinners would happen 2 - 3 times a week - everyone needs to laugh more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Evanovich is on top!

    At first, I wasn't so sure I liked the idea of Steph quitting her job as a bounty hunter, but it turned out okay since Steph was sure to keep things interesting! She was continually fired one way or another and soon began working for Ranger, which was another cool idea of Evanovich and kept things fresh in the series. Although I couldn't help think Steph was pushing the boundaries with Ranger (as she was technically Morelli's girl), it showed the reader (and Steph) what a romantic relationship with Ranger might be like. The actual plot, being a character of the past returning to kill Steph, was interesting as well. Although Steph thought she knew who the killer was (and the reader too), it turned out to be someone else entirely! This made the ending all the more exciting! Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Another great book

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This book was funny and entertaining. It provided a nice diversion to life's daily stresses. There are parts in this book that just about every female can identify with; I know I did! A good, fast easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommended for all with a funny bone

    I love Evanovich and each of her stories set you up knowing a funny one is coming on. Visualization of the funny is essential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    "Eleven on Top"

    I have read most of the Stephanie Plum series and are a light fun read !

    I have also read a couple of other Janet Evanovich books of which I would only give two stars .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Disappointed in the ending

    I enjoyed most of the book. Trouble following sometimes, but the end left a bad taste in my mouth. Hope the next book plays back into this a little more....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love these books they are really fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Exciting story with a satisfying ending.

    Stephanie Plum is a wonderful down to earth heroine. Loved all her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Funny

    Okay this book was beyond outragous and ridiculous but I found myself laughing out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    Evanovich does it again!

    This type of book isn't my norm..but alot of my coworkers had read it and said the same..it wasn't something they would normally read..but I tell ya once you start with the 1st one you can't put them down or wait for the next one.. atleast I couldn't. This series made me laugh out loud and its been along time since a book has done that for me..I absolutely agree with A REVIEWER..a movie or series should be made out of these books..I can see The Rock as Ranger..and Monique as lula ..can't really imagine a Joe maybe someone like George Clooney or a dark haired Brad Pitt..and Stephanie well I never pictured Sandra Bulloc but I have to admit she would make a good Plum girl..EXCELLENT SERIES.start reading them today..I promise you won't stop w/the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    could have been better.but still leaves u wanting more..

    the book was good...i think it could have been better but i'm still awaiting the 12th one..so that's good ...right?...the love triangle between steph..joe..ranger-awesome...i'm still not sure who i want her to end up with...keep it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Hilarious - may be dangerous to listen to while driving...

    I have listened to most of the Plum series and although this started out slower than some of the rest, it was a great listen on my way to work. Stephanie and the gang are laugh out loud funny and that must look strange to the other drivers. Highly recommended for those who need some lightheartedness in their lives and if you drive a distance to work like I do, this will surely help pass the time. I can't wait to begin Twelve and then will anxiously await 13. Thank you Janet!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Laugh out loud enjoyable

    I love the Plum books. I think they are all funny and strictly a change of venue for me. From FBI, Espionage, Murder Mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Trouble Still Exists

    Ms. Plum may have quit her bounty hunting career, but trouble follows her like a signature perfume. Wherever and whatever she is into, someone is trying to stop her, at least temporarily. Yet, despite her family life, her lack of career goals, and a waning romance situation, Stephanie is still loveable and endearing. Only she can come so close to disaster, yet remain standing. If you have not made her acquaintance, this would be a good start to get to know Stephanie Plum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Anything but Ordinary

    Wow, just finished 11 on Top!!!!! As usual I enjoyed Stephanie's story sooooo much!!! I really enjoyed how much her and Joe have grown together and was not disappointed to still the feel the tension between her and Ranger. How do you decide who's best for Stephanie when as she puts it, it's like choosing between birthday cake and a big boy margarita!!!!Of course the as I like to put it the 'back story' of whos after her was good with it's twists and turns, explosions and just enough suspense to have you sitting up in bed when your reading! Hurry up Janet and get the next one going!!! My girlfriends and I are already coming up with our names for the contest, hope we will have the next dedication! We can't wait another year to find out what direction Stephanie will take next!! This is the best series I have read in years!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Eleven on Top - A Little Disappointing

    I have been a janet evanovich fan since reading 'one for the money' and have always looked forward to the next installment. when i saw 'eleven on top' on the shelf at my local bookstore i snatched it right up and started reading it that night. Yes, the belly laughs are plentiful (go grandma), the interaction between joe and stephanie is more mature than normal, and the sexual banter between stephanie and ranger is intriguing as always. but, where's the plot of this book? i guess i'm just used to stephanie getting into a little more hot water than she does in this one. while i recommend this book for anyone who's a fan of the series, her previous books are better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    Good....But more of the same

    Stephanie Plum is at it again in this continuing saga of an inept bounty hunter. You can count on the book to deliver the laughs you expect, but don't count on anything new in the story line. There's still plenty of conflict in her love life and the same things happen to her day to day. I really want the next Stephanie Plum book to branch out more. We've seen several books with the Joe and Ranger conflict, but nothing ever resolves or escaltes. I would love for Stephanie to have intelligent arguments with the men in her life instead of being completely irrational in her thought processes. Stephanie is in a rut and I hope she escapes it in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Good Read

    I enjoyed book 11 almost as much as I enjoyed the previous 10. The only thing I was a little disappointed with is the usual back and forth, Joe or Ranger, its getting a little stale. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6