Customer Reviews for

The Eleventh Victim (Hailey Dean Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A must-read for sure!

Nancy Grace delivers! In this riveting 'who done it', you'll be on the edge of your seat. Talk about books you can't put down! A page-turner, and chart topper for sure. Congratulations Nancy, on your book, and on your life's trials and tribulations, overall! You ar...
Nancy Grace delivers! In this riveting 'who done it', you'll be on the edge of your seat. Talk about books you can't put down! A page-turner, and chart topper for sure. Congratulations Nancy, on your book, and on your life's trials and tribulations, overall! You are an inspirational symbol of strength to all women. Two thumbs up!

posted by 1744950 on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dull

I couldn't get into this book and I am a big Nancy Grace fan. It was boring, dull and seemed like it started out as an autobiography. I had no sympathy for the main character, I made it to chapter 9 and then had to return it to the library. Had high hopes for this one.

posted by MidwestGal on September 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    There are a few different story lines occurring at once, sort of like a soap opera, but the change from one story line to another keeps the reader wanting to read more. Very entertaining!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read for sure!

    Nancy Grace delivers! In this riveting 'who done it', you'll be on the edge of your seat. Talk about books you can't put down! A page-turner, and chart topper for sure. Congratulations Nancy, on your book, and on your life's trials and tribulations, overall! You are an inspirational symbol of strength to all women. Two thumbs up!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An exhilarating chilling serial killer thriller.

    Atlanta ADA Hailey Dean lost her fiancé when he was killed in a violent assault. That harrowing incident sent her to law school and the Office of the DA. However needing to leave the city, she prosecutes her last case successfully; convicting Clint Burrell Cruise for the serial killings of eleven prostitutes. Almost immediately after winning the case, Hailey resigns and moves to Manhattan.

    Two years later, Hailey has left the law and become a therapist as she had planned before her beloved was murdered. However, she is shocked when someone begins murdering her patients using the same method that Cruise used. NYPD suspects Dean has lost it and is the person of interest as they find something of hers at a murder scene.

    Although the plausibility factor is over the top of the empire State building and the key cast stereotyped from serial killer 101, fans will enjoy this fast-paced thriller that effortlessly switches point of view from distraught frightened avenging Hailey to the calm simmering angry killer. Readers will enjoy THE ELEVENTH VICTIM as Court TV reporter Nancy Grace uses her real life as part of the core of this exhilarating chilling serial killer thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Fiction but very realistic

    I had my doubts when I purchased this book, but I must admit, I was totally surprised. Although this book is fiction, it was very realistic. Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down. I hope that Nancy continues to write fiction, because this was a home run for her. I LOVED THIS BOOK

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    very good book must read

    this book is a must read it keeps you guessing who the killer is and gives you a suprise at the end it really got me at the end you never suspected it so if you havent read this book do it now your missing out trust me

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Couldn't put this book down.

    I thought this book was great, it was hard to put down. I was able to finish it in only 5 days. It keeps you in suspense. I thought the side stories were great, but when I really started to get into the stories more about Hailey I wish it was just about her. I really look forward to another story from Nancy Grace!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Better than expected

    I really liked this book. At first I wasn't sure I was going to like it, but by the time I got to the middle of the book I was hooked and drawn in. I also liked the short chapters so I can read short bits at a time when I'm in situations that don't allow me to read for long periods of time.
    Nancy develops the characters well and left me with a sense of suspense by the time I got to the end of the book. I recommend this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I am an avid reader. I especially enjoy crime/mystery. This book was so good. I really liked the twist at the end. I hope Nancy will continue to write more of the same. She is right up there with the BEST in my book (no pun intended)!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read

    A great read , good mystery and well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    page turner

    Excellent story, enlightening. Full of insights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Eleventh Victim

    I really enjoyed this book. I think this would be a perfect beginning to several more tales of Hailey's investigations. She was a very believable character and the suspense kept you reading right to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    I did not see that coming!

    I must start by simply saying, I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It combined courtroom drama with forensic elements, great story lines, good characters. A true page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!!

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat. MUST read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    good detective/courtroom drama

    y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better than I thought it would be

    I watch Nancy Grace and wanted to read her book "The Eleventh Victim".
    Since I only have an hour a day to read at lunch I haven't finished the book yet,
    but so far it it so much better than I expected it to be! It is full of suspense and very well written. I can't wait for my lunch hour every day to read what happens next!
    I would highly recommend this book and can't wait to read any other books Nancy writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    R

    Hop on pop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Highly Recommend it!

    This is the first book by Nancy Grace. She writes very well and keeps the reader enthralled. You don't know who the "bad guy" is right until the end. Read this book first, then "Death on the D List". They follow in that order. Can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Great book!!!

    Im not sure I would recomend this book for you at such a young age. But its really up for your mother to decide. The book isnt about a 10yr old getting raped, its about a former prosecuter who is accused of mudering her patents the same way a serial killer she last prosecuted did. The book is kinda hard to follwow at first, and really just not appropriate for your age. The book was amazing! I loved it once I finshed it. Cant wait to read the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I am a huge fan of Nancy Grace,And i just enjoyed this book,She is so dramatic and it so in the book!Oh gotta go it's 7:00 HLN time,Also read Book below it is another page turner...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4