Customer Reviews for

Elfin

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This book was given to me by the author for an honest review. Le

This book was given to me by the author for an honest review.
Let me start by saying, I don’t believe in 5 stars for ARC books. Part of being a 5 star book is withstanding the test of time. I may have to review my stance on this after reading Elfin. These characters ...
This book was given to me by the author for an honest review.
Let me start by saying, I don’t believe in 5 stars for ARC books. Part of being a 5 star book is withstanding the test of time. I may have to review my stance on this after reading Elfin. These characters are intense. Quinn is able to show the love and devotion of two people while keeping the book PG rated. Of course the book ends in a cliff hanger (what good series doesn’t?) but she gives us an idea what to expect in the next book, so I’m good with it.
On the plus side: Trik puts a whole new twist on bad boy. The descriptions of other lands are just enough to give you a good picture without weighing down the story. And we have a glossary of foreign terms. (I love the way Quinn brings in a different language to her books to add seasoning to the story.)
On the minus side: It was a bit short. Although I realize she was keeping the book within the acceptable word count for this genre, I believe Ms. Loftis has established herself and can go beyond the limits without reprimand. Cassie’s dad was so over the top with his questioning of her dates; I wondered what the back story was. Cassie’s mom tripping over her tongue at Trik’s good looks was just ewww, gross. Mom needs to attempt to hide this. (Although I’m sure most teenage girls feel like this is exactly how their parents behave.)
Bottom line: I recommend this book. The characters are likeable, plausible and exciting. At just over two-hundred pages, it is a quick read to get away from all the hustle and bustle of real life. An honestly, isn’t that the reason we all read this genre - to get away? So go. Get the book and travel to new realms. And while you’re there, tell them Julia sent you.

posted by BookFairies on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

can u buy this for a nook book in the uk?

can u buy this for a nook book in the uk?

posted by hullgrl-uk-89 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    This book was given to me by the author for an honest review. Le

    This book was given to me by the author for an honest review.
    Let me start by saying, I don’t believe in 5 stars for ARC books. Part of being a 5 star book is withstanding the test of time. I may have to review my stance on this after reading Elfin. These characters are intense. Quinn is able to show the love and devotion of two people while keeping the book PG rated. Of course the book ends in a cliff hanger (what good series doesn’t?) but she gives us an idea what to expect in the next book, so I’m good with it.
    On the plus side: Trik puts a whole new twist on bad boy. The descriptions of other lands are just enough to give you a good picture without weighing down the story. And we have a glossary of foreign terms. (I love the way Quinn brings in a different language to her books to add seasoning to the story.)
    On the minus side: It was a bit short. Although I realize she was keeping the book within the acceptable word count for this genre, I believe Ms. Loftis has established herself and can go beyond the limits without reprimand. Cassie’s dad was so over the top with his questioning of her dates; I wondered what the back story was. Cassie’s mom tripping over her tongue at Trik’s good looks was just ewww, gross. Mom needs to attempt to hide this. (Although I’m sure most teenage girls feel like this is exactly how their parents behave.)
    Bottom line: I recommend this book. The characters are likeable, plausible and exciting. At just over two-hundred pages, it is a quick read to get away from all the hustle and bustle of real life. An honestly, isn’t that the reason we all read this genre - to get away? So go. Get the book and travel to new realms. And while you’re there, tell them Julia sent you.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Fell in love with Quinn from the Grey Wolves series but I must s

    Fell in love with Quinn from the Grey Wolves series but I must say she has done it again. Great book would recommend to everyone and can't wait till the next one comes out!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The battle between the dark and the light elves has been going o

    The battle between the dark and the light elves has been going on for as long as time can remember. Now an everyday human girl, Cassie Tate, has been pulled right into the center of this battle for control. Now when not only the elf world is at risk, the survival of the human race might depend on Cassie’s ability to love.

    Elfin was an absolutely marvelous read. I was instantly captivated by the story and characters. The plot was original and action packed. But honestly, what else have we come to expect from Quinn Loftis...oh yeah, there is tons of romantic tension, heart ache, strong emotional attachments to the characters and super hot alphas. Yes, Loftis book does have it all. The open ending definitely let me wanting more. Great new series, fabulous new story, 5 Stars for Elfin.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!  I can¿t believe I didn¿t read this the day it came out!  I

    Wow!  I can’t believe I didn’t read this the day it came out!  I love the Grey Wolves series and really didn’t think this could possibly compare to it but man, was I wrong!!  Trik had me hooked from the very beginning!  How could you not fall for Mr. Tall Dark & Handsome? Especially when he is an extremely sexy Elf.  And you want a bad boy?  Trik is an assassin for the Dark King!!  He’s the perfect dangerous and mysterious hottie that you just want to tame and wrap around your finger.  And if you’re as awesome as Cassie Tate, that just might be possible.  She’s kind and brave and of course she has a very snarky best friend to keep you laughing.  I absolutely loved every second of this book and am just dying for more!!   

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Quinn does it again

    I love this author werewolf series and thought i would give the a try. I was not disappoint her elves and the world she created is just as amazing. If your into paranormal and the whole soulmate thing this series is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    This is an amazing book! I highly recommend this book to teens 1

    This is an amazing book! I highly recommend this book to teens 15 and up!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Well this my first time reading a story about elves and I love Q

    Well this my first time reading a story about elves and I love Quinn's writing so I had to read Elfin. So glad I read Elfin cause let me tell you it was freaking awesome.. I got drag into the story about the dark and light elves. Then you got Trik and he is on the dark side, He also works for the dark king as his assassin but then he meets a human name Cassie. Cassie is good and she ends up changing him in more ways then one but it also changes Cassie's world as well. Cassie never knew about elves till she met Trik and let me tell you people you are in for a ride reading what happens between these 2. Also can't forget her best friend Elora and her mother Lisa that all ready know about elves cause her mom is best friends with one. The light Queen and King will help Cassie and Trik but how it comes about you will just have to read it for yourself. Looking forward to seeing what happens next after how it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Love

    Cant wait to read more!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Could not put it down! Another awesome book from Quinn!!! Can't

    Could not put it down! Another awesome book from Quinn!!! Can't wait for the second book!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!

    Quinn has really done a great job with this book. I really want to readbthe next book in this series and the next book in her Grey Wolves Series too! Over all Quinn Loftis is a great author and continues to out do herself. I dont know if she can pull off a book better than the one she just wrote! So it was a really good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Absolutely loved it! When I started reading, I thought that Elfi

    Absolutely loved it! When I started reading, I thought that Elfin may just be some fluff, but it was so much more than that. Elfin goes much deeper than I thought it would. I felt the characters had such depth, and they had many facets to them; they weren't flat. Their personalities really shined. I was really happy that there isn't a love triangle; there's a bit of insta-love, but insta-love doesn't bother me, so I like the whole soul mate aspect. I loved that Cassie used her intelligence; for the most part, and she was willing to get all the facts before jumping to conclusions. Trik was excellent, and he was such a strong character and so easy to feel for. I thought Trik and Cassie had really great chemistry, and I wanted everything to work out for them, and reading about them and all the turmoil they have to face was really gripping. Both of them have so much heart. I'm glad there wasn't too much of the book that takes place in the high school setting; that's just not my cup of tea. I enjoy the elf aspect; I've always enjoyed books that include the fae and all types of magical creatures, and this book actually didn't have much of the magical aspect, and I would have liked a bit more of that, but I still found the story very enjoyable. I really look forward to the next book in the series, and I will look into any future books from Loftis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Surprising

    i Really enjoyed this book couldn't put it down once i started it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Elfin (The Elfin #1) by Quinn Loftis Eighteen-year-old Cassie T

    Elfin (The Elfin #1) by Quinn Loftis

    Eighteen-year-old Cassie Tate is a good-hearted  innocent human.  So when the dark elf assassin Triktapic, discovers that she is his mate, he feels unworthy of her.  Not willing to give up the gift of his mate after waiting over thousands of years, he pursues her, agreeable to change to keep her.  Unfortunately, the Dark Court is not on board with the relationship and will stop at nothing to destroy it.

    I love Quinn Loftis’  Grey Wolves Series and was excited that she came out with a new series about Fae.  My next favorite topic after shape shifters and hockey: okay I know it’s a weird combo.

    Getting back to Elfin, I love this book!  I was captivated from beginning to end.  The plot is original and fascinating.  There is non-stop action that keeps you guessing to what will happen next.

    The characters are well developed.  I definitely had many emotional feelings toward the characters.  Cassie is young and naive.  She is very likeable.  My heart broke for what she has to experience.  Triktapic is the hot bad boy you want to root for.  He is not perfect and has made some awful choices.  Finding Cassie makes him want to become a better person/Fae.  As a reader, I wanted him to succeed.   As for the Dark King, I hate him.  He is just pure evil.

    The book ends in a cliffhanger making you anticipate book 2, Rapture.  If you enjoy young adult Fae fantasies, this book is definitely for you.    

    ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER

    It intense &you'll want to read it again & again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    This an exceptional book with a fantastic cliff hanger that is l

    This an exceptional book with a fantastic cliff hanger that is leaving me here wanting to read more. I'm left with no words to describe how great Quinn Loftis is as an author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Quinn Loftis Hit!

    This is a creative, imaginative, intense read! I ran the gamut of emotions reading this, in one sitting, of course!

    Cassie, an All-American teen, accidentally discovers the world of the Light and Dark Elves and meets Triktapic, the Dark Elven King's deadly assassin and spy. She becomes embroiled in the chaos of the warring elves, While Trik, who has operated like a heartless machine, finds he can love and has a newly found conscience. Wow! Just Wow!

    The love in this tale is warm, sweet. The hate is brutal in its depths. Forced loyalty used as a dark tool. Freely offered loyalty ran deep. New bonds were formed. Old chains broken. Deep secrets are uncovered!

    This book had it all! The attention to detail puts the reader right in the moment emotionally! Definitely FIVE stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Quinn we all need the second book!!!!!!

    Okay for every fan of this book, i know the name of the second book its called Rapture, but im not 100% sure. I do know its supposed to come out this month. Quinn i have to wait for the 7th grey wolf book, but please hurry up with this one.
    ~A fan of Quinn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    C_lyn72@att.net

    Love this book!!!! Also i have a nook and need some friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Love and hate

    This author i am having a hate and love relationship with him. This book reminded me soo muh of the Grey Wolf series. I kept saying to myself that he should of combined the books in a way. If you HAVE NOT read the Grey wolf series i suggest you stop reading this review, but it really is a good book and i sugget to you the Grey Wolf series it starts with the Prince of Wolves. If you HAVE read the grey wolf series, don't all of the men seem to share the same posseive ways the wolves do. Also they both have the same like true mate thing going on. Quinn with his cliffhangers make me want to find him and slap him for some reason. This book i really did love an i will never trust a reflective surface again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Never Thought I would LOVE an Elf....

    WOW! I love Quinn Loftis! I am eager for more of ALL that she writes but was so drawn into this book and fell head over heels in love with the dark elf. Great twists and turns and love and passion and oh my!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4