Customer Reviews for

Eli

Average Rating 5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    A fascinating retwist on world history -- a great read

    Eli Shepherd was born in a laundry room behind a Calivornia motel in the 1970's. Alerted to the event by a light in the sky and voices (presumed to be aliens), a group of hippies attended the birth. Does this sound strangely familiar? In Eli, by Bill Myers, the main character is a reporter named Conrad. He has a serious car accident and wakes up in a parallel universe to our own in which everything is the same except that Jesus of Nazareth wasn't born 2000 years ago. In this world, a strange young man is touring America with a band of misfits in motor homes, challenging the established religious authorities, befriending the poor, healing the sick, and inconveniently fitting nobody's mold. What will modern America's response be to this tactless, self-proclaimed Messiah? What will become of Eli Shepherd, of Conrad, and of the band of unwashed, working-class followers? How different are we from the first century Judeans? This novel offers its own thought-provoking answers, and as you read, you might find yourself also offering your own. Fascinating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Life Changing Book Everyone Should Read! I Dare You!

    What if Jesus had not come until today?

    Who would follow Him?

    Who would kill Him?

    Conrad Davis, well known TV journalist is about to get a very unexpected view at his life in two different realities.

    We have always known that the biggest news story will be the lead story, the one with the most drama, the most impact, the one with a shock and awe to it.

    Yet Conrad Davis has been searching all his life for the perfect story that will take his life to new levels. That of a success, more money, more prestige, and more fame. So when all his attempts come back with less than pleasing results and even a degree of being mocked by his fellow co-workers, Conrad sets up a meeting with a man who may be able to prove that dual realities exist right alongside our present one.

    However, an unexpected accident is about to change things and put into motion a life alternating one. Conraid is about to see things in two different worlds. While he lays completely on life support in a coma, awaiting the arrival of his daughter Julia who will ultimately decide if her dad needs to remain in the hospital or end his life as executor of his will, he will go back in time to the late 60's.

    A time when the world will be changed forever by the birth of a baby in a laundry mat. His name is Eli and he's about to show the world how much love can change things and make a life worth living. A life that one is even willing to die for.

    I received the book Eli by Bill Myers, from my husband Steven for my birthday this year. I wanted this book after reading The God Haters and had to see for myself if one book could completely change a person just after one reading. I had to say I wasn't convinced at first as so many books, I've read have changed you emotionally by pulling at your heart strings, but in Eli, I got to see life through the eyes of what our world would have been like if a man like Eli walked among us. How his ultimate sacrifice and teaching through stories along the way would affect me like never before.

    People have read the Bible and sometimes don't see the relevance in reading stories that happened so long ago and can't fathom seeing it taking place now, but Bill Myers has masterfully through a divine hand, made this possible. Through a modern re-telling of the story of Jesus, we are drawn like a moth to a flame to seeing things through fresh eyes in our own world today.

    All I can say is that each word will hold you to the last page, the final word and the final tear falls from your eyes as if you heard it for the very first time. This one rates well outside of the 5 star rating and deserves a much 10 out 10 eternal stars for making such a huge impact in my own life. I truly never saw the story coming out the way Bill shares and must applaud him for one of the best books I've read besides the Bible.

    I can't wait to share this book with others who I know will see it from a new perspective. This comes as a MUST READ, one you won't regret reading and one that will change you forever! This would be a great book to share with this generation of youth that can finally see the relation between this world and one with Eli!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    Wonderful!!!!!

    This book is amazing!! I'm 12 and and I really enjoyed it. I've recently been studying the some of the miracles Jesus did and was very pleased with Myers interpertation of them. For example, the fishes and loaves miracle became the burgers and fries miracle. I picked up this book in hopes of pleasing my reading teacher (who has been nagging me about reading books more at my level)and found that I couldn't put it down. An excellent book and highly recomended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Laura

    Theres this guy thats like one of my best guy friends named eli. And im totally crushing on him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Eli

    Only because I trust the work of Bill Myers did I opt to read this book. I was not sure how he was going to weave the critical points of a common history well known from the Bible and various secondary sources we may know of. To stretch out a timeline in having our Saviour's birth in the 1960's. Really? But something important happens between the complexities of reality; lives interact and are driven by their consequences of actions. Jesus meets them honestly. There are questions. There is space between the words in treating the reader as individuals, not as pew warmers listening to a sermon pulled from archives. What I love about this book is that Myers isn't really trying to rewrite the NT, but date us to dust it off, open it up, and simply breathe it back into where it belongs. It is a book which needs a second reading,becauseit is so easy to slip over many of the gems in search of the greater message of hope, and to see whom, why, and how rescue comes. There is nothing boring about this book. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Really enjoyed it

    The second half of the book really took off. Bitter sweet ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Amazing book!

    So good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Amazing!

    I read this book a while back and absolutely was floored by how it made me see things. It put things into reality in terms of today. This is a must read, I know I would love to own it someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    CHANGES LIVES

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! BEST ONE EVER! My friend Chris, who has never been remotly intrested in reading(he hadn't read a book in 4 years). Saw Eli on my desk and read the back and said 'IM GONNA BORROW THIS!' Now he enjoys reading, and its all thanks to Bill Myers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    A Fantastic Plot!

    Although it took me nearly three years to get through the entire book due to losing it several times, I consider it one of my favorites. The disciples are so blatantly shown as simply themselves (sinners like the rest of us), and Eli (Jesus) became a real person while maintaining His Diety as described in the Bible. The relationships between Eli and his disciples are real and endearing, and I was in tears more than once; not from sappiness, but from the written tenderness of my Savior told in a different time and a different style. The story, of course, is not Biblical...but remains true to the basis of the best love story ever told!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    I don't like to read books but as soon as I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. Bill Myers gets you hooked early and keeps you hooked all the way until the end. He really gets you thinking with this book. Thank you, Bill Myers, for being an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Truly fantastic...

    This was one of the best fiction books I have ever read, Christian or otherwise. I found it very well-written and highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Heart capturing new tale with an age old theme

    This is a truly awesome book, and has a wonderful plot! It starts off with a journalist who gets into a car crash, and carries him into the 'parallel universe'. There are only a few minor differences between the two worlds, and one major. Jesus had not come 2,000 years ago, but today. This story brings a new twist to the famous life of Jesus. It helps you relate more to Christ, and helps you understand a lot more. The ending of this book is truly heart-wrenching, and even made me cry. Bill Myers has made a wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Simply amazing

    Bill Myers has blessed us all with this amazing book. I continue to read it and it gets better every time. Jesus is right there with us...always. He's not some disconnected thing just up in the clouds watching us. He loves us so deeply and wants us to understand that love. This book strips away the argument that the Bible is "outdated" or "just too confusing" to live by in today's world. Many thanks to Bill Myers for allowing God to speak through him to reach all of us. BEWARE: When reading this book at the laundromat, don't be surprised to find yourself weeping in front of the other laundry-doers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Read it again and again, it gets better every time

    This book is amazing. I read it once for myself and then decided it would be an excellent tool for teaching my junior high Sunday School class. It has helped them to understand the how the life of Jesus could just as easily have happened in our lifetime. As for myself, I have learned more and more as I study the book and parallel it to the actual bible. This is a must read for any Christian and for anyone else who is searching for the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Simply awesome!!!

    The way that Bill Myers compares and shows the two worlds are amazing and the way that he adapts the presence and power of Jesus to the present is amazing.He truly never changes. A must!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    Definitely a must-read!!

    So many people find reading the Bible boring, frankly, because we don't understand it. After all, we live in a completely different part of the world at a completely different time, how are we to understand ancient customs of the Middle East? This book puts all of this into modern-day American terms easily understood by most western countries. If you don't understand the Bible because of the culture shock, this is an excellent book to set you straight. It names the people who would follow Him, the people that would oppose Him, and the people that would kill Him. It just tells the same story the Gospels tell as if Jesus were born today. A very revolutionary technique!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Amazing, moving, intense

    Fantastic novel. Makes you really understand what the apostles went through, and moreover, helped ME understand deeply how much it meant for Christ to die for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    Life Changing!

    Not only did it impact me, but it changed my husband's way of thinking. It had an effect on his hard to kick drinking habit. No doubt, a book for everyone who has fallen and isn't sure they will be forgiven! This sets the record straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Read this book!

    just read the book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2