Customer Reviews for

Elijah of Buxton

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Great book for summer reading

posted by csi-51 on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I hated this book. It was boring and hard to understand. Not worth it!

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great book for summer reading

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great read for kids

    Newbery winning author Christopher Paul Curtis has written 2 of my favorite historical novels, "Bud, Not Buddy" and now "Elijah of Buxton". I'd recommend both these books to anyone, but especially to kids aged 8-12.Elijah is a free-born boy growing up in the real town of Buxton, Ontario, a place where former slaves lived in relative safety before the Civil War. When a thief steals the money intended to buy a slave family's freedom, Elijah sets off in pursuit to get the money back. On his journey, he must avoid bounty hunters looking for runaway slaves to take back to the US. Determined to do the right thing, Elijah is optimistic, resourseful, and very brave.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Pual Curtis

    In the Newberry Medal winning story, Elijah of Buxton, Elijah is a cowardly eleven year old living in a free settlement in Canada. He is the first child born free in the settlement of Buxton. During the celebration Elijah Freeman threw up on Fredrick Douglas, who was considered to be the smartest man who had ever escaped from slavery. Elijah is an excellent worker and fisher, but is very afraid of snakes and other simple things in life. The preacher, who carries around a pistol everywhere he goes, says that his talent of fishing is a true gift from above. When Mr. Leroy, who is a friend of Elijah's, earns enough money to buy his family out of slavery, the preacher, who was thought to have been a friend, steals his money. Elijah sets off and crosses the American border into Michigan to hunt the preacher down and get Mr. Leroy's money back.
    Although the story progresses slowly, and younger readers may become bored very quickly, Christopher Paul Curtis does a great job at introducing almost everybody in Buxton. He makes you feel like your right in the story, experiencing everything the main character (Elijah) goes through and all of his adventures. This was the best book I have ever read, thank you Christopher Paul Curtis.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    Entertaining nonstop adventure

    Elijah of Buxton is a hero for youngsters of all ages. Elijah of Buxton is laugh out loud humor and powerful history combined in one book. Christopher Paul Curtis has written another powerful story to make us understand history clearer. Mr. Curtis is able to bring the characters to life with each page. You can feel the joy and pain the slaves, freedmen and former slaves feel in the style Mr. Curtis writes. I recommend this book to all teachers for the classroom, history buffs and avid readers.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Beauty

    ELIJAH SEXY

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Me

    Loved this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Solie2624

    Cool

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    TOTALLLYY

    SOOOOO

    B-O-R-I-N-G

    NO STARS

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Boring

    I hated this book. It was boring and hard to understand. Not worth it!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Awesome Book

    Very intresting book!! I love that this book has cliff hangers and lots of suspense that makes you not want to put the book down!! I highly reccomend buying this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Elijah

    I think that it was very insightful and i like how Elijah is very detailed in the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Kcwassup

    I really lov books lik the/ wastons go to birmingham-1963.but ths book is really cool too!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Emily's review

    My fav part was when Elijah put the toady frog in mama's sweater and for payback mama put a snake in the cookie jar

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Super bowl sunday!!!!

    Ravens v. 49 ers type to Skyler....... SUPER BOWL!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Anonymus

    I love this it is so great. Also very adventourus or however you spell that I don't have a grammer check! So dont push me Im tired so exuse my spelling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    great story love this book

    great story love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    I read this

    Wonderful wrie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Ok MORGAN B.

    Another ok book by chrisopher paul curtis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I am conflicted...

    Chrisopher Paul Curtis writes such amazing books, and this one really isn't any different, except that it's more like two books. The first 200 pages or so read like humorous and heartwarming stories in the life of Elijah, the first child born in the settlement of runaway slaves of Buxton in Canada. In this chapter, he learns this lesson, in this chapter he does this, etc. It's all very cute, but I began to wonder where the author was going with it... Then the real book starts, and I could not bring myself to put the book down after that. Elijah travels over to Michigan on a mission and learns some hard truths. Wow, what an ending. I recommend this book only for the second half of the book, because I worry that the first half of the book might lose some younger readers. I really believe that had this book been more cohesive, it would have won the Newbery instead of the Newbery Honor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Very Slow!!

    It's a well written story;except, it would only mean something if it urged you to finish the book. I was unable to complete this book because the plot was very sluggish and boring. not a recommended book for people who want some excitement.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3