Customer Reviews for

Elijah of Buxton

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Great book for summer reading

posted by csi-51 on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I hated this book. It was boring and hard to understand. Not worth it!

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    I read this

    Wonderful wrie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I am conflicted...

    Chrisopher Paul Curtis writes such amazing books, and this one really isn't any different, except that it's more like two books. The first 200 pages or so read like humorous and heartwarming stories in the life of Elijah, the first child born in the settlement of runaway slaves of Buxton in Canada. In this chapter, he learns this lesson, in this chapter he does this, etc. It's all very cute, but I began to wonder where the author was going with it... Then the real book starts, and I could not bring myself to put the book down after that. Elijah travels over to Michigan on a mission and learns some hard truths. Wow, what an ending. I recommend this book only for the second half of the book, because I worry that the first half of the book might lose some younger readers. I really believe that had this book been more cohesive, it would have won the Newbery instead of the Newbery Honor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    Elijah of Buxton is a great combination of historical fiction and humor. The book tells the story of a cowardly boy growing up and facing his fears. Elijah is the first child born free in the town of Buxton. Elijah doesn't truly understand what his position means to the town until he faces his many obstacles. The adventures Elijah faces are funny, scaring, and heartbreaking. This book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Make Your Students on the Edge of Their Seats!

    Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis is a very exciting historical fiction children¿s book that teachers should have in their classrooms because this book will just grab the students¿ attention. Not only would students and teachers enjoy reading this book, but parents or adults would as well. I loved the adventure, suspense, humor, and character development throughout. There are a variety of emotions which Curtis is trying to portray from the beginning chapter starting out being very fun and exciting, and then later chapters there is more details plus the tone is more serious. I enjoyed seeing the different interactions between the characters; this set a great mood for the story. Sure, Elijah gets into mischief and goes on adventures but what is key for this book is that he learns life lessons along the way. <BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book¿s target audience to be 6th through 8th graders because of the content this book provides. The students are able to learn about the conditions of slavery and its after affects, as well as how Elijah¿s experience with an escaped slave. Another reason why it would be appropriate for older students is because of the dialect Curtis used. This slang can be difficult to read and understand for a younger audience. <BR/><BR/>All in all, I believe readers would enjoy this book because of the different emotions, language, as well as how this how this book is written to describe slavery. Traditionally, not many authors write like this, so readers will be on the edge of their seats from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    'Life Lessons'

    Elijah of Buxton, written by Christopher Paul Curtiss is yet another life lesson for children. This book is about Elijah Freeman the first free person born on the Settlement of Canada West. According to his mother, Elijah is a 'fragile' boy who she says needs to find courage and strength in order to survive in this world. <BR/><BR/>Elijah is a young boy who likes to go fishing, he is great at 'fish chunking'. Him and his best friend Cooter have a lot of adventures that sometimes get them into trouble, but these adventures are great life experiences that teacher them great lessons. <BR/><BR/>Elijah of Buxton is a story about a boy's self-realization and love, mixed with a lot of humor that all children will enjoy! This book will help children overcome their own fears being engrossed in the life of Elijah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Not Bad

    Elijah and his family live in Buxton, Canada - just across Lake Erie from Detroit. Elijah's mother has always called him "fra-gile", and this is his story of out-growing that name.<BR/> I enjoyed this story and the point of view as told from the young man. I did have trouble with some of the language - the way the author wrote as he imagined the people spoke - and some terminology. I spent the first few chapters wondering what a truck patch was. Additionly, the Preacher was quite violent in his speaking (blowing his brains out) and quite a swindler when it came to Elijah paying tithing with his freshly caught fish. But those things aside - I spent the book cheering for this boy out in the big bad world. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    'Fra-gile Elijah'

    Elijah of Buxton (2007) by Christopher Paul Curtis is the story of a young boy who is struggling to understand himself and his world. Elijah is the first African child born free in a Canadian settlement of former slaves, Buxton. When forced to face slavery and its atrocities for the first time, Elijah must overcome his own fears and make decisions that a grown up would have trouble reaching. To be honest, I had a really hard time judging this book. The book starts out with humorous episodes to help the reader understand Elijah's background. Then as the story progresed, I found myself dreading to see what would happen next! I wanted to be able to tell Elijah not to make the choices that were leading to danger. Overall, Curtis does the town of Buxton justice in relating its history through Elijah's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1