Customer Reviews for

Elisha's Bones (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Riveting Adventure Story!

An acclaimed archeologist has left the exciting life of active excavations and digs, and is living the dull but safe life of a college professor. Then he gets a call from one of the richest men in the world, and is asked to undertake a little project -- find the bones o...
An acclaimed archeologist has left the exciting life of active excavations and digs, and is living the dull but safe life of a college professor. Then he gets a call from one of the richest men in the world, and is asked to undertake a little project -- find the bones of the prophet Elisha, which are reported to resurrect the dead. The task takes him on a fast-paced globetrotting trip, uncovering a centuries-old trail and unearthing some dangerous people who will stop at nothing to keep him from his goal.

I really enjoyed this book! It reads like a cross between Indiana Jones and Robert Ludlum, a formula for sure-fire excitement. I don't know if the author really as been to all those exotic places, but he writes like he's intimately familiar with them. And this is his debut novel! I'm going to keep my eye out for Don Hoesel's future books.

posted by GinnyKY on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

DON HOESEL'S "ELISHA'S BONES" (A REVIEW)

While this book was very interesting and exciting in some ways, it was a little slow paced for me and it was hard for me not to allow my interest to wane. I feel the plot was good but the action was slow and there wasn't enough content there to really keep me addicted. ...
While this book was very interesting and exciting in some ways, it was a little slow paced for me and it was hard for me not to allow my interest to wane. I feel the plot was good but the action was slow and there wasn't enough content there to really keep me addicted.

I had a hard time with this one, while I enjoy Indiana Jones type stories at times there was something about this one that just didn't get my blood pumping.

I do have to admit that this genre is not one of my top choices so that could be the reason why I didn't become as riveted as with some novels. However, I would recommend it to those that have a true love of the genre and especially those that enjoyed books such as "Angels and Demons" & "The Davinci Code" by Dan Brown. There is an underlying religious subtext to it that is very interesting and would likely capture readers of this genre in its grip.

posted by IntellectualReviewer on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    DON HOESEL'S "ELISHA'S BONES" (A REVIEW)

    While this book was very interesting and exciting in some ways, it was a little slow paced for me and it was hard for me not to allow my interest to wane. I feel the plot was good but the action was slow and there wasn't enough content there to really keep me addicted.

    I had a hard time with this one, while I enjoy Indiana Jones type stories at times there was something about this one that just didn't get my blood pumping.

    I do have to admit that this genre is not one of my top choices so that could be the reason why I didn't become as riveted as with some novels. However, I would recommend it to those that have a true love of the genre and especially those that enjoyed books such as "Angels and Demons" & "The Davinci Code" by Dan Brown. There is an underlying religious subtext to it that is very interesting and would likely capture readers of this genre in its grip.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Good book

    Really love the plot and characters, just not a fan of the present- tense, first person viewpoint for this kind of story. Because of the way it was written like that, the story seemed to just drag on in s few places. Other than that, it was an interesting, good read : )

    - kayc

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Okay

    This book was okay I did not like the way there were always more people ending up dead

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Recommend

    If you want to read a book that delves into detail about archaelogy, this is the book for you.I sort of got bogged down in all the side stuff, but the plot is good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Just okay

    Starts out interesting but slow plot development and got kind of boring. Picked up at the end but was a predictable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Kind of hokie!

    Was a pretty good storyline but circumstances and action too far out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Fast Paced

    Elisha's Bones is fast paced and engaging. The ending was a little abrupt but it was a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Exciting and interesting at times, but rather wordy on the whole

    Exciting and interesting at times, but rather wordy on the whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    First person. 247 pages. Bibical referances with a touch of irraverance.

    This 347 page book is a decent read. It jumps from from time period to another. It is also written in the first person which I dislike. At times the conversation and story seems to get bogged down, which gets boring. There are Bibical references and some irreverance. It is a good clean book, that is pretty well edited. I like the beginning very much. The unknown cause of the tremors really got my imagination going as I wondered was going to happen next and who lived or died. When the book skipped ahead, without resolution, of course I could not put my nook down and supper was a bit late. The middle was a bit slow and near the end the pace picked back up. The end was a bit of a let down, but adequate. I will read more books by this author. A good book for readers of both sexes, ages 16 and up.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Archaeology is Dangerous!

    This was a fairly interesting read. It revolved around Jack Hawthorne, an archaeologist who is hired to prove the existence of Elisha's bones, an ancient relic said to have the power over life. This search takes him all over the world and gets him involved with some mysterious organizations. Naturally adventure and peril follow him as well.

    The concept behind the relic was interesting. The book is also a fairly fast read. There was a lot of action. In fact, I almost felt there was too much going on. You never really got a chance to breath, and you almost want Dr. Hawthorne to stop talking to people because a perilous situation inevitably followed. Who knew the world of antiquities could be so dangerous? The plot also seemed to jump a bit in time from one chapter end to the next chapter beginning. It could feel a bit choppy at times.

    After all that adventure, the ending felt a bit sudden. Perhaps a bit random too (although apparently this was meant to be Christian fiction, so maybe not?). Overall, I didn't think it was a bad book. It was pretty entertaining at times. I'm just glad I'm not friends with an archaeologist. Looks like it's pretty dangerous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3