Customer Reviews for

Elite

Average Rating 4.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

You won't be able to put this one down!!! OH. MY. WORD. I shoul

You won't be able to put this one down!!!

OH. MY. WORD. I should have known better than to pick up a Rachel Van Dyken book to read at night. I stayed up until 1:30 A.M. to finish! Because I literally could NOT STOP READING!!!! I kept thinking, just one more chapter...t...
You won't be able to put this one down!!!

OH. MY. WORD. I should have known better than to pick up a Rachel Van Dyken book to read at night. I stayed up until 1:30 A.M. to finish! Because I literally could NOT STOP READING!!!! I kept thinking, just one more chapter...that didn't happen! This story was literally a roller coaster ride that I didn't want to end! In fact, I need the next book, like last night at 1:30, hint hint Rachel! The characters were amazing, I loved Trace from the beginning, she had spunk that I admired and Nixon I loved to hate...until I got to know him! Chase and Monroe, Tex and Phoenix, they were all different and fun as well. I felt like I was a part of the Elite world that Rachel Van Dyken created. This book seriously had me crying (I don't cry easily), laughing out loud and scared as heck. I loved the mystery and trying to put all of the pieces together. I am going to read this book again...tonight! I know, but it was that fabulous! I promise this book will exceed your expectations and leave you wanting more....a whole lot more! Hurry Rachel (PLEASE) because I am dying right now, and I need more Trace, Nixon, Monroe, Grandpa, Chase and Tex. I cannot get this world out of my head, it was so realistically created! The story keeps re-playing in my mind like a movie. BEST BOOK I HAVE READ THIS YEAR! Can I give a book ten stars? I want to, but five is the max so five bright shiny stars for an awesome read!!!




I was lucky and received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I would have gladly paid for this book!




Rating: Cussing, violence, sexual references.

posted by booksaresanity on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Crap

This book was written by a high school girl for the consumption of other high school girls. No one can convince me otherwise. I will add this to my list of vapid reads.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    You won't be able to put this one down!!! OH. MY. WORD. I shoul

    You won't be able to put this one down!!!

    OH. MY. WORD. I should have known better than to pick up a Rachel Van Dyken book to read at night. I stayed up until 1:30 A.M. to finish! Because I literally could NOT STOP READING!!!! I kept thinking, just one more chapter...that didn't happen! This story was literally a roller coaster ride that I didn't want to end! In fact, I need the next book, like last night at 1:30, hint hint Rachel! The characters were amazing, I loved Trace from the beginning, she had spunk that I admired and Nixon I loved to hate...until I got to know him! Chase and Monroe, Tex and Phoenix, they were all different and fun as well. I felt like I was a part of the Elite world that Rachel Van Dyken created. This book seriously had me crying (I don't cry easily), laughing out loud and scared as heck. I loved the mystery and trying to put all of the pieces together. I am going to read this book again...tonight! I know, but it was that fabulous! I promise this book will exceed your expectations and leave you wanting more....a whole lot more! Hurry Rachel (PLEASE) because I am dying right now, and I need more Trace, Nixon, Monroe, Grandpa, Chase and Tex. I cannot get this world out of my head, it was so realistically created! The story keeps re-playing in my mind like a movie. BEST BOOK I HAVE READ THIS YEAR! Can I give a book ten stars? I want to, but five is the max so five bright shiny stars for an awesome read!!!




    I was lucky and received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I would have gladly paid for this book!




    Rating: Cussing, violence, sexual references.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    If you have read Rachel Van Dyken before, Elite is unique from h

    If you have read Rachel Van Dyken before, Elite is unique from her previous books, in the best possible way! The storyline was very different than other books she has written (don't you just love an author who has that many distinctive stories to tell!) The book was full of drama, family, rules, friendships, loyalty, romance, action and of course SECRETS!

    Like all of Rachel's books, this book is defined by characters you cannot help but become attached to. It is a true gift that she possesses. She is also able to pull emotion out of the reader (well, at least this one)... smiles, chills and tears.

    Elite kept me on my toes throughout the entire book. I was never sure exactly what was waiting around the corner. I highly recommend this book!

    This book is definitely the first book in a series. Rachel Van Dyken left me desperately wanting to pick up the next book in the series. After having become so invested in all of the characters' lives, I NEED to know what happens next in their lives. At least I know that Rachel Van Dyken is an author with superpowers, so it cannot be TOO LONG that I will have to wait to find out what happens in the next book...Elect.

    I received an ARC in exchange for my honest review.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I loved this book, it was such a great story had me hooked from

    I loved this book, it was such a great story had me hooked from the start. I loved Nixon and Chase. My only hope is that the "love" story line does not mimic that of her other book the bet, which was also great.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    SO GOOD! Tracey won the lottery. And not just any lottery. The

    SO GOOD!

    Tracey won the lottery. And not just any lottery. The lottery that gained her admittance to the ultra-exclusive Eagle Elite, forever changing her life.

    I don’t know how she does it, but Rachel Van Dyken has hit it out of the park again! This book had me feeling so many emotions! Most of them were from her description of the students at Eagle Elite and the way they treated Tracey. Seriously, private school kids (even the college ones) are mean! Some of the scenes brought back memories from my own private school experience. Granted, mine wasn’t nearly as bad as Tracey’s, but it still felt eerily real. I found myself crying on multiple occasions because I knew exactly how she felt.

    There was humor, too, which was nice. I loved the banter between Tracey and Chase, especially the “shiny boot” comment.

    This book kept me guessing until the big reveal. I kept trying to decide what the big secret was, and just when I thought I had it figured out, there would come something out of left field and I’d be second-guessing myself. When the big secret is finally revealed, I found myself screaming “I knew it! I knew it!” even though I really didn’t, just to make myself feel better about not being able to figure it out before the author intended.

    Overall I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick and satisfying read. Note: there is some language and violence, so if that turns you off, read with caution.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Elite

    I liked this book and hope the second one is out soon! I hope Trace ends up with Nixon because I think they are soul mates,and they fit!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    Okay I have to say I LOVE Rachel's work and the fact that she is

    Okay I have to say I LOVE Rachel's work and the fact that she is branching out to adult contemporary just shows how far she has come in her writing! I loved this book...well most of it. Not a huge fan of the language but it wasnt too bad. Trace is a very likeable character. A farm girl from Wyoming she fulfilled her grandma's dying wish and enetered to win a scholarship to Eagle Elite (the college of colleges). What she didn't expect was actually winning the scholarship. Upon arriving at the massive university she meets Nixon (aka Satan) and his groupies. After an interesting welcome from them and meeting her new roomate (Satan's sister) she tried to settle in to her new life. Things, however, dont go as well as hoped. Nixon is gorgeous, welathy, and an ass but there is something that draws Trace to him. He has confidence and authority that even has adults following his orders. The question is can Trace and Nixon overcome the secrets of their past to make a future, or will they even survive to find out? A great book and wonderful storyline...beware though it is a cliff hanger!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great book!

    Honestly, from the overview I could not tell if I was going to like this book. However, I could not put this book down and each time I told myself I would stop at the next chapter, I didn't. Lol Then, when I realized I was getting close to the end, I tried to slow down because I did not want it to end. This book did not disappoint. It was very good and engaging. 200+ pages

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Absolutely loved all of it!

    I'm new to Rachels books but I love the 2 I've read and can't wait to read more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Wow

    Could not put it down and cant wait for the second one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Absolutely amazing!

    I have to admit when I started this book I had my doubts. It was absolutely amazing. So well written and full of suspense. I cannot wait for the next book. I'm hoping for a steamy sex scene!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     I was initially drawn in and interested in this story after rea

     I was initially drawn in and interested in this story after reading the synopsis, which sort of gives of the vibe of a secret society, but is, I think, purposely vague, which made me even more intrigued as to the possibility of what and who "The Elect" were and what they were all about.  I was shocked when Tracey Rooks, farm girl from Wyoming who won the lottery giving her a scholarship to attend Eagle Elite College arrived, and she was met by the rudest, most self-centered, snobby jerks you could ever imagine.  I was also hooked because I had to know what this was all about.  I loved Tracey from the get go and found myself feeling very protective of her.  She is a bit naive, but also a bit of a spitfire, something that I think may have took Nixon Abandonato, leader of the evil welcoming pack, by surprise.  Nixon and his friends, Chase, Tex, and Phoenix were the meanest and most conceited bunch of guys, and I totally could have slapped them with their Greek-God looking selves for the way they treated Trace, but as the story progresses, there is so much more going on than meets the eyes.  The further I got into the book, and the more the mystery behind everything began to unfold, I was like a firefly drawn to a flame and couldn't put it down, especially when it began to become clearer as the book progressed just what it was all about. 




    In the beginning, Trace's one saving grace was Mo, Nixon's twin sister, who took her under her wing and helped her.  Nixon was one of those guys you loved to hate, the you loved, then you hated, but wanted him all at the same time because of that bad boy appeal.  He has a commanding presence and it soon becomes clear that he is in charge, of pretty much everything.  I loved Chase, he could come across as jerk at times, but it was obvious he had a really good heart.  Nixon's heart, on the other hand, was harder to see into.  Some really awful things were done to Trace, a lot in the name of protecting her, then there were also things that got totally out of hand.  As the mystery of who Trace really was, who Nixon really is, their pasts, their present, and their possible future collides, things get even messier and even more intriguing.  




    “He’s the spawn of Satan” she grumbled. “And you are?” She grinned and held out her hand. “Monroe, I’m Satan’s sister.” 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Crap

    This book was written by a high school girl for the consumption of other high school girls. No one can convince me otherwise. I will add this to my list of vapid reads.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Loved it!! Have too wait to long for the next book though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Loved it

    What a great book. The characters were great . I laughed cryed got mad, i really hope that trace and nixson end up together - they just have to!!" Need book 2! When????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    A must read!

    I loved their story, teens with money drama plus fitting in. I just can't wait to read the 2nd book. See how things will go from the love triangle!! GC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable and filled with secrets, betrayals, and star-crossed r

    Enjoyable and filled with secrets, betrayals, and star-crossed romance, Elite was a great New Adult read. It was a wonderful romance that I quite liked.

    Tracey was a great heroine. Even surrounded by some of the most powerful people in the world, she refused to let herself she cowed or made to think less of herself. She was an overall likable character.

    Nixon was a little more iffy for me. On one hand, once he stopped actively trying to be an ass, he could be sweet and he was obviously very loyal and protective of his loved ones. Not to mention how much of a badass he was. But, I didn't understand why he was such a jerk at first. And, he never explained or tried to apologize so I couldn't fully move past him. But, while I couldn't totally love him because of that, I still did like him.

    The romance was good. Tracey and Nixon definitely had a star-crossed lover problem going on, but that didn't stop their feelings or their determination to be together. I did feel like it went a little too fast because I didn't feel like they actually got to know each other. But, they were a good couple overall.

    The plot was fast paced and I was kept interested the entire way through. There were plenty of twists, secrets, and betrayals to keep me engaged. I really enjoyed the story and the ending has me curious about what will happen next.

    Elite was an enjoyable New Adult romance that I liked. It was unpredictable, romantic, and an great read. Romance lovers, this is a book worth checking out.

    *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It has been a VERY long time since I have a read a book this qui

    It has been a VERY long time since I have a read a book this quickly. I just devoured it. I tried so hard to slow my reading down but I was completely addicted from the first page. I have found a new author to follow and a new series to worship. I feel like we may need to have a group chant of "WE'RE NOT WORTHY", actually. Jeez. I loved this book.

    Okay, let's get to something constructive other than me just gushing about the book. I've read quite a few New Adult novels lately and I really enjoy most of them. This one is a New Adult novel but it really goes off the beaten path of others in this genre. To be honest, I've never read anything quite like it and these days, that's not a comment that I can hand out willy-nilly.

    The characters ... I love discussing characters and even though I'm a little ashamed of it ... I kinda enjoy tearing characters apart. Meaning, I don't want to read about this perfect character in this perfect world with perfect hair, yadda yadda blah. It gets boring. Perfect is boring. Now screwed up ... screwed up is good. Everyone has a little cringe-worthy issue. Everyone. If you think that you don't then yours is worse than everyone else's. That's just how it works. Anyhow, these characters are screwed up and I love it!! I like being able to watch the metamorphosis of a character ... going from bottom of the barrel to the top or even the opposite of that. Rachel Van Dyken can write a perfectly flawed character. AND when she's piling more crap on top of her poor creations, she keeps it believable. I have seen more than one author just butcher a book because the characters are just all wrong, all the time, all over the damn place.

    Oh, there's also not any down time in this novel. I didn't find myself getting bored or skimming sentences and paragraphs, no. I wanted to read every single last word. That's a pretty big thing for me. I've read so many things that I can just get ... disinterested ... faster than others might because more than likely, I've read what you're trying to do in your novel and I know EXACTLY where you are going next. But that just didn't happen with Elite. I had no freaking clue what was going to happen next and not knowing was exciting as hell!

    I have other books that I'm supposed to be reading right now but I couldn't resist buying the next installment of Eagle Elite because I just had to know what was going to happen and so far, it's just as good as the first!! I'm going to be a lifetime fan of Rachel Van Dyken. I can't say enough how amazing this book really was. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Awesome!

    What a series. Can't wait for book#5 & 6. Love the girls and of course the alpha male mob guys. Great writing, awesome series... please keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was completely taken by surprise by this book.  After reading

    I was completely taken by surprise by this book.  After reading the blurb I was expecting a book about a bunch of high school kids in a clique and a new girl trying to fit in.  Instead I got a lot more adrenaline and a story I felt for the most part was unbelievable for characters so young.  Of course very few of the teenagers I know are like Nixon or even Tracey.  I was for the most part surprised by their level of maturity and how I never knew what was going to happen.  For the longest time I wasn't sure who Tracey was romantically interested in let alone end up with!




    Here's my original review from July of 2013: "When I started this book I thought I had a clue about what I was going to read; something new adult, hopefully a contemporary romance. Well I got all I was expecting and more. The story starts off going in one direction, and the next thing I knew, I was thinking, "Whoa!" and hooked. I can't wait to read the second book in this series and see where Rachel Van Dyken takes this. There were a lot of times where I felt as if things were a little over the top, but that always makes for an exciting read if done right. I loved The Bet by this author and I am eagerly looking forward to whatever she writes"  




    All the above still holds true.  The books have gotten better with each one and this series is now something I look forward to reading.  I don't mind being surprised anymore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Brilliant!

    Holy hell! If you want a dramatic, high-energy mafia series, then the Elite series if for you! I was hooked from the very beginning. Trace is a country girl with a hidden past. Nixon is a very bad boy connected to her past. Their attraction and chemistry is off the charts. Nixon had me so ticked off a few times that I wanted to throw my Nook - but then I realized I'd probably break it and wouldn't be able to find out what happened next, so I held off. Drama - violence - chemistry - betrayals - this book has it all! This was my first Rachel Van Dyken book and it definitely won't be my last! I'm off to start book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7