Customer Reviews for

Elite

Average Rating 4.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

You won't be able to put this one down!!! OH. MY. WORD. I shoul

You won't be able to put this one down!!!

OH. MY. WORD. I should have known better than to pick up a Rachel Van Dyken book to read at night. I stayed up until 1:30 A.M. to finish! Because I literally could NOT STOP READING!!!! I kept thinking, just one more chapter...t...
You won't be able to put this one down!!!

OH. MY. WORD. I should have known better than to pick up a Rachel Van Dyken book to read at night. I stayed up until 1:30 A.M. to finish! Because I literally could NOT STOP READING!!!! I kept thinking, just one more chapter...that didn't happen! This story was literally a roller coaster ride that I didn't want to end! In fact, I need the next book, like last night at 1:30, hint hint Rachel! The characters were amazing, I loved Trace from the beginning, she had spunk that I admired and Nixon I loved to hate...until I got to know him! Chase and Monroe, Tex and Phoenix, they were all different and fun as well. I felt like I was a part of the Elite world that Rachel Van Dyken created. This book seriously had me crying (I don't cry easily), laughing out loud and scared as heck. I loved the mystery and trying to put all of the pieces together. I am going to read this book again...tonight! I know, but it was that fabulous! I promise this book will exceed your expectations and leave you wanting more....a whole lot more! Hurry Rachel (PLEASE) because I am dying right now, and I need more Trace, Nixon, Monroe, Grandpa, Chase and Tex. I cannot get this world out of my head, it was so realistically created! The story keeps re-playing in my mind like a movie. BEST BOOK I HAVE READ THIS YEAR! Can I give a book ten stars? I want to, but five is the max so five bright shiny stars for an awesome read!!!




I was lucky and received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I would have gladly paid for this book!




Rating: Cussing, violence, sexual references.

posted by booksaresanity on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Crap

This book was written by a high school girl for the consumption of other high school girls. No one can convince me otherwise. I will add this to my list of vapid reads.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was completely taken by surprise by this book.  After reading

    I was completely taken by surprise by this book.  After reading the blurb I was expecting a book about a bunch of high school kids in a clique and a new girl trying to fit in.  Instead I got a lot more adrenaline and a story I felt for the most part was unbelievable for characters so young.  Of course very few of the teenagers I know are like Nixon or even Tracey.  I was for the most part surprised by their level of maturity and how I never knew what was going to happen.  For the longest time I wasn't sure who Tracey was romantically interested in let alone end up with!




    Here's my original review from July of 2013: "When I started this book I thought I had a clue about what I was going to read; something new adult, hopefully a contemporary romance. Well I got all I was expecting and more. The story starts off going in one direction, and the next thing I knew, I was thinking, "Whoa!" and hooked. I can't wait to read the second book in this series and see where Rachel Van Dyken takes this. There were a lot of times where I felt as if things were a little over the top, but that always makes for an exciting read if done right. I loved The Bet by this author and I am eagerly looking forward to whatever she writes"  




    All the above still holds true.  The books have gotten better with each one and this series is now something I look forward to reading.  I don't mind being surprised anymore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Boys before flowers rip off...but still fun

    Waaaaayyyy to similar to the k drama boys before flowers, but still a fun afternoon read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    It was ok

    This story was alright for me. At first it had me a little confused with the plot of the story.
    The further I read the better it came along. It had a shocker in it which leads into some action in the story. Meanwhile, it has some lover quarrel going on for the girl. It's going to have a sequel so hopefully, it's going to be a little better than the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    I was really surprised to have enjoyed this book. It wasn't anyt

    I was really surprised to have enjoyed this book. It wasn't anything I expected, but... I was thrown off by how this story was supposed to be set in a college environment, with college students, yet it was more of a high school feel. College students in uniforms? That was just strange. Still, the story had enough behind it in order to keep me reading and curious to know what was going to happen next.

    ARC provided by NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    So here¿s the deal. Elite is a lot of fun. It¿s not the greate

    So here’s the deal.

    Elite is a lot of fun.

    It’s not the greatest writing you’ll ever encounter nor does it have the most mind-blowing plot twists, but it is a really good time.

    There are some things about this that irked me—mostly the old plot device of everyone withholding information from the main character in order to “protect” her. But you’ve heard that all before from me.

    I won’t bore you again. Mostly so that I don’t sound like a broken record who is telling authors to get off her lawn.

    I would very much like for authors to be on my lawn.

    Not literally. I’d probably get a ticket from the city for something like that. (My city is really into giving out tickets.)

    Anyway, Elite is fun! There’s a private college with designer clad, sycophantic, perhaps psychotic students! A girl who is from Wyoming and sometimes moos at people! Mysterious intrigue! VIOLENCE!

    It’s a perfect, pulpy read for a lazy afternoon or that random weekend night you find yourself without plans. It’s fast-paced, very entertaining, and you can definitely knock it out in one sitting.

    So if you’re looking for something that is fun, a bit mindless, but also engrossing, and you don’t mind if your characters are brooding, rich, and packing heat (by that I mean guns. Not some obscure penis reference.), then Elite will definitely fit the bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    3.5 Stars Genre: New Adult Pages: 256 Publisher: Forever I r

    3.5 Stars

    Genre: New Adult

    Pages: 256

    Publisher: Forever

    I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.



    Synopsis: For Tracey Rooks, life with her grandparents on a Wyoming farm has always been simple. But after her grandmother's death, Tracey is all her grandfather has. So when Eagle Elite University announces its annual scholarship lottery, Tracey jumps at the opportunity to secure their future and enters. She isn't expecting much-but then she wins. And life as she knows it will never be same . . .
    The students at Eagle Elite are unlike any she's ever met . . . and they refuse to make things easy for her. There's Nixon, gorgeous, irresistible, and leader of a group that everyone fears: The Elect. Their rules are simple. 1. Do not touch The Elect. 2. Do not look at The Elect. 3. Do not speak to The Elect. No matter how hard she tries to stay away, The Elect are always around her and it isn't long until she finds out the reason why they keep their friends close and their enemies even closer. She just didn't realize she was the enemy -- until it was too late.

    When I started this book, I thought, “this is going to be silly Gossip Girl on steroids”. While I was partly right, I was really quite shocked with the twist the author threw in. I mean, I was sensing that something was going to happen, but when it did, there was probably a little of this going on:

    Not going to lie, I did guess a little of what ended up happening, but not all. And then I promptly moved on to this:

    I very clearly remember laughing. But like, that giggle laugh that you do when something is so crazy and ridiculous and you don’t know how else to respond. I just feel like I enjoyed this book way too much. It was one of those books that you pick up because you just want something mindless and fun to read. And boy, did it deliver.

    I was so glad that Trace wasn’t in love with Nixon from the start. He was a jerk. He was worse than a jerk. And she stood up to him. Which made me oh so happy. I liked their relationship. They were very cute as they started getting to know each other. Nixon’s protectiveness was especially adorable. Monroe was a nice foil for Nixon’s jerk attitude. She was a fun secondary character that was a nice relief for Trace after all the horrible treatment she got from the rest of the student body.

    Ok, wherever they go to school is NOT a real place. WAY too fancy. And not just rich people fancy. This was like, ridiculous personalized menu for lunch fancy. If there’s a school like that somewhere, I obviously am just a naïve, poor person. Nor are those students real students. If they are, they all need detention. Or better yet, just ship them all off to juvie. Some of the things the kids did were so terrible, I don’t know how the teachers let them get away with it. I mean, I guess if you really just go with the world Van Dyken creates and just suspend disbelief, it makes sense. But dang, I would have brought a Taser to class.

    Anyway, all in all a VERY fun New Adult read. Lighter on the sexual situations than most new adult, heavier on the tension. I mean, there was OODLES of romance, of course. Just not outright sex. Some serious situations due to assault and violence, just a warning. If you’re a fan of the New Adult genre, this would be a GREAT addition to your bookshelf. Or eReader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Tracey Rooks grew up on her grandparent¿s farm in Wyoming. When

    Tracey Rooks grew up on her grandparent’s farm in Wyoming. When it’s time for college she applies and won a lottery for a coveted spot at Eagle Elite University. Eagle is a very prestigious university in Chicago. Her world is soon turned upside down when she meets Nikon. Even when he is being a jerk, she is drawn to him. Tracey soon finds out that everything she knew about her life is wrong and her future will be nothing like she thought. Nikon is seen as a wealthy college student. He runs Eagle Elite and everyone knows it. Nikon does his best to stay away from Tracey. But like every good plan he finds his life meshed with hers. As Tracey’s history is revealed so are Nixon’s secrets. Can Tracey and Nixon have their happily ever after?
    So….I really am on the fence with this book. I am literally straddling the line between like and dislike. Which means that I think it was eh. Nothing to horrible but nothing that was really great either. I believe that the story has a lot of potential but it just didn’t play out very well. I think that the book should either have been a Young Adult Novel or a Regular Adult Novel. I think by choosing “New Adult”, it felt like the author couldn’t decide which way to go with it. The mob angle was a different story line and I actually like that because it’s not something that is written about often.

    Nixon is quite the jerk in the beginning, ok a HOT jerk, but still a jerk. It took me a little while before I actually liked him. When he wasn’t being a jerk he was actually a nice guy (as nice as you can for the mob). You could tell that he struggled with his feelings for Tracey and always wanted what was best for her. I just could not see him as the “head” of his family. (Now in my opinion, if he was the son of the boss and in college while figuring out if he wanted to stay in the family that would have been more believable.)

    Tracey Rooks is an interesting mix. I found her at times to be quite brave (especially with all the bullying) and at other times completely naïve. I did like her with Nixon as I can see why she would be attracted to him. Must admit, I liked Chase! I was really rooting for him. The additions of Nixon’s friends make for well-rounded cast of characters. I hope that future books will feature more of them.

    With all this being said, I will still pick up the next book because I want to see how things play out as I think the story has a lot of potential. The book reminds me of a daytime soap that sucks you in and you have to keep watching because you need to know what’ happens.

    I do feel that if this book interests you, you should read it. As you might have a totally different opinion then I do. And I would love to hear about it!

    DISCLAIMER: I received an advanced copy (from Netgalley) of Elite in exchange for my honest review. Check more of my reviews at illhaveanotherbookDOTcom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1