BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Elite

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

You won't be able to put this one down!!! OH. MY. WORD. I shoul

You won't be able to put this one down!!!

OH. MY. WORD. I should have known better than to pick up a Rachel Van Dyken book to read at night. I stayed up until 1:30 A.M. to finish! Because I literally could NOT STOP READING!!!! I kept thinking, just one more chapter...t...
You won't be able to put this one down!!!

OH. MY. WORD. I should have known better than to pick up a Rachel Van Dyken book to read at night. I stayed up until 1:30 A.M. to finish! Because I literally could NOT STOP READING!!!! I kept thinking, just one more chapter...that didn't happen! This story was literally a roller coaster ride that I didn't want to end! In fact, I need the next book, like last night at 1:30, hint hint Rachel! The characters were amazing, I loved Trace from the beginning, she had spunk that I admired and Nixon I loved to hate...until I got to know him! Chase and Monroe, Tex and Phoenix, they were all different and fun as well. I felt like I was a part of the Elite world that Rachel Van Dyken created. This book seriously had me crying (I don't cry easily), laughing out loud and scared as heck. I loved the mystery and trying to put all of the pieces together. I am going to read this book again...tonight! I know, but it was that fabulous! I promise this book will exceed your expectations and leave you wanting more....a whole lot more! Hurry Rachel (PLEASE) because I am dying right now, and I need more Trace, Nixon, Monroe, Grandpa, Chase and Tex. I cannot get this world out of my head, it was so realistically created! The story keeps re-playing in my mind like a movie. BEST BOOK I HAVE READ THIS YEAR! Can I give a book ten stars? I want to, but five is the max so five bright shiny stars for an awesome read!!!




I was lucky and received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I would have gladly paid for this book!




Rating: Cussing, violence, sexual references.

posted by booksaresanity on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Crap

This book was written by a high school girl for the consumption of other high school girls. No one can convince me otherwise. I will add this to my list of vapid reads.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Elite

    I liked this book and hope the second one is out soon! I hope Trace ends up with Nixon because I think they are soul mates,and they fit!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Elite

    Wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable and filled with secrets, betrayals, and star-crossed r

    Enjoyable and filled with secrets, betrayals, and star-crossed romance, Elite was a great New Adult read. It was a wonderful romance that I quite liked.

    Tracey was a great heroine. Even surrounded by some of the most powerful people in the world, she refused to let herself she cowed or made to think less of herself. She was an overall likable character.

    Nixon was a little more iffy for me. On one hand, once he stopped actively trying to be an ass, he could be sweet and he was obviously very loyal and protective of his loved ones. Not to mention how much of a badass he was. But, I didn't understand why he was such a jerk at first. And, he never explained or tried to apologize so I couldn't fully move past him. But, while I couldn't totally love him because of that, I still did like him.

    The romance was good. Tracey and Nixon definitely had a star-crossed lover problem going on, but that didn't stop their feelings or their determination to be together. I did feel like it went a little too fast because I didn't feel like they actually got to know each other. But, they were a good couple overall.

    The plot was fast paced and I was kept interested the entire way through. There were plenty of twists, secrets, and betrayals to keep me engaged. I really enjoyed the story and the ending has me curious about what will happen next.

    Elite was an enjoyable New Adult romance that I liked. It was unpredictable, romantic, and an great read. Romance lovers, this is a book worth checking out.

    *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So I first fell in love with Rachel's writing with Ruin so I had

    So I first fell in love with Rachel's writing with Ruin so I had to give this book a go.

    I wasn't sure how I was going to like the Mafia theme but I was surprisingly pleased with it and it gave enough change to spice up this contemporary tale.

    I was already in tears as of chapter 1 and it only got better from there.

    For Trace she is a farm girl from Wyoming who won the chance to go to a prestigious elite school.

    When she arrived she was instantly bombarded with hard ass rules and a gaggle of dicks. At first I thought Nixon was the biggest douche bag but he won my heart in the end.
    A modern day mafia style Romeo and Juliet are Trace and Nixon.

    This relationship seems doomed within this world, with the family loyalties and promises but first loves are hard to break.

    Loved the story, loved the theme and now we are left with a potential love triangle. Argh!!!! I'm still team Nixon even though Chase is pretty awesome!

    4 Mafia Loving Thumbs Up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Well Tracey or Trace won the scholarship to this school. She comes to this school not knowing anything but the farm. As soon as she gets there she meets the Elect. For a while I was confused as to who these Elect people were. There was hints of who they are and the whole time I was like “are they or aren't they?” That is until closer to end the of the book we find out.

    Trace is a little clueless when it comes to things, but not to the point where it would be annoying. I just wished she would have stood up for herself more and wasn't so much like a doormat.

    Even though Nixon is a grade A ass in the beginning she can’t help be drawn to him. If it was me on the way he treated her in the beginning, I would have smooshed a cupcake in his face or something. At least his bi-polar emotions evened out throughout the book and he actually seemed great.

    I liked this book. It kept me entertained and I look forward to read the next book to find out what happens to the group.

    *I received this book from NetGalley*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    I received this book through NetGalley for an honest review. I

    I received this book through NetGalley for an honest review.

    I found Elite to be an entertaining page turner. When I think about it I think some of it is a little ridiculous, but it was well written ridiculousness that left me wanting more. Trace has won a scholarship to attend a school for the rich and sometimes famous. When she arrives she is right away tormented by the schools Elect that tell her a bunch of rules she needs to follow. And this Elect is ruled by the class president, Nixon. Nixon comes off as the biggest jerk ever, but he keeps playing hot and cold. And before you know it they are in love.

    But it is not all fun and games, and people will get hurt. It is an emotional roller coaster of a journey for Trace as she tries to deal with the prejudices of school and finding out she may not be who she thinks she is. And no one else is either. This came with many surprises that keep you guessing throughout the story.

    The one thing I found really irritating was the triangle that came up near the end. I love a good triangle, but this one hit a nerve for me. It will be interesting to see where it goes in the sequel. I recommend this to the New Adult lovers out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read on July 22, 2013 ebook, 256 pages Published July 9th 2


    Read on July 22, 2013




    ebook, 256 pages
    Published July 9th 2013 by Forever (first published April 14th 2013)
    ISBN 1455554162 (ISBN13: 9781455554164)
    series Eagle Elite #1
    Source:Netgalley EARC




    Book Buy Links 




    AMAZON 




    B&N 




    BOOK SYNOPSIS(taken from both ebook and paperback editions)








    For Tracey Rooks, life with her grandparents on a Wyoming farm has always been simple. But after her grandmother's death, Tracey is all her grandfather has. So when Eagle Elite University announces its annual scholarship lottery, Tracey jumps at the opportunity to secure their future and enters. She isn't expecting much-but then she wins. And life as she knows it will never be same . . .




    The students at Eagle Elite are unlike any she's ever met . . . and they refuse to make things easy for her. There's Nixon, gorgeous, irresistible, and leader of a group that everyone fears: The Elect. Their rules are simple. 1. Do not touch The Elect. 2. Do not look at The Elect. 3. Do not speak to The Elect. No matter how hard she tries to stay away, The Elect are always around her and it isn't long until she finds out the reason why they keep their friends close and their enemies even closer. She just didn't realize she was the enemy -- until it was too late. 




    When I won the annual Eagle Elite College Scholarship lottery, I was thrilled. After all, my grandma had just died and I wanted to take care of my aging grandpa -- he couldn't be a farmer in Wyoming forever. And graduating from Eagle Elite meant opportunity.




    But I wasn't counting on meeting Nixon.




    Nor was I counting on the rules of the Elect.




    1. Do not touch The Elect.
    2. Do not look at The Elect.
    3. Do not speak to The Elect.




    And worst of all? Don't discover the secret they hide, because in the end, you may just realize... it's about you.




    *This is a New Adult Book, blood, violence, cursing, sexual references, and drug use. Not recommended for those under 17.*




    My Thoughts








    Never let it be said that a book does not have the ability to enrage you to the point your emotions simmer at low boil throughout the entire story, my buttons were pushed from the very idea of "the Elect rules" and even after a few chapters in the shock value of respect being demanded rather than earned still did not set too well with me. 




    To say that this was your average every day book would be to do it an injustice, in certain areas the boundaries that the book pushed for the New Adult genre were way beyond the norm and in other areas about what one would expect from the age group and character types portrayed in the story. 




    From the moment that Tracey Rooks showed up at Eagle Elite College she was out of her depth, though her Grandparents had raised her from the age of 6 on their Wyoming farm after her parents died she grew up secure in their love, now 6 months after her grandmother's death Tracey is determined to make the most of the opportunity afforded her when she was chosen to attend Eagle Elite. Determined that not only would she get a good college education but that she would help make her Grandpa's later years more comfortable once she graduated and became gainfully employed.




    Tracey never counted on Nixon Abandonato, his irrepressible twin Monroe, his cousin Chase or the rest of "The Elect" students who considered their wealth a reason to give them carte blanche rights over anyone as lowly as "charity case" Tracey.




    From her first meeting in front of the dorm rooms where Nixon and Chase make their first appearance Tracey is made very aware that she does not measure up, the snobbery and elitist attitudes are only the tip of the iceberg to what she has to face in the days and weeks ahead amongst the very privileged arrogant young men and women who make up the population of the student body at Eagle Elite College.




    This is one of those fast paced reads that keep exposing new secrets about it's characters that will leave you wanting to know more, it has a varied cast of characters that you will choose to either hate or love and it basically centers around one major reveal about Tracey that changes her entire life and the lives of those close to her in one fell swoop.




    This is at times an emotionally devastating read that is totally not meant to be for a younger audience, it has a very tense scene where Tracey is beaten and almost raped, the nature of some of the other scenes described in the book are not meant to be viewed by those under 17 either and all in all in my honest opinion despite the age group that it's characters encompass it is more adult oriented than not.




    As a first time reader of author Rachel Van Dyken's I feel that she has captured the essence of a very compelling story that I personally would love to continue to enjoy when the next installment in the series is released, whenever that will be.




    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Confusing, Plot Hole Heavy Yet Strangely Intriguing and Compelli

    Confusing, Plot Hole Heavy Yet Strangely Intriguing and Compelling!
    Elite is book one in the Eagle Elite series and is a NA/Romance written by Rachel Van Dyken.

    The Review:
    First off let me say, when I hit that last page in this book, I could look back at this read as a whole and think, "wow, that was pretty great!". But if I was to form an opinion after only the first three chapters, then the next few chapters and then some more after that, I would have said, "wth? I'm so confused and this book makes No. Sense. AT. ALL!" So my suggestion, read it in full before forming a complete opinion. Now, on to the review...

    Story...
    I enjoyed this read and it kept me coming back, even though I wanted to pull my hair out because I just didn't understand the things happening and it was riddled with plot holes! From the moment it starts, its a confusing mess of characters, events and secrecy that left me scratching my head. We get tidbits all along of where the story is headed, who the characters are and at about 35% into the book, I had a light bulb moment, where everything started to click. I began to understand where the story was headed, but what I didn't understand, was why would a person stay and endure that kind of torture at a place she had no allegiance to. I think there should have been something added to ensure the fortitude of the characters choice to stay other than stubbornness. I mean it was an elective college, not compulsory high school.

    The overall conflict was well done but there were so many times I thought, why did that happen and why would any character stay to endure that kind of abuse.

    I have a Spoiler Rant at the end of this review if you're curious what I question as sever plot holes.

    If you break the book down and really start to questions the events, things don't make a whole lot of sense, there are a ton of plot holes and things seem to fall into place to easily and I would have given it a much lower rating. But just sitting back and enjoying it for what it is as a whole, I really kind of liked it!

    Quick Character Rundown...
    Nixon, aka Satan!, has me completely conflicted. One minute he's cruel and horrific in both actions and the things he says and the next he's charming, caring and protective. But then he turns his glare on you and he's cold and heartless once more. I totally had a Love/Hate relationship going with his character. His past is steeped in abuse and pain and you can't help but feel for him once everything is spelled out. However, when remembering all the things he did, you also can't help but picture what his body parts would look like ground to bits by a sledge hammer!

    Trace is a sweet character who is innocent and caring and her time at Elite for the most part was grisly. I understand her determination and grit to find a place amongst the Elite's, to prove she's just as good as they are but WHY did she keep taking Nixon's hand? The push-pull in that dynamic was horrible and the things he did were severe! She just kept coming back for more of his abuse and didn't really stand up for herself. He'd hurt her, she'd cry, he'd come back with some sort of offer of help and she'd jump right on it. I felt there needed to be more resistance and after all he did, he needed to WORK for her trust.

    Chase, oh how I LOVED him. Our introduction to him isn't pleasant but he more than makes up for it as he goes out of his way to help and protect Trace. He's sweet and kind to the people he cares about but can be cruel and heartless to those who he thinks are being disrespectful and it only made him hotter to see his sweet side and then experience his rough side. He genuinely cares for Trace and I thought he deserved better than to be used as an escape and then thrown to the side when he wasn't needed anymore. The only thing about his character that didn't make sense to me was why did he help Phoenix that night at the party? That was totally out of character for him, especially given what happened to Phoenix who acted outside Nixon's orders. If Chase knew it wasn't what Nixon wanted, why did he go along with it? Plot hole!

    As for the Elite groupies...that school need a good extermination!

    The Wrap Up:
    Certain things definitely needed better explanation because by the time it was all said and done, there were more questions than there were answers. But overall, the story was good and kept me reading if not wondering and questioning. In all honesty, I'm intrigued enough to move on to book two when it's released.

    NOTE: I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review by Forever (Grand Central Publishing) through NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    I got this book with absolutely no expectations. I had never he

    I got this book with absolutely no expectations. I had never heard of the book before, and I only had the summary to go on. Let me start by saying that this book was not at all what I thought it would be, just based on the summary. That's not a bad thing though! The storyline was just very unexpected.

    I found myself really liking the concept of the Elect, despite the fact that their group really does cause quite a few headaches and heartaches for the main character Tracey (aka Trace.) That being said, however, there were definitely times that I wish Trace had been just a little stronger. Granted, anyone would feel pressure and sadness over some of the things she has to endure, but she seemed to really let it cripple her sometimes. I wanted to see her cry less, stand up for herself, say something back to some of these people. The only one she could really do that with though was Nixon, who, at least at first, was the scariest one of them all. Then that brings me to Nixon....

    I have to admit I both loved and hated Nixon...hated in the beginning, but then grew to love. He was definitely an interesting character, and I loved his badass sexiness. A guy with power, looks, and attitude... you gotta love him. I also have to give a nod to Chase. I loved that guy too. He was so caring and sweet, but also tough and strong too. I see a love triangle coming in the future.

    I was definitely surprised when I learned the truth behind the Elect group. That was unexpected, and a very interesting story concept. I have to admit I haven't read anything like it before. I enjoyed the writing. It was fast-paced and interesting. I read the entire book in one sitting. So despite those few little things I mentioned above, on the whole, I really enjoyed this book and will definitely be picking up the next one. I'm looking forward to seeing where Rachel Van Dyken takes the story from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Mystery, Romance and Drama...this story has it all! Though I wa

    Mystery, Romance and Drama...this story has it all!

    Though I was confused at the beginning of the story, I did not put this book down until I finished reading it.  I think the lottery could have been better explained.  The book kept me intrigued from the start.  I needed to know who Trace was and how her family was tied to Nixon.  And exactly who is Nixon and why is he so bothered by Trace? 

    Ms. Van Dyken, please hurry with the release of Elect.  I cannot wait to find out what direction this story will take!

    I recommend this story for anyone who enjoys a page-turning mystery with romance, action and a dose of drama.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Awesone read

    All the reviews were right this was a great read. Cant wait fir the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1