Customer Reviews for

Elixir (Elixir Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Elixir

When you think of Hilary Duff, you automatically think 'Lizzie McGuire', right? So, it's probably weird for you to think that she's written a book--well, at least, I did.
Elixir was captivating, and not anything that I'd imagine Hilary Duff could write. I'm not diss...
When you think of Hilary Duff, you automatically think 'Lizzie McGuire', right? So, it's probably weird for you to think that she's written a book--well, at least, I did.
Elixir was captivating, and not anything that I'd imagine Hilary Duff could write. I'm not dissing her, but it's just that I thought this would be some stupid story about a snobby-rich girl. True, the main character, Clea, was rich, but I didn't get the sense that she was snobby at all.
She was a pretty cool protagonist, and I liked her rational-way of thinking. To be honest, she thought things out more thoroughly than I would have! Me, I would have jumped and freaked at just about every turn of events (I mean, taking a snapshot of your room and seeing some strange dude standing in your closet would have me screaming like a banshee and running out of the house).
True, the story line kind of reminded me of Alyson Noel's Immortals series a little bit, but I filed all my negative comments away, in order to stop comparing all the characters.
The book was entrancing, and I finished it in under a day. I enjoyed it through-and-through, and although the ending is a little disappointing, I think there is going to be a second one in the near future (although I can't find any information on it...yet).
I suggest that every person who likes strange tales of love give this book a try. Set aside your views/opinions on the new author, and give her a shot (without envisioning Lizzie Maguire's little animated character writing this book on an overly-sized computer).

posted by CiciBear26 on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not enough...

The beginning of this book is well thought out and written. Though I am thoroughly unsatisfied with the second half of this book. The main character suddenly decides she is in love with no preamble or even much dialouge with Sage. Not to mention the photograth myster...
The beginning of this book is well thought out and written. Though I am thoroughly unsatisfied with the second half of this book. The main character suddenly decides she is in love with no preamble or even much dialouge with Sage. Not to mention the photograth mystery is never explain. Just an errant thought about what it might be and nothing more. Even worse was the ending which in no way tied up the main issue of the book which is finding Clea's father. Actually this concept is given up after finding the place where her father's clues ran out. How could a person give up with no thought other than of Sage? I personally would not continue to read this if a sequel came out. To many loose ends leaving the reader questing.

posted by DakAdara on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Not enough...

    The beginning of this book is well thought out and written. Though I am thoroughly unsatisfied with the second half of this book. The main character suddenly decides she is in love with no preamble or even much dialouge with Sage. Not to mention the photograth mystery is never explain. Just an errant thought about what it might be and nothing more. Even worse was the ending which in no way tied up the main issue of the book which is finding Clea's father. Actually this concept is given up after finding the place where her father's clues ran out. How could a person give up with no thought other than of Sage? I personally would not continue to read this if a sequel came out. To many loose ends leaving the reader questing.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Elixir

    When you think of Hilary Duff, you automatically think 'Lizzie McGuire', right? So, it's probably weird for you to think that she's written a book--well, at least, I did.
    Elixir was captivating, and not anything that I'd imagine Hilary Duff could write. I'm not dissing her, but it's just that I thought this would be some stupid story about a snobby-rich girl. True, the main character, Clea, was rich, but I didn't get the sense that she was snobby at all.
    She was a pretty cool protagonist, and I liked her rational-way of thinking. To be honest, she thought things out more thoroughly than I would have! Me, I would have jumped and freaked at just about every turn of events (I mean, taking a snapshot of your room and seeing some strange dude standing in your closet would have me screaming like a banshee and running out of the house).
    True, the story line kind of reminded me of Alyson Noel's Immortals series a little bit, but I filed all my negative comments away, in order to stop comparing all the characters.
    The book was entrancing, and I finished it in under a day. I enjoyed it through-and-through, and although the ending is a little disappointing, I think there is going to be a second one in the near future (although I can't find any information on it...yet).
    I suggest that every person who likes strange tales of love give this book a try. Set aside your views/opinions on the new author, and give her a shot (without envisioning Lizzie Maguire's little animated character writing this book on an overly-sized computer).

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A home run for Duff's first novel!

    This book was incredible! I was pleasantly surprised by how well it was written and how good of a story it is. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. It's a fast read, but no less satisfying for it. It is a paranormal romance, for those who questioned what type of book it is. The characters were well developed and believable. The plot was original and the love story heartwarming. If you like the paranormal romance genre, then you will love this book. The ending was definitely left open for a sequel and hopefully, a series. I am anxiously anticipating news of a second book, and the book itself thereafter. Two thumbs up for Hilary! She knocked this one out of the park!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely hated it!!!!

    The whole entire book was amazing until the end. The last 20 pages ripped out my heart and stomped on it. Clea is such an idiot. The ending ruined the whole book. When I think about it all I think about is the horrible ending. Please do not waste you're time.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Good

    This story was well written and a good main idea, but the ending was terrible. There should be a second book. If you are wondering what the paint thing is about here it is. Clea has had different lives before this 1 and so has sage. Everytime they fell in love and yet sage got caught and died. So sage painted his dreams or past lives. That is why clea says she has seen those people in her dreams. That is also why they fell in love.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    It was okay...

    This book was okay. When I read it I felt it resembled The book Evermore. It had a great plot but, not something I recommend. I haven't read Devoted and, I'm not in a hurry, sorry to all the Hillary Duff fans! This book was just a quick read for me to pass time in social studies each day. . . It never left my locker.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Ages 15+

    I was 12 when I first read this novel and it was not appropriate for my age group, even being mature for my age. I really enjoyed the overall story and the fact that it was by Hilary Duff. BUT, there are a few uncomfortable and mature happenings for a 6th grader to be reading. It is definitely more age appropriate for me reading it the second time around. Overall great story...but a disappointing ending which is okay because she is having a sequel come out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    What a let down!

    I was very disappointd in this book. It gets your attention right from the start, and then just fades. I didn't like that half the time I was reading about Clea's dreams. And how could she fall for Sage when Ben is truly the one that loves her. I would not recommend this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    This Book Is Pretty Much A Waste!

    I only have two more chapters to read to finish this book and thank goodness! This book is not what I expected at all! It's kind of all over the place. You're thinking things are one way and then they turn out to be something different. From what I've been reading it's pretty stupid and not at all logical. I wouldn't even call it a love story. It's definitely not one of those "I can't put this book down" type of books. I'll probably finish it tonight just because of the fact that I want to get it over with already. To me it seems like this book was "rushed", like Duff and Allen just wrote down anything to get it out there already. There really isn't any thought into this book. It's just nonsense! Don't waste your money if you're interested in this book! Just go check it out at the library! I'm even gonna stop following her on Twitter for convincing me to buy this lame book! lol

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    A book for romance and mysteries

    I was surprised when I saw the cover and even more the name of the author which is none other than my childhood hero and favorite singer Hilary Duff. This book inspries me how the details work and also the seductive mystery as I turn the page. Hilary Duff has really went the extra mile in this book I can't wait for her to continue this story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Is it good

    I feeql like this book is very good, if the peolpe of the internet think its good then it must be good-btw if my best friend is out there on her nook and hs read this i would really like 4 you to respond.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    it is a must read!

    This book is amazing. There is something new or suprising on every page. You never want to put the book down. I would strongly reccommend reading this if you like a fiction and romance novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    OVER ALL IT WAS A GOOD READ.

    So I am 22 years old and read this book. YES this book has its flaws and at times I feel like it was rushed a little bit. But did you forget Hilary Duff is originally and actress/singer NOT A WRITER- she herself has admitted to it- with that being said IT WAS A GOOD BOOK!! I think the whole idea of it is quite interesting and new! The flaws that this book has, only allows you to use your imagination into wondering what happened or what will happen! That's what books are mainly about!I personally enjoyed the book and I am looking forward to the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great Novel!

    I have read hundreds of books, but this book may be my favorite! It was well written and captivating. Of course there were some flaws; however, the novel had a great story line, was well organized, and was overall a great first novel! I was skeptical at first but was pleasantly surprised; I highly recommend this novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Anonymus

    Awesome book loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!

    I read this book front to back on a flight home. I could NOT put it down! I was so oblivious to my surroundings when i was reading it, and i really felt like i was in the book, like i was Clea. This book is captivating and enticing & has great romance flair. I pre-ordered the sequel Devoted in May, and i cannot wait for it to arrive!!! I HIGHLY recommend this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Impressive

    This was a really quick and fun read for me. I know a lot of people have been skeptical about reading this book because they see Hilary Duff is the author they don't trust celebrity books. Well let me tell you guys - she did a good job. Hilary Duff and her collaborator/writing partner for this book (Elise Allen) have created a beautifully, well crafted story.

    Elixir is full of mystery, suspense, romance, and action. The writing in Elixir is very short and to the point. There is a good mix of description and dialogue and everything flows pretty nicely.

    Clea, the main character, is a likable character. She's smart, has well defined goals, and has a good heart. She is a good friend and daughter.

    There is a love triangle in this book and boy is it complicated. Well at the beginning you think it's simple. It's like oh okay, shes stuck between new mysterious hot guy and her guy friend who is crushing on her but she doesn't realize it, type of love triangle which makes you go: "Oh, i've seen this before." Well, not so much. When you realize along the development of the story that there is reincarnation and immortality involved in the this book, the love triangle gets much more complicated and I loved reading about it.

    What I really liked about this book was that there was a lot of traveling in the story. While Clea is working as a photojournalist and trying to figure out about the mysterious disappearance of her dad, and a guy who keeps up on showing on her pictures - she gets to travel practically around the globe. And this is where Hilary's background as an actress and singer probably shows because she's traveled around the world through her music and acting career and the descriptions of the places that Clea ends up in, really felt real.

    The secondary characters in this book are very well developed. I loved Clea's mom, her best friend Rayna, her best guy friend Ben and Sage who is her main love interest. The villains in this book are not quite who you expect and I really liked that. It was interesting to read.

    The paranormal elements in this book were of course, my favorite part of the book, I have to say. You have a mix of reincarnation, dreams, immortality and magic. How it all ties into Clea's life and her dad's disappearance and the guy who keeps up showing in her pics is really intriguing. But with that - a lot of things were still not clarified by the ending. Hilary ended the book with a huge cliffhanger and a very confused MC (main character) which is why I'm super excited for the sequel to Elixir which comes out in October of this year and is called Devoted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    This book was awsome!! A must read!!

    This book was very good! Once I started reading it I could not put it down!!! It is very captivating and very well writen!! I first picked it up because hilary duff wrote it but one I started reading it in the store I was there for an hour! I highly recommend this book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is amazing, filled with thrill and excitement. I read this book in two days. It it filled with suspense and drama. The only word i can say is truely, amazing. I really hope she makes a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    very excited..then upset

    I loved this book. Was very entertaining and flowed and was a very easy read. I absolutely enjoyed every minute that I spent reading this book. The ending sucked though. I feel like she just cut it off for no reason. She could have easily made another 100 pages if not more. Not happy with the ending at all. Hopefully there will be a sequel, if not, then I would not suggest reading this book just because you will be disappointed in the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22