Customer Reviews for

Elixir (Elixir Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Elixir

When you think of Hilary Duff, you automatically think 'Lizzie McGuire', right? So, it's probably weird for you to think that she's written a book--well, at least, I did.
Elixir was captivating, and not anything that I'd imagine Hilary Duff could write. I'm not diss...
When you think of Hilary Duff, you automatically think 'Lizzie McGuire', right? So, it's probably weird for you to think that she's written a book--well, at least, I did.
Elixir was captivating, and not anything that I'd imagine Hilary Duff could write. I'm not dissing her, but it's just that I thought this would be some stupid story about a snobby-rich girl. True, the main character, Clea, was rich, but I didn't get the sense that she was snobby at all.
She was a pretty cool protagonist, and I liked her rational-way of thinking. To be honest, she thought things out more thoroughly than I would have! Me, I would have jumped and freaked at just about every turn of events (I mean, taking a snapshot of your room and seeing some strange dude standing in your closet would have me screaming like a banshee and running out of the house).
True, the story line kind of reminded me of Alyson Noel's Immortals series a little bit, but I filed all my negative comments away, in order to stop comparing all the characters.
The book was entrancing, and I finished it in under a day. I enjoyed it through-and-through, and although the ending is a little disappointing, I think there is going to be a second one in the near future (although I can't find any information on it...yet).
I suggest that every person who likes strange tales of love give this book a try. Set aside your views/opinions on the new author, and give her a shot (without envisioning Lizzie Maguire's little animated character writing this book on an overly-sized computer).

posted by CiciBear26 on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not enough...

The beginning of this book is well thought out and written. Though I am thoroughly unsatisfied with the second half of this book. The main character suddenly decides she is in love with no preamble or even much dialouge with Sage. Not to mention the photograth myster...
The beginning of this book is well thought out and written. Though I am thoroughly unsatisfied with the second half of this book. The main character suddenly decides she is in love with no preamble or even much dialouge with Sage. Not to mention the photograth mystery is never explain. Just an errant thought about what it might be and nothing more. Even worse was the ending which in no way tied up the main issue of the book which is finding Clea's father. Actually this concept is given up after finding the place where her father's clues ran out. How could a person give up with no thought other than of Sage? I personally would not continue to read this if a sequel came out. To many loose ends leaving the reader questing.

posted by DakAdara on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Not enough...

    The beginning of this book is well thought out and written. Though I am thoroughly unsatisfied with the second half of this book. The main character suddenly decides she is in love with no preamble or even much dialouge with Sage. Not to mention the photograth mystery is never explain. Just an errant thought about what it might be and nothing more. Even worse was the ending which in no way tied up the main issue of the book which is finding Clea's father. Actually this concept is given up after finding the place where her father's clues ran out. How could a person give up with no thought other than of Sage? I personally would not continue to read this if a sequel came out. To many loose ends leaving the reader questing.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    Not All That Good

    I honestly thought this book was to short. It would have been good if she had added another 100 pages. 500 would have been allright too! I think that it was just too much running around. And the car scene, really? I decided to get it from the library and I'm glad I didn't waste my money. Even with someone helping her it wasn't very good. The ending was especially very abrupt. It also needed to be continued. If she writes a sequel I'll read it just so my mind can rest, that ending needed another 10 pages so we can get more information.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Okay this book started out great! Each page swallowed your atten

    Okay this book started out great! Each page swallowed your attention with thrilling mysteries and looming romances. You immediately fall in love with each of the characters and Hilary Duff manages to pull together a dramatic adventure with the light comedy of teenage life. HOWEVER, as the book continues the quality and story line drastically decline. The main character Clea becomes whining and annoying leaving you feeling irritated as you finish each chapter; her friend Ben becomes overly jealous and controlling and Sage...well I just didn't like him from the beginning. In fact the only character I like seemed to be Clea's best friend and that could be due to the fact she was only in a couple of chapters in the book. But wait there's more! As you continue to read through the incredible dry middle of the book and come to some well awaited excitement, only 20 pages remain of the story, making a reader wonder how they can solve all the mysteries in only one short chapter. Well let me just tell you that nothing is solved, and you are only left wondering what the hell just happened on the last five pages. Clea's father is not found; in fact they rarely even mention him in the second half of the book. Sage somehow goes from being cool, calm and mysterious to acting like a hormone driven teenager who only cries. Ben who is the man with all the answers throughout the entire book seems to mess up a plan which could most possibly have been the worst plan ever constructed. And just when you're believing you cannot hate Clea anymore, you are somehow pushed into disliking her even more then you ever imagined as she whines about losing her soul mate (aka - a man she met only a couple days ago) when in all honestly it was her own fault. The small feeling of regret you feel halfway through the book is only a warning of the ending which will leave you with a bitter taste in your mouth and the sour sensation of being cheated out of what had potential to be an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    NO!!!!

    I hated clea sosososo much! I mean ben loves her and protects her! Sage USED her and didnt even know her! The people of the past make their own desicions....... Ben would never hurt clea and she hates him anyway? Um, no. This book frustrated me. Big time >.<

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Good but a little too complicated Good not great

    It's a nice idea and quite original but it is too complicated without enough background information to incite interest in decoding the problems presented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Wow, I couldn't even get through the first five chapters!

    This was very slow and boring.UGH, don't waste your money!:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    what?

    she made a book? this must reaally. stink

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    ...I hate amazing books with bad endings.

    I was amazed at this book. It had an original storyline and was intrguing, though the way of writing took a while to get used to. I felt all this-until the ending. I legitimately had a yelling rant. I actually checked to see if my copy was missing pages.Hilary could have easily set up Ben and Clea... or done something to give us poor readers a sense of comfort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Okay.....

    Was disappointed by this book. The plot was pretty good but the story was rushed and left me wondering what happened. Never found out what happened to Clea's father. Also, the book was really short. Would have been better if she developed the story a little more and slowed it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Potential Gone Awry

    SPOILERS I'm not too harsh a critic, and I went into reading this book with an open mind. In the beginning for the most part, I enjoyed it. It's an incredibly easy read and the characters are easy to like. However, the book lost me in the meat of the plot. The people who are after Sage seem thrown in as an afterthought, an excuse to continue the series. And don't get me started on the ridiculous plot that involves Shakespeare's infamous Dark Lady. I was read through Sage's immortality and Clea's reincarnations, but the Dark Lady residing beneath a mall in Tokyo was too much for me to stomach. And I hate to be a stickler, but the Dark Lady as written by Shakespeare is not a particularly attractive woman, a fact overlooked by the ambitious Ms. Duff. A tip of the hat for penning a readable novel, and a wag of the finger for making a seasoned fantasy reader drop the book and groan with horror at the introduction of the Dark Lady.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2