Customer Reviews for

Elizabeth I: Red Rose of the House of Tudor, England, 1544

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

fabulistcal

it could have not been better.it is awe inspiring.

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The diary that started it all!

I read this diary when I was eight, but stopped because I couldn't tell what went on and kept getting lost with King Henry's wives. Even though I kept looking at the chart, I still had no idea which wife was being talked about. When I reread the story at an older age, I...
I read this diary when I was eight, but stopped because I couldn't tell what went on and kept getting lost with King Henry's wives. Even though I kept looking at the chart, I still had no idea which wife was being talked about. When I reread the story at an older age, I understood the it entirely. The book begins with Elizabeth exiled at Hatfield. It made me depressed how much she suffered and longed for her Father's attention. Even after returning to court, she still underwent terrible troubles and insults by her sister Mary (aka y Mary). Her friends, Lady Jane Grey and her brother, helped her endure some of her troubles. The book ends with her father's and Edward's coronation. Katharyn Lasky writes the book in such a way that you emotionaly feel Elizabeth's pain and stress. Espeshely when her father dies and the kingdom is in turmoil over who should rule. I felt for Elizabeth in that time, for who would want a cruel sister who s you aand only wants you ? I enjoyed this diary, as I have enjoyed all of them. but I must say I have read better ones but that is just my opinion. For those who have not read this book, I do recommend they read a copy.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book I think it is fun,but then scary at times. To have your mother dead your dad having all these wives and never knowing what is going to happen.But is also a wonderful book i read the royal diaries all the time and I think they are really good books !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The last book that I have read is ELEANOR CROWN JEWEL OF AQUATINE. that is another great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    Going back in time........

    As I read this book I was constantly wondering what happened to Elizabeth. Did she rule? What became of soon to be 'Bloody' Mary. What really happened to Elizabeth's mother? What was going on with the religion? the book was really interesting and I enjoyed it. It makes you feel like you are lost and forgotten too as Elizabeth goes through pain and longing for her fathers attention. Really interesting and you could at times feel like you were there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    One of the greatest

    I love Enlish History, and I read this book a year ago and was amazed at the detail of the story-It was realistic, not like other historical ficton, I would deff. recomend it to younger readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    THE DIARY OF A PRINCESS

    This stroy is informal. If you don't like non-fictio books you would still like it. I am reading it for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    amazing story i never knew!

    Elizabeth has seen people disapprove of her threw her life.the only person who truely love Elizabeth was her mother who was murder by her father the king of England.Eliz was only 2 yr old when she died.later on she suck her gut in and moved on and showed the whole kingdom God send her to be a blessing.Not a curse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    good for a history book

    I don't usually like historical fiction books, but this one was really good. It kept me interested and I loved all the details of princess life and how a lot of emotion is shown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Elizabeth I: Red Rose of the House of Tudor, England, 1544

    You're the second child ofHenryVlll.Because of your mother,he often bannishes you to Hartfield(a large house a few days jouney from London).You are often bannished from court for months at a time.Your fathers present wife is Catherine Parr. Who,with her kind influence is often able to bring you back to court.But when disaster strikes and Catherine Parr is out of favor with the king you must act.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2003

    Elizabeth I: Red Rose of the House of Tudor, England, 1544

    I thoght it was a good read. Dispite the fact that no adventures really happen to her. I would recomend this book.It is one of the series most enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    good book

    It's a good book...not my favorite one out of the Royaln Diaries series, but I learned a lot more than I thought I would about the Tudor family...and it was fun too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2000

    GOOD!!!!!

    I REALY LIKED THIS BOOK U SHOULD READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    Not nearly as good

    Hi It's me AGAIN! I really did like this book. But I simply can't stand Elizabeth. I know I can't stand Cleo either. But the writer just couldn't erase my former predjudice. Frankly I liked princess Mary better. Even this young Lizzy seemed like she was completely self-centered and rude. She complained about being invisable the whole time. And never once tried to make herself visable in a vavorable light. The only thing I identified with was the lonliness academic excellence and I liked the parts where Anne Bolyn was disscused. I learned nothing worthwhile from Lizzy's charactor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    a never to forget, on the go book!****

    I would have to give this book 4 complete you-totally deserve it stars because it helped me see through the eyes of a very substantial person in our own history! The words where outstanding and I believe that the only fault of this book was it's lenghth. It should have been longer. There was so much else you could have writen! The athour was really on a role with the exellent detail. I think everyone in my class that likes reading has read this book! Keep reading ya all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1