Customer Reviews for

Elizabeth I: The Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Really Enjoyed!

    After reading Wolf Hall this was really refreshing. The characters were believeable, you could picture yourself in court along side them.You knew who was speaking unlike Wof Hall where the characters jumped around with so many Thomas'. If you enjoy royal fiction I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly Recommended!

    As with Margaret George's other books, this one also does not disappoint. It is captivating, exciting, thrilling, witty and every other type of emotion you can possibly add to it. It grabs you from the first page and carries you along to the end where you are so very saddened to see the last page when you have to relinquish your adventure with these full, well-rounded characters you have come to know. Margaret George is one of my all-time favorite authors. Her stories are wonderful and her style is easy and beautiful. Her chapters are short and that's what keeps you reading and reading until, surprisingly, twelve hours have just passed without a notice. "Elizabeth I" is magnificent and will be enjoyed by anyone interested in the Tudors and/or British royalty, history, etc. Brava, Ms. George. And, by the way, what's next??? :)

    One star for price gouging.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Dull

    I have read all of Margaret George's books and this was the one I enjoyed the least and that is saying something because Mary Queen of Scotland was hard to get through. This book is supposed to tell what Elizabeth I was really like and I suppose it is entirely possible that Queen Elizabeth was every bit as boring as this book made her out to be. Unfortunately, it did not make for an interesting read and at 800 pages on my Nook I found my self skimming huge sections looking for some action.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth I - The Hot Flash Years Elizabeth I lived a perilous

    Elizabeth I - The Hot Flash Years

    Elizabeth I lived a perilous life until she became queen at the age of 25; her mother beheaded, she herself alternately declared a bastard and heir to the throne of England; imprisoned in The Tower and one hiccup away from execution. THEN she reigned as Queen for 45 years. So most biographies and historical novels focus on the "exciting" early years of Elizabeth's life and reign, when the issue of "would she or wouldn't she?" marry Robert Dudley was a HUGE burning question. Then when they get to the end of her reign and life, the rest of her life and reign kind of gets rushed through, because, well, at this point, people are TIRED, and she's an old lady, what more is there to say?

    As it turns out, a lot. In this novel, it's the early life that gets rushed through and glossed over, the novel starting with the advance of the Spanish Armada (which generally gets contracted into THE Spanish Armada, but in fact the threat from the Spanish did not evaporate with the defeat (mostly by nature) of the Armada in 1588. Two more Armadas were sent in 1596 and 1597.

    This novel explores (fictitiously) the strange emotional connection between Elizabeth and Robert Devereaux, Earl of Essex (and son of Elizabeth's cousin and rival, Lettice Knollys). Historically, it seems that sometimes Elizabeth regarded Essex at times as a romantic suitor, and at other times almost as a surrogate son. While some of the actions here (and all the internal thoughts) are fictitious, the actions correspond to what I've read elsewhere of Elizabeth.

    I enjoyed the portrayal of Elizabeth as a woman as well as Queen, trying to hide her hot flashes and to discern, who loved HER, and who professed to love her for what she could give him (or her). Alternate chapters were written from the POV of Lettice Knollys - I am not sure her (fictional) affair with William Shakespeare was necessary, though it was a novel way to work him into the plot.

    All in all, a wonderfully textured and unique look at the period of Elizabeth's life and reign that is normally skimmed over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    I couldn't put this book down. Fascinating read about a sensatio

    I couldn't put this book down.
    Fascinating read about a sensational time in history and the woman who held it all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Excellent detail and characterization

    A very well researched and written historical novel. I have read lots and lots of fiction and non-fiction books about Elizabeth I and this gives an excellent picture of the characters and turmoil in the last years of her reign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Elizabeth I

    Like all of Margaret George's books, you hate to have them end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Likeable but long

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3