BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Elizabeth & Mary: Cousins, Rivals, Queens

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ignore the other review

The cover and description don't make it crystal clear, but they are actually cousins because this book is about Elizabeth and Mary, Queen of Scots, not Mary Tudor. I'm sure it's a great book.

posted by 8837087 on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Will not read!

Just from the title I can see that this book is in no way accurate. Elizabeth and Mary were not COUSINS, they were SISTERS. Both were daughters of King Henry VIII. I am honestly surprised that no one caught this before.

posted by 7132494 on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Ignore the other review

    The cover and description don't make it crystal clear, but they are actually cousins because this book is about Elizabeth and Mary, Queen of Scots, not Mary Tudor. I'm sure it's a great book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    great book

    I have to agree with the first review. This book is a great read if you like history. The story is engaging and not the least bit dry. It's not just a reference book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great read!

    I loved this book! It reads like fiction, but it is about two fascinating real women. Jane Dunn does a great job making history come alive. BTW, the 1-star review from Anonymous should be disregarded since she was totally wrong. The book is about Mary, Queen of Scots, not Mary Tudor, Elizabeth's half-sister. Anonymous should have read the book and not given it 1-star without even reading it! No one should be reviewing books they haven't read -- good grief.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Will not read!

    Just from the title I can see that this book is in no way accurate. Elizabeth and Mary were not COUSINS, they were SISTERS. Both were daughters of King Henry VIII. I am honestly surprised that no one caught this before.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    A new history book

    Jane Dunn did a wonderful job in her research. This book would be a good reference book for any student of history. If you are looking for a good book to read on your down time, this is not for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Incredible!

    Dunn writes an incredibly informative and equally enthralling tale of two of history's most mystical queens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    They carried their queenly rivalry to the extreme

    I feel this book did a good job of comparing and contrasting these two famous and infamous queens. A lot of people see Mary as an innocent martyr because of the fact that her cousin had her put to death. Mary was no more innocent than Elizabeth when it comes to bringing about her own demise, but both were heavily influenced by those in their inner circle.

    I like that this book showed the very big differences in their lives right from the day they were born and how this influenced who they were, how they viewed the world around them and how they made decisions. The book is full of first-hand accounts of those who were involved in their lives. I also enjoyed reading these accounts because of the differences in the writing styles and spelling in this time period. There are also beautiful portraits of the queens and other key people in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Engaging Read for a Junior

    This summer I was assigned to read any biography I wanted for summer reading. I chose this book because I did not know much about this era and I thought it would be interesting. If you buy this book, read the preface. i found the family tree and the chronology to be extremely helpful in the reading of this book. The author's use of vocabulary is stimulating and concise. Her view of the lives of Mary and Elizabeth flow together relatively well. The beginning as well as throughout this book, the author introduces the reader very well to the historical, economical, and emotional settings of this time period. Although it may be a bit confusing as first, due mostly to the fact that some characters have very similar names, the book is very well written. As stated in the preface, you will come to find that this book is not about the complete historical lives of both women, rather, it tells of their relationship with each other and the events that set them apart and bind them together. Jane Dunn includes events form an absorbing and interesting perspective to keep you engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    A Must Read ffor Students of Tudor History

    This book is packed full of a'inside' information. By comparng and contrasting the early lves of the two monarchs, even if the reader is ignorant of their histores, one can guess the outcoimes,. Mary, the stubborn royalist fails to grasp the extent of the animosity Elizabeth feels about her constant claim to the throne of England. Elizabeth, wily until the end, knew the value of prevaricating and disemblings her words. Mary was a queen an spent the rest of her life blissfuy unaware of the changing monarchincal attitudes in her country. Elizabeth, on the other hand, by her contant concern for her people, became an icon for her age. The difference between the two women and their approaches to life is fascintating. This is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Fascinating

    I wholeheartedly agree that this is a book for the student of history whether in the execution of academic pursuits or just for the pleasurable increase in knowledge. Dunn's style of constantly alternating between the exploits of Elizabeth I and Mary Stuart strengthens the readers feelings of tension and struggle between the two. Additionally, this book gives the student of history a great sense of the political ramifications and strategies manipulated through inter-monarchial marriages (or lack thereof).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Excellent Biography of Both Queens

    This book was purchased during a trip to London. It is a wonderful read! A person can't very well write about Elizabeth I without mentioning Mary of Scotland, or vice versa. This duo biography covers their respective lives in a thorough fashion. Especially interesting is how you can learn what Elizabeth was experiencing in England at the same time as what her cousin, Mary, was experiencing in France. I do have my favorites as to individual biographies of these two monarchs but this double work does justice to them both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1