Customer Reviews for

Elizabeth Taylor: My Love Affair with Jewelry

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    Great book for jewelry lovers

    Elizabeth has some exquisite pieces that may have never been seen without this book being written. She tells the story of most pieces in the book as well. The photography here is wonderful!

    Great for gift giving or keeping for yourself as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Just one of the jewelry lovin' girls..

    As a vintage costume jewelry dealer who belongs to collector lists, I felt a cameraderie between Dame Liz and all the rest of us jewelry lovin' girls. She repeats in the book how she loves when people ask to try on her jewelry, and if I could (ask) I would! Her philosophy about her jewelry is very honest and heartfelt, it almost makes me sad to think that one day this collection will be split up. There's no snobbery involved in her collection, even though to top it would be prohibitively impossible. I can see where her taste and interests have been somewhat influential in costume jewelry fashion trends as well as fine jewelry. The book is an enormous pleasure to read and view. Best of all, it has great reference value for Elizabeth Taylor fans and antique jewelry afficionados alike. I bought this book to read about jewelry, and I've become one of her fans. Job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2003

    Amazing

    This book to so amazing. Elizabeth Taylor is so generous to share her outstanding collection with us. Everything in this book in beautiful, and it is worth every penny. This book will never get old, you'll love it everytime you open it to look. A great thing to add to the collection of any Elizabeth Taylor fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Absolutely breathtaking!

    The pictures are gorgeous, and the accompanying anecdotes about Elizabeth Taylor's life make the jewelry even more interesting. My only complaint was that there were no statistics on most of the pieces (carat weight, value, etc.). If you love jewelry, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    Preview -reviewof a new release

    This glamorous coffee table tome, by one of the women who have defined glamour for all time, promises to be a blockbuster. Previewed in this month's "In Style" magazine the book appears to afford (pun intended!) a view into the treasure trove of fine jewelry amassed by La Liz through her life and loves. Written in the glittering first person, the book contains vignettes of when and how she acquired various astounding pieces. One particularly delightful account has her receiving a ruby and diamond necklace and earring set from husband, Mike Todd. The setting? Poolside. The action? While swimming laps IN A TIARA!! Only a true bombshell could describe this and have you believe that it was truly possible. With each piece described beautifully photographed, and containing many portraits from Ms. Taylor's personal archives, this book goes beyond a mere catalogue of rocks and stones. The narrative provides very personal insight into Ms. Taylor's deepest loves, and the very intimate connections they bring to the jewels in her collection. There is nothing else that compares to Liz Taylor and her fabulous coterie of jewelry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Liz Taylor Learns Jewels Can't Buy Health or Happiness

    While it was fun to read about Liz Taylor--- a by-gone Hollywood generation of screen goddesses who worshipped at the feet of Harry Winston and Cartier on the altar of Rodeo Drive, it appears that even the jewel-encrusted Miss Taylor has finally realized that just perhaps---less is more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Awesome Pics, Great Read

    Not only is Liz Taylor freakishly beautiful and the jewelry, at an estimated value of some $150 million, staggering, the book is funny and wittily written, an added bonus. Plus, the background and history on the awesome pieces is fascinating. A gorgeous book for any upscale coffee table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Love Liz AND her book...

    An awesome collection, if I ever saw one...Ms. Taylor was my idol when I was a young teen and she still captivates me. I have often longed to know exactly how many beautiful pieces of jewelry she has, and while I'm sure they're not ALL in the book, the real stunners ARE. A worthwhile read, and a great gift for any Liz (or jewelry) fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    I have always liked Liz!!

    Liz is fabulous no doubt about it.. So are the jewelery pieces. The book is nice, but the price of this show and tell book is not for most of your fans Liz!! Will it be out in paperback? Sorry, but I feel very negative about the price. I suppose this is not really an information book but more a catalog of Ms. Taylors jewelery. I will probably have a look see at the bookstore before putting it back on the shelf and passing. If anyone gets the feeling you are being asked to contribute to the spending habits of the rich and goofy, it may not be just "a feeling".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Elizabeth Taylor: My Love Affair with Jewelry

    I tell people in jest that Liz Taylor & I have the same taste in jewelry. Of course, Dame Elizabeth is in a class by herself. I knew that she had a lot of jewelry, but had no idea the amount of truly historic pieces she owned, some of which I had never heard of before. I was most struck by the workmanship on the King Farouk bracelet on pages 78-79. I have books about jewelry belonging to Queen Elizabeth, Jacqueline Kennedy & the Duchess of Windsor. What Ms. Taylor has is by far the most amazing. What she has acquired as a private citizen is absolutely remarkable. This was not meant to be a novel. It was an attempt to display in pictures & words the best pieces of a collection (she has even more!) without peer by a very famous woman. Will Liza inherit gems from her larger than life father? Is Maria eventually going to recieve the perfect ruby ring & Belle Epoque bracelet? Only time will tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Elizabeth Taylor: My Love Affair with Jewelry

    I love jewelry & loved this book. Rubies of that size & color are extremely rare. The Grand Duchess Vladimir sold jewelry to the British royal family, as well as the Burtons. The emeralds are of a color that is hard to find. Ms. Taylor was too kind to point out that she was bidding against Prince Charles for the Duchess of Windsor's brooch. I would kill to have that cognac diamond ring. Having said all that, the sweetest part of the book was seeing great grandma Liz kiss her great grandson Finn. That kind of love has no price tag.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Mediocer

    This book was horrible she failed to capture the riveting affect of her life happenings, I strongly advise against this attempt for profitability...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Ahh...to be La liz.....

    A wonderful book to get lost in...I cannot think of jewels without thinking of the most beautiful of all, Ms Taylor herself. A good read. I cannot give this book five stars, though, because of the envy i feel thinking of how these men who adored her adorned her with these lovely baubles. The pictures alone are enough reason to buy the book. Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1