Customer Reviews for

Elizabeth the First Wife

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

I loved Dolan's first funny novel Helen of Pasadena. Elizabeth

I loved Dolan's first funny novel Helen of Pasadena. Elizabeth The First Wife is as smart and funny as Helen, but also more complex (in a good way) and more plugged into popular culture in a way that will make you laugh out loud AND think some deep thoughts. Somehow Do...
I loved Dolan's first funny novel Helen of Pasadena. Elizabeth The First Wife is as smart and funny as Helen, but also more complex (in a good way) and more plugged into popular culture in a way that will make you laugh out loud AND think some deep thoughts. Somehow Dolan manages to weave together the protagonist Elizabeth, a woman you no doubt already know in real life, with a charming, funny ex-husband who is now a major Hollywood action star, the complicated relationships among sisters who all go their own way, a Nobel prize-winning father and the lessons Shakespeare TRIED to teach us about dating and love and sex. As if that is not enough, the story turns on a media media firestorm that is totally believable despite the fact that A Midsummer's Night Dream and talk radio are both involved. Phew. As I read it, I thought it would be made into a fantastic movie. Read it now before it is (and cast the movie in your head.)
Since reading Dolan's first novel, I have gotten hooked on both of her weekly podcasts. Listen to her show Chaos Chronicles and the one she does with her sisters called Satellite Sisters and you will understand the humor and the humanity she brings to her writing.

posted by GracieLoo on April 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

K

I really hate these plot spoilers who reveal everything about the book then brag how they got their book for free for their 'honest' review. Well its not an honest review, its a bought review, and just because YOU got your book for free...what gives you the right to rui...
I really hate these plot spoilers who reveal everything about the book then brag how they got their book for free for their 'honest' review. Well its not an honest review, its a bought review, and just because YOU got your book for free...what gives you the right to ruin it for those of us who has to BUY our books? Bn, these ppl should be banned and their pists deleted.

posted by 8888649 on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    K

    I really hate these plot spoilers who reveal everything about the book then brag how they got their book for free for their 'honest' review. Well its not an honest review, its a bought review, and just because YOU got your book for free...what gives you the right to ruin it for those of us who has to BUY our books? Bn, these ppl should be banned and their pists deleted.

    25 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I loved Dolan's first funny novel Helen of Pasadena. Elizabeth

    I loved Dolan's first funny novel Helen of Pasadena. Elizabeth The First Wife is as smart and funny as Helen, but also more complex (in a good way) and more plugged into popular culture in a way that will make you laugh out loud AND think some deep thoughts. Somehow Dolan manages to weave together the protagonist Elizabeth, a woman you no doubt already know in real life, with a charming, funny ex-husband who is now a major Hollywood action star, the complicated relationships among sisters who all go their own way, a Nobel prize-winning father and the lessons Shakespeare TRIED to teach us about dating and love and sex. As if that is not enough, the story turns on a media media firestorm that is totally believable despite the fact that A Midsummer's Night Dream and talk radio are both involved. Phew. As I read it, I thought it would be made into a fantastic movie. Read it now before it is (and cast the movie in your head.)
    Since reading Dolan's first novel, I have gotten hooked on both of her weekly podcasts. Listen to her show Chaos Chronicles and the one she does with her sisters called Satellite Sisters and you will understand the humor and the humanity she brings to her writing.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Smart, funny, engaging, and just plain fun. A great summer read.

    Smart, funny, engaging, and just plain fun. A great summer read. 

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'Elizabeth the First Wife' is a fun and witty women's fiction no

    'Elizabeth the First Wife' is a fun and witty women's fiction novel that follows leading lady Elizabeth Lancaster, who is currently a professor of English at Pasadena City College in California. Normally Elizabeth leads a predictable and boring life outside her classroom, but one summer she finds her life turned upside down as three different men demand her attention. The first is her ex-husband - a movie star, the second a political operative, and third is none other than William Shakespeare. Elizabeth takes off for the Sheakespeare Festival in Oregon to make sure her ex doesn't humiliate himself or the bard as he takes part in A Midsummer Night's Dream. Elizabeth's boring and sensible life will never be the same.

    This was a really charming novel that follows the wonderful main character of Elizabeth and a summer of unexpected reinvention. Elizabeth is a great lead - she's funny, intelligent, witty, and devoted to friends and family. She likes her regular, normal life - it's so different from the life of her ex-husband and her family. I immediately liked her character and her attitude, which enabled me to identify with her early on in the novel. The plot wasn't completely original, but the author wrote it with such vivid detail and smart dialogue that it completely sets it apart from other novels in the genre. There are some romantic issues in the book, but the way that the author approached them wasn't cheesy, but actually enhanced the overall story line. The writing itself was very well done and shows the talent of the author throughout each page. The plot was seamless with a good pace and dialogue that flowed effortlessly. This was a breezy and lighthearted novel that would be perfect for fans of women's fiction and chick lit.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    17 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Hey K, you don't have to read those plot spoilers. I never read

    Hey K, you don't have to read those plot spoilers. I never read one that's over 8 lines long. If you can't say it by then, you're just showing off.

    14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Tired of people giving the book and author only one star because they are mad at plot spoilers. One, no one forces you to read the review and two, it isn't fair to the author to give only one star because you are mad at the reviewer. That being said this was a great, fun read and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Lian brought to life, Elizabeth a Shakespearean professor who is suddenly contacted by her former husband. Loved the way she made the connection to a former heroine in her first novel.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Besides the plot spoilers, and I agree with whoever said they do

    Besides the plot spoilers, and I agree with whoever said they don't read anything over 8 lines, I hate the anonymous posters, like "K" who put their "two cents" worth in and don't have the guts to sign their name. I think they should eliminate any anonymous posts. Not worth the space they take up. Back to the book, I just got it so haven't read it yet but looking forward to it. Will critique later. Am giving it 4 stars because I like the author.

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    I so enjoyed this novel by Lian Dolan, "Elizabeth the First

    I so enjoyed this novel by Lian Dolan, "Elizabeth the First Wife" is a refreshing, intelligent, funny expression of women and men at their best (including, if one is lucky enough to have the loving quirkiness of family relations). I am ready for more of Lian Dolan, and will add her first book "Helen of Pasadena" to my wish list, mean while hoping her "book within a book" come to fruition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Fun read

    This book has 280 pages and was a fun book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Family and love

    A story of family, love and creativity in Ashland .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    Lian Doan wrote a very quick and yet enjoyable book. Elizabeth was a character that I could be interested in. I found the book hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    fair

    i can't recommended it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Enjoyable read.

    Characters were very likable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Hilarious- thoroughly enjoyable.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was an easy read, even though it referenced many Shakespearean characters, and had me laughing out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Cute love story

    I liked it enough to try another book by this author. It was somewhat predictable but I'm a sucker for the happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Enjoyed the writing style

    I kept going back to the book to read a bit more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. The story line was great!! Nice hu

    I really enjoyed this book. The story line was great!! Nice humor and romance!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Funny

    A story with a funny twist. Not the book you can't put down until the end but, it is
    An entertaining book to read in the waiting room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    really enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3