Customer Reviews for

Ella Enchanted

Average Rating 5
( 1024 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(891)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Amazing.

This is one of the best books I've ever read. The reading level may be low, but the story is still fantastic. It's not like the average Cinderella story, where a ball changes everything, it's an even greater story of determination, courage, and love. I've taken experien...
This is one of the best books I've ever read. The reading level may be low, but the story is still fantastic. It's not like the average Cinderella story, where a ball changes everything, it's an even greater story of determination, courage, and love. I've taken experiences from this book and applied them to my life. The characters are very very well developed and you are able to feel like you are in the story. The twists put on this story make the experience intense and unpredictable. Even if you are an adult I highly recommend reading this book. It's a good read for any age.

posted by Tifa-sohma on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

&6&&%5

I didn't really like this book as much as the others by Levine. It was kind of boring because they just keep watching eachother and nothing happens for a long time. I really don' t like the characters because they are boring too. I also find it disturbing that the fathe...
I didn't really like this book as much as the others by Levine. It was kind of boring because they just keep watching eachother and nothing happens for a long time. I really don' t like the characters because they are boring too. I also find it disturbing that the father is going to thank a god he worships by sacrafising his daughter. I was disappointed in the ending because the problem was never completly solved.

posted by 10703625 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1024 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing.

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. The reading level may be low, but the story is still fantastic. It's not like the average Cinderella story, where a ball changes everything, it's an even greater story of determination, courage, and love. I've taken experiences from this book and applied them to my life. The characters are very very well developed and you are able to feel like you are in the story. The twists put on this story make the experience intense and unpredictable. Even if you are an adult I highly recommend reading this book. It's a good read for any age.

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    READ THIS REVIEW

    Everyone else who wrote reviews on this book just said 'THIS IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!'. I do not agree though. Even though this book is outstanding work and I envy Gail Carson Levine with the passion of a thousand suns for being able to write as beautifuly and wonderfully as this. When you read this book you you are pulled into the story and you are not just reading about Ella and her prince, you are experiancing the story. You're talking with giants and dancing with elves, just as Ella did. Oh yes, one other thing, you are falling in love with a prince......who is in love with you. You won't be able to put this book down, litterally. You will read this book begining to end and you will be depressed to find there are only 3 pages left in the book.....so you read it again. Ella Enchanted is a very lovey book and deserves more attention than it and Gail are receiving. If you find that your life is as exicting as you like it, you don't have to read this. But, if you're looking for adventure, you just found it.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    How Enchanting!

    Don't compare this book to the movie! This book is so much better than the Anne Hathaway film (not to put it down). The story has more depth, and much better character development. I believe that adults could enjoy this book, even if you didn't find the movie to your liking. Give it a try.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    Awesome book!!

    Ella is the main character of the story and when she was born, she was cursed with the "gift" of obedience. Having this gift was very dangerous because others could make her do whatever they please, and Ella would have no control over it. She lived with her mother and the cook, Mandy. Her mother died when she was 15. Ella's dad, Sir. Peter, was a trader and was rarely home. It was now her, Mandy, and her dad. Ella was called "clumsy" because of her fairy feet. Her dad sent her away to boarding school with Dame Olga's daughters Olive and Hattie. Hattie figured out Ella's curse and used it to her advantage and later on in the story she told Olive and her mom. They attended finishing school and Ella ran away to go to a giants wedding to find Lucinda. On her way home, she was greeted by elves. And after that she was captured by ogres which tried to eat her. But then Prince Charmont and some knights saved her by tying up the ogres. Ella then returned to the wedding and found Lucinda. She didn't cure her curse. Ella then returned to Frell. Dame Olga and Sir. Peter get married because Sir. Peter's business failed and he needs to become rich again. Later on, a ball is thrown for the homecoming of Char and Ella goes to it as a masked girl named Lela. Char becomes friends with Lela. Hattie takes off Ella's mask on the third night of the ball and Char sees that she is actually Ella. She runs home to Mandy and they are about to leave when they are greeted by the prince. Char asks Ella to marry him and Hattie says "Don't marry him Ella" and she was forced not to marry him. But Olive said to marry him as a command and Ella refused. She told Char that she couldn't marry him because she was cursed and she would put him in danger. And at that point she realized that she broke the spell and she ended up marrying Char. This whole story was about Ella facing what she had to deal with every day of her life and overcoming her curse. Something I really liked about the book was the different languages that were made up in the book. One dislike about the book that really annoyed me was Olive, because she used Ella to her advantage for money and someone to talk to. I think people should read this book because it was enjoyable and I got hooked on it!

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    My Favourite Book Ever

    Do not compare this book to the movie. There is almost nothing that is the same. The only things that are the same are the characters' names, Ella's obidience, and the title. In fact, the movie even made up several major characters that either didn't exist in the book, or were only present for a few pages. Even the plot is completely different. So don't expect it will be anything like the movie.

    I love the way this book is written. Ella tells her story in funny and amusing ways, and her thoughts and her diologues with Mandy, Char, and Areida make me laugh. I also love how Levine twisted the Cinderella story to make it more interesting, and how it explains things - why she has such tiny feet, how her stepsisters are able to boss her around, etc.

    This book is not just for girls, or just for children. My adult sisters have read it and liked it. Once, my dad read it aloud to us - my mom, my dad, and my younger brothers all enjoyed it. Every one of my friends who have read it, loved it and thought it was so good.

    This is my favourtie book of all time. I have read it so many times, I know it backwards and front, and I can quote whole paragraphs word-for-word from memory.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    200 pages of EXCELLENCE!

    I absolutly LOVE this book! No matter your age, you will LOVE IT!!!!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Magical Fairytale!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It is family friendly and it is one of the best - if not the best - fairytale books for girls ever. I have shared this book with many friends and now it is also a favorite of theirs. This has been my favorite book as long a I can remember! I suggest this book to any girl who loves a good Cinderella story. This is by far Gail Carson Levine's best work and it can not even be compared to any of her other books!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ella Enchanted

    This is one of the BEST BOOKS I have had the pleasure to read. I bought this at a book fair in elementary school. I can't tell you how many times I have read and reread this book. It never loses its magic, no matter how many times you read it. Ella is extremely witty and funny. The book is hilarious, it will make you cry, the romance is 5-star--what more can you ask for from a book? This book will not leave you wanting--a definite CLASSIC.
    P.S. The movie did not do the book justice. It was cute and everything--but in my opinion they should have kept the concept closer to the book. Happy reading!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    'Ella' Rocks!

    Ella Enchanted is SUCH a cool book! I didn't even know it was based on 'Cinderella' until I read about it on this website! The author, Gail Levine, did a wonderful job with this masterpiece! She writes so you believe that ogres and dragons and faries are real. And Ella is such a cool person! She's not always perky and smiling like Cinderella, but she has real feelings, and is a genuinely nice person. And she doesn't just meet the prince once and fall in 'love', but has a friendship that leads into their love. All in all - Get it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    Excellent

    This was my favorite book when I was in elementary school.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    just a wonderful book

    Amazing book....I would recommened it to anyone!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    CLASSIC

    I have loved and reread this book countless times since I was eight, and, judging by the other reviews I've read, so has everybody else. This book is filled with adventure, romance, and hilarity, all told from the point of view of a main character who is spunky, intelligent, and utterly likeable. A brilliantly written and engaging story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Every girl/young woman should read this book. (And older audiences will appreciate it, too!)

    This is my favorite book of all time. It is a classic tale fleshed out to paint the portrait of an independent, admirable protagonist on a quest through a magical world. I have read it countless times, even as an adult, and it still engrosses me.

    This book turns the traditional "damsel in distress" character on its head, giving you a strong, courageous, determined young woman who saves herself and her loved ones at the same time. It is an eloquent illustration of the old adage, "you can do anything if you put your mind to it."

    Gail Carson Levine's Newbery Medal was rightly deserved.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    &6&&%5

    I didn't really like this book as much as the others by Levine. It was kind of boring because they just keep watching eachother and nothing happens for a long time. I really don' t like the characters because they are boring too. I also find it disturbing that the father is going to thank a god he worships by sacrafising his daughter. I was disappointed in the ending because the problem was never completly solved.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    Ella Enchanted

    Ella Enchanted was a wonderful book. But do not take advice from me, every book I read, I say, 'Oh, how romantic and wonderful! I love this book! It is now my favorite!' And it is the same with this book. I did not even think this was a Cinderella story until I got to the very end. It goes soo much deeper than Cinderella. It is more true than the fairy tale. Ella doesn't just fall in love with the prince, and automatically get stepsisters, and make the prince fall in love with her. Everything happens gradually. I have read this book at least 3 times, and I am looking forward to reading it again. I extremly love the romance that goes on between the prince and Ella. It is so obvious that they are right for each other. If only love was really that way. As for Ella's curse, it made me respect her more. If anyone feels the same way about this book, and loves to talk about books, please contact me @ my e-mail address.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    ok i totally recommend this book its the best i have ever read

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    AMAZING AND WONDERFUL!!!! YOU WILL WANT TO READ IT FOREVER AND E

    AMAZING AND WONDERFUL!!!! YOU WILL WANT TO READ IT FOREVER AND EVER!!!!
    THis book is about a girl named Ella who got a "gift" from a fairy named Lucinda and the "gift is that she has to obey whatever soeone says.
    IT HAS:
    Romance FUN
    Adventure .one of the best reads

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    A MUST READ FOR ANY GIRL

    I read this book when I was in 4th grade, many many many years ago. But I still remember the tale like it was yesterday. This was the first book that I absolutely, unequivocably fell in love with. I don't know how many times I went to my school library to check out this book but every single time, I cried and I cheered. This book is a wonderful WONDERFUL book for young girls and I would recommend it to any child.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastic Book!

    They say this book is for ages 8 to 12, but I do not believe them. It's hard to outgrow this book. It's amazingly written. I cried in parts. Other people have tried to write a story about Cinderella. None are as good as this. You can read it again and again. All my friends who have read it love it. I highly recommend this book. If you don't read it, it's your loss.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    My favorite book of all time

    i freaking love this book. i wish i could buy it and keep it to read whenever i want.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1024 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52