Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Just read the book

    Ellen Foster was the 1st astounding book that I read on the summer and the first novel that I had read so far and enjoy it. As I was reading the book I really felt like I wasn¿t able to stop reading the book, maybe it was because the 1st sentences of the novel really hook me and got more interesting to see what would happen. I really got surprise when I heard that Ellen wanted to kill her had on a really individual way it was so scary. Anyways I really enjoy this book, there many ways that I enjoy the book one way was how the character feel because you are able to feel how the character feel. The way that I will show you that I enjoy the book, was that I was suppose to read only 30min but actually I read for 1 hour and 30 min. To me it was the longest reading time I had ever read and I was really surprise that I had read for that long period of time. I gave this book a 4 for good because this is a book that you really would love to read because of all the drama that it has. Just read the book and then tell me how it feels because when you start reading the book it would make you feel sad because of the characters mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I did not really like this book. This book was really confusing. I did not understand the plot because the way she planned it was really confusing. I did not think that she took her time to plan the plot as well as she wanted. I think that the setting was not as detailed as I she could have done it because in some parts of the story I could not get a well mental picture that I wanted. I think that the characters were well planned out because when you about the characters she made feel what the person was feeling at the time and made me feel that I was in there shoes. In my opinion I think that the book is a waste of time reading because the only good part of the book is how she detailed the characters other then that the book was not good at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster was really interesting to me because I have an interest in family drama books. It kept me guessing. If you like drama, emotional flying and books about friendship, then Ellen Foster is the book for you. It¿s a fiction book. It will take you into the story you will forget to watch your MTV. This book is about a southern orphan girl, named Ellen who lost her parents when she was young. Then on after that she moved from house to house. The time she lived with her Aunt Nadine and Cousin Dora, the problems never ended. The relatives couldn¿t get enough of them selves. ¿Chickenshit!¿, is how Ellen describes their attitude towards life. Her only relief was her best friend Starletta. It was a scapegoat to a surreal life. Ellen Foster shows the true beauty of friendship. What happens with Starletta and Ellen that is so special? Will Ellen find a house she can call a home? You will never know until you read it. Yeah!, you got the idea now, ..READ IT!!.. I guarantee satisfaction or your MTV back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Great Read!!!

    If you are interested in books that have a lot of drama and suspense, then you will definitely enjoy Ellen Foster. I connected so much with this book and I know you will too! It not only intrigued me, but it challenged me to think critically also. As an African American, this book showed me that racism was real and not just a thing of the past. I¿ll give a brief summary so I don¿t spoil the surprises. Ellen¿s violent, abusive father drives her sick mother to suicide, which Ellen ends up in temporary homes with her grandmother, art teacher, and her aunt and cousin, until she finds a new mother. If this book sounds interesting to you and you, then you should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like a mixed up plot with a lot of then you¿ll enjoy Ellen Foster, because this book contains it all. The character has a lot going on in their life. Like Ellen, she lost her mom and had to live with her alcoholic father. Her mom probably died from frustration, depression, and paranoia. Later in Ellen¿s life she was sent to a foster family, because her dad bruised her and the teacher saw it. While she was with her new family she changed her last name to Foster. ¿My old family wore the other name out and I figured I would have the name of my new family.¿ And since then Ellen¿s name was changed to Ellen Foster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like book with drama and suspense then you well like Ellen foster as your number one book .I give it to thumbs up it was my favorite book it make you feel like you¿re seeing from the main character eye and your watching every thing around you . as bill is Ellen dad he is not a nice guy to hang around that he is always drunk .The suspense all start at Ellen house with her dad yelling at Ellen mom she is always tired . she is to tired to even yell back at bill she is always working at the hospital late and come back tired the Just when every thing was going worst and her life it got worst when her to parent died. As her life goes on she start to realize that she isn¿t the only one suffering but her family if you think that you kind of book I say you should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    You should read this book because it has the drama, the love, and the dying,¿ then you will like the book Ellen Foster because that book had so much drama in it. I started feeling the girl¿s pain. The pain that Ellen went through. And she went through a lot. Some people that she met down the road showed her some love. Most of them didn¿t. Ellen¿s life wasn¿t the best life a girl could have. One thing that made it that way was in the beginning of the story. Her mom died by taking too much medicine. Ellen and her mom had a very close relationship. So when her mom died she lost some body very important. She stayed with her dad for a little while after her moms died, but she had too much drama with him. He touched her and gave her bruises. Teachers asked question, but she made up excuses. The art teacher wanted to know what was going on and then found out. Ellen moved with the art teacher. Than her grandmother came into her life when she claimed cusidy of her from her father. Her grandmother wasn¿t the best grandmother ever. Ellen was force to work for her on her farm. While living with her grandmother her dad died. She had lost another family member and then a couple of weeks later her grandmother died. So she was homeless again. Then she went to go live with her auntie and cousin. She thought they were nice to her, but they were just faking it. Then one day they kicked her out. Then she walked to a foster home and she lived there for the rest of her school days. Until she got old a moved away to college and lived on her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    The book¿s name that I read was, Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. The main characters are Ellen, the girl, the dad who was an alcoholic, the mom who dies, the mom¿s mom, the mom¿s sister, and Starletta, her black friend. The setting takes place in Ellen¿s house, and also the houses she stays in after her mom dies. The plot is that first the dad mistreats the mom a lot. The girl sees all of this. The mom dies, and Ellen suspects that the dad killed her. The dad is never home, and not even for Christmas. One day he comes drunk with his friends to their house, and Ellen gets scared so she runs over to Starletta¿s house. I recommend this book especially to girls because they can easily connect with it since they¿re already girls, and can feel what Ellen is feeling. I really liked this book because it talks about a real-life situation about a girl who suffered during her childhood, and how she survived through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Eduardo Abarca English 3rd &4th Period 9/10/2007 If you like drama, friendship, and suspense, then you will like ELLEN FOSTER. This book had so much drama that I couldn¿t contain it all. Ellen was beaten by and sexually abused by her father constantly. Ellen¿s father was an alcoholic and soon drank himself to death. Her mom soon followed by taking in a bottle of pills because of her husband. Other than drama, Ellen had also had nice things happen to her like her friendship with Starletta. Starletta was Ellen¿s black friend and she taught Ellen that skin color makes no difference in the quality of a person. The setting mostly takes place in different homes because Ellen moved from time to time. It was hard to figure out the setting because the author didn¿t address it, but it takes place during the modern civil rights movement around the 1970¿s. I didn¿t really like this book because I didn¿t enjoy it. The book has a lot of suspenseful parts especially the beginning, if you want to know the good stuff then you¿ll have to read it yourself. I didn¿t really like this book but if you like drama, friendship, and suspense then it¿s great for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like drama, serious emotional problems then you will like the book Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. It¿s about a younger girl by the name of Ellen Foster who has to go through all these problem that you shouldn¿t have to go thought at such a young age. Ellen Foster has to grow up without a mother because she killed herself by taking to many sleeping pills. After her mother death Ellen is forced to live with her dad whom she does not like. Ellen does not like her because of all the pain that he caused her mom to go through to kill herself. On the other side Ellen has a best friend by the name of Starletta. Starletta happens to be of color and ever thought Ellen is white that doesn¿t stop them from having a great friendship like they do. Starletta is a big support for Ellen when she is having problems with her dad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Wow if you like to read books about a person¿s life, Ellen Foster Is the best one. Ellen foster is about a young girl who has many struggles in her childhood. Ellen has to put up with many things for example her father he always went out every night and came back till the next morning and the sad part about her dad was that Ellen¿s mom was very ill she would always be in bed so really she didn¿t know what was going on while she would Have to be in bed but at the end her mother dies. I remember what made me start reading Ellen Foster it was how it started, how Ellen would always think about ways to kill her father but she new that she couldn¿t really do anything even though she would think that way she once said to her self that her fathers death would come hunting for him one day. Ellen was a very strong girl the way that everything came into her life she moved on even thought she had ups And downs. Ellen is a strong girl no matter what was going on in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like ¿Death, and Drama¿ then you will enjoy Ellen Foster because Ellen¿s mother, her father and grandmother end up dying. She sees lots of drama everywhere at home and at school. For example, when her father goes up to her school he then starts to scream out Ellen¿s name telling her to come home. Not that that is childish but he was drunk. Another drama story of this book was when Ellen had to go to court discussing the topic on which she would have to see who she was to go home with. She ends up having to go home with her wicked grandmother. After that her grandmother puts her to work on the farm and Ellen almost ends up fainting. Another very dramatic part was when her mother dies and the father says¿ I¿m glad that I don¿t have to take care of those kids.¿ One of the Differences between the kids and the father is that they want to succeed in life. The father is an alcoholic who ends up dying because of it. This book has a lot of family drama as well as I have mentioned before. Personally I enjoyed this book because of my family problems. Drama? Death? Why not read Ellen foster you will love it more than any other book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I think this is best the book i ever read I would recommend this book to any one who loves read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    ¿When I was little I would think of ways to kill my daddy.¿ - Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. Doesn¿t that come out and surprise you? It sure did to me. I am not much of a reader but when I read I like to read crime and mysteries, so when this story starts out with that sentence it really catches my attention. Even though this book was neither crime nor mystery I still liked it. So if you like books that have to do with family problems I recommend this book. After that surprising first sentence the story starts out with Ellen Foster describing her horrible and awful father and then how he killed her mom. After her mom¿s death, she had to live with her dad. She had a hard time surviving since her dad wasn¿t ever home since he was out drinking with his friends, but when ever he did come home he would miss treat her. One day at school her teachers decided that one of them should take care of Ellen. So she ended up living with her art teacher and her husband. Unfortunately that didn¿t last that long. After going to court Ellen ended up living with her grandmother, which also didn¿t treat her well. Later on she died and Ellen had a nightmare before Christmas living with her ant. Just when things couldn¿t get worse she was kicked out of the house. But don¿t worry this story has a happy ending you just have to read what happens next. While all of that was going on the story was taken place in the south when there was still segregation. This was ironic since her best friend, Starletta, was black. To make it more confusing Ellen was telling the story as a flash back while the author still explains what¿s going on outside the flashback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster

    I would recommend this book to people that like fiction books and that like books about foster kids, or also kids that get in fights with their parents. Then you will like Ellen Foster because that is what the book is mostly about. I also think that girls should read this book because we should be appreciative of what we have and don¿t see what you don¿t have. Because as Ellen didn¿t even have a family to live with. And her mother couldn¿t really help her out because she was sick or in the hospital. And her dad treated the mom really badly, and she was sick. Also nobody was really there for Ellen when she needed help. She also kept on moving from one place and another. And Ellen also wanted to kill her father. I really didn¿t enjoy this story because for me is really hard to enjoy this book if I don¿t have connections to what I have been through and the book. Give it a try and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster is a story about a young girl who suffered tragic accidents and lives independently at home. The beginning of the story takes place in a small brick house with her parents. Ellen`s mom is ill and on medication but still has the strength to cook and clean. One morning her mother dies and Ellen ha to live with her drunk, dead-beat dad. While living with her father, she has to maintain the house and support the family. Due to her dads drinking problem, Ellen has to stay with family members and friends. When the teachers start to notice her bruises she moved in with the art teacher. She stayed there for a couple weeks then stayed with her grandmother. Her grandmother made her work out in the hot fields all day. Soon after that Ellen found her father had died. She didn¿t attend his funeral because of her grandmothers` dislike towards her father. Then her grandmother grew sick and eventually died. After her death she started to live with her Aunt Nadine and her daughter, who caused many problems in the household. So if you like drama, child neglect and family problems then you should read Ellen Foster, because it has all of that and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster If you like drama and suspense, you will like ELLEN FOSTER. To me, it was boring. And it didn¿t have any dialogue. It was just there to read and confusing. You can¿t tell who was talking you had to figure it out. The book takes place in the ¿50¿s during segregation. The characters are mean except Ellen. She just acts weird. When her father was home when she was, she heard them and locked herself in her closet. After her mother died, no one wanted to take her in. And when one of her Aunts did, she kicked Ellen out on Christmas day. The author helps me understand Ellen¿s life because she wrote it in detail. For example, she used some flashbacks of Ellen¿s life. Another example, it told how after the mother¿s funeral, nobody wanted to take care of her. So then the author describes how Ellen lived her life without parents until she found Mrs. Foster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I thought that Ellen Foster was an OK book. Ellen Foster is a book that talks about a girl who is growing up with basically no real mother or father. ``When I was little I would think of ways to kill my daddy. I would figure out this or that way and run it down through my head until it got easy (Ellen Foster page 1)¿¿. Don¿t think that she is a girl that is bad because she think of ways to kill her father. When you read the book you¿ll know why she wants to kill her father. Her mother had a heart condition and died because of an over doze of heart medication. Her father was an alcoholic man who did care for Ellen or her mother. With her parents passing away she soon started to build relationships with other families. I would recommend this book to a person who likes to read real life stories about problems in people¿s lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster Book Review

    Ellen Foster, a book written by Kaye Gibbons, is a sensational story about a young girl¿s never-ending struggle to find a permanent home and a family. Ellen is a very young girl who has to face many struggles and problems throughout her childhood. She faces problems with herself, her family, and for a while she doesn¿t have a home. I mean Ellen has a place to live in, but it is not a place to call a home. A home is a place where you have people who care about you and love you, not just a place you stay at. Ellen foster is a book that describes a young girl¿s journey and path towards her goal. Ellen has to face many people who don¿t like her and don¿t want her after her mother dies. Those people include her grandmother, her abusive, alcoholic father, and her aunts. This people make Ellen¿s life a nightmare by abusing her, making her do slave work, and not treating her as an equal. Although Ellen faces all of these things in a very short period of time, she overcomes them with determination at a place in the south where most people would not be able to. This novel is very interesting and I know most people would enjoy it. If you like reading about a person¿s journey and path towards something, then you will enjoy this book. Ellen Foster describes a young¿s girl¿s journey toward her main goal which is finding a home and family. If you don¿t like that about this novel, then you will like it because it teaches things that you will need for the future. For example, it teaches how to be determined, motivated, inspired, and how to care for others. Ellen Foster will teach many students how to be determined and always follow their dreams. This young girl does exactly that by overcoming barriers that are put in her way. She does not even let her family who doesn¿t care about her get in her way. Ellen also will teach people that everyone is equal and that we shouldn¿t judge people by the color of their skin. Everyone is equal and the color of someone¿s skin should not matter. I personally recommend this book to everyone and give it a rating of 4 out of 5. It is really inspiring and motivating, but the ending will disappoint most people. The book starts out really strong, but it becomes boring by the ending. The ending doesn¿t have a lot of details and it will leave you wanting for more. Other than that this book is sensational and will change the lives of many people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Growing up in a small southern town, with parents who did not nurture her, was not easy for Ellen Foster. Because Ellen¿s parents died she has been moved around from family to family, and some were not so pleasant. This book is filled with sorrow and this is something that I do not normally look for in a book. I¿m the type of person that likes thrillers, mysteries, and normal teen problems, but I would have to say that Ellen Foster, by Kaye Gibbons, was an amazing book. I really enjoyed all of the irony and suspense in this book. ¿When I was little I would think of ways to kill my daddy,¿ is the very first sentence of this book and that is a powerful sentence that gave me an ominous feeling. It pulled me in quickly and made me wonder so many things. Through out the book I felt sympathy towards Ellen because sometimes in life, we tend to take things for granted, like our parents. Ellen was in the middle of so many family issues and that made me think of how great so many of us have it just to have people around us who love us and show it. Each chapter left me in awe. If you like to be kept guessing about what¿s going to happen, this is definitely the book for you. I personally could not make a connection with the narrator, but that¿s the beauty of this book. It is not knowing what to expect. I would recommend this book to anyone because it teaches you a lesson in such a fascinating way. Ellen Foster was a magnificent novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7