Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Hardach By Kiestin Jay Ellen foster   Kayne Gibbons 126pp. Vint

    Hardach
    By Kiestin Jay
    Ellen foster 
     Kayne Gibbons
    126pp. Vintage Books,$12.15(Teen Fiction)
    Teenager are the most difficult age group to get to read a book. When I first started reading this book at first I thought it was very confusing i it didn’t really give you a introduction.so I didn’t really understand it at first but as I started reading it more I understood it more.
    A little gir,l just eleven years old is living in a house where she has to watch her father treat her mother like crap every day. He is so mean to her mother he threatens, yells and throws stuff at her. Ellen hates to see her mother treated like that but there’s nothing she can do.
     Ellen foster is the main character in the book at the moment. She starts off by telling this story how much she hates her father and wants to kill him. She now has new parents and she compares her old parents to her new parents, how her old father was a no good drunk for nothing and how her  treated her and her mother like crap.She can’t stand how her father throws stuff at her mother. Ellen explains how much pain her father causes her and her mother. In chapter 3 Ellen talks about her wanting to ride a pony and her mother’s funeral. She gets annoyed when she aunt keeps asking her how she doing and has her put on a checked red dress that she hates. Ellen has to ride between her cousin Dora and doesn’t like riding between people because she can’t get out and she needs air plus Dora wets her pants.
    Her and the horse just relax and watch the tress move back and forth. She gets home and decades that he will go to school and wear something of her mothers sence her mother wasn’t that much bigger then her. When at school she goes to the library and a teacher follows her,and,wants to know how her mom died even she They drove to thru the colored town to get to the church .She falls in love with a angle water foundation in the white town but she doesn’t steal it.nobody in her family likes her father,during the service her grandmother calls her father a bastard.she doesn’t want to see her mother being put in to the ground.she goes to see the piny and they ride out in the woods and sence she forgot a book knows how she did she leaves the library and doesn’t answer.Ellen and scarletta walk home.in the winter time and the heat has been cut off scarlet  fathers takes them to the store to get them Coates. She joins the girl scouts. Her two uncles leave money in the mailboxes think nobody  is home, she gets out the money she needs and gives the rest to her father. She is with the girl scouts until Christmases because she`s tired of going to the meetings. For Christmas she went to starlet’s house, she noticed that they have to use the bathroom outside but when its cold out side the use a pot in the corner.starletta likes to break her crayons but ellen can’t stand it so she takes them home sometimes and tapes them back together. And she tells her that she need to wash before they can play together.Ellen gives them a sweater and it brightens up he place,they are very greatful.When back home her daddy and some colored men ransacked her kitchen looking for food that’s not frozen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I did not really like this book. This book was really confusing. I did not understand the plot because the way she planned it was really confusing. I did not think that she took her time to plan the plot as well as she wanted. I think that the setting was not as detailed as I she could have done it because in some parts of the story I could not get a well mental picture that I wanted. I think that the characters were well planned out because when you about the characters she made feel what the person was feeling at the time and made me feel that I was in there shoes. In my opinion I think that the book is a waste of time reading because the only good part of the book is how she detailed the characters other then that the book was not good at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like a mixed up plot with a lot of then you¿ll enjoy Ellen Foster, because this book contains it all. The character has a lot going on in their life. Like Ellen, she lost her mom and had to live with her alcoholic father. Her mom probably died from frustration, depression, and paranoia. Later in Ellen¿s life she was sent to a foster family, because her dad bruised her and the teacher saw it. While she was with her new family she changed her last name to Foster. ¿My old family wore the other name out and I figured I would have the name of my new family.¿ And since then Ellen¿s name was changed to Ellen Foster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Eduardo Abarca English 3rd &4th Period 9/10/2007 If you like drama, friendship, and suspense, then you will like ELLEN FOSTER. This book had so much drama that I couldn¿t contain it all. Ellen was beaten by and sexually abused by her father constantly. Ellen¿s father was an alcoholic and soon drank himself to death. Her mom soon followed by taking in a bottle of pills because of her husband. Other than drama, Ellen had also had nice things happen to her like her friendship with Starletta. Starletta was Ellen¿s black friend and she taught Ellen that skin color makes no difference in the quality of a person. The setting mostly takes place in different homes because Ellen moved from time to time. It was hard to figure out the setting because the author didn¿t address it, but it takes place during the modern civil rights movement around the 1970¿s. I didn¿t really like this book because I didn¿t enjoy it. The book has a lot of suspenseful parts especially the beginning, if you want to know the good stuff then you¿ll have to read it yourself. I didn¿t really like this book but if you like drama, friendship, and suspense then it¿s great for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster

    I would recommend this book to people that like fiction books and that like books about foster kids, or also kids that get in fights with their parents. Then you will like Ellen Foster because that is what the book is mostly about. I also think that girls should read this book because we should be appreciative of what we have and don¿t see what you don¿t have. Because as Ellen didn¿t even have a family to live with. And her mother couldn¿t really help her out because she was sick or in the hospital. And her dad treated the mom really badly, and she was sick. Also nobody was really there for Ellen when she needed help. She also kept on moving from one place and another. And Ellen also wanted to kill her father. I really didn¿t enjoy this story because for me is really hard to enjoy this book if I don¿t have connections to what I have been through and the book. Give it a try and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster is a story about a young girl who suffered tragic accidents and lives independently at home. The beginning of the story takes place in a small brick house with her parents. Ellen`s mom is ill and on medication but still has the strength to cook and clean. One morning her mother dies and Ellen ha to live with her drunk, dead-beat dad. While living with her father, she has to maintain the house and support the family. Due to her dads drinking problem, Ellen has to stay with family members and friends. When the teachers start to notice her bruises she moved in with the art teacher. She stayed there for a couple weeks then stayed with her grandmother. Her grandmother made her work out in the hot fields all day. Soon after that Ellen found her father had died. She didn¿t attend his funeral because of her grandmothers` dislike towards her father. Then her grandmother grew sick and eventually died. After her death she started to live with her Aunt Nadine and her daughter, who caused many problems in the household. So if you like drama, child neglect and family problems then you should read Ellen Foster, because it has all of that and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I thought that Ellen Foster was an OK book. Ellen Foster is a book that talks about a girl who is growing up with basically no real mother or father. ``When I was little I would think of ways to kill my daddy. I would figure out this or that way and run it down through my head until it got easy (Ellen Foster page 1)¿¿. Don¿t think that she is a girl that is bad because she think of ways to kill her father. When you read the book you¿ll know why she wants to kill her father. Her mother had a heart condition and died because of an over doze of heart medication. Her father was an alcoholic man who did care for Ellen or her mother. With her parents passing away she soon started to build relationships with other families. I would recommend this book to a person who likes to read real life stories about problems in people¿s lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    good

    If you like drama, child abuse problems, and a sad story with an ending that you are going to be satisfy, then you would like to read Ellen Foster because it includes all of those categories. The book was kind of interesting because it had issues that happen in real life. Some of the parts in the story they were kind of confusing because she would say it in a different way. Also the second that was confusing about the book was that it goes from past to future and then future to past

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like challenging books with hard vocabulary you will like Ellen Foster. This confusing book has drama, friendships, and people with difficult situations. As a student I had difficulty reading this book because it is very confusing how they change from when she was having a terrible life to when she had a good life. It shows transition. The author uses vivid descriptions for the characters which makes you understand the characters better. The author also describes the setting very well so you can picture the setting in your head. He also makes the characters seem real because I can see how all the problems they have can be in someone else¿s life. Ellen is trying her beat to find the prefect home for her and she has many problems on the way. Many people can relate to Ellen¿s problems because there are a lot of people with problems with their friends. For example Ellen has a friend called Sterletta. They go to the same school and they have so much fun together but many people don¿t like her because she is colored. These kinds of things can happen in the real world. Read the book Ellen Foster to find out what happens to their friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster If you like drama and suspense you should read Ellen foster because this book have a lot drama like her mom and dad died them her grandmother dies and she stay lone in the world. Then she runaway from home to her friends house name starlettand stay there after that she move then goes to the art teacher. They sound out what she did and then she just stared to live on foster home whit different mom and dad because the real parent they kill them self by one he drink a lot and her mom she overdose her self whit pills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Book Review This book review will be about a book called Ellen Foster. Ellen Foster is a good book that has a lot of things in it tat are true. I selected this book because the length was reasonable and people who read the book before me told me that this book was good. Ellen Foster has chapters that are not long, so you can have good stopping times. Ellen Foster¿s difficulty is not hard or easy the hard thing about it is that the time periods change a lot in the start, but later it stays in one time period. The genre for the book is fiction this could be realistic fiction because this can happen to anyone. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read of a family that is messed up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    A great book

    One of the books I read during the summer was the book Ellen Foster. To be honest I didn¿t chose this book because it was short in length but because the girl¿s feelings towards her dad caught my attention. When I read a brief description about the book I felt very excited because I thought that this was a perfect book for me to read. When I started reading the book I realize that Ellen was a little girl and probably she didn¿t know exactly what she was doing. Another reason why I didn¿t like the book is because suddenly the author changed of time periods. This got so confusing to me to the point where I didn¿t know if Ellen was older or younger. Some events that were interesting and happened in the story was that Ellen was with her mother and grandmother when they died. I wanted to know more about the life Ellen had before her mother died.. Something else that I wanted to know is more details about why she hated her dad a lot.Overall I think that this book wasn¿t so great. I think I will recommend this book to a person that is a strong reader. I believe this because for me there was a lot of confusion in the time periods but I don¿t think a person that reads well will get confuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    KIPP review

    This book had a lot of interesting details. It showed how much hatred Ellen had towards her father. Her mother was ill so Ellen had to take care of her but one day her mother died and she had to live with the other family. But then later on her father had died and was buried next to Ellen's mother and Ellen just hated the idea that her father had to be buried with her sinse he just disrespected her and didn't take care of her when she was sick. Then as Ellen lives with the other family,she gets more comfortable with them and acts like her step mother's own child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    ellen foster by kaye gibbons

    The book Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons was pretty interesting. Even though it was not that long it was captivating. The novel talks about a girl named Ellen. They discuss a part of her life where she goes through many tragedies. One of the many bad things that happened to her was that her mother committed suicide. From then on it does not become any better for her until the end of the book. That is where she gets her last name from. You have to be careful when you are reading the book because she goes from the present to the past all the time. The book will not make sense until the end when she explains what really happened, and how she ended up where she was. This book is a memoir. The book was not that hard to read and understand. I really did not grow in my vocabulary. The context of the book was good, but it was not a challenging book. I do recommend it, but to sixth or seventh graders because like I said it is not that difficult, and I think they would find it interesting. I believe it is at their level

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    A reviewer

    Ellen Foster was not so difficult for me because I could understand what Ellen was going through. First her mom died and then her father would take advantage of her. She was confused and didn¿t know what to do. Ellen wanted someone who would take care of her and love her. I was happy for her at the end she found someone and that someone was one of her teachers. I like this book because I could relate to it and I could understand what was going on. The connection that I had between the book was that she did not get along with her dad and I don¿t get along with my dad either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Its not that bad

    I did like this book very much. The only problem is that it gets confusing for when you have to find who is talking or when because there are no quotations at all. What I also found out was that it has the same mood through out the book. Overall, I would recommend this book but not as the best one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    The book was ok, but in my opinion the book had no climax and wasnt worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    OK book

    I was not drawn in by it. It did however address some tough issues about abuse and alcoholism. I had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2002

    Incredible, Poignant and Bizarre

    A warm, yet strangely twisted story--especially if you follow the intricate sub-plot which is unraveled slowly between the lines of the main narrative. A great read while waiting for the electrician or somebody like him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2