Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ellen Foster ~school project

    This story was surprising. A little girl who had to learn how to care of herself at the age of 8, which is what most people learn when they are in their 20's. She is an inspirational character. The obstacles she faces seem unreal and she couldnt find anyone that cared about her until she meets her foster mom. The story makes you think that this could possibly happen to you or someone close to you. It really makes you relate this story with your own life. Kaye Gibbons really makes you think with this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    A Good Read

    I liked it very much. It was an easy read and a true opportunity to get into the main character with her trials and tribulations. Having worked in the field of a Child Abuse Investigator as well as Foster Care I could really relate tp this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended- you must check it out!!

    This Book, Ellen Foster, is an incredible book. It is a very heartbreaking story which is very hard to put down. This book is good for any age. Athough for some, it may not be relatable, the details and the way the story is written, makes you feel as if you are witnessing it in real life. MUST READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    a captivating story?

    This book was interesting but also at the same time in certain areas it did not interest me at all. It didn't use quotation marks or commas, it didn't use any punctuation besides periods. It was really hard to tell when people were actually talking or if Ellen Foster was just thinking this as she went. Some of the things in the book were interesting though, like how she fancied up her grandmother, her mamas mama, as she did in a situation like that. If you could find one thing you liked about the book and someone else who possibly liked either something different or the same part then you could really get a conversation going. I don't think i would've read it if i hadn't have had to do it for a project in a class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Good character, but sad story!

    I thought it was very well written, the author really makes you feel bad, and sometimes good, for the character. However, it is VERY sad. We had to read this for school, and I'm scared for one of my friends who will eventually have to read it because it is so sad and similar to his life. I will warn you that this is a very sad book with a decently happy ending, but not a really happy ending. It is short, sad, and it really draws you in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    touching

    This book is very touching. You can't help but root for Ellen and feel her angst and pain. It is a story that will make you sad to the core for the truth in it and yet root for a little girl that represents so much that is real in the world. A great book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like to reading books that have dram, friendship, problems, and a happy ending you are going to like this book. You would like Ellen Foster because it has all of these exciting things and more. The drama and mystery in this book begins in the beginning when she says her dad ides. The friendship she has with her best friend. The sacrifices she has to make to keep this friendship. Ellen the main character has many problems in the whole book but, at the end something happens. This also a challenging book to understand because the setting changes a lot. The setting in this book has many metaphors. For example there is a time she is in the garden with her art teacher. In that garden there are weeds and plants. Ellen realizes that weeds represent evil while plants represent good. There are many more in the book. Has Ellen struggles to find a new life. Ellen wants a new life. Ellen wants a new mom, why? Is all part of the reading. Has I mention of you like a happy ending book this is your book, so go and buy a copy so you know what I am talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster is a good book.

    I read the book Ellen Foster by Kay Gibbons. It is fiction book. It was really interesting I really enjoy reading the book. I also liked it because it teaches young teenagers about problems. After her mother, Ellen had to work and pay bills in her house because his dad did not do them. His dad lived drunk and mad and after a while he died to. So she had to move to her grand mother's house. Every time she move she did not get treat right. Ellen lived trough some rough times in her childhood. After reading this book you can realize that you are not the only one who has had problems in life. The book in general was kind of confusing, because the author changes period. As you read the book everything will just make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    A Must-Read Book!!!

    Ellen Foster is a book that tells a story about a young girl that goes through a lot of misfortune in her childhood. Ellen is surrounded by death and cannot find a rightful home so she can escape from the sadness that follows her. In the end, after rowing stronger mentally, she finds hope to a brighter future. Reading this book made me remember many childhood memories, both pleasant and unpleasant. The way Ellen tells you about her childhood really helps you understand how she feels, and you can connect to her right away. You see the story in your mind as she tells it to you as if her childhood would unfold in your ears and your mind. The people that surround Ellen will surely remind you of the people that surround you every day. You might consider Starletta, Ellen¿s best friend, to be a lot like your best friend in real life. Although there are good people like Starletta in Ellen¿s life, she is also surrounded by people like her aunt and cousin, who are not so nice and are not as perfect as they seem. Any reader can relate anyone that is in their lives with any character in this book. I love to read books that I can relate to my past, especially my childhood. Although I love soccer and I always try to find books about the sport I love, Ellen Foster has nothing to do with sports. Even so, I loved reading this book because it helped me remember many memories from my childhood, and although I did not go through as much misfortune as Ellen did, I could relate to some of the things about her life. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who wants to remember memories from their past. This book will show what bad situations other people go through their childhood it is a shocking eye-opener. ¿When I was little I would think of ways to kill my Daddy¿ That line is the first sentence you will see that will unfold a sad yet interesting story of an unfortunate childhood for a young girl, Ellen Foster. Ellen will capture your attention, and automatically once you know her story, you will feel attached to her and will feel sympathy for her. This is a must read realistic fiction book, but the series of unfortunate events that Kaye Gibbons, the author of the book, makes Ellen go through will make you believe this story is true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Great Summer Book

    The book Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons was about a girl who loses her mother and was forced to live with her abusive father. She then moved with her grandmother who disliked her because of her father. Her grandmother pasted away and she moved with her aunt and cousin. Ellen then thought it was time for her to find a loving family. Ellen decided to move with the family from church because she saw how loving they were. The book was good and had a lot of suspense in it. If you like realistic fiction, you would love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Are you looking for a book that really emphasizes the true meaning of family? Or have you ever wondered if you take everyday things like siblings for granted? Ellen Foster is the book for you! I recommend this novel 100%. Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons is a story about a young girl who experiences harsh troubles in her family and can¿t really call her residence a true home. Ellen loses both of her parents and is shipped off to her grandmother¿s who isn¿t so pleasant! She takes some other few stops at her other relatives and close friends. In all of those she expects to find a ¿Happily Ever After Story¿ but ends up full of hopelessness and despair! At this rate will she ever know what a true family is like? Is the fact that she has lack of care going to drive her to have a mind and spirit of hate?? Call me old fashion but I truly believe that there is a little bit of Ellen Foster in everyone whether it is her humorous, rebellious, or even her heart warming side she is extraordinary! I give this book five stars and guarantee that it is a ¿must have¿ book! Even though I did not expect this Ellen Foster has dug a memorable spot in my brain and I¿m pretty sure that it will affect many people who read it as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster is a heart warming story that you do not want to miss out on. It is a book by Kaye Gibbons, and tells a life story of a young girl who suffers from a suicidal mother, mental and sexual abusive father, and temporary homes to live in. Ellen has always longed for a sincere family that will care and love for her, her whole entire life, but usually jumps and stumbles over obstacles to get there. She is frozen in one spot when her art teacher moves, grandmother dies, and a kick to the curb by her Aunt Betsey and Cousin Dora on Christmas Day. Will anyone ever accept her, does anyone still care? She learns to fight for herself out there, but will she ever get what she wants? If you want to know the answer to these questions, then read this inspirational novel because it could help you become way more appreciative of your life. I being a person, who enjoys biographies, recommend Ellen Foster, because it teaches you how to visualize and compare other¿s life to yours. This book is a motivation to all, and will definitely leave you wanting more and satisfied. If you like novels, then you will be in love with Ellen Foster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Just read the book

    Ellen Foster was the 1st astounding book that I read on the summer and the first novel that I had read so far and enjoy it. As I was reading the book I really felt like I wasn¿t able to stop reading the book, maybe it was because the 1st sentences of the novel really hook me and got more interesting to see what would happen. I really got surprise when I heard that Ellen wanted to kill her had on a really individual way it was so scary. Anyways I really enjoy this book, there many ways that I enjoy the book one way was how the character feel because you are able to feel how the character feel. The way that I will show you that I enjoy the book, was that I was suppose to read only 30min but actually I read for 1 hour and 30 min. To me it was the longest reading time I had ever read and I was really surprise that I had read for that long period of time. I gave this book a 4 for good because this is a book that you really would love to read because of all the drama that it has. Just read the book and then tell me how it feels because when you start reading the book it would make you feel sad because of the characters mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster was really interesting to me because I have an interest in family drama books. It kept me guessing. If you like drama, emotional flying and books about friendship, then Ellen Foster is the book for you. It¿s a fiction book. It will take you into the story you will forget to watch your MTV. This book is about a southern orphan girl, named Ellen who lost her parents when she was young. Then on after that she moved from house to house. The time she lived with her Aunt Nadine and Cousin Dora, the problems never ended. The relatives couldn¿t get enough of them selves. ¿Chickenshit!¿, is how Ellen describes their attitude towards life. Her only relief was her best friend Starletta. It was a scapegoat to a surreal life. Ellen Foster shows the true beauty of friendship. What happens with Starletta and Ellen that is so special? Will Ellen find a house she can call a home? You will never know until you read it. Yeah!, you got the idea now, ..READ IT!!.. I guarantee satisfaction or your MTV back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Great Read!!!

    If you are interested in books that have a lot of drama and suspense, then you will definitely enjoy Ellen Foster. I connected so much with this book and I know you will too! It not only intrigued me, but it challenged me to think critically also. As an African American, this book showed me that racism was real and not just a thing of the past. I¿ll give a brief summary so I don¿t spoil the surprises. Ellen¿s violent, abusive father drives her sick mother to suicide, which Ellen ends up in temporary homes with her grandmother, art teacher, and her aunt and cousin, until she finds a new mother. If this book sounds interesting to you and you, then you should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    You should read this book because it has the drama, the love, and the dying,¿ then you will like the book Ellen Foster because that book had so much drama in it. I started feeling the girl¿s pain. The pain that Ellen went through. And she went through a lot. Some people that she met down the road showed her some love. Most of them didn¿t. Ellen¿s life wasn¿t the best life a girl could have. One thing that made it that way was in the beginning of the story. Her mom died by taking too much medicine. Ellen and her mom had a very close relationship. So when her mom died she lost some body very important. She stayed with her dad for a little while after her moms died, but she had too much drama with him. He touched her and gave her bruises. Teachers asked question, but she made up excuses. The art teacher wanted to know what was going on and then found out. Ellen moved with the art teacher. Than her grandmother came into her life when she claimed cusidy of her from her father. Her grandmother wasn¿t the best grandmother ever. Ellen was force to work for her on her farm. While living with her grandmother her dad died. She had lost another family member and then a couple of weeks later her grandmother died. So she was homeless again. Then she went to go live with her auntie and cousin. She thought they were nice to her, but they were just faking it. Then one day they kicked her out. Then she walked to a foster home and she lived there for the rest of her school days. Until she got old a moved away to college and lived on her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like drama, serious emotional problems then you will like the book Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. It¿s about a younger girl by the name of Ellen Foster who has to go through all these problem that you shouldn¿t have to go thought at such a young age. Ellen Foster has to grow up without a mother because she killed herself by taking to many sleeping pills. After her mother death Ellen is forced to live with her dad whom she does not like. Ellen does not like her because of all the pain that he caused her mom to go through to kill herself. On the other side Ellen has a best friend by the name of Starletta. Starletta happens to be of color and ever thought Ellen is white that doesn¿t stop them from having a great friendship like they do. Starletta is a big support for Ellen when she is having problems with her dad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Wow if you like to read books about a person¿s life, Ellen Foster Is the best one. Ellen foster is about a young girl who has many struggles in her childhood. Ellen has to put up with many things for example her father he always went out every night and came back till the next morning and the sad part about her dad was that Ellen¿s mom was very ill she would always be in bed so really she didn¿t know what was going on while she would Have to be in bed but at the end her mother dies. I remember what made me start reading Ellen Foster it was how it started, how Ellen would always think about ways to kill her father but she new that she couldn¿t really do anything even though she would think that way she once said to her self that her fathers death would come hunting for him one day. Ellen was a very strong girl the way that everything came into her life she moved on even thought she had ups And downs. Ellen is a strong girl no matter what was going on in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    ¿When I was little I would think of ways to kill my daddy.¿ - Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. Doesn¿t that come out and surprise you? It sure did to me. I am not much of a reader but when I read I like to read crime and mysteries, so when this story starts out with that sentence it really catches my attention. Even though this book was neither crime nor mystery I still liked it. So if you like books that have to do with family problems I recommend this book. After that surprising first sentence the story starts out with Ellen Foster describing her horrible and awful father and then how he killed her mom. After her mom¿s death, she had to live with her dad. She had a hard time surviving since her dad wasn¿t ever home since he was out drinking with his friends, but when ever he did come home he would miss treat her. One day at school her teachers decided that one of them should take care of Ellen. So she ended up living with her art teacher and her husband. Unfortunately that didn¿t last that long. After going to court Ellen ended up living with her grandmother, which also didn¿t treat her well. Later on she died and Ellen had a nightmare before Christmas living with her ant. Just when things couldn¿t get worse she was kicked out of the house. But don¿t worry this story has a happy ending you just have to read what happens next. While all of that was going on the story was taken place in the south when there was still segregation. This was ironic since her best friend, Starletta, was black. To make it more confusing Ellen was telling the story as a flash back while the author still explains what¿s going on outside the flashback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster Book Review

    Ellen Foster, a book written by Kaye Gibbons, is a sensational story about a young girl¿s never-ending struggle to find a permanent home and a family. Ellen is a very young girl who has to face many struggles and problems throughout her childhood. She faces problems with herself, her family, and for a while she doesn¿t have a home. I mean Ellen has a place to live in, but it is not a place to call a home. A home is a place where you have people who care about you and love you, not just a place you stay at. Ellen foster is a book that describes a young girl¿s journey and path towards her goal. Ellen has to face many people who don¿t like her and don¿t want her after her mother dies. Those people include her grandmother, her abusive, alcoholic father, and her aunts. This people make Ellen¿s life a nightmare by abusing her, making her do slave work, and not treating her as an equal. Although Ellen faces all of these things in a very short period of time, she overcomes them with determination at a place in the south where most people would not be able to. This novel is very interesting and I know most people would enjoy it. If you like reading about a person¿s journey and path towards something, then you will enjoy this book. Ellen Foster describes a young¿s girl¿s journey toward her main goal which is finding a home and family. If you don¿t like that about this novel, then you will like it because it teaches things that you will need for the future. For example, it teaches how to be determined, motivated, inspired, and how to care for others. Ellen Foster will teach many students how to be determined and always follow their dreams. This young girl does exactly that by overcoming barriers that are put in her way. She does not even let her family who doesn¿t care about her get in her way. Ellen also will teach people that everyone is equal and that we shouldn¿t judge people by the color of their skin. Everyone is equal and the color of someone¿s skin should not matter. I personally recommend this book to everyone and give it a rating of 4 out of 5. It is really inspiring and motivating, but the ending will disappoint most people. The book starts out really strong, but it becomes boring by the ending. The ending doesn¿t have a lot of details and it will leave you wanting for more. Other than that this book is sensational and will change the lives of many people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4