Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ellen Foster ~school project

This story was surprising. A little girl who had to learn how to care of herself at the age of 8, which is what most people learn when they are in their 20's. She is an inspirational character. The obstacles she faces seem unreal and she couldnt find anyone that cared a...
This story was surprising. A little girl who had to learn how to care of herself at the age of 8, which is what most people learn when they are in their 20's. She is an inspirational character. The obstacles she faces seem unreal and she couldnt find anyone that cared about her until she meets her foster mom. The story makes you think that this could possibly happen to you or someone close to you. It really makes you relate this story with your own life. Kaye Gibbons really makes you think with this novel.

posted by chibisinger on October 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thought Provoking

A great look at the impact that dysfunctional families have on the well-being of children. At times hard to follow but a very fast read.

posted by 11230036 on October 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Book Review The book Ellen Foster by Kay Gibbons was about a girl growing up in 1960 and about the main character Ellen Foster family treats her .It was also about Ellen trying to find a home for herself but was looking in the wrong places .For Example when she wasn¿t getting along with her dad, she would depend on family and her family didn¿t make her problems better they added more and made them worse. I dislike a lot of characters some characters I disliked were Ellen¿s Grandmother because she did a lot of harsh things to her, like make her work with the workers in the hot sun .I liked Ellen because every where she went she never gave up until she found her a good home . I would consider this book to be kind of difficult because the way she put her words together for example when Ellen was getting a sexually abuse the way she put her words together I couldn¿t tell if she got raped or her daddy just touched her . On the scale of 1-10, I would rate this book to be a 7. It¿s a 7 because it is an interesting book but the way Kaye Gibbons puts her words together makes the book become confusing. If you are a person that likes teen stories then I think you will like Ellen Foster. She is basically telling a story about her life and telling you all or the good and bad things that happened to her. I recommend this book to readers because this is a good book for people who has a connection with all of the bad things Ellen went threw with the abandonment of her family, and the alcoholism/abuse with her dad .This book could really help you out on how you feel about some of your problems you might have and it could give you confidence to never stop like Ellen did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I read the book Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. I think is a good choice for your summer reading book. It is not a long and is very interesting. I think that a person who likes fiction books would really enjoy this book. This is a book about a girl whose mom dies and has to stay with her abusive alcoholic dad. After a while they find out that she is being abused so they tried to find a new home for her. After being rejected from all her family they try to find her a new caring family that will love her. She also had the experience of being in a foster home. She has a lot of fun with them and share time together. She knows how to stand up for herself without having to depend on someone. You can really learn from this book and also enjoy reading. Is somehow challenging and teaches you a lesson. It can also be confusing but not that much. This would be the type of book for someone who likes fiction and for the books to be touching. It really seems sad and makes you feel sorry for her because of all the things that she goes through. Even though it does not all the characteristics of my type of book I enjoyed it. I would recommend it for the people I mentioned above. I like more a type of book that has to do with teenagers and relationships and a little drama. But after all it was great reading it and learning something new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I recommend the book Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons to anybody who likes a small but challenging book. Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons can confuse you unless you read it carefully and slowly. I was very confused when I first read the book. I had to read the book three times and some sections of the book were more confusing than others so I had to read those to get a better understanding of the book. Once you comprehend the book, then you will want to read the book without stopping, that¿s how good Kaye Gibbons¿s book Ellen Foster is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons is one of those books that as the more you read you get into it more and more. It¿s a story of a teenage girl called Ellen Foster. She grew up in a small house since she was the only child. Her dad was a alcoholic, jealous and lazy man, In the other hand her mom was a working hard and, sick mother. Everything was going some what ok until Ellen¿s mother die, well¿¿.. She didn¿t die she was suicide. After her moms death Ellen was lost, she didn¿t have a permanent home and she spend most days wishing her dad was death. This went on for a while her looking for a loving mom, and a good shelter were to spend the night at. This is a really interesting book, the way that Kaye Gibbons make you connect with the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like drama, hard hitting problems, friendship and a great ending than you would like to read Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbon. Ellen shows us how racism was an issue in her life. She also gives us examples of what racism was in her days. When I began reading this book I felt like I was back in her days because of all the details she gives. I was not expecting to feel emotions by reading this book, but this book made me feel scared, worried, and forlorn because, it made me realize that some of the problems in the book are still around in our own surroundings. Giving me this sense of feeling for the book helped me visualize what was happening as to giving me mental movies of the details the book provide. As in any other books the characters are very important. In this book Ellen has to face many people who disappoints her like her father. Ellen¿s father was not worthy of being a parent, giving Ellen and her mother his back in times of need. But as the book goes on you find that not everything goes wrong Ellen also finds comfort in her teacher who brings her in, in times of need. This book is one of a kind giving u mind blowing surprises every turn of the page. Giving you Ellen¿s life filed with drama and how she gets by until the ending. This book id also great because of the friendship it has between the characters. The book is strongly advise to those who loved drams, problems, friendship, flash backs, and great endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like drama and suspense then you will like Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons because you will drop your jaw and say wow! For example, she sees people die and she runs away from home. In this book Ellen sees that people die like nothing like if they were a piece of trash her mom dies by over dozing herself with pills. And this is true dram, finding your dad drunk and his friends in your house. Listening to what are they are discussing about trying to get out of your house because you are horrified to see what is going on. But Ellen ties to run away until she finds a better home and she looks for the now mom she wants to be with. While I was reading Ellen Foster, I was anxious because every page I read, I wanted to read more of it. My eyes didn¿t want to stop reading the book because it was that interesting. The wicked Grandmother made Ellen work in the hot, summer day out in the field. After her Grandmother died Ellen tried to find her new mother walking through the heavy snow on the floor! But wait! I can¿t tell you everything, to know more about suspense and drama read Ellen Foster to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like books about life lessons, or knowing what others are thinking fascinates you Ellen Foster will amaze you. Ellen Foster is a girl who has suffered a lot and is fighting to have a family who appreciates her as she is Even though both parents have passed away she has other family but they really don¿t want Ellen at all. The main character goes from being mistreated to almost being abused, in her own house while her dad had some of his pals over for a ¿drink¿. Gibbons wrote this book in away that will keep you at the edge of your chair. You want interesting you will have interesting characters and descriptions because Kaye Gibbons doesn¿t tell you what ethic group they are. Throughout the story you figure out what race they are how they feel towards Emily. Also you will know what ¿Foster¿ means why her last name is Foster. Even though people didn¿t like Ellen Foster it has been one of the characters and settings. Details and dialogue made me engage in the book to connect with characters and picture the book as a movie. The plot was thrilling at the beginning it got serious in the middle, and towards the end suspenseful because you didn¿t know what Ellen was going to do. Well, hopefully you read Ellen Foster and enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    ellen foster is a sad story!

    If you like drama, family problems and suspense you will like Ellen Foster. I really recommend this book because you get to learn about Ellen¿s life. How sad it is and how she has gone thru a lot. The book gets a little challenging when Ellen has flash backs about her past. But once you know when she is talking about her past you get really engaged in it. The book mostly occurs in her school and at home. Even thought her dad hit her and her mom couldn¿t do anything about it, she still had friends who had her back. For example Starlleta she was her black friend and always could come to her when she wanted even gave her, her home when she didn¿t have one. Another friend was dolphin and he was a horse that she would take care of and always told him her problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster is a challenging novel by Kaye Gibbons. I would like to recommend this book to people who like to be challenged while reading. People who like to read about life situations, problems, and drama would really enjoy learning from Ellen Foster.This book is hurtful as Ellen goes from home to home trying to find a permanent home where she can be loved. As a teenager, I feel that I can not connect with Ellen Foster because I can¿t really feel what she is feeling .Yeah, the author does make you feel the pain she feels but she has been through so much that unless you have rally bad problems, you cant relate to her that much. If you think you have problems reading this book will make your problems look like nothing. Read this book to find out if Ellen finds a permanent home where she is able to love and finally have a place that she can proudly call home!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Fantastic book!!!

    If you like drama, friendship and suspense then you will like the book Ellen Foster because of the following reasons. Friendship takes place during school. In my opinion I do not like friendship as much as the other topics. Why I do not like it as much? Well I guess that is because I am just not all that interested in that topic. Ellen goes to a school and meets this girl named Starletta. Ellen and Starletta become best friends after a period of time. I would recommend this book to you if you also like suspense. I loved this book because of this topic. Each time you flip the pages of this book you do not know what is going to happen next. The plot consists of the troubles Ellen had to go through during her childhood life, for example with her father and in general with her whole family. Ellen did not like her father at all. Her father and she did not like each other. I am not going to give more details about this story, read the book and find out for your self. The author helps me understand this book by giving details about the story. When I first got this book I only read the first paragraph and I decided I was going to like the book. Since I love suspense books I thought to m y self that I was going to like the book only by reading the first paragraph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read the book Ellen Foster by Kay Gibbons.It is fiction book. It was interesting, I realy like the book. It has suspense and as you read, you get curios about what will happen next. Ellen Foster is the main character of this book. She is early teen girl and she had to go through alot of unbearable things, which are not about her level according to her age. She lost her mother first. Then her father was not good about her. He was drunk and mad. So she has to move to her grand mother's house. After some time, she moved from there. Wherever she went , she didn,t get nice and loveable people.By reading this book, someone can learn many things about life, because some people think that they have worst life in the world.After reading this book, they can realize that there are many person in the world , who has to go through unbearable things in their life. I enjoyed the book,even though it was confusing, because author changed time period.As you read you get everything clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    Ellen Foster

    Kanye Gibbons did a great job in writing this fictional book. Ellen Foster is a well written book. The main character in this story is Ellen Foster. She is wise, funny, affectionate, and true. She is also a very strong person for being able to go through everything she had to go through. I think that Ellen Foster is a real person because what she went through can possibly happen to someone in real life. I know it might be hard to believe but there are really people like this out there. Ellen is just a normal girl who wants a family that loves her. From very young she has had to take care of herself. She had a mother and father but her mother was always at work and her father was always drunk. She was hated by all her family because she looks like her dad, who is a disgrace. Then her mother and father died and everything got worse. She lived in so many different houses until she ended up somewhere she wanted to be. The method the writer uses to write this story has been used by many. The story is en media res. The author starts off talking about things in the past then she talks about things that are currently happening to her and then she talks about things in the past and so on. Although she uses this method the plot wasn¿t even hard to follow. I understood the story very well. The point of view in this story is first person and it is very important because the story is about her and she¿s the only one who could tell it the right way. For example, if it wasn¿t first person they wouldn¿t be able to tell how she really felt about the things that happened to her. They would only be guessing and imagining how she felt but it still wouldn¿t be as good as it coming from the person who actually experienced it. If you like books that talk about real life things then this book is for you. I especially recommend this book to teenagers because I think it¿s something they would actually like to read. So read it and I guarantee you will not regret reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    Ellen Foster

    Kanye Gibbons did a great job in writing this fictional book. Ellen Foster is a well written book. The main character in this story is Ellen Foster. She is wise, funny, affectionate, and true. She is also a very strong person for being able to go through everything she had to go through. I think that Ellen Foster is a real person because what she went through can possibly happen to someone in real life. I know it might be hard to believe but there are really people like this out there. Ellen is just a normal girl who wants a family that loves her. From very young she has had to take care of herself. She had a mother and father but her mother was always at work and her father was always drunk. She was hated by all her family because she looks like her dad, who is a disgrace. Then her mother and father died and everything got worse. She lived in so many different houses until she ended up somewhere she wanted to be. The method the writer uses to write this story has been used by many. The story is en media res. The author starts off talking about things in the past then she talks about things that are currently happening to her and then she talks about things in the past and so on. Although she uses this method the plot wasn¿t even hard to follow. I understood the story very well. The point of view in this story is first person and it is very important because the story is about her and she¿s the only one who could tell it the right way. For example, if it wasn¿t first person they wouldn¿t be able to tell how she really felt about the things that happened to her. They would only be guessing and imagining how she felt but it still wouldn¿t be as good as it coming from the person who actually experienced it. If you like books that talk about real life things then this book is for you. I especially recommend this book to teenagers because I think it¿s something they would actually like to read. So read it and I guarantee you will not regret reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Book Review

    The book that I will discuss now is called Ellen Foster. I know that you have not read this novel. Only because it sounds and looks boring does not mean that it is not interesting. The novel is small, but it is confusing because of the way that Kaye Gibbons wrote it. It might be fast to read, but it does not mean that you are not going to understand it. If you get confused in one part of this book, you have to go back and reread it until you understand it. Even though I do not know the other books that she wrote, I could tell she is talented on writing stories. This novel¿s genre is fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Ellen Foster

    What is the name of the book and the author? What is the story about? Was it interesting? Is the story worth reading? These are questions, you are probably curious about. Well, you might just find out. For my summer reading assignment, I decided to read the book, Ellen Foster, written by Kaye Gibson. Ellen Foster is the main character. She is an eleven year old girl who lives in the south. She is an orphan. Both her parents died when she was a child. Her mother died for being sick and taking to many pills. Her father died from being depressed and being alcoholic. However, throughout Ellen's childhood, she lived with different people. Most of the people she lived with were mean. As an example, her grandma. Since her grandma hated her husband her daughter married, and she took her madness out on her granddaughter, Ellen Foster. However, Ellen Foster was always independent for herself once an adult mistreated her, like her alcoholic dad. Ellen was always struggling with life, and she faced deaths many times. All Ellen wants is a family who loves her and cares for her. In my personal opinion, this book was worth reading. I enjoyed reading every bit of it. This book had emotional feelings such as losing a mom. Not a having a parent can make one feels lonely and sad. Just imagine, a little girl without any of her parents. What would you do if you were her? Would you cry non-stop? Overall, this book was excellent. Ellen Foster proves any one can live life even with problems and situations like hers. Ellen is independent for her age. I do recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading. In addition, for someone who is struggling with life and needs motivation. I also recommend this book to someone who likes fiction books, to someone who likes to see a child¿s point to view, and a person who is always curious about anything. You just have to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    A heart-warming story of innocence.......

    Ellen Foster is a book about a little girl who grew up in a some what chaotic household. While continuously beiong moved from one relative's home to another, she searches for a permanent home with a 'new' loving mother. The book is written in the point of view of an eleven year old. It's innocence and humor is the main reason why readers are so captivated by the book. It's so well written that it makes you wish that there weren't people who treat their children as badly as the dad and relatives treat Ellen. I feel that the book was well written. It was really lovely and heart warming. In a way, the book will make you want to think back and remember your own childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    BOOK REVIEW

    This summer I read an interesting book called Ellen Foster written by Kaye Gibbons. This book is about a girl who experiences many deaths for her age. She grows up without anyone to take care for her. She continues moving and looking for a home. This is a fiction book. I chose it because it seemed to stand out from the other books for the reason that it is a tragic story. As I was reading this book, I realized that Ellen kept going back and forth in the book from her memories to the present which made it a bit confusing. In some chapters, I felt bad for her I just couldn¿t imagine the type of life she was living. This book made me realize that I am lucky. Many people grow up with no parents or with violent, alcoholic ones. That is just very sad. I recommend that this book to be read by people who like a tragic, realistic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    good book

    I think that you should read this book called Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. This is a nonfiction book about a girl named Ellen Foster. Ellen goes through many hardships threw out the book. These hardships include her mom¿s death when she was very ill and Ellen moving from home to home. This book is an easy read. If you are in sixth grade and up this book would be east for you. Things that might make this book hard for you to understand is the way the story is told. It is told in different time periods. The way that she tells the story is from her perspective from the past to the future. She tells how it was back then and how it is now. Even how Ellen overcomes her obstacles will surprise you .This is a great book and it is short and easy and you should definitely go and buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Ellen Foster

    This book is from a girl that started living a miserable life at a very young age. Her mom died when she was young and went to live in foster homes because her dad didn¿t take care of her the way he was suppose to. I think this book was pretty hard to understand because there is a lot of things going on at the same time. This book is short but the reading level is pretty high. You have to be able to know where the setting is while you are reading because it changes throughout the whole book over and over again. When I read this book I was pretty interested in it because Ellen writes a story that will teach all of us something and will make us think more of others instead of being selfish. We should be thankful to have everything we need, unlike Ellen she never had love from her parents and never really enjoyed life until she was grown. I recommend people to read this, if you are a great reader and enjoy fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Ellen Foster

    Book Review Ellen Foster is a good book for all kinds of readers because there¿s a lot that goes on in this book that shows how a young girl lived with relatives dying around her. She didn¿t really like her family but I think still hurt her when she lost them. She ended up in a foster home and learned some interesting things about her best friend. She¿s gone through much and we can all learn from her mistakes. She lost her grandma as well which I think was the saddest one because she was a very nice person and was teaching her things about life even though they weren¿t important. Everyone can benefit from this book. I expanded my vocabulary and perceived a different point of view of most people who lose many family members even if it¿s just one. I thought they would¿ve been depressed a lot of the time and lonely but they¿re not. Everyone has a endless amount of family wether they¿re not by blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4