Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Ellen Foster

    Ellen Foster was written by Kaye Gibbons. The book is 143 pages long. Gibbons wrote an amazing story. In the book Ellen Foster goes through tragedy and a lot of horrible people in her life until she finds her angel. The book is at times confusing, because Gibbons sets up the book from past to present events. The reason why I chose this book is because of the length like some of you are going to do, but let me tell you in the end I wish there was more to the book. I would recommend that you put Ellen Foster on your reading list. The reasons why is because the size is good and the story itself is even better. The story has taught me how to be responsible and love the ones around you because one night they could die in your arms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    ellen foster

    The book I read this summer was Ellen Foster. The author was Kaye Gibbons. I really enjoyed this book because it is a book that gets you all into it. It is one of the best books i have ever read. It is about a girl who tries to find a real family that she could belong to after her mother's death. Ellen also tries to find the love she has never had and the one no one has given her. She has family problems that she can't overcome, like her dad's abuse. She is a girl that struggles al lot. I understood the entire book and if I was confused, i would stop and think about it. I believe that anyone can read this book even if you are a slow reader, but it would take you longer. The book makes you feel sad and mad at the same time, but it makes you think a lot about the circumstances she went through, through out her life. It would be a good book read and enjoy during your time. It teaches you and shows you that sometimes is not that easy and you still have to go along with it. It is worth reading it is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Great

    One of the two books i read this summer was Ellen Foster. The main character was a girl named Ellen Foster who has a abuseing father.I would highly reccomend this book because it involves suspense and action.I belive that this book should be required to be read by all ages because once you read the first chapter you will not want to put the book down.For me, it was easy to connect to Ellen Foster because I could relate to some of the things she was feeling.For example not feeling that parents do not that much attention to you or that you sometimes feeling invicible. This will bw a great book to read about so leave Ellen Foster on the summers reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Ellen Foster

    This book talks about how Ellen has moved from foster home to foster home. Most of her guardianshave ended up dead and she always had to deal with moving and having a new home and guardian. She had to deal with her mther and father. Then her mother die and then soon after that her father did to. I would reccomnd this book to anyone who loves to read books about drama and tragedies. I chose this book as soon as i read that she would try and think of ways to kill her dad. That made me feel shocked and worried about her life that would lead her to do something so drastic. As soon as I read the book I understood why and loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Good Book

    I think that every one in the whole world should read Ellen Foster. The reason why you should read this book is because it tells the story of a girl named Ellen as she goes thought many things in her life, such as her dad watching her mom overdose on pills. She also goes through having to deall with an adusive father, and have to try to find a good home to live in. The book is about 200 pages, and the genre of the novel is fiction. The book might be hard for some people because she goes from present to past and you have to figure it out your self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    The book Ellen Foster is about a girl who has problems finding a stable home and a place she can call home. Ellen overcomes adversity with spunk and determination. This book makes you appreciate having a stable home and family because it shows us the difficulties of moving from one place to another without really staying in one place. It allows us to feel what the character is feeling and it allows us to visualize vivid scenes of some parts of the book. The most challenging part of this novel is that it has many flashbacks to the past and again to the present so you have to be able to keep track on what period they are talking about. The genre of the book is Fiction and the length of the book is satisfying because is not too long or too short is just right. I recommend it to those who might be good in keeping track of the present and the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I read a book called Ellen Foster and this book I would most likely would say will teach you so much how a girl had to go through death, hate, and moving to so many different homes. I really did enjoy reading this book because it showed me that I should be great full that I have a mom and dad that do love me. Also that I am so glad that my parents do have plans for me in the future. Also I would recommend this book to people who think they are having a bad time in their life so they could see how much of a bad life this person had to go through. Also this book was really challenging to read and it made me feel so good that I finish a book that was challenging. You could really learn a lot by reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Great Book

    This book called Ellen Foster is a great book. This novel is about a girl named Ellen. At childhood she wanted to kill her father because of the way her dad was. She did manage ways to kill him for example, when he was sleeping she put a spider on the bed so it can bite him.Both of her parents died and she had to go somewhere. She grew up she went to high school and became more mature and responsible. She ended up going to a foster home and lived there. The novel was really easy to read. The book only had one hundered and tweenty six pages. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a fiction story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Unbelieveable

    I think that this book was amazingly good. At first, when I started to read it, it sounded very brutal and it didn't appeal to me. But then I got to the middle of it and it started to get interesting. This poor girl has to deal with a mother that commits suicide, a drunk and abusive father, a wrench for a grandmother and an Aunt & her daughter who despise her. I quote, 'Nadine said I was a ungrateful little bitch and that I should have the Hell beat out of me.' Does any one think Ellen should have to go through this? I don't. I can't believe she has overcome everything that has happened to her and she still has the strength to continue to move from one place to another. I will now have to buy the sequel to find out what happens to her. I hope that more good luck flows her way and she can finally stay in one place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Little Girl Stole My Heart

    You just want to take this little girl in your arms and try to make everything alright for her. A very short read but powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    a 16 year old girl

    i enjoyed this book, it did take me a little bit to get into the book but in the end it was a good story. i would recommend it to any teenage girl. guys i'm not sure would like it as much but go for it if it looks good to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I thought this book was a very real picture of how a lot of people's lives can be growing up. Losing loved ones, having to live with other people you dont know, and just really having an unhappy life. However, I think Ellen Foster evokes a very strong willed girl, who knows where she wants to go. It was a good book all around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Ellen Foster is a good book, Kay did a very good job writting the book, the first part was kind of confusing but then it got to the point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Great book, full of emotion

    Ellen Foster is a young child trying to navigate her way through life, yearning for love and acceptance. This is a great book, full of emotions, yet not sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    Sharp, Witty Dialogue Makes for Great Read

    This book has rich language, and the story is told through the eyes of a child who has had a few ups and downs. This work is a great read because it has a lot of voice and depth. The end of the novel leaves you wondering what lies ahead for rambunctious Ellen Foster. It's also a really nice length, definitely one that you can read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    the strongest of the lonely

    ¿When I was little I would think of ways to kill my daddy. I would figure out this or that way and run it down through my head until it got easy.¿ So begins the story of Ellen Foster and her brave, heroic tale. This quote is the first line of the tale, with enough power and emotion to keep you reading the book until it is done. Kaye Gibbons does an excellent job putting her own feelings and thoughts into the mind of Ellen Foster. Based on Kaye¿s own experiences as a child, Ellen Foster is lonely, unwanted child in a cold cruel world that has turned against her. Ellen¿s mother commits suicide when Ellen is young leaving her to care for not only herself, but for her drunken father and their house in shambles. Once a month Ellen¿s uncle leaves money in their mailbox to pay for bills and food. Ellen is eleven years old, but is in charge of feeding herself and her father, paying the bills, keeping the house intact, and protects herself. I think that Ellen Foster is one of the strongest, bravest people I have ever read about. She has a mind that can help lift the spirits of any person who wishes to take a glance in her world. By reading about her traumatizing experiences and listening to her thoughts, you gain a sense of appreciation towards your own life, and how easy life can be. I think that this book only contains one weakness. At times, Ellen has flash backs that are not well defined in the book which can confuse the reader when Ellen starts talking about how her life is now. One paragraph Ellen might be talking about how much she hates her father and then the next paragraph she might be talking about how she wishes that she had been the one to kill her father. Her father was not murdered, but I am sure Ellen wishes he had been. My favorite part from the book is when Ellen chooses to change her last name to Foster. She is at church with her aunt when she hears about the ¿Foster family.¿ She knows that¿s where she wants to be, but she is ignorant to the fact that her aunt and cousin do not respect the family and thinks the Mother is crazy for allowing people of different races in the same house. My least favorite idea about the book is how racially discriminating it is. It is set in the early 1970s in the Deep South, but the town is still segregated in the white part of town and the black part of town. Throughout the book, you see how Ellen changes her ideas on racial discrimination. She has a black friend named Starletta, and in the beginning of the book she wouldn¿t drink from her glass, but by the end of the book she sees no differences in how skin color can make a person different. I think that this book is a great book to show a person how strong they can be, that no matter how hard life seems now, there is always someone else struggling too. Which is why Ellen Foster is a great inspirational book for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    A book review of Ellen Foster

    In the short story Ellen Foster, the character is an 11-year-old girl who takes on the responsibility of raising herself. She goes through death, neglect, and abuse through out her childhood. Her only friend is a young colored girl who tries to help her through these hard times. In the end, Ellen finds happiness with her new family. We recommend the book to readers between the ages of 11 years old through adulthood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2001

    Read this novel...Oprah did!!!!

    Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons is a wonderful, well-written novel. The story is told from Ellen's point of view. She is an 11-year-old girl living in the south. She experiences things that most 11-year-olds do not. Ellen, in the novel, is coping with her mom's suicide and living with her abusive, alcoholic father. She leaves. Ellen is sent to live with her 'mama's mama' as Ellen calls her, who does not like her. Ellen is sent to work in the cotton fields because her grandmother can not stand the sight of her. Ellen's grandmother dies and Ellen is sent to live with her snobby aunt and cousin. Ellen does not fit their standard of 'perfect people'. Ellen has had enough. The ending was a happy surprise for me. Ellen is a mature girl, surrounded by immature adults, and I think that this situation happens in real life today. I recommend this novel to anyone who is looking for a story to make them both laugh and cry. I really liked this novel. Throughout this novel, Ellen is a smart girl. The way her father pushed her mother to suicide and his abuse of Ellen makes her hate him. In the first line of the novel it says, 'I would think of ways to kill my daddy. I would figure out this or that way and run it down through my head until it got easy.' Ellen matures from her mom's sudden suicide and the events that she goes through with her family. Ellen learns not to trust her family members because of her grandmother's hatred towards her and her aunt and cousin's talking behind her back. All Ellen wants in life is to feel that she belongs and to feel loved. Read this novel to find out if she gets what she really wants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    not a victim, but a person with all her imperfections

    she goes through alot and she's not perfect. they show that. i think this was a good book. and most people will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 4