Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Please do yourself a favor and read this absolutely wonderful bo

    Please do yourself a favor and read this absolutely wonderful book! You'll be captivated by this special little girl. All of Ms. Gibbons's books are just as good! Love them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    KITCHEN

    Kithen

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!

    This book is great. Ellen Foster is a young girl who experiences tragedy and loss throughout her whole life. She Is a brave 11 year old who lives in the south. Kaye Gibbons does a great job at keeping youu hooked on the book you will not want to put it down!! This is a Must read book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Wow

    This is a really good book but you jave to concentrate on what it says. It will allmost feel like you are living her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Loved it

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    ¿Ellen Foster¿ by Kaye Gibbons is a great book to read if you like realistic type books .Especially because of the problems Ellen foster encounters when she is young with her father that has drinking problems and her mother dieing .I had a marvelous time reading this book during my summer break because of the intensity of vocabulary was understandable for me and because it is not that long to read. People should read this book because even though the book has some sad parts it also has funny parts that will make you laugh. So I am giving this book a five because it is easy to read and its enjoyable .so I hope you enjoy it too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I have to say that Ellen foster is one of the best novels that I have read by far. Ellen had been though so many hardships in her life and yet she was still able to deal with it. It also shows that she was able to deal with moving from family to family. This is also a very good book because Ellen Foster deals with so much death in her life, and she still tries to live a normal life. I also believe that this is one of the best novels because it shows that no matter what life may throw at you, you should always keep moving forward and not dwell In the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like book with drama and suspense then you well like Ellen foster as your number one book .I give it to thumbs up it was my favorite book it make you feel like you¿re seeing from the main character eye and your watching every thing around you . as bill is Ellen dad he is not a nice guy to hang around that he is always drunk .The suspense all start at Ellen house with her dad yelling at Ellen mom she is always tired . she is to tired to even yell back at bill she is always working at the hospital late and come back tired the Just when every thing was going worst and her life it got worst when her to parent died. As her life goes on she start to realize that she isn¿t the only one suffering but her family if you think that you kind of book I say you should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    The book¿s name that I read was, Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. The main characters are Ellen, the girl, the dad who was an alcoholic, the mom who dies, the mom¿s mom, the mom¿s sister, and Starletta, her black friend. The setting takes place in Ellen¿s house, and also the houses she stays in after her mom dies. The plot is that first the dad mistreats the mom a lot. The girl sees all of this. The mom dies, and Ellen suspects that the dad killed her. The dad is never home, and not even for Christmas. One day he comes drunk with his friends to their house, and Ellen gets scared so she runs over to Starletta¿s house. I recommend this book especially to girls because they can easily connect with it since they¿re already girls, and can feel what Ellen is feeling. I really liked this book because it talks about a real-life situation about a girl who suffered during her childhood, and how she survived through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like ¿Death, and Drama¿ then you will enjoy Ellen Foster because Ellen¿s mother, her father and grandmother end up dying. She sees lots of drama everywhere at home and at school. For example, when her father goes up to her school he then starts to scream out Ellen¿s name telling her to come home. Not that that is childish but he was drunk. Another drama story of this book was when Ellen had to go to court discussing the topic on which she would have to see who she was to go home with. She ends up having to go home with her wicked grandmother. After that her grandmother puts her to work on the farm and Ellen almost ends up fainting. Another very dramatic part was when her mother dies and the father says¿ I¿m glad that I don¿t have to take care of those kids.¿ One of the Differences between the kids and the father is that they want to succeed in life. The father is an alcoholic who ends up dying because of it. This book has a lot of family drama as well as I have mentioned before. Personally I enjoyed this book because of my family problems. Drama? Death? Why not read Ellen foster you will love it more than any other book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I think this is best the book i ever read I would recommend this book to any one who loves read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    Growing up in a small southern town, with parents who did not nurture her, was not easy for Ellen Foster. Because Ellen¿s parents died she has been moved around from family to family, and some were not so pleasant. This book is filled with sorrow and this is something that I do not normally look for in a book. I¿m the type of person that likes thrillers, mysteries, and normal teen problems, but I would have to say that Ellen Foster, by Kaye Gibbons, was an amazing book. I really enjoyed all of the irony and suspense in this book. ¿When I was little I would think of ways to kill my daddy,¿ is the very first sentence of this book and that is a powerful sentence that gave me an ominous feeling. It pulled me in quickly and made me wonder so many things. Through out the book I felt sympathy towards Ellen because sometimes in life, we tend to take things for granted, like our parents. Ellen was in the middle of so many family issues and that made me think of how great so many of us have it just to have people around us who love us and show it. Each chapter left me in awe. If you like to be kept guessing about what¿s going to happen, this is definitely the book for you. I personally could not make a connection with the narrator, but that¿s the beauty of this book. It is not knowing what to expect. I would recommend this book to anyone because it teaches you a lesson in such a fascinating way. Ellen Foster was a magnificent novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    AWESOME !!!

    Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons is about this young girl that goes through a lot of struggles in her life. No one in her family wants her not even her own father. After her mother death she has no one she learns to take of her self with only her friend to help her out as much as possible. I really enjoyed this book a lot I though t that the author made it possible for me to connect with Ellen even though I have never went through the things she went through. I would recommend this book to any one who likes to read about someone that goes through struggles and can overcome them. The book is not hard to read at all you just have to keep up with all of Ellen¿s flashbacks the vocabulary is not hard at all I could not see any word that you could not understand. So give this book a try I¿m sure you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Ellen Foster

    My second choice of books that I read was Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. I really did like this book because the ending was unexpected, and how she realized that in her age. It was really cool how she cares about others. The reason I selected this book because it said that she has used her intelligence to escape some adult situations. By this I mean using what she knows best of doing in certain situations, by almost being abused. Which had gotten me curious to learn more about it, and what she exactly did. I would recommend this book because I learned a lot what Ellen has gone through and how she learns to appreciate who she is through out the book. What I mean by that still appreciating and thinking about others. My feelings towards this book was mostly nervous of what will happen to her next, and shocked because of the things she does and the things they do to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Great Book

    The book that i chose was Ellen Foster. The aouthor of the book is Kaye Gibbuns. The book was about this girl that lived with her mom and dad. Her dad was abusive and her mom couldn't take it anymore so she overdosed and killed herself. One day she ran away because her dad was physically abusive. She went and lived with different families. Some of the families didn't care but some of them did. Her dad went to her school trying to get her to go live with him again. He tried to buy her with money. I think thath he shouldn't have tried to buy her with money because if she wants, than she'll go with him. I would reccommend this book because i think that is a good book. It was good because i thought that she had a hard time growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    KIPPster Book Review

    The name of the book that I chose to read about was Ellen Foster. I would really recommend this book to a lot of people to read because this book talks about this little girl¿s life from the day she was born all the way until her whole life started to change a lot. I learned something about this book since the begging al the way to the end. One thing I would like to say about Ellen is that she lived a poor life and that she really tries so hard by trying to get a great education and finding something to do with the rest of her life. I thought that this was really sad to me in a couple of ways. One reason on why it was sad is because Ellen is trying really hard to get to were she is trying to in the future. That very last reason is because she really not that rich and she really would like to go to a great college, but the one problem is that her family does not have a lot of money to get her there in a good fashion. So I really recommend a lot of people to read this book about Ellen on her life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Ellen Foster review

    I read Ellen Foster over the summer. At first I had read the plot summary of the book. Then I had lost the list of the books and forgot the book. Later, I had asked my friend the name of his books and I chose Ellen Foster. The lenght of the book is short and long. It is long from top to bottom, but it is short becuase it only has 126 pages. It is not difficult for me except for in the begining. The reason it was confusing was becuase it kept going back to the past then to the present. I thought it was an amzing book because I really wanted to know what family she moved to. I had a lot of feelings for her in the book. Sometimes I was happy for her. Sometimes I felt sad for her, and other times I was mad at her. I felt bad for her most of the time. The genre is fiction, which is not real. I like fiction books becuase I know that they are not real, but sometimes I feel that it is real. When I finshed the book I really realized that I like books that seem real. I would recommend it to somebody. The reason for that is becuase you really want to know who she ends up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Read this book!!!

    I do recommend this book to students who do not understand why they are living or need a sense of direction. The name of the book I¿m talking about is Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. I believe this book will show any teenager how, if u are going through something that there is always going to be a way to over come it and to find that sense of direction that you are looking for. Ellen Foster had no one there for her until she went to look for that love from a loving family who truly does care. Therefore, I know one girl who tells her story of how she found love for herself can inspire you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Kaye Gibbons is a genius!

    This book immediately made me a fan of Kaye Gibbons, and reading of some of her other works has demonstrated that she is consistently good. If you like strong female characters who don't let life beat them - Ellen Foster and some of Kaye Gibbons other characters are for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I read this book about five years ago, when I was in the 10th grade.Iread it for english class.I loved this book! There was a lot of racism in this book but it was basically about friendship and two life long friends of the opposite race. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2