Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 38 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    Capturing Story

    I enjoyed this book. It was one of the first books I have had a chance to read that had me interested the whole way through. Though, I think an adult reader would not be as impressed with the story and is meant for mature teenage readers. Despite other reviews I have read previously, this book is worth the read. The brief length of the book will allow you to finish it quite quickly as well. You would think the book woulld just pass as another book describing another abused child. to be honest, it isn't the story that makes the book gripping, it is the way kaye Gibbons brilliantly writes the book completely from and 11 year old's point of veiw. you only know what the main character knows keeping you guessing and turning the pages. Any teens who feel they have awkward family situations may feel somewhat greatful after hearing the tale of Ellen foster and her saddening enviornment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    This spectacular book, Ellen Foster, By Kaye Gibbons was truly an awesome book. I loved the story line all the way. From start to finish. I also though that this book was hard to read only knowing that the fact this was a true story. Overall, I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    WOW

    This book is one of THE most amazing books I've read. I read the first time when I was in 6th grade and my older sister had to read it for school. I fell in love with it, and was exstatic to find out I had to read it again for school in the 8th grade. And now a research paper involving the book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    college student knoxville TN

    READ THIS BOOK AND YOU WILL LOVE IT. I really enjoyed this book, at first I did not want to read this book because I throught it was going to be boring,but as I continuee to read it, I loved it. I cried on a few paragraphs because it remind me of my child hood. I believe Ellen was a strong little girl and I just wanted to hug her. Read it you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    awesome book

    I read this book when i was in 11th grade for school and I fell in love with it. I loved how the book was written and it was a great change from the books I normally had to read in class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    I was hooked

    I read this, a great length, and went back for everything I could find by Kaye Gibbons. I have only one of her works left to read. I was hooked on her characters and cannot wait for Kaye to write again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    Book of the Year!

    This was the best book ever! It was so heartbreaking but I know those who like a good book will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    a great book high emotions

    This novel kept me mesmerized, it diffently keeps you intense and at the edge of your seat. the book is about a 11 year old girl whose life seems to continuly fall apart. Definitly makes you put your heart out for her character. What a tear jerker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2001

    Tearful Reading

    As a sensitive gay man, I was touched by this title. It really pulled my heart strings, and made me reflect on my sexuality in a refreshing new way. I would recommend this title to all gay men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    I even liked it!

    I've never been much of a book person. In fact I've probably never read more than 7 books from cover to cover in my life, but Ellen Foster was one of the few books I read all of, and enjoyed. It reminded me a lot of no matter how bad it is for you, its worse for someone else, and I know what bad is like. I had to read the book for summer reading, and after blurring through Angela's Ashes, I was in the mood to see another book much like it. It wasn't though. It was good. This book I would reccommend to people that dont like books. They'll change their minds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2000

    Fantastic Literature

    I would have to say this book is one of the best written I've found so far. The child was so life-like and well-rounded a character that one would believe she were real instead of fictional. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    A great read that will keep you smiling and crying

    I just loved this book. Ellen was such a likeable, positive, survivor. The book reminded you that there was a happy ending, making a horrific situation palatable. The childlike writing style was very effective, making you feel like you were in Ellen's head. I savored every word to make the book last. Can't say enough about it. What a writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 38 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2