BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ellen Foster

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Please do yourself a favor and read this absolutely wonderful bo

    Please do yourself a favor and read this absolutely wonderful book! You'll be captivated by this special little girl. All of Ms. Gibbons's books are just as good! Love them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ellen Foster ~school project

    This story was surprising. A little girl who had to learn how to care of herself at the age of 8, which is what most people learn when they are in their 20's. She is an inspirational character. The obstacles she faces seem unreal and she couldnt find anyone that cared about her until she meets her foster mom. The story makes you think that this could possibly happen to you or someone close to you. It really makes you relate this story with your own life. Kaye Gibbons really makes you think with this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    A Good Read

    I liked it very much. It was an easy read and a true opportunity to get into the main character with her trials and tribulations. Having worked in the field of a Child Abuse Investigator as well as Foster Care I could really relate tp this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Thought Provoking

    A great look at the impact that dysfunctional families have on the well-being of children. At times hard to follow but a very fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    An Ok read

    I expected it to be better. It was way too short in length and detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    KITCHEN

    Kithen

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Hardach By Kiestin Jay Ellen foster   Kayne Gibbons 126pp. Vint

    Hardach
    By Kiestin Jay
    Ellen foster 
     Kayne Gibbons
    126pp. Vintage Books,$12.15(Teen Fiction)
    Teenager are the most difficult age group to get to read a book. When I first started reading this book at first I thought it was very confusing i it didn’t really give you a introduction.so I didn’t really understand it at first but as I started reading it more I understood it more.
    A little gir,l just eleven years old is living in a house where she has to watch her father treat her mother like crap every day. He is so mean to her mother he threatens, yells and throws stuff at her. Ellen hates to see her mother treated like that but there’s nothing she can do.
     Ellen foster is the main character in the book at the moment. She starts off by telling this story how much she hates her father and wants to kill him. She now has new parents and she compares her old parents to her new parents, how her old father was a no good drunk for nothing and how her  treated her and her mother like crap.She can’t stand how her father throws stuff at her mother. Ellen explains how much pain her father causes her and her mother. In chapter 3 Ellen talks about her wanting to ride a pony and her mother’s funeral. She gets annoyed when she aunt keeps asking her how she doing and has her put on a checked red dress that she hates. Ellen has to ride between her cousin Dora and doesn’t like riding between people because she can’t get out and she needs air plus Dora wets her pants.
    Her and the horse just relax and watch the tress move back and forth. She gets home and decades that he will go to school and wear something of her mothers sence her mother wasn’t that much bigger then her. When at school she goes to the library and a teacher follows her,and,wants to know how her mom died even she They drove to thru the colored town to get to the church .She falls in love with a angle water foundation in the white town but she doesn’t steal it.nobody in her family likes her father,during the service her grandmother calls her father a bastard.she doesn’t want to see her mother being put in to the ground.she goes to see the piny and they ride out in the woods and sence she forgot a book knows how she did she leaves the library and doesn’t answer.Ellen and scarletta walk home.in the winter time and the heat has been cut off scarlet  fathers takes them to the store to get them Coates. She joins the girl scouts. Her two uncles leave money in the mailboxes think nobody  is home, she gets out the money she needs and gives the rest to her father. She is with the girl scouts until Christmases because she`s tired of going to the meetings. For Christmas she went to starlet’s house, she noticed that they have to use the bathroom outside but when its cold out side the use a pot in the corner.starletta likes to break her crayons but ellen can’t stand it so she takes them home sometimes and tapes them back together. And she tells her that she need to wash before they can play together.Ellen gives them a sweater and it brightens up he place,they are very greatful.When back home her daddy and some colored men ransacked her kitchen looking for food that’s not frozen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!

    This book is great. Ellen Foster is a young girl who experiences tragedy and loss throughout her whole life. She Is a brave 11 year old who lives in the south. Kaye Gibbons does a great job at keeping youu hooked on the book you will not want to put it down!! This is a Must read book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended- you must check it out!!

    This Book, Ellen Foster, is an incredible book. It is a very heartbreaking story which is very hard to put down. This book is good for any age. Athough for some, it may not be relatable, the details and the way the story is written, makes you feel as if you are witnessing it in real life. MUST READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    VERY GOOD! EASY READ! MUST READ!

    I started this book with poor expectations, and Kaye Gibbons delivered in a very positive way.. Some parts were confusing, but soon got used to them.This book is about a young girl who has very sick life. her father is abusive and she harmed secually, phsically and emotinally througout her life. Despite her trials, the brave girl never gave up the search for love. She found it but kind people like a black friend named Starletta, a hippie couple, and also a foster family. She kept her grit and was more concerned about others than herself. Many of the events are disturbing, hoever they are very interesting.This book is uplifting. I reccomend it to almost anyone, from Highschoolers to adults.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Wow

    This is a really good book but you jave to concentrate on what it says. It will allmost feel like you are living her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    a captivating story?

    This book was interesting but also at the same time in certain areas it did not interest me at all. It didn't use quotation marks or commas, it didn't use any punctuation besides periods. It was really hard to tell when people were actually talking or if Ellen Foster was just thinking this as she went. Some of the things in the book were interesting though, like how she fancied up her grandmother, her mamas mama, as she did in a situation like that. If you could find one thing you liked about the book and someone else who possibly liked either something different or the same part then you could really get a conversation going. I don't think i would've read it if i hadn't have had to do it for a project in a class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Good character, but sad story!

    I thought it was very well written, the author really makes you feel bad, and sometimes good, for the character. However, it is VERY sad. We had to read this for school, and I'm scared for one of my friends who will eventually have to read it because it is so sad and similar to his life. I will warn you that this is a very sad book with a decently happy ending, but not a really happy ending. It is short, sad, and it really draws you in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    touching

    This book is very touching. You can't help but root for Ellen and feel her angst and pain. It is a story that will make you sad to the core for the truth in it and yet root for a little girl that represents so much that is real in the world. A great book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Loved it

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    If you like to reading books that have dram, friendship, problems, and a happy ending you are going to like this book. You would like Ellen Foster because it has all of these exciting things and more. The drama and mystery in this book begins in the beginning when she says her dad ides. The friendship she has with her best friend. The sacrifices she has to make to keep this friendship. Ellen the main character has many problems in the whole book but, at the end something happens. This also a challenging book to understand because the setting changes a lot. The setting in this book has many metaphors. For example there is a time she is in the garden with her art teacher. In that garden there are weeds and plants. Ellen realizes that weeds represent evil while plants represent good. There are many more in the book. Has Ellen struggles to find a new life. Ellen wants a new life. Ellen wants a new mom, why? Is all part of the reading. Has I mention of you like a happy ending book this is your book, so go and buy a copy so you know what I am talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    ¿Ellen Foster¿ by Kaye Gibbons is a great book to read if you like realistic type books .Especially because of the problems Ellen foster encounters when she is young with her father that has drinking problems and her mother dieing .I had a marvelous time reading this book during my summer break because of the intensity of vocabulary was understandable for me and because it is not that long to read. People should read this book because even though the book has some sad parts it also has funny parts that will make you laugh. So I am giving this book a five because it is easy to read and its enjoyable .so I hope you enjoy it too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster is a good book.

    I read the book Ellen Foster by Kay Gibbons. It is fiction book. It was really interesting I really enjoy reading the book. I also liked it because it teaches young teenagers about problems. After her mother, Ellen had to work and pay bills in her house because his dad did not do them. His dad lived drunk and mad and after a while he died to. So she had to move to her grand mother's house. Every time she move she did not get treat right. Ellen lived trough some rough times in her childhood. After reading this book you can realize that you are not the only one who has had problems in life. The book in general was kind of confusing, because the author changes period. As you read the book everything will just make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Ellen Foster: A Novel

    I have to say that Ellen foster is one of the best novels that I have read by far. Ellen had been though so many hardships in her life and yet she was still able to deal with it. It also shows that she was able to deal with moving from family to family. This is also a very good book because Ellen Foster deals with so much death in her life, and she still tries to live a normal life. I also believe that this is one of the best novels because it shows that no matter what life may throw at you, you should always keep moving forward and not dwell In the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    A Must-Read Book!!!

    Ellen Foster is a book that tells a story about a young girl that goes through a lot of misfortune in her childhood. Ellen is surrounded by death and cannot find a rightful home so she can escape from the sadness that follows her. In the end, after rowing stronger mentally, she finds hope to a brighter future. Reading this book made me remember many childhood memories, both pleasant and unpleasant. The way Ellen tells you about her childhood really helps you understand how she feels, and you can connect to her right away. You see the story in your mind as she tells it to you as if her childhood would unfold in your ears and your mind. The people that surround Ellen will surely remind you of the people that surround you every day. You might consider Starletta, Ellen¿s best friend, to be a lot like your best friend in real life. Although there are good people like Starletta in Ellen¿s life, she is also surrounded by people like her aunt and cousin, who are not so nice and are not as perfect as they seem. Any reader can relate anyone that is in their lives with any character in this book. I love to read books that I can relate to my past, especially my childhood. Although I love soccer and I always try to find books about the sport I love, Ellen Foster has nothing to do with sports. Even so, I loved reading this book because it helped me remember many memories from my childhood, and although I did not go through as much misfortune as Ellen did, I could relate to some of the things about her life. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who wants to remember memories from their past. This book will show what bad situations other people go through their childhood it is a shocking eye-opener. ¿When I was little I would think of ways to kill my Daddy¿ That line is the first sentence you will see that will unfold a sad yet interesting story of an unfortunate childhood for a young girl, Ellen Foster. Ellen will capture your attention, and automatically once you know her story, you will feel attached to her and will feel sympathy for her. This is a must read realistic fiction book, but the series of unfortunate events that Kaye Gibbons, the author of the book, makes Ellen go through will make you believe this story is true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8