Customer Reviews for

Ellis Island Interviews : In Their Own Words

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Oustanding -- Heart warming - - Thought Provoking

With each interview I could visualize as if I were really there in person listening to the person relating their story. All of my senses came alive while reading. The author brought each persons story to life for me. I have shared with my child, friends and family. ...
With each interview I could visualize as if I were really there in person listening to the person relating their story. All of my senses came alive while reading. The author brought each persons story to life for me. I have shared with my child, friends and family. This is a must have for every family so that we will never forget the efforts and sacrafices others made to come to the wonderful contry.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Learn about your ancestors

The stories are interesting - however, they are a bit repetitive. It does offer insight into the customs of various nationalities - many of which are still practiced today. It is a good lesson in tolerance of all cultures. The book could have been a little shorter and t...
The stories are interesting - however, they are a bit repetitive. It does offer insight into the customs of various nationalities - many of which are still practiced today. It is a good lesson in tolerance of all cultures. The book could have been a little shorter and therefore less repetitive.

posted by 13051503 on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Oustanding -- Heart warming - - Thought Provoking

    With each interview I could visualize as if I were really there in person listening to the person relating their story. All of my senses came alive while reading. The author brought each persons story to life for me. I have shared with my child, friends and family. This is a must have for every family so that we will never forget the efforts and sacrafices others made to come to the wonderful contry.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    My all-time favorite book

    This is my all time favorite book. The reader gets a clear look at the immigrants life(usually very difficult) before they left their home country, the trip to Ellis Island and the struggle to learn a new way of life. I only wish that there could have been many more stories. Thank You Peter Morton Coan for collecting these stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    Ellis Island Storytelling

    if you are interested in history then you will enjoy first hand storytelling from the immigrants who came through Ellis Island. I only wish there were more narratives. I want to know more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Learn about your ancestors

    The stories are interesting - however, they are a bit repetitive. It does offer insight into the customs of various nationalities - many of which are still practiced today. It is a good lesson in tolerance of all cultures. The book could have been a little shorter and therefore less repetitive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Thi book shoeq cuofgfyf vhgdcjtfcjnjgsjdjKakrjcjgusejfn

    Jffnckvjdfjcjfvdvt


    Fgdngjjgksfhfjfj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Excellent and inspiring

    This book was released at a tme when immigration is at the top of media attention. it is heartwarming and thought provoking in reminding us of what an honor and privilege it is to be and become an American.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Quite the read!

    You get the point of view of people coming through Ellis Island. It starts with the history of Ellis Island and then it's broken up by country or region. It even has interviews of those that worked or lived on Ellis Island. Having family that emigrated at the time Ellis Island was open, but didn't go through there it was quite interesting to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Alana

    Oh...yup

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Loved it

    I was impressed with the details in this book. I've looked for a way to find out information on Ellis Island for a long time. My grandfather came through there and I wanted to know how they decided who was to stay here. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Easy, enjoyable read.

    Great look into our American History

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Recommend

    I'm not quite finished yet but have found it to be a very interesting book. The beginning written by the doctors was a bit boring but the stories are great. I have to say the pictures that are included aren't real clear on the Nook and I would like to see them in a paperbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Okay

    You can!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2