BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Elmer Gantry (Unabridged Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    If you harbour antimosity toward Christianity you will enjoy Elmer Gantry.

    Sinclair Lewis uses the character of Elmer Gantry to vent his apparent deep-seated resentment against revivalist Christianity. While the constant attacks on Christianity have to be keep in the context of the period when the book was written, it is important to realize that even men of the cloth have their knaves and charletans. It is a classic book and a good read. Just don't get caught up in Lewis' politics of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    Worth Reading

    A gritty look at where religion has been and how it has changed, or not. Very interesting history of the evangelical movement in this country. Ends a little flat, but really worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Elmer Gantry is about a college football player that is respected only because he is a four year starter, and he is a bully. Elmer Gantry is an alcoholic and isn¿t really happy with his life, He has only one real friend that leads him to religion, which Elmer gantry ends up preaching, very well. He brings multiple communities together and is brought to Rome because he is so good, then there is a plot against him that he has cheated on his wife and some money has been disappearing. Elmer doesn¿t want to lose his job so he preaches to the crowd and since he has a gift with words, they believe he didn¿t do it. This story is ok but gets very old about halfway through the book, because all he does is preach and everyone that hears him is completely mesmerized by his words. Then the fact that he goes from alcoholic, to preacher and is the best there is at it is very hard to comprehend. Also the book ends abruptly, not giving much information on what happened to him after the whole plot. I am a person who likes action in a book or the book reveals a new concept, but this book is kind of boring and religion isn¿t new. On the flip side I liked the beginning where he was feared more than respected, which is true with some football players, and he got class president because of his athleticism. Overall this book is good for the first couple of chapters but the middle and end drag it down to a three star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Boring

    I had a hard time getting through this book. A lot of sermons and philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Great form, but poorly researched.

    In reading 'Elmer Gantry', I was immediately interested due to the fact that I am quite the religious person myself. I was thrilled with the way Lewis described characters and situations in a way that I have never read before. He is truly a brilliant linguist and writer. However, his topic of choice was poorly researched. While it is true that there are those evangelists and pastors who have fallen in ministry, the basis of the evangelical Christian church is not how Lewis describes it. There were, and still are, standards at which the church is run. The Baptist ministry, or any other ministry, would not have survived today if they had such a flimsy government (i.e. simply allowing athiests to be professors, students to drink and smoke, pastors to have no accountability while on assignment) or standards. While I found his ideas interesting, they are simply false. A strong foundation builds a lasting institution, and the Baptists, Methodists, or any other evangelical institution is thriving and does not look to be extinct any time soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    It good in its honesty....

    The lack of any real central plot can be hard at times and sometimes you wanna get people moving by giving them a good kick in the as*. The book is good though, the characters are well developed, and you really feel sympathy for them. Elmer Gantry starts out as anybody else could have in a small southern town.His motives for power are not far feached from excuses we tell ourselves everyday. Yet slowly he is corrupted by his own power and its interesting to watch the wake of misery he leaves for those hes supposed to help. I wish there was a final ending but I guess it adds to the style of the book. Theres no guns or mass murders but theres a lot of evil backstabbing, hypocrisy, adultery, and you really learn a lot about the universal nature of mans corruptness. All set against the backdrop of preachers rise to power. If its your thing then by all means enjoy this book, if not enjoy it anyways. some will hate it, some will love it, you got to decide for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    A Classic....without the pizzazz

    I was asked to read Elmer Gantry in a high school english class. The topic seemed interesting enough; man does good things for bad reasons. Interesting? No. Though I understood the book's message and the point it tried to show, I thought the prose was bland and unspectacular. However, I feel that was almost purposeful. Elmer(the main character) spoke so powerfully to his audience, maybe Lewis was simply showing that in stark contrast to the bore of everyday Christian life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1