Customer Reviews for

Elmore Leonard's 10 Rules of Writing

Average Rating 2.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NO!

THIS "BOOK" IS ONLY A FEW PAGES LONG. EACH PAGE ONLY HAS A PARAGRAPH OR TWO. IT HAS PICTURES THAT ARE NOT PROPERLY FORMATTED FOR THE NOOK.

posted by 4310305 on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed with this selection

Even though I got this book for $3.99, I don't think I've ever been more disappointed in a book in my life. The Title is almost as long as the contents. The book shows 90 pages. At least 40 pages are totally blank and about 6 have cute writing cartoons, and the other...
Even though I got this book for $3.99, I don't think I've ever been more disappointed in a book in my life. The Title is almost as long as the contents. The book shows 90 pages. At least 40 pages are totally blank and about 6 have cute writing cartoons, and the others have actual text. Some pages of text is only one sentence. The average of the 40 or so pages of text is about 4 sentences per page. Save your money and avoid this book.

posted by cottonmilltown_writer on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Bad Editor / Bad Writer

    I guess it's hard to blame Elmore Leonard for this book. Some wag at William Morrow probably saw the extremely short article that Leonard wrote for the NY Times on writing and thought: "We'll publish that in book form! We'll make a mint! He's Elmore Leonard, and there are millions of nutbars out there who think they can write and will buy the book to get the master's rules on writing!" Or maybe his agent, ever the shark swimming chummed waters, after he made the deal with the NY Times, gave William Morrow a call and got them lathered up. At some point, though, Leonard had to agree to this nonsense. So he is to blame too. These 90 "pages" (most of them blank and half the rest of them covered with caricatures of Leonard and others) offer a sentence or two of pithy thought. Now Leonard's pithy thoughts are worth more than most, but still... Leonard prides himself on terse writing. But he still writes books. Real books, with many more than 90 pages, and each of those many more than 90 pages with many more than a couple dozen words on each page. Why, he probably has 250 to 300 words on a lot of the pages in his fiction books, so we know he can expound on thought and concept and offer example and explanation. He can do it. Honest. I have several of his real books. And in those books he doesn't need the pages to be constructed of laminated cardboard like they use in books for infants just to make the tiny publication thicker. All around, this is just bad business. No matter how much you paid it was too much. Leonard surely has something to say about writing, but he doesn't do much of it here. And while we never expect much integrity from agents or editors, we rely on an author's integrity every time we pick up one of his books. To read him, we must trust him. This time Leonard abused our trust.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    Very disappointed with this selection

    Even though I got this book for $3.99, I don't think I've ever been more disappointed in a book in my life. The Title is almost as long as the contents. The book shows 90 pages. At least 40 pages are totally blank and about 6 have cute writing cartoons, and the others have actual text. Some pages of text is only one sentence. The average of the 40 or so pages of text is about 4 sentences per page. Save your money and avoid this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    This guy should read freaking screenplays, not books.

    This book was originally an article/list in a newspaper - that's really how short it is. The author wastes the entire book whining about how he doesn't like when authors interject with anything other than "(s)he said," which according to Leonard is bad enough. He doesn't like any description whatsoever, as that ruins the book for him. The only piece of helpful information in the entire book (which isn't very long, and the pages are thick) is to not use many "big words" when describing how a person said something. For example, don't write something like "she asseverated" or "I caterwauled." Unless it's in a sentence and the reader can pick up the definition from context, don't use a big word. That is the only piece of mildly helpful information in the entire book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Really?

    I bought this book for a college class. After finding it at bn.com for only $3.99, I thought I was getting a great deal. The book cost over $15 in the online bookstore at my college. When I received the book, I couldn't have been more disappointed. I actually thought the book would be in a textbook format, but I came to find most of the pages blank and crazy cartoons inside. In reality, the book is mostly just a list of his thoughts and explanations of why he feels the way he does. Since it was required for my journalism class, I'm glad I found it at a reduced price at bn.com. If I had wasted $15 on the book, I would have been more than displeased with the purchase. On the other hand, since the book was only $3.99, I plan on keeping it...it does have some good thoughts for aspiring writers, both in English and journalism. All in all, it only took me about 15 minutes to read cover to cover a book that is suppose to be 90 pages.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    A disgusting little rip-off

    My rating is generous. I would've given a negative rating if that were possible.

    Be aware that the entire "book" is only about 950 words, including chapter titles. That means the entire "book" is about 12 times the size of the 3 line excerpt! It is bulked up by bizarrely using stiff cardboard pages throughout. The content is useless. As gestures of contempt for the reader, it is full of allusions to writers and books no normal reader has ever heard of, without examples of what Leonard is talking about; there isn't even a proper table of contents and the copyright information is tossed in at the back.

    I understand that this was originally a brief article, and someone decided they'd make a few bucks by calling it a "book" and gypping a few suckers. I've never been so disgusted with an author or publisher. Is this what HarperCollins has debased itself into?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    This is the biggest gyp I've ever purchased. Elmore must be laug

    This is the biggest gyp I've ever purchased. Elmore must be laughing at everyone who bought this. It's hard to believe B & N would allow such fraud to take place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1