Customer Reviews for

Eloquent Silence

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    good but not her best

    I have to admit that after reading Thurday's child, my 1st and favorite book by S. Brown I have been reading quite a lot from her. And in all sincerity, this is not her best work. I got fed up with both main characters. He is too arrogant, and she put's up with him more than she should. Though the ending is pretty good. but once again it's not my favorite book from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Lilybreeze

    A white she-cat in a heat padded in. ~Lilybreeze (result 2? Please? I'll be waiting there)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Bird

    No please stay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Sunleap

    He sighed looking at her "your so helpless."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Very short story. 185 pages. Not up to Sandra Browns usual in

    Very short story. 185 pages. Not up to Sandra Browns usual inventive storylines. First of her books to be a bore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    First time disappointed!

    I can barely get thru this one and I am a long long time fan of sandra brown. Part of the issue is it is obviously dated but it is not necessarily able to translate to modern day. I didn't feel any connection to either way character and da Lauri was in my opinion A weak female lead which is unusual for the author. Drake was not as charming as I believe he was intended. Well I don't mind an arrogant male lead I felt that his character was not necessarily redeemable and Lauries character was too simpering and old fashioned in a non chic way. I am shocked because I have never had a bad sandra brown book. Premise was there and had so much potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    *I received a complimentary copy of Eloquent Silence in exchange

    *I received a complimentary copy of Eloquent Silence in exchange for an honest review.

    I read Eloquence Silence right after Love’s Encore. I’m glad I did because I really liked this book! I really enjoy celebrity romance reads and this one has a soap opera star as the hero. The Lauri is a teacher for deaf children and is thrown for a loop when she discovers who her new student’s parent is. Drake is a the hottest soap opera star right now and the widowed parent to a young deaf daughter, Jennifer. He wants to hire a private tutor for his struggling daughter and when he sees Lauri for the first time on his set, he sets his sights on her. Lauri and Drake agree to meet for dinner (at the Russian Tea Room), their personalities clash and Lauri wants nothing to do with this arrogant man. But because Drake is so charming, (picture Lorenzo Lamas with a mustache) he convinces Lauri to work with his daughter. He moves them both from New York City to a small town in New Mexico so Jennifer can being the tough process of learning sign language.

    The plot and character development in Eloquent Silence is really great! Drake is struggling to raise a disabled daughter by himself and Jennifer is not communicating properly. Lauri is a wonderful teacher and almost immediately bonds with Jennifer when they move to New Mexico. Sandra develops their relationship with great back and forth banter between Drake and Lauri. And the scenes between Jennifer, Lauri, and Drake are sweet. Drake’s back story in this book is heartbreaking and it serves as a reason explaining why Drake is so set against falling in love again. The plot twist in this book is similar to Love’s Encore, but this time is seems a little more plausible. Lauri’s back story is equally heartbreaking and descriptive. These are two damaged people who are afraid to open their hearts.

    The sex scenes in this book are pretty steamy! Drake is bold with his affection and Lauri loves it, even when she finds herself pulling back from him. Drake has already told Lauri that he refuses to love again. And since this is 1982, old-fashioned expectations for relationships exist and Lauri refuses to break these rules. But she can’t resist Drake and falls for him and his sexy self!

    I really really liked Eloquent Silence. Even thought it was written in 1982, the story has a timeless feel even with some dated things here and there. I loved that this book was set in New Mexico, my home state. The secondary characters are well written and I found myself interested in their story lines as well. In my humble opinion, if Sandra re-edited this book for today, I believe it would be a bestseller! I give Eloquent Silence 4 out of 5 stars!

    Written by Dee McGee - Booze, Bookz, and Bad Boyz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    exc

    Eloquent Silence by Sandra Brown
    Laurie has agreed to teach his daughter at his home and take her out of the institution she was placed in because he couldn't do it all himself an be a soap opera actor.
    She, at dinner, tells Drake about her husband and never wants to talk about it again.
    Jennifer is the little girl and they try many things to get her to open up and understand although she is deaf.
    She knows she can't love him because he's still in love with his ex-wife.
    The girls have traveled to the family home in New Mexico and is a very nice 2 story chalet type house. Mountains on one side and very spacious rooms.
    She becomes friends with the woman next door and her two small children.
    He surprised her in the bathtub by showing up, he went to make a meal for them and she went to get dressed.
    They are surprised when her parents come to visit and stay for a few days, at his house.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Heart-breaking

    Everything about this story touched me. It was so endearing that I actually cried at some places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    Rating

    This book was GREAT! It was so hard to put it down. I rarely put it down. Sandra Brown is the best author, and Eloquent Silence was the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1