Customer Reviews for

Elsewhere

Average Rating 4.5
( 530 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(348)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Read It!

Liz is your typical teenage girl until she is killed in a car accident. She then finds herself on a strange boat with a one-way ticket to Elsewhere where she will begin her afterlife. All Liz wants is to be back home with her family and friends. She just can't seem to ...
Liz is your typical teenage girl until she is killed in a car accident. She then finds herself on a strange boat with a one-way ticket to Elsewhere where she will begin her afterlife. All Liz wants is to be back home with her family and friends. She just can't seem to move on from the past and start her new "life" in Elsewhere.

In her novel Elsewhere, Gabrielle Zevin weaves an intriguing story about a fascinating world called Elsewhere that will change the way you think about an afterlife. Elsewhere is the home to people who have died.
When Liz arrives in Elsewhere she meets her Grandmother who had died of Breast Cancer before Liz was born. Liz soon discovers the Observation Decks, which allow the residents of Elsewhere to see what is happening on earth. She becomes obsessed with watching her family and friends and even tries to make contact with the living, which is illegal in Elsewhere.
One of the things that makes this book so thought provoking is that every resident of Elsewhere ages backwards until they are babies. When they are seven days old, the babies are placed in the river to float back to earth where they are reborn. I think this an interesting twist that the author added to give the story more depth.
Elsewhere is a great book for readers who enjoy a little bit of fantasy mixed with realistic fiction. In the end, readers will come to understand that death is not something to fear. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin is a bittersweet book full of thoughtful details.

posted by CarlJM on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Gee what if we could just make up our afterlife!

I read the book, and I even read the reviews and am surprised to find so many think this is 'exactly' what happens after you die or MIGHT be. Well, I am not sure what the motive of the writer was, but introducing another myth about the afterlife to comfort people who fe...
I read the book, and I even read the reviews and am surprised to find so many think this is 'exactly' what happens after you die or MIGHT be. Well, I am not sure what the motive of the writer was, but introducing another myth about the afterlife to comfort people who feel a NEED to believe such fluff is harmful if it prevents them from asking more rational questions about life after death, God, etc.. Even just logically speaking, if kids really believed in Elsewhere rather than some depiction that could be demonstrated to be more reasonable and that truly prepared them for the afterlife, wouldn't Elsewhere be the WORST thing that ever happened to them?

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Great book

    So we have our typical, everyday, run-of-the-mill mail character, Liz. She's your average teenage girl who is pretty and smart and she leads a normal life...until she gets hit by a cab. This book talks about her journey through the afterlife and how she deals with the fact that she is dead. I thought the begining was amazing and I could not seem to put the book down but it was a little short for my taste. If you prefer short and sweet, this book would greatly appeal to you but if you like a longer book that goes in to detail about the story then maybe this book won't appeal to you as much. Even though I did enjoy Elsewhere, I feel a little cheated and dissapointed. So to sum up, a great beginning and middle but the end of the book went by way too fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Imaginative

    This is a great book for science fiction lovers. Its even better for someone venturing outside their usual book genre for the first time. I thought the concept was creative and fun. Great book for teens because its short ( about 200 pages). It felt rushed, however, towards the end. I could almost feel the author's rush to end it. Overall, beautiful story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    The story begins with the main character, Lizzie who is fifteen,

    The story begins with the main character, Lizzie who is fifteen, almost sixteen. She doesn't really know what's going on until she wakes up on a ship, the S.S Nile. Not long into the book you realize that the S.S Nile, is a ship that takes people that have died, to heaven, or what they call it, Elsewhere. Liz soon makes friends with a girl, Thandai, and also realizes, she's dead. Lizzie was hit by a taxi cab while riding her bike. The person who gets her though everything strange in Elsewhere is her grandmother who lives there. Betty tells Liz all to know about Elsewhere. The main idea about that place is in elsewhere, you don'y grow old, instead you grow young, until you've reached less than one, then you are taken to a river in which you are let go, and turned into a new baby on Earth. Through her journey, Liz falls in love with a guy, Owen, who is with her most of the story. Eventually Lizzie grows to a baby again, and sent to the river, ending the book. For how weird the book was, I actually enjoyed reading it. It was a short book, but had a lot to the story. I would recommend this to really anyone, it's an easy book to read, understand, and to like.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful, Magical Story

    A great book on a very interesting subject. You follow the story of a young teenage girl as she grows into a wonderful women, but her body gets younger. The author is captivating in getting you into the story. A simple read, I read it in one day, but well worth. 4 stars only because it was too short!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    Elsewhere

    The book "Elsewhere" was a amazing book. Gabrielle Zevin created a story of a fantasy land to take place of heaven. When th main character dies of a car crash she ends up on a boat with other people. She makes many friends but is really confused on why she is on a boat and where is the boat taking her? Zevin really makes the book good when the main character is clueless on not knowing where she is. She makes the story a story you can't put down until you finish reading it. Its breath taking descriptions makes you feel like your actually there. You follow the main character until she is a small baby again and goes back to earth. The many adventures of the main character in her after life include all the same things you would do in real life. This makes the book amazingly good. She falls in love in her after life but then gets to young to realize where she is. Gabrielle Zevin is a amazing author and put a amazing book "Elsewhere." -Katie H.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Creative Story and plot

    Elsewhere is a very creative story. The author takes you on a jurney though Liz's hard lose; her life. She finds herself in Elsewhere where she meets her Grandmother and other great characters. She also finds out that you age back. She will never be 16, go to prom or drive. She trys to cope with the fact that she is gone but she can't. She meets new friends and someone that helps her cope with her lose. By the end of Elsewhere you will be believing that Elsewhere is real! It is amazing at how the auther created such a story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    Good Read

    I read this book for as a project for my college class in adolesent literature. I felt this would be a good book for a young person to read especially after they might have lost a loved one, it gives one a sense that live goes on after death in a different way, and that your loved ones can still see you and watch over you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Now to me this book was very particular. The writing and descrip

    Now to me this book was very particular. The writing and descriptions could be very vague and disconnected, but the story line is still pleasing to me. Its about a girl struggling to accept her new life, the after life which is Elsewhere, without her family and friends and in a way going through a withdraw from her life on earth. I see this book as being about second chances and taking them as fully as if they were your first. I still don't exactly see it as pulling heart strings, but it still will make you smile and make you sad with the characters as you read. I recommend the book for the story even if I personally didnt find it overly exciting. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Adorable

    Gabrielle Zevin brings forth a beautiful journey about how the death of a person remains in a never ending cycle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Love!

    Still one of my favorite books, 4 years after reading it for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    This is the best book ever!!!! I think more people should read t

    This is the best book ever!!!!
    I think more people should read this book and Gabrielle should continue on with what happens with Liz 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    I think that Elsewhere is a good book. But they could of added m

    I think that Elsewhere is a good book. But they could of added more to the book. Instead of skipping the younger years. Also I don't like Owen because he mad a dumb decision of going back to his old wife knowing his feelings weren't the same. It was un-necessary. He did nothing but waist time of there lives on Elsewhere. Him and Liz could have been together longer. Liz would have never been stranded in the ocean. And life would have been easier. It makes since why they did that though, to add drama and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    I dont like to read, but I really liked this book. It caught my

    I dont like to read, but I really liked this book. It caught my attention right away. I liked the relationship between Lizzie and Owen. The tension between the two made me wonder what was going to happen next. I like the way it started. I didn't like the middle. I did like the way it ended.I would recommend this book because, If it caught my attention it will catch anyone's attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Elsewhere is a heart crushing, spirt lifting novel about a girl

    Elsewhere is a heart crushing, spirt lifting novel about a girl going throught life after death. Liz is a fifteen year old girl who dies from being hit by a cab. She wakes up on a ship called the S.S.Nile on its way toElsewhere. When Liz firsted arrived in Elsewhere she didn't want to believe any of it was real. She never wanted to accept that she was dead. Her grandmother,Betty, trys her hardest to help Liz overcome her need for earth. It's not easy but Liz finaly starts to feel beter when she meats Owen Wells. Liz meat Owen when he was pulling her away from the well. The well is a place where you talk to the living. Even though Owen was confronting Liz about what she did wrong, the have an instint connection. As time passes on Liz is starting to branch out by making friends, and finding love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    ElseWhere was a amazing book.Im glad my teacher let the class re

    ElseWhere was a amazing book.Im glad my teacher let the class read it cause it showed us not to sell your self short.Bascailly about a girl name lizzie who was killed.Lizzie wakes up on a boat the next day wondering she's at.After a few days lizzie hates it IN ElseWhere but as she finds out she cant go back to earth as she is she have to back when she's a baby(i kno must u are wondering what i mean by that bascially in elsewhere u age backwards instead of forward).She meets a girl name thandi who was shot in the head and killed her and thandi become friends.Lizzie meets her grandma "Betty" her and her grandma catch up on somthings.Lizzie is on her tour of the boat when she meets a famous rockstar name "Curtis".The story goes on and on but for me its a pretty good book and me and my either class mates liked the book. J'Adrian w.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    This is a is a very good book I love how it ends

    This is a is a very good book I love how it ends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I like the book because it had a lot of interesting things happe

    I like the book because it had a lot of interesting things happen. I like the way they age backwards and get younger. I like the relationships with Owen and Liz and especially when Emily came and messed everything up and make it complicated. I llked how they stuck together until the very end until Liz had to go back to Earth as a baby even though Owen was a little boy and didn't even know what was going on. This book was very good and I would recommed it to my friends because it has a good storyline and it's suspenseful in some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I like the book because it was exciting. I didnt understand it a

    I like the book because it was exciting. I didnt understand it at first. It took a while for me to understand. I really liked the book. You should make a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I think that this book is a very good book because I actually en

    I think that this book is a very good book because I actually enjoyed it & didn't fall asleep once! The most parts i liked were when Liz & Owen made out & hung out with eachother & had fun. This was a good book because I could relate Liz's life to my life & that's maybe why the book wasn't boring to me at all. I think that everyone should take a chance to read this book because i guarantee you , you will NOT regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Elsewhere is a good novel.For people that want a summary then we

    Elsewhere is a good novel.For people that want a summary then well here it is. Elsewhere is about a girl that dies in a car accident and wakes up on a bout called the s.s Nile. At first liz has no idea were she is then meets a girl named Thandi that died from a shot in the head. Soon she meets a rock star named Curtis jest that liz becomes friends with. When the s.s Nile arrives on Elsewhere liz meets grandma Betty. Grandma Betty allowed liz to stay with her to make up for what happened with her and lizs mom. At first liz is depressed and sad about it but later she gets used to life on elsewhere. Later she meets a guy named Owen that liz falls in love with. Everything good for a while until Owens wife from earth comes to elsewhere. Then liz and Owens relationship is put on hold,but later Emily Owens wife and Owen find out they really don't love each other anymore so they split up. Lizs heart breaks and since she is a teenager she can use the sneaker clause and go back to earth as a baby. When Liz goes to the nurses they get her ready and put her down the river, but when owen finds out he gets on his boat to look for her and finds her and takes her back to elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5