Customer Reviews for

Elsewhere

Average Rating 4.5
( 530 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(348)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Read It!

Liz is your typical teenage girl until she is killed in a car accident. She then finds herself on a strange boat with a one-way ticket to Elsewhere where she will begin her afterlife. All Liz wants is to be back home with her family and friends. She just can't seem to ...
Liz is your typical teenage girl until she is killed in a car accident. She then finds herself on a strange boat with a one-way ticket to Elsewhere where she will begin her afterlife. All Liz wants is to be back home with her family and friends. She just can't seem to move on from the past and start her new "life" in Elsewhere.

In her novel Elsewhere, Gabrielle Zevin weaves an intriguing story about a fascinating world called Elsewhere that will change the way you think about an afterlife. Elsewhere is the home to people who have died.
When Liz arrives in Elsewhere she meets her Grandmother who had died of Breast Cancer before Liz was born. Liz soon discovers the Observation Decks, which allow the residents of Elsewhere to see what is happening on earth. She becomes obsessed with watching her family and friends and even tries to make contact with the living, which is illegal in Elsewhere.
One of the things that makes this book so thought provoking is that every resident of Elsewhere ages backwards until they are babies. When they are seven days old, the babies are placed in the river to float back to earth where they are reborn. I think this an interesting twist that the author added to give the story more depth.
Elsewhere is a great book for readers who enjoy a little bit of fantasy mixed with realistic fiction. In the end, readers will come to understand that death is not something to fear. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin is a bittersweet book full of thoughtful details.

posted by CarlJM on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Gee what if we could just make up our afterlife!

I read the book, and I even read the reviews and am surprised to find so many think this is 'exactly' what happens after you die or MIGHT be. Well, I am not sure what the motive of the writer was, but introducing another myth about the afterlife to comfort people who fe...
I read the book, and I even read the reviews and am surprised to find so many think this is 'exactly' what happens after you die or MIGHT be. Well, I am not sure what the motive of the writer was, but introducing another myth about the afterlife to comfort people who feel a NEED to believe such fluff is harmful if it prevents them from asking more rational questions about life after death, God, etc.. Even just logically speaking, if kids really believed in Elsewhere rather than some depiction that could be demonstrated to be more reasonable and that truly prepared them for the afterlife, wouldn't Elsewhere be the WORST thing that ever happened to them?

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read It!

    Liz is your typical teenage girl until she is killed in a car accident. She then finds herself on a strange boat with a one-way ticket to Elsewhere where she will begin her afterlife. All Liz wants is to be back home with her family and friends. She just can't seem to move on from the past and start her new "life" in Elsewhere.

    In her novel Elsewhere, Gabrielle Zevin weaves an intriguing story about a fascinating world called Elsewhere that will change the way you think about an afterlife. Elsewhere is the home to people who have died.
    When Liz arrives in Elsewhere she meets her Grandmother who had died of Breast Cancer before Liz was born. Liz soon discovers the Observation Decks, which allow the residents of Elsewhere to see what is happening on earth. She becomes obsessed with watching her family and friends and even tries to make contact with the living, which is illegal in Elsewhere.
    One of the things that makes this book so thought provoking is that every resident of Elsewhere ages backwards until they are babies. When they are seven days old, the babies are placed in the river to float back to earth where they are reborn. I think this an interesting twist that the author added to give the story more depth.
    Elsewhere is a great book for readers who enjoy a little bit of fantasy mixed with realistic fiction. In the end, readers will come to understand that death is not something to fear. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin is a bittersweet book full of thoughtful details.

    48 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    Incredible!!!

    Elsewhere is so emotional and riveting, I couldn't stop reading it! Its hilarious and bittersweet at parts, and the relationships the characters have are fascinating. The afterlife described in this book is intriguing. The writing flows beautifully with the story and makes the reader want MORE!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Best book ever

    I really liked this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat. I think the author did a really good job on this book because I enjoyed it very much. This was definitely the best book I have ever read. I recommend this book to other people like me who like fictional books. I really liked it there really should be another one!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well worth the read!

    In this unique vision of the afterlife, the recently deceased find themselves aboard the SS Nile, bound for Elsewhere. The thing about Elsewhere is that it's just like "here", with houses and cars and jobs, except that people age backwards, getting younger every year.
    "What happens when you hit the big zero?" you may ask.
    Let's just say that in Elsewhere, recycling is the way to go, gently down the stream, without a paddle.
    At first, fifteen year old Lizzie finds it hard to adjust to not being alive, but with the love and support of her now middle-aged grandmother, she is finally able to find her niche in death. Along the way she makes mistakes, but she also makes life-long friends, although of course that's a variable factor anywhere.
    A "coming of age" story in reverse and an intriguing concept (albeit a little over-simplified in certain aspects) this book is recommended for ages twelve and up, but definitely one to be considered.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Great

    The ending was the best. It was so well put together and happy that i felt like crying. Elswhere is about a girl named liz who dies getting hit by a cab when she is only 15 years old. After dying liz finds her self on the ship to elsewhere- a mgical land where the dead go only to be reborn again. Elswhere is an amazing book full of adventure, friendship, and even a little romance. An unforgetable storry that will remind you never to fear death. A great book that will keep you on the edge of your seat all night long.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Made me cry

    This was one of the best books I 've ever read. It was emotional and I was practically BAWLING at the end of this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    READ MY REVIEW!!!!

    I dont read very often ... but this book caught my eye. This book i think is a very different type of perspective. It was quite obviously written by someone with a wild and creative imagination and i think it deserves to at least be given a chance if u cant buy the book read the sample or go to a library because trust me it was worth my time. if i could give this book more stars i would. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Loooooooved it!!!!!

    Great book! Definately one of my favorites.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING

    READ IT READ IT READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Perfect

    Could you imagine dying and getting younger? I couldnt. Elsewhere is a must read book ! I would even read it to my kids if i had someone ! Read it !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Amazing

    This book was really well written. You just connect with the characters. I loved it, would definitely read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I love this book

    I got this book at my school library. I absolutly loved it. I made my mom read it and she said the main character is just like me. We both like dogs, but she is has a very different story than I do. While in the end don't we all have different stories. :) D.N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Loved

    I read this book when i was a kid back when i was terrified of dying and it completely changed my life! I would highly recommend. Its just one if those books that you will think about long after you finish it! READ IT!!!!!! You will not be sorry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Awsome

    I just cant find words for this book i absolutly loved it, i kinda hope its true.
    Zevens best.

    MUST BUY!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    I rate this book a 10 out of 10 cheerios because this book was s

    I rate this book a 10 out of 10 cheerios because this book was something new and original that I have never experienced or read before and it kept me on the edge of spining chair the whole time!
    Once apon a time, there was a 15, almost 16 year old girl named Liz who died in a car crash. She is forced to leave the world she once loved, her friends, family, and start again on Elsewhere. Elsewhere is the "life" after death, you age backwards from death until you are a baby then head back to earth. This book opens up the perspective of few different characters after death, Liz being the main, and unlocks a new way of looking at death that is original and garented to make you laugh, smile, and cry.
    I recomend this book to anyone who has ever been curious about what life might be like after death. This book comapares the univerous to a tree. The leaves and branches being the world we all know. Leaves will sprout and be born and will eventually fall and die. The roots of the tree represent Elsewhere, growing parallel to the world but very hard to see. Both worlds seem so far away but conected by the trunk.
    I also recomend this book to people who have loved, been loved, and lost. Liz feels this when she dies, all she has left of her old life are memories and the from the acident, stiches. She strugles with the pulling of wanting to return to life through out the book but she learns that it is better to have loved and lost life then to have never lived at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    TOTALLY AWESOME BOOK

    This is a amzing book, my all time favorite!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Mickeymouse239

    Luved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Best ever

    I know ive already posted somthing about it but im mean its not like anyones gonna take my advice,ok so this is my favorite book in the world its sad and not sad at the same time and its romantic but not that romantic at the same time and i even got mad at myself for reading all of it because i wanted it to keep going but the last like forty pages were "aknowlegdements" " gofish" and a preview of another book that the author wrote and im still really really mad at myself.
    :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

    The book Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin was absolutely outstanding. The logic of the book was kind of hard to grasp, but after a while the fact of where she was living didn't make my head hurt as much. I think that the author really put lots of thought and time into this book. Even the story line amazes me; the plot of the story is about a girl that gets hit by a car and dies. She wakes up on a ship and has no idea where it goes and doesn't remember what happened last. She is kind of stuck with her past and has trouble moving forward, but eventually pushes through. For someone to write a book that is so "out of the box" blows my mind. I could almost perfectly in vision every aspect of the book. Some of the concepts were so unreal while others were everyday life things. I think that this book was a dazzling book with many new ideas to get your brain going. It is definitely one of my all time favorite books and I recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Stories about the Afterlife have always appealed to me. There are thousands upon thousands of interpretations out there about what, exactly, happens to a person after they die. ELSEWHERE is a new spin on an old topic, but it manages to bring emotion, realism, and entertainment to something that is, in most circumstances, a very depressing situation. To me, ELSEWHERE is a combination of Mitch Albom's THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN and Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES, two other wonderful books dealing with death and the Afterlife. ELSEWHERE goes beyond those two books, however, taking readers on a journey into a land so much like Earth, and yet so very, very different. <BR/><BR/>Fifteen-year old Elizabeth "Liz" "Lizzie" Marie Hall has found herself in ELSEWHERE after dying in a bicycle-meets-taxi accident. After taking a long ride on the SS Nile, Liz has finally realized that she's not in a dream after all, but really, truly dead. When she arrives on Elsewhere, she meets her maternal grandmother, Betty, for the very first time. A woman who died at fifty from breast cancer, Betty is now a woman in her thirties--one of the first surprises Liz is in for is the fact that, on Elsewhere, lives are lived backward from the age of a person's death. Needless to say, this thought depresses Liz. She'll never be sixteen, never have a Massachusetts driver's license, never go to the prom or graduate from high school or go to college or get married. The only thing she has to look forward to is growing younger, until she returns to being an infant and is sent back to Earth to be born again. <BR/><BR/>Liz spends her first month on Elsewhere spending all of her time--and her grandmother's eternims, the currency used there--to watch her family, friends, and classmates back on Earth. She's soon a regular at the OD's, or Observation Decks, watching life on Earth pass her by. She's upset that her best friend, Zooey, didn't attend her funeral. Her parents are inconsolable, her younger brother, Alvy, tells jokes to get through the day, and her dog, Lucy, refuses to accept that Liz isn't coming back. <BR/><BR/>It takes awhile, but Liz finally realizes that spending hours upon hours at the OD's is not helping her adjust to life on Elsewhere. She finds a new friend in Owen, one of the detectives in charge of keeping the inhabitants of Elsewhere away from the Well, where contact with people on Earth is possible, but illegal. She once again befriends Thandi, a young girl killed on Earth by a stray bullet, who was her bunkmate on the SS Nile. She gets closer to grandmother Betty, finally takes a job in the Division of Domestic Animals helping recently departed pets find new owners, and seems to be finding a place on Elsewhere. <BR/><BR/>I really loved this story. One of the most delightful things in ELSEWHERE is the animals, especially the dogs. Liz, a natural at the language of Canine, is able to interpret for her four-legged friends, and finally understand everything they have to say. I can't truly imagine aging backwards, but Gabrielle Zevin has managed to make a truly believable story that is realistic, entertaining, and emotional, all at the same time. This is definitely a recommended read, and in all honesty, I would love to visit the land of Elsewhere again in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18