BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Elska (Horse Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

ELSKA is a horse story like no other. Mainly because this story comes straight from the horse's mouth. That's right; Hapka lets Elska tell her own story.

The book begins with Elska's birth and follows her as she grows and learns the way of an Icelandic mare. Jump int...
ELSKA is a horse story like no other. Mainly because this story comes straight from the horse's mouth. That's right; Hapka lets Elska tell her own story.

The book begins with Elska's birth and follows her as she grows and learns the way of an Icelandic mare. Jump into this book and follow this magnificent horse through training, growing, and even a daring rescue.

Reading ELSKA took me back to my childhood when I read horse books by Marguerite Henry. I have to say, I enjoyed Hapka's story as much today as I would have back then . . . maybe more.

If you have a horse lover in your life, trot on out and pick up a copy of this book for them. I am passing this book on to my nine-year-old and I'm sure she'll love it.

I look forward to future HORSE DIARIES books.

posted by TeensReadToo on May 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ShatteredSymphony to goldenstripe

Ok im shatterdsympony *she meowed she had pretty grey fur with white underbelly paws and dark grey stripes her unusal violet gaze glowing she sat down curling her tail around her paws

posted by 10406883 on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    ELSKA is a horse story like no other. Mainly because this story comes straight from the horse's mouth. That's right; Hapka lets Elska tell her own story.

    The book begins with Elska's birth and follows her as she grows and learns the way of an Icelandic mare. Jump into this book and follow this magnificent horse through training, growing, and even a daring rescue.

    Reading ELSKA took me back to my childhood when I read horse books by Marguerite Henry. I have to say, I enjoyed Hapka's story as much today as I would have back then . . . maybe more.

    If you have a horse lover in your life, trot on out and pick up a copy of this book for them. I am passing this book on to my nine-year-old and I'm sure she'll love it.

    I look forward to future HORSE DIARIES books.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    A great book!

    I would recomend this book for all horse and pony lovers every where. This is a story of a young pony and her owner. I will let you find out the rest because this should remain an adventure for you! Hope you like the book like I did!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    a good horse lover book!

    I read this book in 5th grade because I couldn't find a book that I settled with. I started the series and now don't won't to stop!A very good book for horse lovers! I would give it a try if you have loved horses and wanted them to tell you a story I would give this book a try!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    best friend

    i read this book over 5 times and i loved this book

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    best book ever

    i've read it alot and its amazing!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Loved it!

    LOVED IT!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Its Good

    This story is great. i luv it cuz well it has a lot of adventures and thrills. BUT I would ONLY recommend it to horse-lovers.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Awesome book! Anynimous

    I think that its an awesome book avnd that every girl should toatally have a chance to read it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    I was always curious on what happened next when i put this book down.I would recommend this book for all horse lovers,and girls who enjoy a series of related books!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Aprodite

    Prodite conecentrated. A huge thick moss bed was made "here sun lay down."

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Elska

    It is great!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    ACTUALLY A REVIEW

    This is NOT SOME STUPID NOT-REVIEW LIKE ONE OF THOSE FIRESTAR CLAN DUDES. If you are one of them, stop it and tell your other little buddies too. This is a very very very very very very very very very good book. I recommend it for you even if you dont like horses. Listen to me. Please.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Kids book!

    I purchased this book because it had good reviews - and the point of view was refreshing. However, I found the book to be brief and inspecific / indescriptive. Also, it was extremely brief and I would not reccomend it for anyone over 8.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Horse diaries:Elska

    So cool u will love it totaly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    A some!

    I can not what tell i can read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Awesome book

    Awesome book but i read it in like 26 minutes!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Elask

    Very good book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Annonomyous

    It was really good, but i wish it was longer and had more details about the horses life. Otherwise, good book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Best book

    I want this book for my nook but i know i like it beacause i read the hardcover book of this from my library

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    The series? :))

    So, I just purchased this book, and I hope I like it! I do luuv horses and, ( if you've ever heard of it, the Canterwood Crest series ) which is also about horses and their owners! Sooooo heart-pounding!!! So, if anyone has any advice for me about this book, I'd appreciate it! THANKS ~Livy <333

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6