Customer Reviews for

Elske

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Good

    Yes I agree the begining was a little gross but it had a nice ending and I enjoyed it. The plot was a little puzzling at first but if you read on it will soon become clear. I dont know if I would read it again but was still enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    Excellent... In My Opinion

    I found this book an interesting read. I'm addicted to all genres of heroine books. Women have the ability to express a kind of strength that men will never have. That isn't to say I'm opposed to love stories, as you might find here, and this one is a favourite of mine. I did not previously know that there were more Novels of the Kingdom, and am excited to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Huh!?!

    Okay, I couldn't even finish this book. I was just so confused. The plot made little sense and I just didn't get it. And the beginning was completely barbaric. The book was so random, and instead of being interested or drawn to the book, I was merely puzzled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    My least fav of the Novels of the Kingdom

    I love reading Voigt's Novels of the Kingdom, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed when I read this one. Voigt could have put a lot more interesting things in there and also taken a lot of boring stuff out to improve it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    fearless...strength

    a book that can gives you the strength and courage to live life. It will lead you to believe that a girl can be much more than 'just a girl'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Pretty good, but not as good as the others.

    This book was. . . interesting. It was probably my least favorite out of the Novels of the Kingdom. Voigt could have left some things out to make it more enjoyable. Overall it was a pretty good story though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    a stupendous and enthralling book

    this was the first book i ever borrowed from a library because it caught my eye (before this book i bought everything i read). The book enthralled to the point i could never put it down going on for hours off end reading. If you are looking for a book of heroism then this is for you. Elske's bravery and stubborness can be related to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    A must read book

    Thrilling and intriging this book will keep you glued to the pages to read nonstop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    A Must Read

    A very good and well written book, one you can read over and over. It's one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    disappointing

    I have to admit that I had expected allot more from this book. It's certainly thrilling at times, but it's underlying grotesqueness left me unable to really enjoy the characters. The only book in this series that I really enjoyed was On Fortune's Wheel. Elske seems to mirror the dak side portrayed in On the Wings of a Falcon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    Love it!

    This book has become one of my favorites. I've read it multiple times and would recommend it to anyone! I have to admit, I judge books by their covers and this one grabbed me. Ms. Voigt has definate talent. Her characters- Elske, Beriel, Dugald, and all the others- were believable and wonderfully written out. The ending was good but since the last 2 pages were an epilouge I was dissapointed because she could have used that to make the book longer or for a sequel. I loved this story! The main characters are strong, interesting, and do not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Great!

    I loved this book because it was so believable. Voigt really outdid herself with Elske. A truely magnificent adventure story, Elske is a must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    I loved this book!

    This book was outstanding! After the first couple of chapters I was completely enthralled in the intriguing tale of Elske's life. The story was expertly crafted, the dialog seemed natural, and the characters were all well developed. I really enjoyed it! And since it was the first book I've ever read by Voigt, it's safe to say that it definitely wasn't my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    VERY VERY GOOD BOOK

    WOW this book is about a girl that has an unexplainable personality,She is strong willed and a good person. If you like a mix of exciting history and a real time passer i recomend this book to any age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2001

    I really liked it.

    I thought this was the best book I've read in a long time. I thought the ending was kind of boring though also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    A Character Development Disapointment

    I loved this book, to a certain extent. I thought that it brought The Kingdom series to too abrupt of an end. The character movement advances too swiftly for you to be sure what events lead up to the change in Elske's heart. I also found the epilogue at the end a disappointment; however, I thought that the relationships between the characters were as superb as in any other Voigt book. A must read for any Jackaroo lover but not up to Voigt¿s usual standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    GOOD BOOK FOR FANTASY LOVERS

    This was a Really good book. It's filled with adventure, suspense, history, mythology, and a name of a girl that you can not pronounce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    WOW!

    I thought that this book was a wonderful story. It had just the right amount of truth in it to make is seem real. I loved how Elske didn't act like the usual 'damsle in distress' that we see so common today. I was glad when everything worked out with a believable somewhat happy ending. Thanx for listening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Cynthia Voigt does it again

    With a heroine who thinks for herself, speaks for herself, and knows how to take care of herself, Elske is a welcome addition to any library or bookshelf. Give this to any teen, female or male, and share the wonder of Cynthia Voigt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2