Customer Reviews for

Elvis and the Dearly Departed (Southern Cousins Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

TCB Baby! Great Read

Great story. Great characters. Lots of laughs. It definately leaves you ready for the next installment of the Southern Cousins Mystery Series. Elvis has a unique view of life and he's not afraid to share it. Between his capers with his newest conquest and his human ...
Great story. Great characters. Lots of laughs. It definately leaves you ready for the next installment of the Southern Cousins Mystery Series. Elvis has a unique view of life and he's not afraid to share it. Between his capers with his newest conquest and his human parents' escapades, the mystery of the missing Dr. Laton takes center stage. What Fun! Loved it.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Elvis!!!

Elvis and the Dearly Departed

Biography

Peggy Webb is the bestselling author of more than sixty novels. A former adjunct lecturer at Mississippi State University, she has won numerous writing awards, composes blues songs on her vintage baby grand and shares her ho...
Elvis and the Dearly Departed

Biography

Peggy Webb is the bestselling author of more than sixty novels. A former adjunct lecturer at Mississippi State University, she has won numerous writing awards, composes blues songs on her vintage baby grand and shares her home in Tupelo, Mississippi, with her chocolate Lab and a quirky muse who channels Elvis.

Synopsis from the Publisher

They say you can't get to Heaven without passing through the Eternal Rest Funeral Home. And no one gets into Eternal Rest without passing muster with Elvis-the basset hound who's convinced he's the reincarnation of the King of Rock `n' Roll. Brewing up a big ol' pitcher of Mississippi mystery, Peggy Webb's delightful new series is as intoxicating as the Delta breeze.

Normally, Callie Valentine Jones spends her days fixing up the hairdos of the dead, but when the corpse of local, prominent physician Dr. Leonard Laton goes missing, it's bad for business. So Callie and her oversexed cousin Lovie (Eternal Rest's resident wake caterer) have no choice but to go in hot pursuit of the recently embalmed, last seen bound for Vegas by way of downtown Tupelo.

Now Elvis may be nothin' but a hound dog, but he knows a mystery when he smells one. But keeping his human mom from wandering off the trail isn't easy when she's back in the arms of her on-again, off-again ex, Jack. Not to mention the angry mourners squabbling over the estate of the late doctor inside the not-so-restful halls of Eternal Rest. Or the French poodle sniffing around for a hunk of Elvis' burning love.

In Vegas, Callie and Lovie hit the jackpot when they find the dearly departed inside a freezer owned by his showgirl mistress, Bubble Malone. But they're luck runs out when Bubble decides to join her man in the afterlife. With the poisonous Laton family tree providing plenty of rotten suspects, Callie's determined to crack this case-with a little help from that irresistible piece of man she used to call her husband-and have a killer singing "Jailhouse Rock" in time for her next haircutting appointment.

My Review:

I wanted to take a little time off from my regular intense "Criminal Minds" murder/mystery type books and read something a little lighter. I chose Elvis and the Dearly Departed by Peggy Webb. This was a fun, light cozy mystery "Murder she Wrote" type of book with characters [family] you could relate to and follow. I especially enjoyed "Elvis" the dog's silly antics throughout the book. It definitely had some harebrained ideas, but that's what made it so entertaining. I will definitely read more books by Peggy Webb. What a great new series!! I gave this book a rating of "Great."

posted by lilk on January 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    TCB Baby! Great Read

    Great story. Great characters. Lots of laughs. It definately leaves you ready for the next installment of the Southern Cousins Mystery Series. Elvis has a unique view of life and he's not afraid to share it. Between his capers with his newest conquest and his human parents' escapades, the mystery of the missing Dr. Laton takes center stage. What Fun! Loved it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    A delightful mystery

    All the Elvis sightings in the world are bogus because he lives in a small Mississippi town reincarnated as a basset hound dog with all his memories intact. Right now he is torn between Daddy Jack Jones and Callie Valentine Jones, who both want custody of him. He observes and connects the events that Callie is not aware of including how her soon to be ex husband makes a living. She works in the family owned Eternal Rest Funeral Home. ----------- They are taking care of the late well-known Dr. Leonard Laton, whose will cuts off his children without a dime except for his adopted son Kevin who he left a million dollars. The rest of his fortune goes to Las Vegas stripper, his mistress Bubbles Malone. She makes a surprising visit to the funeral home. After she leaves, Laton¿s corpse disappears. Callie and cousin Lovie follow Bubbles and they hope to find Leonard in Vegas. They find a body in a deep freezer owned by Bubbles, but when they open it they find the murdered body of Bubbles. The two learn the body of Laton reappeared and is back in its¿ coffin at the funeral home, but Callie and Lovie have to figure out who killed Bubbles which means investigating the ugly Laton family.-------------------- Readers will enjoy this amusing amateur sleuth as Elvis¿ sidebar commentaries make for a humorous reincarnated celeb lit mystery. In some ways the whodunit plot supports the antics of the characters especially the cousins, Jack, Elvis and the corpses. Peggy Webb provides a light heard hilarious romp as Elvis can¿t even find blue suede shoes that fit his paws. ------------ Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    great

    being from the south i recognize some of these characters. I think all small southern towns have at least one or two CHARACTERS!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Elvis!!!

    Elvis and the Dearly Departed

    Biography

    Peggy Webb is the bestselling author of more than sixty novels. A former adjunct lecturer at Mississippi State University, she has won numerous writing awards, composes blues songs on her vintage baby grand and shares her home in Tupelo, Mississippi, with her chocolate Lab and a quirky muse who channels Elvis.

    Synopsis from the Publisher

    They say you can't get to Heaven without passing through the Eternal Rest Funeral Home. And no one gets into Eternal Rest without passing muster with Elvis-the basset hound who's convinced he's the reincarnation of the King of Rock `n' Roll. Brewing up a big ol' pitcher of Mississippi mystery, Peggy Webb's delightful new series is as intoxicating as the Delta breeze.

    Normally, Callie Valentine Jones spends her days fixing up the hairdos of the dead, but when the corpse of local, prominent physician Dr. Leonard Laton goes missing, it's bad for business. So Callie and her oversexed cousin Lovie (Eternal Rest's resident wake caterer) have no choice but to go in hot pursuit of the recently embalmed, last seen bound for Vegas by way of downtown Tupelo.

    Now Elvis may be nothin' but a hound dog, but he knows a mystery when he smells one. But keeping his human mom from wandering off the trail isn't easy when she's back in the arms of her on-again, off-again ex, Jack. Not to mention the angry mourners squabbling over the estate of the late doctor inside the not-so-restful halls of Eternal Rest. Or the French poodle sniffing around for a hunk of Elvis' burning love.

    In Vegas, Callie and Lovie hit the jackpot when they find the dearly departed inside a freezer owned by his showgirl mistress, Bubble Malone. But they're luck runs out when Bubble decides to join her man in the afterlife. With the poisonous Laton family tree providing plenty of rotten suspects, Callie's determined to crack this case-with a little help from that irresistible piece of man she used to call her husband-and have a killer singing "Jailhouse Rock" in time for her next haircutting appointment.

    My Review:

    I wanted to take a little time off from my regular intense "Criminal Minds" murder/mystery type books and read something a little lighter. I chose Elvis and the Dearly Departed by Peggy Webb. This was a fun, light cozy mystery "Murder she Wrote" type of book with characters [family] you could relate to and follow. I especially enjoyed "Elvis" the dog's silly antics throughout the book. It definitely had some harebrained ideas, but that's what made it so entertaining. I will definitely read more books by Peggy Webb. What a great new series!! I gave this book a rating of "Great."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    Cute, Clean, Basset Fun

    In what's apparently the first in the series, we follow the adventures of two grown-up Southern girl cousins as they involve themselves in other people's business and each other's. Both are characters, both have issues, both have romantic problems, both have bossy family and nosy acquaintances, and both are determined to do whatever seems right at the time, no matter how dangerous or ridiculous (as in picture the logistics involved with carting the frozen body of a dead stripper on a non-sanctioned cross-county trip). Told in part by Callie -cousin number one- and in part by Callie's corpulent and flamboyant basset hound Elvis, who is absolutely for certain that he is THE King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Easy and fun to read

    Usually I am not too keen on reading a book, even fiction, with a super natural element or animals that make commentary, but this was cleverly written and very humorous at times. Occasionally we need to sit back, relax and not take life too seriously. And my great affection for Basset Hounds probably had a lot to do with my enjoyment of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Light reading for a rainy day

    Silly but enjoyable fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    This page counter found it a cozy read

    In the true southern funny mishmash of characters you are glad arent related to you. If you dont like grits what csn one say. A genre combo with a talking dog is a turn off to many. I gets harder each year to come up with combos. Lincoln's doctor's dog . Another page counter fibds this one a short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    This is the start of a beautifully crafted, hillarious series

    Who would think that running the best mortuary in Tupelo could result in such unbelievable hijinx. When the rich and recently departed patriarch disappears from his coffin before he can be put in the ground but after he excludes his children from inheriting his vast fortune in favor of charities and exotic dancers, the two cousins are determined to save the family business and it's impeccable reputation. But you are in the birthplace of the king of rock and roll. You get to meet the King, otherwise reincarnated as Callie Valentin Jones' lovable basset hound, Elvis. Elvis has a nose for trouble and sniffing out the source of trouble all while trying to reunite his human Mom, Callie and her soon to be ex the human Dad, Jack. If Jack and Callie can ever agree on custody of Elvis, the divorce could be done but who could ever give up custodial rights to such a clever hound...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    One of my favorite books

    I checked this book out twice from the library and finally decided to purchase it for my NOOK. I used to own a basset hound so the character of Elvis is a hoot for me.

    It's a great light summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Great Story

    When a corpse comes up missing and her beloved Bassett Hound Elvis is missing too, Callie is in the middle of a very interesting mystery. Toss in some great characters, a loving estranged husband and a crazy family and you get a very entertaining story. FYI: Elvis has not left the building,he just looks a bit different but it is Elvis. Greatbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Nice read for a lazy weekend.

    I must admit that Elvis is what keeps the story interesting (IMHO). Being an animal lover, the enjoyment of his translation of events made me giggle and kept me interested. The story line was great and made it very easy to get involved with all the characters of the book. Looking forward to reading the next mystery in this series. I would highly suggest this title for a lazy weekend read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    This book had me giggling the whole time

    Yea baby!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Entertaining Read

    Recognizable characters with a fast moving plot. Loved the dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    You need to read this!

    Got to love a book that refers to ELVIS!!!! Awesome, a great book to read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Southern Humor

    This is a very cute, funny mystery! Some of the Southern expressions brought back wonderful memories.
    Elvis, The King, reincarnated as a Bassett hound is the narrator and voice of reason. He is the one with the whole picture, but he ain't talking.
    Nice easy and quick book to consume. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Quite funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you like funny, wacky and seriously crazy mysteries, this is for you. I enjoyed this read a lot. I look forward to more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    change of pace

    Normally I read books by Vince Flynn and Brad Thor, but thought I would try something different and light. This book fit the bill. It was funny, cute and a real southern style read. But it was also a mystery. It was light reading but it kept your interest throughout the book. Loved the characters and especially Elvis. If you want a change of pace, this is the book, and if you just want a good book, this is it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    JUST STARTED READING THE BOOK

    I cannot write an honest review as I have just started reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4