Customer Reviews for

Emancipating Andie

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    A good book!

    A slow start, but a great ending! Woth the read! Love this author! Coming Home was my favorie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Great book.

    Loved chase, the banter he and andie was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is just pure reading pleasure. It starts slow and bui

    This book is just pure reading pleasure. It starts slow and builds up with lots of emotion. It is everything you want in a novel. A story with curves and detours that eventually ends in a HEA! Priscilla Glenn is the master of characterization and story telling. I love her books and can't wait for her next one. Chase is the perfect hero: “I didn’t want to be the kind of guy who had no regrets. Honestly, I wouldn’t trust someone who had no regrets. It means that they’ve never learned from their mistakes, or they’re too arrogant to realize they’ve made them in the first place … I think having regrets makes us better people … So…instead of having no regrets, we should know our regrets … Wear them like a bade of lessons learned … If we can’t recognize when we’ve messed up, then how will we know when we’ve gotten it right?”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Love it

    Loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. It w

    3.5 stars




    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. It was a sweet read that I read every free chance I had.




    Andie is your typical straight-laced main character. She doesn’t deviate from the plan. She doesn’t stray off the course. She has a path and she stays on it. That is until she meets Chase, the typical bad-boy, I don’t care what anyone else thinks character. And we have Colin, the sweet, predictable, safe boyfriend.




    These three characters make up a sweet story that was enjoyable to read. The two main characters have pasts that I wouldn’t have guessed. I won’t go into details but their back stories were unexpected to me but those pasts really helped develop these individuals into who they are today. It just goes to show that you never know who a person really is until you get to know them and what they have been through. The old “walk a mile in their shoes” adage comes to mind as well.




    I loved Chase. He wants to continue to be the bad guy but you know he really isn’t. Chase is trying not to be the person his father always said her was. Andie is sweet but guarded. Her past is no laughing matter. She has dealt with this amazingly well. These two should not go together. But a road trip to Florida forces each of them to learn a lot about each other and themselves.




    Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book if you like easy reads with an engaging story.




    Will I read it again: I will not.




    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Priscilla Glenn's growth as an author is evident in this latest ebook.

    I was not disappointed with this author's second novel. I read "Emancipating Andie" right after reading her first novel. The writing, as well as the story line, was much better than "Back to You." It was an easy read, and I would recommend this book to anyone looking for some relaxing "down time."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Great book

    Kept me interested beginning to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    what a fabulous read and beautiful story.,this story is a must h

    what a fabulous read and beautiful story.,this story is a must have and it is one of those book that will always have 
     place in your heart and library ... a must read and own for sure <3  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    :)

    Loved this!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    4.5 stars for me ;-) I want to start off by saying how excit

    4.5 stars for me ;-)




    I want to start off by saying how excited I was to hear that Priscilla Glenn was releasing a new novel.  I became a BIG fan of Priscilla’s after reading her first novel “Back to You”, which is one of my favorite reads.  
     
    I love Priscilla’s writing style it is just so smooth and everything just flows.  I am also a huge fan of a love story….and Priscilla has a way of writing one that grabs my attention and keeps me hopeful and leaves me keeping my fingers crossed that they get their happily ever after. 




    <i><b>“Love with your head, and you’ll be safe. Love with anything else, and you’re in big trouble”</b></i>
     




    Andie is raised to believe to love with your head.  So, Andie wants safety, she wants routine, she does not want to step out of the box.  She has Colin, who seems to be the best boyfriend, he is attractive, he is sweet and he is stable…..BUT is she loving with her head or something else and is it enough?




    Ok, let’s talk about Chase…swoon… Colin and Chase are best friends, and they are total opposites.  I loved watching the banter between Chase and Andie (and yes, she was a bit uptight!), but I loved watching Chase wear her down and the friendship/relationship develop while Chase helped Andie find herself…..even though she did not know she was looking.  As we are back to a love triangle type of story, it was not really angsty for me…at least not to the point of frustration. Which is a plus on this one!  The chemistry was certainly there between these two and I could not wait to find out when (and if?) they were going to act on it…..how far does their loyalty go to Colin?  Is it worth the risk of losing it all to love with other than your head?




    This was a great book to curl up to and I would happily recommend it.  Priscilla is one of those authors that I will jump to read anything she writes.  So, if you have not read a book by Priscilla yet, I recommend that you do that soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Emancipating Andie is a story of self-discovery, and of falling

    Emancipating Andie is a story of self-discovery, and of falling in love. Falling in love with someone who has unwavering belief , and challenges you to stop being safe and start living. Emancipating Andie is a patient and honest story of two people who make a true connection, and fall in love...despite the logic.



    Slow Burn. Those are the words largely define Emancipating Andie, for me. This is a story that isn't necessarily slow paced, but takes its time to establish the connection between Andie and Chase. This isn't a case of two people who immediately fall in love and then spend the story trying to find a way to be together. This is a story of two people who seem to be complete opposites, and completely wrong for each other. Two people, who when pushed into spending time together, start to see beyond the exterior, and find the person who challenges, believes, and makes the other feel alive. This is a story of two people who find a connection, but out of a sense of responsibility and respect, do not cross that line into betrayal. You won't be able to help yourself from rightfully hoping Andie and Chase eventually end up together.

    Chase and Andie were both perfect characters. And by perfect, I don't mean their actions, I mean that I loved them and loved reading their story so much. I'm not going to sit here and analyze them for my review, that's no fun for you and it takes the fun out of the story for me. But I will say that Andie and Chase both experience pain and happiness, revelations and change. Those type of experiences are what make characters for me. I don't need them to be perfect, I need them to be real.



    A lot of readers are wary of books with cheating. That's understandable. Emancipating Andie is not a book about cheating, but a book about falling in love, and realizing that regardless of ending up with this person you're falling in love with, you don't belong in the relationship you're in.(This makes sense in my head. I hope it makes sense here.) It was a gorgeous portrayal of a young woman who has played it safe, and who finds the courage to truly live her life. Of a man who refuses to betray a friendship, no matter how badly he's hurt in the process. I would also like to point out that I liked Glenn not making Colin into the bad guy, giving Andie and Chase an easy way out. Because the fact is, Colin wasn't a bad guy at all, he just wasn't the right person for Andie, and she's not for him either.



    Emancipating Andie is the second of Priscilla Glenn's books I've read and the second I've fallen in love with. In both instances, I found myself becoming overwhelmed by the characters and their story. The writing is so subtle, yet gorgeous and engaging. There was gorgeous passage in which I actually sat my Kindle down and said aloud (to myself) &quot;That was maybe the most romantic love scene I have ever read.&quot; I was in awe because it wasn't full of romantic words or graphic at all. It was passionate, and full of all the emotions and love we all should experience in our lives.


    Emancipating Andie is a story that I will remember as beautiful, enlightening, inspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Priscilla Glenn does it again. She created a beautiful story tha

    Priscilla Glenn does it again. She created a beautiful story that captured my heart. One of the things I appreciate the most about Glenn's writing, is the way she brings you into the story. She's a builder. The story develops slowly, but maintains the readers curiosity. I have to mention that it was nice to read a stand alone too. I'm a big fan of series, but I was happy knowing that Andie and Chase had their happy ending. 




    There are so many things about Andie that I can relate to. I'm a very structured person. I wouldn't say that I follow a rigid schedule, but I I don't ever like feeling out of balance. Of course, having kids has mellowed me out a bit, but still...I could relate to Andie and her need for organization in her life. I felt like it was a way for her to feel in control of her life. Once we learned why Andie was that way, it made complete sense. Having someone like Chase in her life was good for her. I felt like Chase really saw Andie. 




    I loved Chase. He comes across a bit snarky in the beginning, but he won me over pretty quickly. I think he used that snark to cover up who he really was. Because of his own past, he's put up a guard. But really...he's caring, sweet, sexy, and compassionate. I loved how he interacted with Andie. He made me laugh and he made me swoon. 




    Overall, I really enjoyed Emancipating Andie. The story isn't overly complicated, but I liked that. There was just enough conflict to keep things interesting. And I have to say that once I reached the half way point in the book, the story took off for me. I was glued to the end. With likable characters and an enjoyable story line, you can't go wrong. 




    Quotes:
    ~&quot;Andromeda,&quot; he said softly, and she stilled, looking up at him. &quot;I want you. And I'm not just talking about sex. I want you in every way. But...you deserve better than what I can offer you. He can give you things, a future and a life that I just...&quot; He trailed off, shaking his head. &quot;I'm not Colin,&quot; he finally said. &quot;There's a good chance I'll f*ck this up, and then it will have all been for nothing, and you'll wish that you had--&quot;-Loc 2872




    ~Every other sexual experience he's had before this seemed like a fraud, like he's been settling his whole life without knowing it; he though he had understood, he thought he's know what it meant to experience a woman, but Chase realized then that he had no idea what intimacy felt like until this moment.-loc 2956

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Priscilla Glenn you have done it again. Emancipating Andie is on

    Priscilla Glenn you have done it again. Emancipating Andie is one of the most beautifully written books I've ever read. Chase is the unthinkable hero, who is going to make readers beg for more. So real, honest, smart, free spirited, and so full of passion. Loved it (yes, I stayed up until 4:30 am reading). Full review to be posted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great

    I loved this:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1