Customer Reviews for

Ember (X) (Death Collectors, #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received an ARC ecopy of this book for participating in the bl

    I received an ARC ecopy of this book for participating in the blog tour this month. I will give an honest review which is in now way influenced by receiving a free copy of this book. I want to than Jessica and SupaGurl Tours for providing me with a copy.

    I will be honest and say that I actually read the blurb for this one when I first added it to my TBR (which was way before I was asked to participate in the blog tour). I rarely read the blurb, but the cover just looked to good to pass up and I needed to know if it would be worth the read. It sounded really interesting, right up my ally actually with having loved Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi and this having a similar theme, so I could not wait to read it once I found out I had a spot on the tour!

    Blurb from Goodreads:
    What if you knew when someone was going to die?
    For seventeen-year-old Ember, life is death. With a simple touch, she knows when someone will die. It’s her curse and the reason she secludes herself from the world. The only person who knows her secret is her best friend Raven.
    Then she meets Asher Morgan. He’s gorgeous, mysterious, and is the only person Ember can't sense death from. So when he pushes into her life, she doesn’t mind.
    But when unexplained deaths start to haunt her town, Ember starts questioning why she can’t sense Asher's death and what he may be hiding

    Let me start by saying that the cover of this book is just totally awesome. It is the perfect picture of how I felt Ember would look! And the color scheme is just beautiful. So who would not be immediately drawn to this book just by looking at the cover?

    Next I need to discuss the characters.
    First there's Ember. She is not at all what I would have thought she would be. As a Goth girl, I thought she would be a bit more morbid, a bit more depressed, but what do I know of Goth. She actually struck me as a very typical teenage girl who just liked to dress a bit funky. She's a longer for sure, although she does have one good friend who has seemed to stand by her side. Since she's "cursed" with "experiencing" anyone's death who touches her, it makes sense that she is a bit withdrawn from others and likes to kind of keep to herself. At the same time, she's this beautiful creature, who doesn't have a clue that she's pretty or that she might attract the attention of others for more reasons than her just being a little out of the ordinary. I love that Ember is strong and able to take care of herself, and her family when needed.
    Next there's Raven, I don't get much from her. To me she certainly seems a bit self-centered, but you can see that she does care for Ember in her own way. Besides trying to figure out how she looks in my mind, I felt she was actually a bit flat. But I also realize that she's not a huge part of the story, so the focus certainly was not meant to be on her. I did feel like I couldn't trust Raven, like there was something she was holding back throughout the entire story. She even kind of mentions it at one point, but she never lets Ember know exactly what it is.
    Then we meet Asher. Not your typical "hunky" teenage YA guy for sure. He's also this Goth kind of guy, with piercings and tattoos, dark hair and clothing to match. not normally my type of attraction, and yet I felt my self completely and totally pulled to him. He's very mysterious, keeping secrets from Ember and telling her that in time she will get to know him, when she's ready for that information. And the fact that he and Ember can touch makes their relationship that much more tantalizing as she finally gets to fell what it's like to not have someone's death omen thrown in her face every time she touches them.
    And all of a sudden there is a love triangle thrown in in the form of Cameron. He's totally not Ember's type: blond, tanned, handsome, cocky, dresses like he's walked out of GQ magazine. And she certainly doesn't think he would be attracted to her, yet he is. But, like Asher, he exudes this mysteriousness that has her confused. And, lo and behold, like Asher, Cameron can also touch Ember, although we don't find this out until later as he seems to specifically avoid touching her directly for a long while.
    The supporting characters give us a look into Ember's life, which is by no means perfect. Actually, it's so far from perfect you certainly feel total empathy for her and her "curse."

    The storyline is like nothing I have ever read. Sure, you feel that there will be some kind of paranormal element, seeing as Ember sees death omens from people. But I certainly did not expect it to take the turn it took. I thought for sure anyone she would meet would just have the same power as her, more like Xmen than creatures you only read about in books. But it didn't take that turn, it took a turn to angels and grim reapers and things that I have not read about before. It has such a great creaptastic appeal, I was captivated.

    Jessica's writing is outstanding. It flows so easily, without breaking anywhere at all. Each chapters seamlessly fits with the next, keeping you wanting more. I had a hard time finding a place to stop as I really did want to know what was going to happen next! Probably the reason it took me only one day to read it! Sorensen adequately lays out the dark life that is Ember's with her use of poetry and art. Her writing is gripping and fast paced, keeping you on the edge of your seat for sure.

    I am excited this is series. The ending left things open, but wasn't enough of a cliffhanger to annoy me. I am really looking forward to reading what comes next for Ember.

    5 out of 5 stars!

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    A great Start to a new Series

    I enjoyed this book from cover to cover it was a great start to this series. Ember's life has been rough for pretty much her whole life yet she continues to fight and you are routing for her from the start. I can't wait to see what capable of through this series. You can't forget the guys in this story who defiantly don't fail to keep things interesting. Can't wait for the next book in this series!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Gripping and Fascinating

    Very origional....read it all in one sitting. Not a big fan of YA genre but this should satisfy readers of all ages. Darker and scarier than I expected but in a good way. Hoping for a sequel.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was give this book to review by Jessica Sorensen!!!! I wanna s

    I was give this book to review by Jessica Sorensen!!!! I wanna start out with ladies and gentlemen Jessica has done it again! Ember is very different than any other book Jessica has written, in a very great way! I was up until 3 am finishing this book! It's about a girl named Ember who, by touching people, can see their deaths. You follow Ember on all her ups and downs as she struggles to deal with the disappearances that point to her, figure out which boy is the right one, deal with her best friend and her broken family. I personally think Ember is a strong character and I like how she just take charge and not let a boy do it for her. She has caught the interest of Asher, who has dark hair, ashy eyes super sweet and sounds very yummy, and Cameron who has light hair, dark eyes and very cocky,( I dont trust him!). She then has to figure out which one is tricking her and messing up her life and which one really wants to be with her. You then have her "best friend" Raven, I am not a fan of her myself but she is well written as a character. I find her needy rude and annoying, I think something is going on with her and can't wait to find out! Ember then has to deal with her issues of her mother, blaming her for everything going wrong in their lifes. I really just wanted to give poor Ember a hug, she had no one to turn to for help. I really love the whole Grim Reaper/Death Angels in a war story line in this book! I can not wait to see what way Jessica decides to take this. This might be one of the few books that I loved the ending, and I was left hanging on for more! I am foaming at the mouth for book 2!! Can't wait!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great new series

    Loved it. Its going to be a great new series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Highly Addictive!!!

    Jessica knocks it out of the park with another amazing series!!! Personally I think this book deserves 6 stars but the highest it will let me select is 5. ;)

    From the first sentence I was pulled into this book, and I found it impossible to put it down. I absolutely fell in love with the characters and the story that unfolded. I am so excited for the second book in this series to come out so that I can see how this story continues.

    This book is one that I HIGHLY recommend, and I know that you will enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks again Jessica for another addictive, well written series!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I love Jessica Sorenson's books and there is no exception with E

    I love Jessica Sorenson's books and there is no exception with Ember. I read this book as soon as I bought it. I could not bring myself to set it down. I really cannot wait for the next book in the series to come out and will be reading Ember again. Jessica really knows how to captivate an audience. I promise that you won't be able to put this book down once you start reading it. You will fall in love with the characters and feel their pain.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Aaaahhh!!

    I absoutely love this book!! I was kind of confused when Jessica began talking about Kelsey and Mackenzie?? Maybe she thought they were the same person?? I dont know.....but i love the whole subject it revolves around and the love story was sooooo intense. Go Asher!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Yeah! Seriously, 5 Stars! I knew from the very first page when w

    Yeah! Seriously, 5 Stars! I knew from the very first page when we meet Emmy and she's attuned to death and ravens, that this was going to be a book I seriously could not put down. All I know, this is a book for Miss Kelly McGeer. It's eery, and creepy, and a bit dark, but I loved every minute of it.

    Finally, technical difficulties solved. I loved Ember so much, but I have to admit that I am a sucker for angels, death, and good versus evil scenarios. Jessica put a neat little spin on what could have turned out to be another ordinary book about angels. She created mythology revolving around Angels of Death and the Grim Reaper. I love that she created a Grim Angel who was supposed to be the balance between the Angels of Death who collected the good souls and the Reapers who collected the bad souls. Somewhere in the past, rules had been broken and one group was steeling souls that weren't theirs to collect.

    Ember was cursed. With one single touch, she could tell how someone would die and when. She had other powers that she was just discovering. She'd grown up being able to feel the "death omen" as she called it and had never interfered in another's destiny, until her best friend's end drew near. Unfortunately, she wasn't able to help, but someone else managed to fix the situation for her and would be punished for his involvement. In fact, so many rules were broken by the end of the story, I'm surprised anyone survived.

    I'll admit to staying a little confused between Asher and Cameron during most of the book, well, actually until the very end. Jessica kept you up in the air as to which yummy, yummy guy played on which team. Who was the Grim Reaper and who was the Angel of Death. Just as I began to trust one, something weird would happen and I would decide he was the bad guy, then Jessica would switch the tables and make you trust the other one before she ripped the rug out from underneath you.

    Admittedly, Jessica's writing pulled me in from the very first page and kept me enraptured to the very last page. This book is not a light read, you need to have quiet time and be able to concentrate on what is happening inside the story, because everyone has something to hide, and I do mean everyone. When I admitted to being confused, this was not a problem with the writing, this is how Jessica kept your attention, making you question everything someone said or someone did.

    And that darn raven had me guessing constantly. Anyone who knows me, knows how much I love Ravens and the many different stories that accompany their existence. In Ember, they are portrayed as announcers of death...which I absolutely loved.

    When you are looking for a dark and creepy read, huddle down in a corner with Ember. I promise you will not be disappointed.

    *I have never met, nor corresponded with Jessica Sorensen at any given time. I use her name only to refer to her writing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Best one yet

    Jessica you have captured my reading heart completely. This one is the One! I love it. It is dark and suspenseful, keeps u wanting more. I dont want to say much, but this is a must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    This book surprised me! Expect the unexpected! I am a big Jess

    This book surprised me! Expect the unexpected! I am a big Jessica Sorensen fan and this story does not disappoint.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. Its one of my favorites so far from

    I really enjoyed this book. Its one of my favorites so far from Jessica. It had a great story and the characters were interesting. I think Asher and Cameron played great opposites. I can,t wait to see how Ember handles the situation. Who will win good? Evil? I am interested in finding out what role her brother is playing as well. Great start to another great series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    a must read

    Couldn't put it down. Lots of twists and turns good, evil, right. wrong and of course love. This story is fun and original and doesn't dissapoint. Can't wait for the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    A must read!

    This book will captivate you from beginning to end. You enter a different world when you read Ember. You will fall in love with Asher with out a doubt. Pick it up and you will see!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jessica Sorensen has done it again... I truly loved this book a

    Jessica Sorensen has done it again...
    I truly loved this book and i will be rereading it in the future. I couldnt put it down, i can not wait for the next one.
    Thank you for writing your wonderful books. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Ember Death Collectors

    I though this was a very good story. The plot kept you wondering what was going to happen next. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Wonderful job Jessica!!

    Amazing book! Enough said. From the original storyline to the characters it was truely a great read. I have read other books by Jessica and they are all wonderful. Definately looking for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Love

    I am falling in love with this aurthor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    BEST AUTHOR EVER!!!!!

    I have read every book Jessica Sorensen has out & available to read!! I CANNOT GET ENOUGH!! Normally, I do not read this "style of writing". However, she writes so well, you don't want to put your book down.
    I simply cannot wait for a new book to come out written by her !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Awsome

    Jessica has out done herself again. A must read! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11