Customer Reviews for

Ember: A prequel to Firelight

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

GMTA (Arlena) Reviews "Ember" By Kristen Callihan 4 Stars

"Ember" by Kristen Calliahan was a quick paranormal romance read. The characters of importance .. or the hero and heroine are Miranda and Archer. In this novel we learn of Miranda's first love (Martin), why her family lost their fortune and why her father (Hector Ellis)...
"Ember" by Kristen Calliahan was a quick paranormal romance read. The characters of importance .. or the hero and heroine are Miranda and Archer. In this novel we learn of Miranda's first love (Martin), why her family lost their fortune and why her father (Hector Ellis) has her to steals(picking pockets) and then of Archer coming into her life. There are many questions that are answered during the read such as why did Miranda's father blames her of for the loss of their fortune and just what happened with Martin? Who was Billy? What's with the mask that Archer wears and what superpowers does he have? We will see Archer who is badly scarred is just trying to find a cure for himself and come home to London to claim his love. Kristen Calliahan did a good job in letting the reader get to really know and understand Miranda. Getting these two people (Miranda and Archer) together was truly a work of art. In the end you are in for a good read. We find out when Archer returns to London just what happens... you will will only have to pick up "Ember" to find out. I would recommend it as a good paranormal read.

posted by arlenadean on February 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The author has an excellent plot, but needs an over 18 warning o

The author has an excellent plot, but needs an over 18 warning on the sex scenes. Why is it anyone born after 1980 thinks going into great graphic detail about p*b*c hair tingling and involved descriptions of body parts is sexy? It is just gross. Because of the disgu...
The author has an excellent plot, but needs an over 18 warning on the sex scenes. Why is it anyone born after 1980 thinks going into great graphic detail about p*b*c hair tingling and involved descriptions of body parts is sexy? It is just gross. Because of the disgusting detailed not a bit sexy sex scene I will not be buying the Firelight book or any other book by this author. I would like to because when she isn't making people want to puke after reading the sex scenes, she has a good plot and interesting story line.

posted by PepperPot on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    GMTA (Arlena) Reviews "Ember" By Kristen Callihan 4 Stars

    "Ember" by Kristen Calliahan was a quick paranormal romance read. The characters of importance .. or the hero and heroine are Miranda and Archer. In this novel we learn of Miranda's first love (Martin), why her family lost their fortune and why her father (Hector Ellis) has her to steals(picking pockets) and then of Archer coming into her life. There are many questions that are answered during the read such as why did Miranda's father blames her of for the loss of their fortune and just what happened with Martin? Who was Billy? What's with the mask that Archer wears and what superpowers does he have? We will see Archer who is badly scarred is just trying to find a cure for himself and come home to London to claim his love. Kristen Calliahan did a good job in letting the reader get to really know and understand Miranda. Getting these two people (Miranda and Archer) together was truly a work of art. In the end you are in for a good read. We find out when Archer returns to London just what happens... you will will only have to pick up "Ember" to find out. I would recommend it as a good paranormal read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting!

    To say that I am intrigued would be an understatement. I am very, very, very eager to find out why Miranda's father blames her for his loss and what he does with the money Miranda makes him from picking pockets. I want to know what causes Archer to hind behind a mask, and what causes the bond between Miranda and Archer. I want to know what "super power(s)" Archer has. And the biggest shocker to me is that I am not a huge sci-fi paranormal fan, but find that this book has me intrigued. This is only a prequel and I am eagerly looking forward to reading Firelight, which continues Miranda and Archer's story.

    This is Kristen Callihan's first story/novella. If Firelight, her first book, is anything like Ember then we may have the next big thing in paranormal/sci-fi.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Awesome series

    This is not needed to read the series, but it is extremely helpful, helps fill in the history/time gaps in the first book FIRELIGHT? Highly recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ember, a prequel for Firelight, answers questions readers may ha

    Ember, a prequel for Firelight, answers questions readers may have been wondering about. For instance, readers learn why Miranda and Martin never married and what happened the night Miranda sealed her family’s fate.

    The back and forth between Miranda and Lord Archer was great because it was like seeing what each was doing at about the same time. I loved how both Miranda and Archer meant more to each other than they were willing to admit to themselves.

    After reading Ember, I can see why Miranda and Archer’s relationship was so explosive. Ember also helps explain some of the worries that the characters have in Firelight, like why Miranda’s so reluctant to use her power.

    I’m glad I waited until after reading Firelight to read Ember. I already knew who the characters were to each other and whenever the characters said something foreshadowing an event in Firelight, I knew just what they were talking about.

    *eGalley provided by Netgalley on behalf of Forever, an imprint of Grand Central Publishing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    The author has an excellent plot, but needs an over 18 warning o

    The author has an excellent plot, but needs an over 18 warning on the sex scenes. Why is it anyone born after 1980 thinks going into great graphic detail about p*b*c hair tingling and involved descriptions of body parts is sexy? It is just gross. Because of the disgusting detailed not a bit sexy sex scene I will not be buying the Firelight book or any other book by this author. I would like to because when she isn't making people want to puke after reading the sex scenes, she has a good plot and interesting story line.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Fun Intro to Firelight

    While waiting for Firelight to be available at the library, I picked up this prequel to Firelight.

    Being a novella, there wasn't a huge amount of room for character and world building, but it did enough to get me interested in where the characters go from here.

    After reading Firelight, I would recommend reading this after the first book rather than before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    What a great short story! I love the background we get from Arch

    What a great short story! I love the background we get from Archer and Miranda- it helps to mould their personalities and make you care for them more in Firelight. I'm very excited to see what Callihan has in store for us in the future! Definitely recommend if you like intrigue, paranormal and historical romance. I can't put her books down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting and intriguing start to Firelight. Miranda and Archer m

    Exciting and intriguing start to Firelight. Miranda and Archer make a great couple. Archer wears a mask ( reminds me of Phantom of the Opera) and leaves one to wonder what exactly he is hiding.... Miranda's ability to create/manipulate fire causes her to cause harm but what happens next proves she still has a heart.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Fabulous series start

    This prequel confirms Dark London as my new series to adore, reread and devour.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Ravenflight

    Go to ash res 2 to read my full bio. It is labeled ravenpaw though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Fawnsplash

    A light brown tabby she cat with white paws and underbelly with green eyes. Wants a mate and kits!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Lionfire

    Age-eight moons Rank-senior warrior Apperencie-ginger pelt with yellow underbelly.Kind and gentle, but strict if you break the rules.Here when the origanal Ashclan formed.Would like to be deputy. Apprentices-Ravenpaw/Ravenflight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Sandkit and co.

    NAME Sandkit.<p>
    GENDER shekit.<p>
    AGE almost a moon.<p>
    LOOKS a ginger and white shekit and green eyes.<p>
    MATE/CRUSH/KITS none none and none.<p>
    KIN Hollyleaf, adoptive mother, Pantherkit, adoptive brother, Waspkit, adoptive brother, and Cougarkit, adoptive brother.<p>
    NAME Pantherkit.<p>
    GENDER tom.<p>
    AGE just past newborn.<p>
    LOOKS pure black tom with yellow eyes and a tan tailtip.<p>
    MATE/CRUSH/KITS none none and none.<p>
    KIN Hollyleaf, mother, Sandkit, adoptive sister, Cougarkit, brother and Waspkit, brother.<p>
    NAME Heatherfur.<p>
    GENDER shecat.<p>
    AGE 14 moons.<p>
    LOOKS light brown shecat with green eyes and a white front paw.<p>
    MATE/CRUSH/KITS looking none and none.<p>
    KIN unknown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Purplekit bio

    Name: purplekit gender: male age: 4 moons old. fur: black. Eyes: purple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Tigerkit

    Burrgleams kit. Tortoiseshell she with eyes that change color according to her mood one moon. Now go away and stop stalking me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Emberstorm bio

    Ember storm is a light brown tabby with multicolor eyes of amber and green. She haas no apprentice,kits,mate,or crush. She is a warrior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Shatteredkit

    Name: Shatteredkit<br>
    Age: 1 &half moons<br>
    Mate: i'm a kit, excuse me.<br>
    Crush: not telling. Anyway, why would l?<br>
    Kits: you are sick. <br>
    Appearance: very small shekit with black-and-white splotched fur and big blue violet eyes. <br>
    Personality: fun, sweet, happy, passionate, brave. Would defend AshClan with her life- if only she knew how to fight.<br>
    History: was abandoned at The Sun Trail in the warriors books with a broken leg. Was found by Ashstar and taken to the AshClan camp, where she was given nourishment and medical treatment. Was adopted by EmberStreak and Burrgleam, whom she owes a lot to. <br>
    Likes: her parents, her crush, swimming, fish, napping, playing mossball<br>
    Hates: BloodClan, godmodders

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Tanglepaw

    Name•Tanglepaw
    Dream Name•Tanglethorn
    Rank•Apprentice
    Mentor•Dawnwillow
    Kits•None
    Mate•None
    Crush•None
    History•Cannot remember anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Dragonkit

    Name: Dragonkit.<br> Gender: Tom.<br> Appearance: He wandered here when he was only a moon old, his head is black and as you go down the black flameish pattern goes over his dark red pelt dark, it makes it look like black charred flames are running from his head onto his dark red fur, his eyes are a yellow-green and seem more reptilian than feline, his claws are a little longer than usual and his teeth are more triangular than straight but still sharp, thus all these features earned him the name Dragonkit. <br> Personality: He has a curious and wild personality. He is playful and he cares for others, yet he is feirce and agile. But he is awesome. <br>Family: Unknown. <br> History: Unkown.<br> Sig: &Delta<_>DRAG&Theta<_>N&kappa<_>i&#9543<_>&Delta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    EmberStreak & Co.

    Name: EmberStreak~•~Gender: Tom~•~Age: 16 Moons~•~Rank: Warrior~•~Apprentice: None~•~Appearance: Orange with a black tailtip and white paws/chest~•~Personality: Kind, Brave, Outgoing, Awesome & Great to be with~•~Crush: BurrGleam~•~Mate: BurrGleam~•~Kit/s: ShatteredKit~•~

    Name: AmberShadow~•~Gender: Tom~•~Age: 15 Moons~•~Rank: Warrior~•~Apprentice: None~•~Appearance: Ginger with black stripes & white paws/chest~•~Eyes:Yellow~•~Personality: Nice, Brave, Awesome, Kind, Outgoing~•~Crush: CreamWillow~•~Mate: CreamWillow~•~Kits: None~•~

    ((NEW RP!))
    Name: LeopardHeart~•~Gender: She-Cat~•~Age: 10 Moons~•~Apprentice: None~•~Rank: Warrior~•~Appearance: Golden with black spots; White muzzle~•~Eyes: Amber~•~Personality: Kind, Loving, Adventourous~•~Crush: None~•~Mate: None~•~Kits: None~•~

    ((NEW RP!))
    Name: BrokenPaw~•~Gender: She-Cat~•~Age: 7 Moons~•~Mentor: None~•~Rank: Apprentice~•~Dream Name: BrokenSky~•~Appearance: Dark brown tabby with white paws~•~Eyes: Electric Yellow~•~Personality: Adventourous, Awesome, Brilliant with battle planning~•~Crush: SoaringPaw~•~Mate: None~•~Kits: None~•~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3