Customer Reviews for

Embers

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unusually Good

    So effective is Márai's evocative prose that, by melding it with his surpassing genius for expressing the ineffable nature of friendship, the author gilds the pages of this flawless narrative with a splendorous and intimate luster

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    A unique, wonderful book

    Embers is a feast for the eyes and brain. Why can't more writers write like this? I was swept into the time and culture. I appreciated the writing, the plot; Embers is many cuts above a typical good book. For those who think reading is one of the great joys in life, I recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Hooked Until the End

    Embers had me spellbound right up until the end, which disappointed me. If only Marai had given his ending some small, mind-blowing twist, this book would have been more worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    A Psychiatrist Review

    This is the story of a long standing,intimate friendship interrupted by a pathological action and an attempt to deal with it 41 years later. Besides the literary values cited by others, the story evokes many psychiatric issues... While the author describes in details the aggressive acts agains one of the friends(Henrik) and his reactions, nothing is said about the following:the victim anguish and overwhelming feelings of sadness; the horror of his mental pain; the devastating feelings of loneliness due to the physical and emotional loss of the friend and his wife; the injury to his self esteem and the subsequent feelings that no one cares... There is a situation suggestive of a pathological re-enacting of the Oedipal Complex by the friend(Konrad) who disappears(I assume out of guilt/shame) for many years and returns at age 75 to a reunion where he says very little... The author end the story by making us think the common and erroneous belief that detective work and/or being able to have a verbal discharge or confrontation will make every thing well again. I adhere to the psychotherapy teachings that most cases of emotional trauma, a cure may be brought about, usually with the aid of medications, by a process in which the victim experince that his feelingswere underestood by his therapist and eventually identifies with him in coping with life traumas in spite of the emotional scars... Also of interest is to notice that the author knew that emotional damage persist to age 75, and by his suicidal death at age 89 confirms that emotional pain, without treatment, is a life long suffering.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    I love this book

    I picked up this book in a thrift store because i liked the cover, I'm so glad I did - .Ii found this book to be very profound, and interesting. I have read it twice, which is also very unusual for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    World Literature's Breathtaking Novel

    "Embers", by Sandor Marai, is one of the best kept secrets of the World's literature. I was lucky enough to have stumbled across it in a used book store. Other literature has palled in comparison since that fateful day.

    Written by a master of the craft, Hungarian, Sandor Marai, this novel evokes all the passion and prose that one usually finds in the great masters, such as Turgenev, Dickens, and Tolstoy et al.

    Longtime friends, turned enemies, are brought to a bar of judgment moment on a stormy Hungarian night in an old Hungarian estate. The penitent, prodigal friend has returned to the estate of his victim and one time friend. During the long night, truths are revealed, and surprises manifested. What results is an intimate introspection of the human soul, its strength and ultimate fragility. This is the finest short novel/novella ever written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Gently suspenseful beautifully written

    Describes an era lacking in time pressure. The reader is drawn by his own curiosity to continue to follow the scattered bread crumbs of hints and foreshadowing that lead to the final dramatic meeting of the two living and one remembered protagonists. The reader is bombarded by emotional stimulii throughout. The emotional tensions between: wealth and poverty; extroversion and introversion; military science and the arts; love and hate; friendship and betrayal; and perhaps, as Dr. Telot has suggested above, a reawakening of the oedipal complex. It is natural to wonder if the book in some way foreshadows the author's tragic suicide. An unusual, masterfully written, compelling story that can be re-read and enjoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Poses some great questions

    What else is there to say other than it's a great novel? A very much compacted masterpiece that addresses many questions that we still ask ourselves today. The narrative is not boring at all. I truly enjoyed reading what the General had to say about friendship, loyalty, comradery, love, passion, duty, betrayal, and essentially the qualities in men and their human relationships with others. It's even more amazing how the General answers his own questions (which shows you how much the author has pondered over these issues himself), and after 41 years he really has pretty much figured out the answers to his own questions. The fact that he asks 2 very unexpected questions at the end, even though he knows the answers, makes me feel sad thinking that the General spent 41 years feeling the way he did. Despite all those hateful feelings amongst all the characters, they learned to forgive themselves and each other. Simply... great! I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Book Club Favorite

    I read this book with an online book club and I really enjoyed it. We moved through the book very quickly, but it a small, gem of a book. A Good Read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Ebony

    Charges at fang get out of our cave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    F

    Fang reluctantly padded there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Amber

    Leaves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Flightpaw

    Is back!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Snowpaw

    Can we g to the moon pool today or tommrow i miss silverhawk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Streak

    (SPARK HAD HER KITS)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Recommended with Reservations

    Very interesting story against a background of values of an earlier time. However, I'm not a fan of talking head novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Unique. Gives lot's of brain food!

    Unique. Gives lot's of brain food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    To bronztail

    Ill ikone my name is skyjay im a tom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Blankpaw

    I dont have one mam. He stutters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Darkkit

    A small, fuzzy kit rolled in. He was small with icy blue eyes. "Mama?" He asked Honeystar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2