BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Embers of Love (Striking a Match Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Great to read

    This is a wonderful series. I am now on Book 3 (Hope Rekindled).. all of Tracie Peterson books that I have read are good Christian books to read. The story is so interesting and you can't put the book down. I could hardly wait for the next one in the series and then the next. She quotes God in her books and often times, it really helps me to see things in my own life in a different perspective. You won't be sorry if you read this series. called Striking a Match.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Biblical Values Intertwined Throughout

    This book, filled with God-fearing homebodies, superstitious precautioners, and arrogant Easterners alike, began with an interestingly precarious situation. Tracie Peterson effectively communicated the morals, thoughts, and..essences, of the characters in a simple way.
    Unfortunately, on the negative end, I honestly got a little bored with it towards the middle. I thought that the story lacked detail, which made events seem to happen too fast. Other times they happened too slow. And then the heart-warming ending I'd hoped would unfold, well, didn't.
    Embers of Love is a book with a storyline unique in its own rights. The author provided a nice setting and realistic characters. If you are at all interested in this book, and if you don't mind waiting on a satisfying ending until the end of the series, then I would suggest for you to read Embers of Love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    A Delightful Book

    Found this to be a delightful book in every way. Way to go, Ms. Peterson! :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great characters, plot could use work

    I enjoyed this book somewhat. Deborah was enjoyable to read as a character, she’s very strong willed and knew exactly what she wanted from life. Especially during this particular time period where she had an interest in medicine and science, it would have been hard for a woman during that time to pursue these types of interests. Her strong and likable personality was what made the book a nice read.

    So! why did I say I enjoyed this book ‘somewhat’? a few things. The pace of the plot was a bit too slow for my tastes. The characters are great and all, but if the plot is going nowhere, or it’s going at a snail’s pace well, there’s only so much the characters can do to capture and maintain your attention.

    Then come the ‘convenient’ bits. Not going to go into much detail here to avoid spoilers, but let’s just say some people just pop up magically, while others just disappear and you’re wondering where the heck they went to. It seems like a cop out, and it’s like these characters can’t have anything wrong happen with them, and if it does, it’ll be swept under the rug conveniently. This gets tiresome and it makes the story dull and predictable possibly warding off potential readers.

    I haven’t read the second or third yet, but I don’t think I’ll rush to go ahead and do so. If I find the second one, I’ll take it, otherwise I’ll take my time. Take it or leave it on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Minus stars

    Extremely boring. Would not recommend at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Shadowmist

    She waited

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Fox

    Drops firehawk and runs away

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It is a good story about findin

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It is a good story about finding love where you least expect it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I could not put this book down. This book made me want to buy the rest of the series. Very enjoyable and great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    A great series with surprises!

    A great series with surprises!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Embersky clan nursery

    Nursery

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Can't go wrong with Tracie Peterson

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    very good book

    This was a wonderful story, one I'd let my early teens read. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Nice read

    It was a nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Excellent

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    recommend

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great book

    Very nice book. It was worth it to read it. Its about love, family, history and faith. Nice story, relaxing, makes you just keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Great Read!

    This is a good book, not too long or too short. I like historical romances and the author does a good job of describing life in Texas in the 1880's. I will definately look into the following books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    So far it's great

    I'm about half way through the book and it's a good book. Really enjoying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10