Customer Reviews for

Embrace (Jessica Shirvington's Embrace Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what

Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what awaits on her 17th birthday, a day that she isn't looking forward to since it's also the anniversary of her mother's death. It's always just been Violet and her father. They have a good relationship, but h...
Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what awaits on her 17th birthday, a day that she isn't looking forward to since it's also the anniversary of her mother's death. It's always just been Violet and her father. They have a good relationship, but he isn't around much due to his busy schedule. That is one of the reasons Violet is very independent. Her father trusts her completely and she is the type of person who would never misuse that trust in anyway.

Control is very important to her since an incident when she was younger. Since then she has done everything to never feel like she felt that day. During a self-defence class, she meets Lincoln, who has become one of very few important people in Violet's life and continues to train her. She gets the training she wants while fulfilling the desire she has to be with him. If only he had the same need.

Something unexpected happens on Violet's birthday with Lincoln, but before she can fully process what, he runs off. Violet never runs and goes to gets some answers. Nothing could have prepared her for what she finds out. Lincoln a Grigori - part angel and part human - and so is she.

I've been anticipating Embrace since I first came across it in 2010. So you can imagine how ecstatic I was when I found out I'd be able to read it. Since I've been anticipating it for so long, I had high hopes and doubts after wanting this book for so long that it would meet those expectations. It didn't, it surpassed them! The mythology Jessica created is exceptional. Some of the myths used are known and the combination of the familiar and what Jessica created and expanded on blurred the lines between fantasy and reality in a way that I never felt the need to stretch my imagination.

I really like Violet, who is just one of many fantastic characters. Each with very distinct personalities that set one apart from the other. When meeting each character, I felt like they had a back-story and didn't start existing the minute their names were written and that their stories would support their actions, which is something that makes them more realistic to me. I look forward to getting to know them better - the good, bad or the ones in a gray area.

Embrace is an amazing debut. An action-packed, intense and unique read that's truly captivating and will leave you eagerly anticipating the sequel. The excitement of an entire series in one book - which is just the start. Books like Embrace are the reason I love fantasy so much.

posted by Safari_Poet on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

If you are older than 21 don't waste your money on this one

Take away the angel angle and this book is a book that has been written hundreds of times. Nothing new or exciting. I can almost understand why this is appealing to younger readers because it is NEW to them. But as I said unless books like Twilight appeal to you don't ...
Take away the angel angle and this book is a book that has been written hundreds of times. Nothing new or exciting. I can almost understand why this is appealing to younger readers because it is NEW to them. But as I said unless books like Twilight appeal to you don't waste your time or money. It is the same old triangle that writers have used since the first novel was written. Moves relatively fast the first half of book, then it plods. My 21 year ojd niece gave me this book (it is her new FAV) i should have known better but she really wanted tto share this book with me.if you decide to read it check it out at the library and save some money.

posted by SleeplessnFlorida0927 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Embrace

    This book,connects those who have loved but could not have,holds your emotions as if you were back n time, the hatred you felt from your first betrail of love trust an innoccence,something we all have learned from but also wish could have been diffrent life is full of darkness an light who are we? Me im light fighting alot of darkness,negative energy!!!!!! Its hard when the darkness can fool u!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If I were to describe EMBRACE by Jessica Shirvington in one word

    If I were to describe EMBRACE by Jessica Shirvington in one word; I wouldn't be able to. That's because one word wouldn't cut it! It would have to be a bouquet of single words just to express how I felt after reading it. Amazing, warming, sad, thrilling, swoony, and so much more!
    Jessica has really impressed me on how she craftly portrayed a sort of conspiracy 'not always black or white' aspect on the whole angel theory. It is very original and I couldn't help but to be enthralled by its possibilities. It just makes me hungry for more of the history of angels. "Light" Angels are not always good - they can be prideful, stubborn, and egotistical; and equally, "Dark" Angels sway a balance into things that are not always 'bad/wrong/evil'. You just can't help but to be open eared and listen on to Jessica's angelic world.
    Violet's character is okay. I enjoyed her in the beginnning but in the rough parts nearing the end she made a lot of over-exaggerated mistakes. More so that I believe many readers will dislike her for this reason, but I'd just like to say that part of those stupid actions was because she was 'tainted' (trying not to give spoilers here). To those who have already read Embrace I hope you know which part I'm talking about. Anyways, Lincoln is a sweetheart and he was doing what he thought was right, but I think he was way too perfect to realistically believe in. Phoenix on the other hand, I am still fanning myself on how hot this guy is! So, I can't really say much about him because my senses are dulled by his awesomesauce! lol =) Dibs! He is swoon worthy for sure!
    Speaking about senses; I didn't really grasp that concept. In a way it's understandable, but I just don't comprehend why 'apples', and why 'always' the same smell and taste for every 'different' exile? I would have enjoyed a little more background on this.
    The trials and tribulations of Violet is awing for a girl of her age to be going through. I know she is flawed because of some of her actions, but that is what makes her an appealing character - her imperfections. No one is perfect and that is reality.
    Embrace by Jessica Shirvington is an action-packed journey that will take you away!
    By the end your heart will surely be captivated by one man! Who, will be up to you. A 2012 MUST READ!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Looking for an angel-themed mystery with a dash of romance? Thi

    Looking for an angel-themed mystery with a dash of romance? This just might be your perfect book. The author includes a quote with each chapter that emphasizes what is to come, the reader will most likely come to love those quotes. Violet and Lincoln are introduced to the reader first. Violet is an admirable main character, the reader will not find him/herself hating her or thinking "why did she do that?" much, at all. Lincoln is the love interest for the first portion of the novel, and even until the end. Lincoln is that all-around good guy. He is someone who could offer a shoulder to cry on and seems to always be there for his friends. However, he has more than a few secrets too...secrets that Violet should, perhaps, know about.


    When Phoenix is first introduced in the novel, the reader will wonder just who and what he is. The author leaves him an enigma; he doesn't apologize for himself and literally has that "take me as I am" attitude. He becomes a bit of a love interest himself. The other characters function as supporting characters, the reader will enjoy meeting them as well. The plot itself is very fast-paced and developed down to the last detail. The author manages to give the reader enough details to keep the reader turning the pages, but doesn't reveal the full mystery.


    The reader will find that the further he/she immerses him/herself in the book, the more intricate the plot becomes as well as the relationships between the characters. This book is nearly impossible to put down and worth reading cover to cover. Embrace is perfect for young adult/teen readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    The gorgeous cover drew me in instantly. From the get-go I figur

    The gorgeous cover drew me in instantly. From the get-go I figured it would be about angels due to the beautiful smokey wings “embracing” the girl’s back. I was very curious as to what the black feathers meant along with the description “A dark and heart-racing tale”. Once again, my mind wandered and I came to the assumption that the book was about about dark or fallen angels. I really liked how the cover got me thinking. I had so many questions and I just knew I wanted needed to read Embrace to find the answers and ease my internal inquiries.

    I think the book summary does a good job of describing Embrace (even a little too good *spoiler warning*) so I’ll skip my usual, and personal quick-summary. Violet Eden has got to be one of my all-time favorite characters. Throughout the book I found myself relating to her on a deeper-level. I was really able to connect and share her feelings. Due to a horrible incident involving a pedo-teacher, Violet has developed into a very persistent and strong young woman. She’s adopted a “never again” attitude paired with a “won’t give up” mantra.

    Like the average teenage girl, Violet’s time is occupied by homework, boys, and hanging with her best friend Steph. I completely understand Violet’s hell-no attitude when she’s thrust into a world filled with good and bad angels fighting for humanity’s dominion. Heavy words right? Joining a centuries-old battle is not something you decide lightly. A good portion of Embrace features Violet’s decision process on whether or not giving up her normal life for a legit “higher-calling” is worth the sacrifice. Of course, she doesn’t just sit around adding jelly beans to a scale, weighing the pros in cons. Nope. Violet experiences, on multiple occasions, the consequences involved in ignoring her calling.

    Embrace had everything that I love in YA books. Our main character is thrust into a new world, forced to question her beliefs, faced with many obstacles yet – comes out stronger in the end. I’ll will say, you do find out by the end of book one whether Violet chooses to “embrace” her calling, but you’ll very surprised and heart-broken when you read about the elements that affected her decision. There’s a lot of action and deaths. When it comes to the ultimate good vs. evil showdown, they’re tends to be some major casualties. Of course, there’s also a little romance featured in a love triangle. Some find the love triangle tiring, but I personally didn’t mind Embrace’s version. The two guys completing Violet’s love-diabolical, are very different and unique and I eagerly followed along.

    The last Embrace aspect I want need to mention is the mythology. I haven’t read many angel-esque novels, maybe a handful at the most. However, time in again I find the stories to be similar. When you’re using the same supernatural-being in various books it’s hard to make your book unique. I think Embrace has the unique down perfectly. The mythology surrounding angels, where they came from, how they came, what they want, what types, and so forth was refreshing and new.

    I give Embrace a 4/5 rating. It’s one of my favorite books of 2012. Book two comes out September 2012 and you can bet I’ll be getting it when it does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great book

    I really like this this book because it puts a twist on the classical angels and demons storyline. I would definetly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys love-triangles, thrilling adventure and irresistable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Amazing. Must read!

    I do not write many reviews (actually this is my first but I've read many many books) but this time I have to. Yes Violet is annoying a little but the series is amazing from start to finish (Yes I said finish because I happen to have read the final installment the Australian version). I have read many books but this series tops it all. All I can say is its worth the read. Shirvington's writing style, development of main and supporting characters, and story line will keep you reading and wanting more. You will smile, laugh, and cry but its worth the ride. A story like this only comes along but so often and I am overwhelmed with happiness that I got to experience it. Plus the action and fighting are definitely good times :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Great book

    I'm not giving this book 5 stars because Violet was like any other teenage girl in every other young adult book. Though I thought the plot was great and although I'm not a huge fan of Violet, the characters were strong and easy to connect to and be with as if I was in the book myself.
    The author did a great job on this book and I'm really excited to start "Entice" which is the second novel in the Embrace series. She definitely should keep writing becasue if she can write another series or more novels that claim my attention like this one did then I'm going to be one of the first ones in line to get it.
    ~Review by Danielle G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Keep reading!

    I loved this book but I dislike the longggg explainations. But people, KEEP READING THE SERIES! It gets so much better. Just got done reading the 3rd book. I cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I couldn't put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    I admit it. When I first picked this book up I was expecting it

    I admit it. When I first picked this book up I was expecting it to be another Twilight rip off (which I liked back in the day) but I was thinking it wouldn't be very good. Much to my surprise it was excellent!

    I've noticed over the last few years or so that there has been a wonderful influx of Australian authors that are taking the lead in the market for their novels especially young adult authors and it seems as those this author is no exception. She's great!

    I really enjoyed this virst book in the Violet Eden series. I thought that the main character Eden was very refreshing. She wasn't a push over like a lot of the other teenage girl heroines are in other novels. She had backbone, and a kick ass atittude though she did have a couple bouts of whining but whatever she's a teenager it just made her more "real" because she wasn't written with over the top reactions at all. Hallelujah!

    I thought the whole Grigori thing was really interesting the fact that on her 16th birthday Violet finds out that she's not exactly entirely human. In fact she is half angel and half human making her part of the society of Grigori just like her love interest Lincoln who is her partner.

    Unfortunately, Violet doesn't react to the wole situation as well as Lincoln would have liked and she ends up with Phoenix who needless to say is not on friendly terms with any of the Grigori except the undecided Violet. Basically there's a whole love triangle thing going on that results in Lincoln getting hurt and Phoenix and Violet getting freaking on a mountain hourse before Violet jumps off the side of a mountain to "Embrace" he Grigori side.

    So yeah I suppose that in some ways this book was similar to Twilight because there are some recognizable themes and situations. However, I must say that this book is very much it's own novel. There was a lot of action in the novel to balance out the whole romance element so at least there was an equilibrium which was very much needed. I also liked that the characters acted their ages and the dialogue flowed naturally. There was no awkwardness to it and that's something I think everyone can appreciate because not much kills a book more than horrible written dialogue.

    In the end I thought that Embrace was a compelling read. I think I finished it in 2 nights or something like that and I'm really excited to read the second book in the series Entice. Since the last book finished I've been really curious to see how the next plays out because I'm really interested to see how things play out with the whole love triangle/Grigori situations play out.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who love urban fantasy young adult novels that have a new and refreshing spin to the whole Angels mythos. It's really well written and I think it's a treat for anyone who is the fan of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Loved

    Great story can't wait to read more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Amazing

    I found the book to thrilling as i thought. It sort of anoyed me how stupid Violet was at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    absolutely loved cannot wait for entice to come out !!

    absolutely loved cannot wait for entice to come out !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Lovereading

    Loved the book, i was just a little agrivated at how selfish Violet could be. Also, i didn't like how all through the book her and Lincoln were always fighting. Although, this book was great and i cant wait for the second book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Good Book!

    Really enjoyed this story. Phoenix, while certainly the "bad boy" in this tale, is so hot! Can't wait for Book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book; I loved the fact that it was differe

    I really enjoyed this book; I loved the fact that it was different than the normal angel/Fallen books around. It was an interesting plot and storyline the characters are well written you get to understand what they are going through. I think the only reason this is a 4 star review is the fact that the rules for the angels/fallen angels are a little confusing at times.

    Violet Eden dreads her seventeenth birthday. After all, it’s hard to get too excited about the day that marks the anniversary of your mother’s death. As if that wasn’t enough, she’s having disturbing dreams that are leaving her with very real injuries. There’s also the mystery of this strange dark tattoo weaving its way around her arms that wasn’t there before. Violet is determined to get answers, but what happens if the person who holds them is the one you thought you loved which means he lied to you all this time? When she learns what she is and that Lincoln is also one but has kept it from her. She turns to Phoenix, who tell her about what she is and little bits about himself.. But he’s also keeping secrets. The romance in this book is sweet and sensual and a little bit dangerous. Phoenix & Lincoln are defiantly some swoon worthy guys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Good book

    ; ) okay I erased my really good review, stayed up too late reading and now brain is malfunctioning. Who would have thought angels wete so much fun?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Embrace

    I loved this book! One of the big reasons this book was great was that I was introduced to Phoenix *sigh*. He is just all sorts of sexy! I mean, sure, we are introduced first to Lincoln is hot and drool worthy, but I have a soft spot for bad(ish) boys and Phoenix stole my heart. I mean, hello…powers to make kissing and making out feel even more sexy-time? I’ll take some of that please! And the forest scene?! Seriously, go out and get the book and experience that! And how fantastic is her best friend, Steph?

    I really enjoyed that the main character, Violet Eden (aka Vi) was not some meek, mindless girl who allowed everyone to walk all over her. Violet is one tough cookie! A little reminiscent of a little someone named Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Phoenix reminds of A LOT of Jace from Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments with a pinch of Patch from Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush. Although there is a love triangle in this book between Vi, Phoenix and Lincoln, it’s not really the typical kind you would find in other books where the main heroine is with one guy, but sneaking off with the other, or where one guy is pretty much stalking the other couple and cause some havoc. No, because of Vi’s personality and attitude, she pretty much avoids the whole conflict thing…well, as much as she can anyways. Shirvington does a fantastic job writing this “love triangle” that I didn’t find myself huffing and puffing, or rolling my eyes. It was just perfect!

    The storyline for Embrace is fantastic! I am in love with the whole angel genre and the good angel, fallen angel twists. I just can’t get enough of it! Shirvington has successfully written her own twist to the angel tales. One that I feel will explode and have fans/readers clamoring to find out more about these unforgettable characters she has created. The world that Shirvington has created in Embrace is one that I completely lost myself in. Everything was described perfectly and with just enough detail that I was able to envision everything around me. I was able to make distinct faces for the characters, which in turn enabled me to grow fonder of the book. There were a few “suspenseful” parts throughout the book that I thought were exceptionally executed, and had me racing through the pages to find out what was going to happen next. Don’t get me started on the twists that she intricately weaved in the book.

    I devoured this book in just under a day. I dreamt, ate, slept Embrace. I couldn’t get enough, and I absolutely cannot WAIT to see what Jessica Shirvington has next for these cast of characters in the next installment, ENTICE, scheduled for September 2012. Not only were the main characters unforgettable, but the supporting characters were just as memorable. The only part that probably urked me a little was the lack of parentage. Well, the missing mother couldn’t be helped because of the fact that she is dead, but the father not being a constant because he has to work all the time? Ok, ok it wasn’t that bad. In fact, if it weren’t for that, then the humour in him finally acting fatherly when Phoenix is around wouldn’t have been so hilarious! Kudos to Shirvington for spinning that aspect of the story and turning it into another reason why this book was great.

    Fans of angels (fallen, guardian or other) will truly enjoy Embrace. Who is your favorite? Team Phoenix? Or Team Lincoln?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    great start cant wait for the next book

    great start cant wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2