Customer Reviews for

Embrace (Jessica Shirvington's Embrace Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what

Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what awaits on her 17th birthday, a day that she isn't looking forward to since it's also the anniversary of her mother's death. It's always just been Violet and her father. They have a good relationship, but h...
Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what awaits on her 17th birthday, a day that she isn't looking forward to since it's also the anniversary of her mother's death. It's always just been Violet and her father. They have a good relationship, but he isn't around much due to his busy schedule. That is one of the reasons Violet is very independent. Her father trusts her completely and she is the type of person who would never misuse that trust in anyway.

Control is very important to her since an incident when she was younger. Since then she has done everything to never feel like she felt that day. During a self-defence class, she meets Lincoln, who has become one of very few important people in Violet's life and continues to train her. She gets the training she wants while fulfilling the desire she has to be with him. If only he had the same need.

Something unexpected happens on Violet's birthday with Lincoln, but before she can fully process what, he runs off. Violet never runs and goes to gets some answers. Nothing could have prepared her for what she finds out. Lincoln a Grigori - part angel and part human - and so is she.

I've been anticipating Embrace since I first came across it in 2010. So you can imagine how ecstatic I was when I found out I'd be able to read it. Since I've been anticipating it for so long, I had high hopes and doubts after wanting this book for so long that it would meet those expectations. It didn't, it surpassed them! The mythology Jessica created is exceptional. Some of the myths used are known and the combination of the familiar and what Jessica created and expanded on blurred the lines between fantasy and reality in a way that I never felt the need to stretch my imagination.

I really like Violet, who is just one of many fantastic characters. Each with very distinct personalities that set one apart from the other. When meeting each character, I felt like they had a back-story and didn't start existing the minute their names were written and that their stories would support their actions, which is something that makes them more realistic to me. I look forward to getting to know them better - the good, bad or the ones in a gray area.

Embrace is an amazing debut. An action-packed, intense and unique read that's truly captivating and will leave you eagerly anticipating the sequel. The excitement of an entire series in one book - which is just the start. Books like Embrace are the reason I love fantasy so much.

posted by Safari_Poet on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

If you are older than 21 don't waste your money on this one

Take away the angel angle and this book is a book that has been written hundreds of times. Nothing new or exciting. I can almost understand why this is appealing to younger readers because it is NEW to them. But as I said unless books like Twilight appeal to you don't ...
Take away the angel angle and this book is a book that has been written hundreds of times. Nothing new or exciting. I can almost understand why this is appealing to younger readers because it is NEW to them. But as I said unless books like Twilight appeal to you don't waste your time or money. It is the same old triangle that writers have used since the first novel was written. Moves relatively fast the first half of book, then it plods. My 21 year ojd niece gave me this book (it is her new FAV) i should have known better but she really wanted tto share this book with me.if you decide to read it check it out at the library and save some money.

posted by SleeplessnFlorida0927 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what

    Violet Eden is not your average teenage girl - even without what awaits on her 17th birthday, a day that she isn't looking forward to since it's also the anniversary of her mother's death. It's always just been Violet and her father. They have a good relationship, but he isn't around much due to his busy schedule. That is one of the reasons Violet is very independent. Her father trusts her completely and she is the type of person who would never misuse that trust in anyway.

    Control is very important to her since an incident when she was younger. Since then she has done everything to never feel like she felt that day. During a self-defence class, she meets Lincoln, who has become one of very few important people in Violet's life and continues to train her. She gets the training she wants while fulfilling the desire she has to be with him. If only he had the same need.

    Something unexpected happens on Violet's birthday with Lincoln, but before she can fully process what, he runs off. Violet never runs and goes to gets some answers. Nothing could have prepared her for what she finds out. Lincoln a Grigori - part angel and part human - and so is she.

    I've been anticipating Embrace since I first came across it in 2010. So you can imagine how ecstatic I was when I found out I'd be able to read it. Since I've been anticipating it for so long, I had high hopes and doubts after wanting this book for so long that it would meet those expectations. It didn't, it surpassed them! The mythology Jessica created is exceptional. Some of the myths used are known and the combination of the familiar and what Jessica created and expanded on blurred the lines between fantasy and reality in a way that I never felt the need to stretch my imagination.

    I really like Violet, who is just one of many fantastic characters. Each with very distinct personalities that set one apart from the other. When meeting each character, I felt like they had a back-story and didn't start existing the minute their names were written and that their stories would support their actions, which is something that makes them more realistic to me. I look forward to getting to know them better - the good, bad or the ones in a gray area.

    Embrace is an amazing debut. An action-packed, intense and unique read that's truly captivating and will leave you eagerly anticipating the sequel. The excitement of an entire series in one book - which is just the start. Books like Embrace are the reason I love fantasy so much.

    39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Embrace has everything a reader could want: a well-executed plot

    Embrace has everything a reader could want: a well-executed plot, fantastic characters, a steamy romance, and plenty of action to keep it all going. I was instantly enthralled by it and I’m not one to enjoy books about angels. Embrace isn’t like other angel books though because despite having angels in it, the story remains focused on characters, while giving the reader insight about how the angel mythology works.

    Violet can be a bit naïve, but she comes across as very sincere and real. She’s not terribly boy crazy or ditzy –though she does have her moments with both Linc and Phoenix; she’s very easy to relate to. Her journey from normal girl to angel is actually exactly how you’d expect it to be. Violet reacts in the right way….but you’ll have to read the book to see what I think the right way is.

    Now about those boys: Linc is okay, I guess. That’s the thing with a possible love triangle though. Readers will always pick one that they see as the best. And for me, that wasn’t Linc. I liked him, but he got me quite angry here and there. Phoenix, on the other hand, is sexy and cocky, with just the right amount of sweet. He’s not innocent or all good, but I couldn’t help but be drawn to his darkness. Readers will certainly eat these two boys up!

    Embrace takes readers on a wild ride of ups, downs, and startling realizations. It’s the first in a trilogy, so while this one starts the trio off very strong, there is so much more to look forward to. The fighting and action is intense, the smoldering, sexy scenes are as steamy as ever, and the plot will keep you hooked. Embrace will hold up as an easy and favorite read for me…and should for you too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    AWSOME!!

    I loved it!! Can not wait for the next book in this series... it had suspense and action and romance. Sometimes it was confusing about what was happening, but it made the ending even better!!! Highly recomend this book!<3

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Dive into this world--you'll never want to leave!

    Embrace is a must-read for lovers of paranormal romance! I was swept away by the characters, both good and evil!

    5 reason count-down for why you HAVE to read Embrace!

    5.)There is no down-time! Jessica Shirvington jumps straight to the action, and it just keeps on coming.

    4.) The mythology in it is very interesting. I wrote my Masters Thesis on how popular culture treats religion, and there were so many references to stories from old religions that I just got swept away in the history!

    3.) Violet is a kick-butt heroine, but she is also realistic. She really struggles with the realization that she's an angel, and even more, she struggles with controlling her powers. It's not a snap your fingers and she's awesome kind of thing. She has a difficult time growing into her powers, and she is still struggling near the end of the book--which means there's much more to come in the future!

    2.) Phoenix--the oh-so-hot resident maybe good/maybe bad? guy. He is one of Violet's love interests. He's dark, foreboding, and mysterious--which I love. It's going to be interesting seeing how Phoenix turns out in the future books! I won't say much more about him because you MUST read it for yourself!

    1.) Lincoln--yummy. He's Violet's other love interest, and he is just oh-so-adorable! He's the complete opposite of Phoenix, but I love him just as much! Again, I won't say any more because I don't want to spoil it...but, believe me, there is so much romance you're heart will never slow down!

    So...in conclusion--one more time--YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Embrace

    I first have to tell you that my cover of this book is different then the final cover. And I really wish they would have kept that cover! It is beautiful. I love it so much more then the final cover! But I don't get to choose that detail. :( LOL

    Well right now there are a lot of angel books that are coming out, and some are not as good as others....not this one! I loved this book. I loved everything about it. I loved all the characters and their personalities. I feel when it is a great book the characters really grow with the story. This is exactly what happened with this story. I think when this happens, some of the greatest stories happen.

    You meet Violet. Violet is learning a lot about her life and fast. Her father is never around, her mother died when she was born, she has the greatest friend in the world, and the guy of her dreams. But something is about to happen that she never thought would happen. She is half human, half angel. She has a lot that is about to happen and what is she going to do....push the guy who she thought she was in love with away to get closer to Phoenix, a strong handsome man for the bar.

    But that is not all that is going to happen. This book is action packed from cover to cover. It has fight scenes, love scenes, and everything in between. I loved everything about this book and more. I am going to recommend this book to everyone that I know! You have to read Embrace!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thanks to Sourcebooks for sending me a review copy of this book!

    Thanks to Sourcebooks for sending me a review copy of this book! When I
    got this book I was on break from all thing angels. I had just finished
    a lot of books with them and was just kind of done with that race. I
    really didnt want ANYTHING to do with them. But, I worked through it
    and found a wonderful new series to fall in love with. Jessica
    Shirvington isnt afraid to go there if you know what I mean. With sexy
    characters that you both love and love to hate. And a wonderful plot. I
    couldnt put Embrace down. And unlike a lot of books out there. Embrace
    has a meaning to the title. *I was recently sent a copy of book 2 in
    this series (Embrace) called Entice. So I had to go back and reread
    book 1. Which was a great idea as there were a lot of things that I had
    forgotten the first time around. So even the second time reading
    Embrace I fell in love with all the characters all over again. So
    Embrace was a big 5 stars both times.Here is my org. review- Angels
    have always had to dwell in the house of the lord. Always listen to the
    word of god. But, what if angels had free will? Would it be good or bad?
    Well Embrace answers this question......and its NOT pretty! This book
    has something in common with the House of Night books by P.C and Kristen
    Cast. That just because something is light doesn't always mean that it
    is good. As the goddess Nyx says: Darkness does not alway equate to
    evil, Just as Light does not always bring good. So my one BIG question
    in this book is where is god in all of this. It seems that he/she has
    taken a vacation and is not around right now. The angels have the reins
    and are using them to their advantage. In the end this book was
    wonderful. It was a little slow at times so take your time with it.
    But it is worth reading! Ill leave you with some words from the book
    and also from the bible. (yes the bible can have some really good end
    lines lol! Even me being a witch I can't deny that) &quot;This is your
    fate, the destiny I have planned for you......&quot; Jeremiah 13:25
    And with that Farwell and May You Embrace YOUR Destiny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Addme Boo1652@yaho.com



    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

       

       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Best series ever!

    Best series ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Perfect!

    This series is absolutly amazing, a must read for everyone. Violet must decide whether or not to same her crush/soul mate/gregori partner. Thus decision will forever change her life...<br> Empower, please come out early!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    I've read most of the popular teen paranormal romance series rec

    I've read most of the popular teen paranormal romance series recently (ok so I haven't been a teen in almost a decade, but I still love them), and this is one of my absolute favorites. The character development is phenomenal. You actually see characters (not just one or two, but all of them) change over time, and rarely in ways that you expect. I was constantly surprised. I also love the fact that each new book brings in new supporting characters that you begin to love just as much as the main characters. I read the first four books in less than three days, and I can't wait for the last one to come out. I'll definitely be rereading this series soon. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Loved it!

    I was surprised at how much I loved this series. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Life changer

    This series holds elements from some of thebest books I have ever read... it is beyond amazing and aside from the writing style being incredable the storyline and the passion that it invokes is completely consuming. I was so inthralled by the series that it took me three days to get through the first four books and the 5th one is currently on preorder. The journey of Violet grows and develops in unimaginable ways and I have laughed harder and shed more tears along with her than I care to admit. This is one of the few series that I am sure to read over and over again for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Favorite Series

    ....anxiously waiting for the last book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Embrax c

    Can wait to read the book i just started alteady on page 102

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Page turner!

    Loved this story! I read the book in2 days and now on Enticed...really hope the storyline is as much of a page turner as the 1st!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Awesome and addictive!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Even better than I expected I picked this book not really knowin

    Even better than I expected I picked this book not really knowing what to expect and was I surprised Violet isn't the girl who sits on the sidelines she is the type to fight back. And the love triangle is crazy I can't wait to finish reading the rest and i'm super excited for Endless this October and the 5th book already in the making Empower! :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    *****

    Definitley 5 starz!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5