BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Embrace Me: Believing is Seeing

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Theo

    ERMEHGGHED LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Awesome Face 8D

    Aweshum! Cmon and continue! I'm waiting... >:3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Yes!!

    Love it! I feel like you should add a little to Ivi's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    [(Blank)]

    Not bad. Theres a couple different details i would edit because my inner editor is always criticizing and never stops finding errors, but its definotely getting better in terms of grammar and confusingness as opposed to the beginning. The story is fast paced, but i like it. From the beginning you add suspense, and youre making a relatively unsuspenseful part better by making it fast paced and exciting. Keep up the good work and i will continue reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Elise

    Love it! I am a writer, so i enjoy this. O.o is it still too late to create a character?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Jasmine

    It was just an old roleplay I was in. My best friend there was named Starr. And then decided to vanish off of the face of the Earth. I didn't know if you were that Starr or someone who thought it was a cool name.
    Anyways, this is a phenomenal story; by far the best story on NOOK. I love it! Keep it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Violet

    AAAAAAAH I LURVE IT SO MUCH!!!!!! CONTINUE!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Matt

    Amazing! The pace doesnt really mater, as long as you keep at it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Godzilla 丛

    Looooouuuurrrve it! But of 'course, you knew that. I like her! Although it was quite sad when she ran off running into the woods. LOOOOOOOOORRRRRVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    To starr

    Likey likey! And have a girl with a cat be tested named kristina. Kk? Kthxbai! ~nyancat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    NRM

    I love it! *has fangirl spasm*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Ooh la la!

    Had to say that. I love it! I think you should add onto Ivi's story, because so far, it only fits in because she's abnormably fast. I don't think you're moving TOO fast. Quite frankly, l don't see how you could slow down! Keep up the awesome work! <br>
    -Platinum

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    The Godly Tests: Chapter Three- Part Two

    Hey guys! Its Starr! To all my reviewers: OMIGERD, I LOVE YOU ALL. I freak out every time I get a review. :3 You guys are so awesome. And someone hss been asking what time period it is. Because its in another world -Rian-, they have some things modern Earth does, and some things that midevil Eath did. For example, they still use daggers and maces and swords and stuff, but they also have electricity and television and the like. Really, its more for my convinience than anything. I had a hard time thinking of how the people outside of the place where the Tests take place can watch it, and I finally was just fed up with thinking of it, so I did that. So. I hope that explained it! Also, I feel like there was more to Ivi's story than I told you, so part two! Yay! More thijgs to be announced at the end of this chapter.
    <p>
    ~{Ivi}~
    <p>
    Ivi ran for hours. At one point, she had even reached the edge of her distruct. Ivi just turned around and ran in another direction than the one she had come from. She finally had to stop, and even then she tried stumbling a few steps before just colapsing.
    <p>
    Ivi had not cried, she had not even shown much emotion since she heard the news that her father had died in that house fire. She had been in shock, lost in the turmoil of her own mind, focusing on the steady rythem of her running feet. But now, sitting on the ground in the middle of who-knows-where, she cried her heart out. Ivi was hit with the full impact of what she had lost. She would never see him again, never call out "Da!" whrn she needed somone, never tell him that she loved him. Never hear him tell her that he loved her.
    <p>
    Eventually, her broken-hearted wailing gave way to choked sobbing, and Ivi got up. She jogged in a random direction, shivering slightly. It was a chilly fall night, and she only had a tee-shirt and jeans.
    <p>
    Eventually, she came upon a lone house in the middle of the woods she had wandered into. She debated just walking away, but her stomach won out. She was cold.
    <p>
    Ms. Kerral was awoken by the tentative knock of somebody on the door. 'Who could be knocking at this hour?' Ms. Kerral thought grouchily, getting up. She went over to the door, wrenching it open and glaring. "What do yo..." the words died on her lips as she saw a girl, no more than eleven, with windblown hair and coffee colored skin. Her chocolate brown eyes revealed that she had obviously been crying.
    <p>
    "Hi," Ivi muttered, training her eyes on the ground. "Do you have any food to spare?"
    <p>
    Ms. Kerral looked at her a long moment, so long that Ivi was about to mutter an apology and run away, but before she could, Ms. Keral stepped out of the way and simply said, "Come on in, dear,"
    <p>
    ~{~}~
    <p>
    So! Thats the end of this chapter. Like it? Hate it? If you hate it, why are you still reading? Have constructive critisism? Review! Questions? Suggestions? Go to 'testing you' res one! One question for you guys, though: I feel like my story has too fast a pace. Do you agree? Please tell me! Oh! And one of my friends, a very awesome person, Zilla, or Godzilla, has made a Godly Tests RP! Awesome, hm? If you want to join, go on down to 'lij' res one, read dem rules, then make a bio, then RP! That simple. I will also be there, so. Yeah. And Jasmine, I have not heard of the Freedom Chasers. Care to explain? Have a fantabulous day! ~Starr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    PLZ EXPLAIN THE TIME QUIRK

    Plz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Gigi

    Im crying so hard right now.....omg this book is THE BEST I HAVE EVER READ!!!!! UR AMAZING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Freaks and geeks

    Lisa Samson's book always makes you think and this one is no different that the rest. Can you say EDGY?! I don't think I've ever read a Christian fiction book that deals with the type of people mentioned in this story. But these are stories that need to be told, because not everyone is living a picture perfect streak free Christian life. It's a heartbreaking story as you read what has happened in Drew and Valentine's lives. I nearly wanted to cry at times when reading because I felt the character's pain and suffering. Even though there are very few sideshow attractions such as the one portrayed in the story surviving today, it makes the reader think about what life is like for these 'so-called freaks.' How hard their life must be because they aren't born 'normal' like the rest of us. I really don't know how Lella was able to be so upbeat and genuinely happy all the time. I don't think I could have accepted her situation quite so well. This isn't your normal happy ending novel. There is a lot of in your face stuff that a lot of Christians don't like touching. It will make you feel uncomfortable at times but it will also help you to understand more about God's infinite love and acceptance. This book is definitely edgy Christian fiction at its best. Lisa Samson has created another winner. HIGHLY recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    a living working at Roland Wayfaring Marvels and Oddities show knowing they are freaks to the normals who gawk at them. Valentine has scars all over her body while Lella has no extremities. Whereas Lella also has no dreams, Val fantasizes of one day being romanced by a man while she listens to her mother¿s copy of ¿Embraceable You¿, but once the singing stops reality returns.----------- However, a newcomer with scars on his soul and in his heart joins the caravan. Augustus befriends Val, but Lella who wants the best for her buddy fears she will be left behind with no one to care for or about her.------------- Combining a deep need to belong to others, which means forgiving and accepting the hurts they cause, inside a set from Browning¿s Freaks, Lisa Samson writes a powerful relationship drama that will shake the audience to the core. The cast is fully developed so that readers feel the anguish and loneliness each suffers. Adding depth to the emotional punch is the rotating story line between Drew circa 2002-3 and Val circa 2008-9. EMBRACE ME is a powerful insightful tale of love as Ms. Samson makes an ardent case that everyone needs loving mental and physical hugs.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1